Use your training, experience and background to start a career with the Oregon State Police
— Openings in most offices in the state
— You will know where you are assigned prior to recruit school
Requirements: (same as entry level recruit)
— Pass Written and Physical Testing
— Background Investigation
— Psychological and Medical Testing
Pay and Benefits:
— A comprehensive competitive benefit package
— Pay adjusted based upon experience
— Opportunities with Patrol, Criminal, and Fish and Wildlife
— Possible that you will not have to relocate
— Eligible to promote to sergeant after two years of service with the State Police and a total of five years of law enforcement experience.
-- Lateral applications are accepted during any and all application openings. Lateral applicants will use the same application as entry level applicants
Adjusted Lateral Training Program:
— Oregon DPSST certified officers who lateral to OSP will be required to attend OSP mandatory 4 week pre-training and 6 week post training but are exempt from the DPSST 16 week basic course.
— Out of state certified police officers will be required to attend OSP mandatory 4 week pre and 6 week post training and are exempt from the 16 week basic course, however, must attend a two week DPSST Police Career Development Course.
— Full retirement is available as early as age 50 with 25 years of service, or at age 55 with as little as 5 years of service with PERS tier I or tier II.
— Oregon PERS is transferable if you are a current member.
|Police Experience Transferable
|3 years (minimum)
|7 years (maximum)
|*Does not include applicable incentives: 3% Associates Degree/Intermediate Police Certificate, 6% Bachelor's Degree/Advanced Certificate|
(Pay Scale as of 03/01/09)