Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
News
Oregonians Encouraged to Check Smoke Alarms When Changing Their Clocks
10/30/2008
Richard Hoover
Office of State Fire Marshal
Office: (503) 934-8217

Oregon State Fire Marshal Nancy Orr urges residents to check their smoke alarms when changing their clock from Daylight Savings Time to Standard Time Sunday, November 2nd.
 
Oregon smoke alarm laws are different than most other states. Since 1999, Oregon law requires all ionization-only smoke alarms sold in the state to have a hush feature; and if an ionization-only smoke alarm is also solely battery operated, it must also come with a 10-year lithium battery.
 
"Oregonians should first test their smoke alarm battery before automatically replacing it," says State Fire Marshal Nancy Orr. "Long-life lithium batteries are designed to last up to 10 years. If your alarm has one of these batteries, you may not need to replace it every time you change your clock, and that's why we encourage you to test your alarm first.
 
Orr reminds everyone to test and vacuum their alarms monthly to keep them in good working order.
 
Working smoke alarms provide an early warning to a fire, allowing you vital minutes to escape and increasing your chances of surviving a fire. Additional safety tips:
  • Install smoke alarms on every level of your home and outside each sleeping area
  • Replace smoke alarms 10 years old or older
  • Hard-wired alarms should have battery back-ups
  • Never disconnect or remove batteries from smoke alarms for other uses
  • Make a home escape plan and practice it
 
For more smoke alarm and fire safety information, contact your local fire department or visit http://www.oregon.gov/OSP/SFM/.