Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
News
1st of Several Upcoming Increased Enforcement Efforts on Highway 30
04/03/2009
Sergeant Larry Lucas
Oregon State Police - St. Helens
Office: (503) 397-0325

Following several serious injury and fatal traffic crashes on Highway 30 in Columbia County, law enforcement agencies held the first of several operations aimed at reducing the occurrence of these crashes through increased enforcement efforts.
 
According to Oregon State Police (OSP) Sergeant Larry Lucas, on April 3, 2009 between 6:00 a.m. and 10:00 a.m. OSP troopers and St. Helens police conducted the increased enforcement operation on Highway 30 between mileposts 19 and 33. Focusing on hazardous moving violations, the 3 troopers and one city officer stopped a total of 43 vehicles issuing approximately twenty citations and 45 warnings.
 
Reported enforcement included:
  • 10 citations and 18 warnings for Violation of the Basic Speed Rule - the highest recorded speed was 73 mph in a 50 mph speed zone
  • 2 citations and one warning for Fail to Maintain Safe Distance from an Emergency Vehicle ('Move Over' law)
  • 1 citation and one warning for Dangerous Left Turn
  • 1 citation and one warning for Fail to Wear Safety Belt
 
"These enhanced enforcement operations will continue throughout the spring and summer months to help drive down the number of crashes we have been responding to in recent months," said Lucas.
 
Oregon State Police and Columbia County law enforcement partners also want to remind drivers to pay attention and "move over" for police and emergency workers not only on this highway but also along all roadways.

 
The "Move Over" law (ORS 811.147) states that if you are driving up behind or next to any type of emergency vehicle - police car, ambulance or public safety vehicle - working on the roadside with emergency lights flashing, you must:
  • Move over to another lane.
  • If you cannot safely change lanes, you must slow down.
  • In all cases, the driver must try to provide as much room as possible for the emergency vehicle.

 
Failure to comply with the "Move Over" law can result in a fine up to $355.