Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
News
Brief Overview of Some New Traffic Laws Going Into Effect January 1, 2010
12/17/2009
Lieutenant Gregg Hastings
Public Information Officer
(503) 731-3020 ext. 247
 
Sergeant Mike Stupfel
Patrol Services Division
(503) 934-0264
 
Shelley Snow
ODOT Public Affairs
(503) 986-3438

SALEM – Several new laws going into effect on January 1, 2010 are aimed at making roads safer for travelers of all kinds: pedestrians, bicyclists, drivers and passengers. Here’s an overview of several specific laws:
                                          
‘Move Over’ law. The Move Over law requires a motorist to move over to another lane if there is an emergency vehicle on the shoulder with its lights flashing. If you cannot move over safely (for example, there is a big truck in the next lane or it’s a two-lane road), you are required to slow down. For 2010, the law has added two types of vehicles to the list of “emergency vehicles” requiring motorists to move over or slow down: 1) roadside assistance vehicles; and 2) tow trucks. In addition, the law clarifies that “slow down” means slowing down to at least 5 mph below the posted speed limit. Read the bill online at
http://www.leg.state.or.us/09reg/measures/hb2000.dir/hb2040.en.html
 
Cell phone use. A new law bans using mobile communications devices while driving unless you are using a hands-free device (drivers under 18 are banned from using any kind of mobile communications device whether it is hands free or not). The law is intended to improve safety on Oregon roads by discouraging distracted driving. There are some exceptions to the ban, such as for those using a mobile communications device while driving if the vehicle is necessary for the person’s job, or for emergencies. In general, however, drivers should stay focused on the driving task and avoid distractions of any kind. See the bill at
http://www.leg.state.or.us/09reg/measures/hb2300.dir/hb2377.en.html
 
Motorcycle endorsement. The new law increases the penalty for riding a motorcycle without a motorcycle endorsement from a Class B ($360) to a Class A ($720) violation. The law also requires a court to suspend the fine for the violation if the rider completes training and receives a motorcycle endorsement within 120 days of sentencing. For information on how to get a motorcycle endorsement, visit the DMV Web site, www.oregondmv.com.  For information on Oregon’s approved motorcycle rider education courses, visit the TEAM Oregon Web site, www.team-oregon.org.
 
Motorcycle training. The new law phases in the requirement that all new motorcycle riders complete an ODOT-approved motorcycle safety course before they can be issued a motorcycle endorsement by DMV. Beginning Jan 1, 2011, all new motorcycle riders under the age of 31 must complete the TEAM Oregon basic rider training course as part of the endorsement process unless they have a valid motorcycle-endorsed license from another state. The knowledge test and on-cycle drive test option, as well as the intermediate rider course and knowledge test option, will not be available to riders under age 31. Additional age groups will be phased-in as follows:
 
Jan. 1, 2012 – All riders under age 41
Jan. 1, 2013 – All riders under age 51
Jan. 1, 2014 – All riders under age 61
Jan. 1, 2015 – All riders no matter what age.
 
To see the bill, visit http://www.leg.state.or.us/09reg/measures/sb0500.dir/sb0546.en.html.
For information on how to get a motorcycle endorsement, visit the DMV Web site, www.oregondmv.com.  For information on Oregon’s approved motorcycle rider education courses, visit the TEAM Oregon Web site, www.team-oregon.org.
 
DUII penalties. A revised law allows a greater minimum fine for a person convicted of DUII with a blood alcohol level of .15 percent or higher. The new minimum is $2,000. Previously, there wasn’t a different fine based on BAC level. View the bill at
http://www/leg/state.or.us/09reg/measpdf/hb2400.dir/hb2426.en.pdf.
 
Find more details about these laws and other safety-related information at
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/newlaws09.shtml.