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Fireworks - Keep it Legal, Keep it Safe 

The Office of State Fire Marshal (OSFM), Oregon fire service, natural resource agencies, Oregon fireworks 

wholesalers, and safety experts encourage Oregonians to “Keep it Legal and Keep it Safe” when using 

fireworks. The 2013 Oregon fireworks sales season opens Sunday, June 23 and runs through July 6. The 

OSFM and their partners want everyone to know what fireworks are legal in Oregon, where they are 

permitted, and the important steps to take for fireworks safety.   

 

“People often forget that legal fireworks can only be purchased from Oregon permitted fireworks retailers 

and stands,” says State Fire Marshal Mark Wallace. “And, regulations limit where those fireworks may be 

used. For example, fireworks are prohibited on all Oregon beaches, in parks, and campgrounds.”  

  

Oregon law bans possession, use, or sale of fireworks that fly, explode, or travel more than six feet on the 

ground or 12 inches into the air. Fireworks commonly called bottle rockets, Roman Candles, and 

firecrackers are ILLEGAL in Oregon. 

 

There were 161 reported fireworks-related fires in Oregon during 2012, resulting in more than 36 injuries 

and more than $230,000 in property damage. Over the past five years, from 2008 through 2012, there were 

824 reported fireworks-related fires in Oregon resulting in 111 civilian injuries, and more than $3.6 million 

in property damage.  

 

Under Oregon law, officials may seize illegal fireworks and fine offenders up to $500 per violation. Those 

who misuse fireworks or allow fireworks to cause damage are liable and may be required to pay fire 

suppression costs or other damage. Parents are also liable for fireworks damage caused by their children.  
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“All Oregonians share the responsibility to use only legal fireworks and use them carefully,” adds Wallace. 

And we encourage you to be aware and considerate of neighbors and their pets, before deciding on when and 

where you choose to light fireworks.”  

 

The OSFM encourages everyone to use the four B’s of safe fireworks use: 

 Be Prepared before lighting fireworks: keep water available by using a garden hose or bucket. 

 Be Safe when lighting fireworks: keep children and pets away from fireworks. 

 Be Responsible after lighting fireworks: never relight a dud. Wait 15 to 20 minutes then soak it 

in a bucket of water before disposal. 

 Be Aware: use only legal fireworks and use them only in legal places. 

 

The four B’s of fireworks safety brochure is available here: 

http://www.oregon.gov/OSP/SFM/docs/Licensing_permits/fireworks/4BesFireworks.pdf. 

Tips in Spanish are also available at: 

http://www.oregon.gov/OSP/SFM/docs/Licensing_permits/fireworks/Fireworks_4Bs_Spanish.pdf. 

 

More fireworks information is available at:  

http://www.oregon.gov/OSP/SFM/Licensing_Fireworks_Home.shtml 
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