Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
News
Friendly Reminder: Purchase, Possess and Display Sno-Park Permits
12/21/2009
Shelley Snow
ODOT Public Affairs
(503) 986-3438
 
Lieutenant Gregg Hastings
Public Information Officer
(503) 731-3020 ext. 247

Sno-Park Sign image link valid for 30 days - Source: ODOT
http://www.flashalertnewswire.net/images/news/2009-12/1002/Sno_Park_Permit_80x80.jpg
 
Purchase, Possess and Display. Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) and Oregon State Police (OSP) offer that friendly reminder to those who will be traveling to and parking in Oregon's winter recreation areas.
 
Between November 1 and April 30, Sno-Park permits are required to be displayed in the windshield of vehicles parked in designated winter recreation areas. Revenue from Sno-Park permits pays for snow removal in these areas.
 
In cooperation with ODOT, OSP troopers will be working overtime enforcement in designated winter recreation areas around the state. Nearly two months into the winter period when permits are required, enforcement efforts last weekend indicate many people have not purchased Sno-Park permits. On Saturday, December 18th, two OSP troopers cited over 250 vehicles for violation of the Sno-Park permit law in the Mt. Hood area. Each citation for parking in a designated area without a permit may result in a $30 fine.
 
Three types of Sno-Park permits are available for purchase:
  • Annual - $20
  • 3-Day (consecutive) - $7
  • Daily - $3
 
Sno-Park permits are sold at all DMV offices and by permit agents in resorts, sporting goods stores, and other retail outlets. Agents are allowed to charge an additional service fee for each permit they sell.
 
More information about Sno-Park parking permits, including a link to a map of Oregon Sno-Parks, is available on ODOT's website at:
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/vehicle/sno_park_permits.shtml