Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
OSP Newport Trooper Receives OSP "DUII Enforcement Officer-of-the-Year" Award
Sergeant Michael Iwai
Oregon State Police
Oregon DECP Coordinator
(503) 934-0267

Photograph link valid 30 days - Source: Oregon State Police
(Left to right: ODOT Transportation Safety Section Manager Troy Costales, Trooper McKay, and Major Joel Lujan)
An Oregon State Police trooper assigned to the Newport Area Command office was recognized for his DUII enforcement efforts at the 2011 annual DUII Multi-Disciplinary Impaired Driving Training Conference held April 22 and 23 in Portland. The Oregon DUII Multi-Disciplinary Training Task Force presented their annual awards of excellence to various organizations, groups, and individuals who made a significant contribution to deterring impaired driving in Oregon during 2009.

One of the awards was presented to an officer or supervisor active in DUII enforcement or the supervision of an active/innovative DUII enforcement team. The recipient is usually someone who is active in DUII enforcement or was instrumental in establishing, promoting, or supervising a unique or effective DUII enforcement program. The "DUII Enforcement Officer-of-the-Year" award is presented to a sworn police officer from a city police department, county sheriff's office, and the Oregon State Police (OSP).

The "DUII Enforcement Officer-of-the-Year" award for the Oregon State Police was presented to Trooper Ian McKay, age 26. McKay, who joined the department July 2007, has been very focused on detecting and apprehending impaired drivers involving the use of alcohol, as well as prescription medications and controlled substances. In 2010, McKay arrested 86 impaired drivers in Lincoln County, leading DUII enforcement for the OSP Newport office and all other Lincoln County area patrol officers for the second year.
"Trooper McKay's drive and ambition to remove impaired drivers from the road has quietly saved many lives. His efforts and passion is helping make our highways and communities safer," said OSP Superintendent Chris Brown.

Last year's award recipient in this category for OSP was Trooper Evan Sether from the Springfield Area Command office.