Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
News and Events
"Move Over" Law Focus of Enforcement Effort Weds, May 16, on Highway 101 in Coos County
05/14/2012
Lieutenant Steve Smartt
Oregon State Police - Coos Bay
(541) 888-2677

Following recent near misses involving motorists failing to move over for Oregon State Police (OSP) troopers on the side of area highways in Coos County, OSP will be conducting a targeted enforcement effort Wednesday, May 16, from 8:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. on Highway 101 in Coos County.Originally passed in 2003, Oregon's "Move Over" is designed to increase safety for travelers and those working along our roads by maintaining a safe distance for emergency responders.
 
The "Move Over" law (ORS 811.147) states that if you are driving up behind or next to any type of emergency vehicle (police car, ambulance or public safety vehicle), a roadside assistance vehicle or a tow vehicle working on the side of the road with emergency lights flashing, you must:
  • Move over to a non-adjacent lane on a highway having two or more lanes for traffic in a single direction; or,
  • Slow down to a speed that is at least five miles per hour under the post speed limit if making a lane change is unsafe or impossible (two directional, two-lane highway).
 
Last week during a 3-hour period, two OSP troopers worked along Highway 101 between milepost 240 to 243 and stopped 23 motorists for "Failure to Maintain a Safe Distance from Emergency Vehicle". The troopers noted approximately forty other drivers were in violation but they were unable to stop them because they were contacting other violators. Despite the law being in effect in Oregon for nine years, several drivers still told troopers they didn't know about the law.
 
A partnership between OSP and Oregon Department of Transportation has helped create media opportunities for public outreach. Local television and newspaper reporters will ride with OSP troopers during Wednesday's enforcement effort.
 
Additional public outreach materials and information is available on ODOT's website at:
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/TS/Traffic_Enforcement.shtml#Move_Over_or_Slow_Down_Law
 
Failure to comply with the "Move Over" law can result in a fine up to $260.
 
### www.oregon.gov/OSP ###​