Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
News
High Speed Driver Stop Another Reminder to Slow Down, Be on the Lookout During Summer Months
06/13/2011
Lieutenant Gregg Hastings
Public Information Officer
(503) 731-3020 ext. 247

A 20-year old Eugene resident, who was also driving with a suspended license, was cited by an Oregon State Police (OSP) trooper early Sunday morning after being detected driving 118 mph on Interstate 5 south of Albany. This traffic stop is a reminder for all drivers to be on the lookout for this type of dangerous, high speed driving activity which increases during the summer months.
 
On June 12, 2011 at approximately 4:32 a.m. an off-duty OSP trooper saw a high speed vehicle southbound on Interstate 5 from Albany and called an on-duty trooper who was patrolling south in that area. The trooper was northbound, saw the speeding vehicle and obtained a radar reading up to 118 mph as it passed by an area where there was an emergency vehicle turnaround.

 
The trooper turned into the southbound lanes and overtook the speeding 2011 Nissan Altima near milepost 230. The trooper contacted the driver who was subsequently identified as CLIFF HARRIS, age 20, from Eugene. A check with Oregon indicated HARRIS was driving with a suspended operator's license. HARRIS was cited for Driving While Suspended and Exceeding the Speed Limit in Excess of 100 mph to wit: 118 mph in a 65 mph speed zone. A passenger with a valid operator's license drove the rented vehicle from the stop scene.
 
A second high-speed driver traffic stop happened Saturday afternoon, June 11, in south central Oregon when JI WANG, age 21, from Forest Grove, was cited by an OSP trooper at 103 mph on Highway 138E about six miles west of Highway 97. The trooper had just scared off a herd of mule deer on the highway moments before WANG drove into the area.
 
Since 2006, OSP noted a drop in the number of drivers cited at 100 mph or faster following the enactment of tougher laws to help save lives. Senate Bill 568 took effect January 1, 2006 specifying that driving a vehicle over 100 mph carries a mandatory minimum 30 - 90 suspension in addition to a fine of $1,148. Between 2006 and 2009, drivers cited by OSP troopers at 100 mph or faster dropped nearly 45 percent. Court-ordered suspensions have also dropped in conjunction with fewer high speed drivers being stopped and cited.
 
Excessive speed continues to be a factor in half of all traffic fatalities and is the only factor in about 30 percent. Crash severity increases sharply with speeds in excess of 60 mph, and probability of fatal injury increases significantly above 70 mph.
 
OSP, ODOT and partner law enforcement agencies encourage reporting dangerous drivers by calling 9-1-1 or OSP dispatch centers.