Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
News
82-Year Old Cited for Traveling 110 MPH on Highway 26 east of Gresham
10/14/2010
Lieutenant Gregg Hastings
Public Information Officer
(503) 731-3020 ext. 247

An 82-year old woman was cited Thursday morning by Oregon State Police (OSP) after a trooper spotted her driving 110 mph on Highway 26 east of Gresham.
 
On October 14, 2010 at approximately 8:40 a.m. OSP Trooper Mike Reel was driving a marked OSP patrol car eastbound on Highway 26 near milepost 19 when he saw a grey 2005 Pontiac Bonneville approaching westbound at an extremely high rate of speed. Trooper Reel obtained a radar speed reading of 110 mph in a 55 mph speed zone from the car with hazard lights on as it was overtaking other traffic.
 
Reel safely turned around and overtook the Pontiac as it slowed down before he stopped it. The driver, MARCIA BRANDON, age 82, from Rhododendron, said she was enroute to a scheduled appointment but wasn't aware she was driving that fast.
 
BRANDON was cited for Violation of the Basic Rule – 110 mph in a 55 mph speed zone.
 
Since January 2006, OSP has tracked our enforcement of high speed drivers following the enactment of tougher laws to help save lives. Convictions for driving over 100 mph now carry a mandatory minimum 30 – 90 day suspension in addition to a $1,103 fine.
 
During a time when additional OSP troopers have been hired to patrol Oregon roads, OSP speed-related traffic contacts increased nearly 30 percent between 2006 and 2009. The review of OSP speed enforcement for 2009 of drivers cited at 100 mph or faster indicated a significant drop since 2006 when the stronger law and penalties became effective followed by additional trooper presence on our highways. In 2009, troopers cited 298 drivers for traveling 100 mph or faster on Oregon highways, an approximate 21 percent decrease from 2008 (376 drivers cited) and 45 percent since 2006 (537 drivers cited).
 
According to DMV there is a corresponding drop in court ordered suspensions for these convictions. In 2009 DMV noted 313 drivers received court ordered suspensions for driver over 100 mph. During the previous two years DMV posted 366 court ordered suspensions in 2008, and 428 court ordered suspensions in 2007.