Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
News
Novelty Lighters Now Illegal in Oregon
06/02/2009
Rich Hoover
Oregon State Fire Marshal's Office
(503) 934-8217

As of June 2, 2009 it is illegal to sell novelty or toylike lighters in Oregon. The ban prohibits manufacturing, selling, offering for sale or distribution, or importing novelty lighters for sale or distribution in Oregon.
 
Retailers were notified of the new law in March and had 90 days to remove any novelty or toylike lighters from their shelves.
 
Toylike lighters have features that are attractive to children, including visual effects, flashing lights, audio effects, cartoon or toylike designs or other elements that would reasonably be expected to make it attractive to a child less than 10 years old.
 
"This is an important day for the fire safety of Oregon children and their families," said State Fire Marshal Randy Simpson. "Many of these lighters look like toys and have lights or sounds attractive to children. When a child picks up one of these lighters, they have no idea they are playing with a dangerous device that could lead to a fire or burn injury."
 
Five other states have also banned novelty lighters, Arkansas, Maine, Tennessee, Virginia, and Washington. Twenty-two additional states have introduced legislation for a ban.
 
The Oregon Office of State Fire Marshal is responsible for implementing the new law. Complete information about the lighter ban along with sample photos and videos is available at:
http://www.oregon.gov/OSP/SFM/LP_NTLL_Program.shtml.