OREGON Oregon State Police

Kate Brown. Governor Office of State Fire Marshal
! 4760 Portland Road NE

Salem, OR 97305-1760

503- 378-3473

503- 373-1825 fax

E-mail: Oregon.sfm@state.or.us
www.oregon.gov/osp/sfm

June 23, 2015

For Immediate Release

Contacts:

Rich Hoover Brent Griffiths

Community Liaison Compliance Specialist
Office of State Fire Marshal Office of State Fire Marshal
503-934-8217 office 503-934-8287 office

503-370-0033 pager

Fireworks - Keep it Legal, Keep it Safe
The Office of State Fire Marshal (OSFM), Oregon fire service, Keep Oregon Green, natural resource
agencies, Oregon fireworks wholesalers, and safety experts encourage Oregonians to “Keep it Legal and
Keep it Safe” when using fireworks. The 2015 Oregon fireworks sales season opens Monday, June 23 and
runs through Sunday, July 5. The OSFM and their partners want everyone to know what fireworks are legal

in Oregon, where they are permitted, and the important steps to take for fireworks safety.

“People often forget that legal fireworks can only be purchased from Oregon permitted fireworks retailers
and stands,” says State Fire Marshal Jim Walker. “And, regulations limit where those fireworks may be

used. For example, fireworks are prohibited on all Oregon beaches, in parks, and campgrounds.”

July 4™ holiday forest visitors are advised to leave all fireworks at home. The use of fireworks is prohibited
on all national forestland, and most other public lands. “Fireworks compound the threat to already dry
forests,” states Keep Oregon Green President Kristin Babbs. “Enjoy fireworks where they belong: on the

pavement- safely away from houses, vehicles, and flammable vegetation.”

Oregon law bans possession, use, or sale of fireworks that fly, explode, or travel more than six feet on the
ground or 12 inches into the air. Fireworks commonly called bottle rockets, Roman Candles, and

firecrackers are ILLEGAL in Oregon.

There were 165 reported fireworks-related fires in Oregon during 2014, resulting in 33 injuries and more
than $178,000 in property damage. Over the past five years, from 2010 through 2014, there were 839
reported fireworks-related fires in Oregon resulting in one death, 159 civilian injuries, and more than $3.9
million in property damage.

- more -



Officials may seize illegal fireworks and fine offenders up to $1,000 per violation. Those who misuse
fireworks or allow fireworks to cause damage are liable and may be required to pay fire suppression costs or

other damage. Parents are also liable for fireworks damage caused by their children.

“All Oregonians share the responsibility to use only legal fireworks and use them carefully,” adds Walker.
And we encourage you to be aware and considerate of neighbors and their pets, before deciding on when and

where you choose to light fireworks.”

The OSFM encourages everyone to use the four B’s of safe fireworks use:
e Be Prepared before lighting fireworks: keep water available by using a garden hose or bucket.
e Be Safe when lighting fireworks: keep children and pets away from fireworks.
e Be Responsible after lighting fireworks: never relight a dud. Wait 15 to 20 minutes then soak it
in a bucket of water before disposal.

e Be Aware: use only legal fireworks and use them only in legal places.

The four B’s of fireworks safety brochure is available here:

http://www.oregon.gov/OSP/SFM/docs/Licensing permits/fireworks/4BesFireworks.pdf.

Tips in Spanish are also available at:

http://www.oregon.gov/OSP/SFM/docs/Licensing permits/fireworks/Fireworks 4Bs Spanish.pdf.

More fireworks information is available at:

http://www.oregon.gov/OSP/SFEM/Licensing Fireworks Home.shtml
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