Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
News
Enforcement Efforts See Citation Increase During Second Month for Violation of New Cell Phone Law
03/01/2010
Lieutenant Gregg Hastings
Public Information Officer
(503) 731-3020 ext. 247

Photograph link valid for 30 days - Source: Oregon State Police
http://www.flashalertnewswire.net/images/news/2010-03/1002/CellPhoneLaw.Message.JPG
 
Oregon State Police (OSP) troopers' enforcement of Oregon's new cell phone law banning most uses of mobile communication devices while driving a motor vehicle noted nearly twice as many citations issued during February in comparison to the number issued during January.
 
Updated enforcement statistics indicated OSP troopers issued drivers 72 citations and 233 warnings during February. During the new law's first month, OSP troopers issued 41 citations and 259 warnings. In total, OSP troopers have cited 113 drivers and warned 492 others since the new law went into effect January 1, 2010.
 
With some exceptions, it is unlawful in Oregon for a driver to use a cell phone without using a hands-free accessory while operating a motor vehicle. Violation of the cell phone law is a primary offense, meaning that a police officer may stop a driver solely for observing the violation, and is a class D traffic violation with a minimum base fine of $142.
 
Additional information about this law is available on our website at:
http://www.oregon.gov/OSP/docs/OSP_Cell_law.pdf