Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
OSP Arrests Former ODFW Education Services Section Manager on Theft, Forgery, Official Misconduct Charges
Lieutenant Steve Lane
OSP Fish & Wildlife Division - Northwest Region
Office: (503) 934-0324
Richard J. Hargrave
Oregon Department of Fish & Wildlife
Office: (503) 947-6020

Photograph link valid for 30 days - Source: Marion County Sheriff's Office
A former Education Services Section Manager for Oregon Department of Fish & Wildlife (ODFW) was arraigned Monday in Marion County Circuit Court following his arrest last week by Oregon State Police (OSP) related to allegations of theft, forgery, and official misconduct.
KENNETH R. CONDON, age 33, currently residing in Blackfoot, Idaho, was arrested June 13, 2008 at a Salem area residence on a Marion County arrest warrant charging Theft in the First Degree (4 counts), Forgery in the First Degree, and Official Misconduct in the First Degree (2 counts). CONDON was lodged in Marion County Jail and posted bail the following day. During an arraignment on June 16th, a release agreement was completed allowing CONDON to continue to reside in Idaho pending a future court appearance scheduled for 1:30 p.m. on July 15th.
CONDON was employed by ODFW from June 2004 to June 2006 when he resigned from the agency. In May 2007, OSP Fish & Wildlife Division conducted a four-week investigation after ODFW managers suspected CONDON had stolen over $8,000 worth of various sporting good items and construction type tools from their agency. The investigation was forwarded to the Marion County District Attorney's Office resulting in a warrant issued for CONDON's arrest.
On June 13th, OSP Detective Josh Brooks, who conducted the investigation when he was assigned in the OSP Fish & Wildlife Division, spotted CONDON at a Salem-area residence and took him into custody.
Theft First Degree and Forgery First Degree are both a Class C Felony, punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment of 5 years and a fine not exceeding $125,000.00.
Official Misconduct First Degree is a Class A Misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment of one year and a fine not exceeding $6,250.00.