Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
News
Klamath County Interagency Traffic Safety Enforcement Kicks of Memorial Day Holiday Weekend
05/21/2009
Sergeant Bob Fenner
Oregon State Police - Klamath Falls
Office: (541) 883-5713

Oregon State Police (OSP), Klamath County Sheriff's Office and Klamath Falls Police Department will be kicking off the Memorial Day holiday weekend traffic safety efforts Friday morning targeting crash-related violations in the Klamath Falls area. The planned interagency effort is also an opportunity to educate drivers about Oregon's "Move Over" law to help keep police and emergency responders safe while working along area roads.

 
On May 22, 2009 the interagency traffic safety operation will focus enforcement efforts in the morning on the Crater Lake Parkway, shifting in the afternoon hours to Highway 97. OSP Sergeant Bob Fenner emphasized officers hope to get two important messages out to area motorists whether they daily travel along these roads or are just passing through the Klamath Falls area.
 
"Each day we face the challenges of trying to prevent crashes from injury and killing people, while also keeping from being hurt ourselves by inattentive or careless drivers who aren't watching out for those who are working along the road. We want drivers to remember to drive safely every day while also knowing there is a law to keep us safe," said Fenner.
 
State, county and city police agencies in Oregon and around the country are stepping up enforcement efforts Friday, May 22nd, through Monday, May 25th, for Operation C.A.R.E. (Combined Accident Reduction Effort). The enforcement is aimed at reducing traffic crashes and coincides with the current increased safety restraint and child safety seat enforcement during the national "Click It or Ticket" campaign, May 18 - 31.
 
Officers making enforcement contacts related to a violation of the "Move Over" law will give the driver an educational "Move Over. It's the Law" brochure. "Handing out these brochures will help educate drivers of a law that has been in effect for over 5 years, and hopefully prevent future violations," said Klamath County Sheriff Tim Evinger.

 
The "Move Over" law (ORS 811.147) states that if you are driving up behind or next to any type of emergency vehicle - police car, ambulance or public safety vehicle - working on the roadside with emergency lights flashing, you must:
  • Move over to another lane.
  • If you cannot safely change lanes, you must slow down.
  • In all cases, the driver must try to provide as much room as possible for the emergency vehicle.

 
According to national statistics, a record number of traffic incidents involving police officers are occurring. More than 700 officers have been killed in the last 10 years when struck while working on the side of the highway. Since 2000, more than 20 Oregon emergency service workers have been killed or injured while responding to an incident alongside the road.
 
Failure to comply with the "Move Over" law can result in a fine up to $355.