Back to Top
The Cardlock Program carries out the statutory requirements for the licensing and regulation of commercial fuel dispensing of Class 1 flammable fuels in Oregon. In specific circumstances, qualified customers are allowed to dispense gasoline at licensed cardlock facilities.
The program is funded through cardlock license and customer fees.
Applicable Statutes, Rules, and Fire and Life Safety Codes
Back to Top
License Types and Qualifying Requirements
Facility License Types:
Back to Top
Standard: – (Only) - No retail operations are located at the same site. Dual Operation - Distance Separation – A cardlock facility and a retail facility are located at the same site. The pump islands must be separated by a distance of 50 feet (In certain circumstances, the distance between pump islands can be separated by a distance of not less than 20 feet if prior approval is granted by the State Fire Marshal. In these cases, specific requirements of the Oregon Fire Code (OFC) must be met). Dual Operation - Time Separation – The same pumps are used for both cardlock and retail operations. Since cardlock operations and retail operations cannot occur at the same pumps at the same time, the operations must be separated by time. License addendum required. Conditional Use – No retail facility is located within seven miles and existing, undue hardship conditions have been demonstrated at a hearing. Allows residents who live in remote areas of the state to have access to gasoline. How to apply – To obtain a license, an owner or operator is required to complete and submit an application and a $300 fee to the OSFM. The application is then reviewed and the facility inspected. Upon determining the facility meets all requirements, a license will be issued and the facility may open for business. Licenses are valid for one year from the date of issue, unless they are revoked or suspended for a violation of ORS 480.310 through 480.385 or OAR 837-020-0025 through 837-020-0125. New Cardlock Facility License Application Form Time Separation Addendum Form
- Dual Operation – Distance Separation
- Dual Operation - Time Separation
- Conditional Use
Customers must meet the following requirements prior to accessing fuel, except for the 900-gallon annual purchase requirement. (Customers who do not meet the annual gallonage requirement at the end of the first year will no longer be allowed to access fuel at a cardlock facility.)
Back to Top
- A signed agreement with the cardlock owner/operator certifying the customer will meet all requirements.
- Business eligibility documentation showing the customer's active business status.
- Documentation that fire safety training was provided by the operator to the customer prior to dispensing any fuel, and the customer will provide training to their account users.
- Documentation showing the minimum annual fuel purchase requirement of 900 gallons of fuel has been met by the customer.
Cardlock facilities are inspected at least once each license year. The onsite inspection is referred to as a fire and life safety inspection. During the fire and life safety inspection, the presence, location, and condition of all required emergency equipment and signage are verified. If a deficiency is identified at the time the facility is inspected, a Notice and Order of Correction is issued to the owner or operator, providing an opportunity for the correction of the deficiency. Once the owner or operator notifies the inspector the deficiency has been corrected, the facility may be reinspected to ensure compliance. Facility Equipment Requirements
Back to Top
Facility Signage Requirements Warning signs must be clearly and conspicuously posted at each facility and be readable from a distance of 10 feet from each Class 1 Flammable Liquid dispensing pump.
- An emergency fuel shutdown device must be mounted within 100 feet, but no nearer than 20 feet of any nonretail dispenser and the location of the emergency fuel shutoff (EFSO) device must be clearly and conspicuously posted.
- A fire extinguisher with a minimum classification of 2A, 20B:C must be mounted within 75 feet of any dispenser.
- A fire alarm transmitting device or telephone not requiring the use of a coin is required at the site.
- The site must be adequately lighted at all times.
- Where retail and nonretail dispensing of gasoline may occur simultaneously, nonretail pumps must be located at least 50 feet from retail pumps (not less than 20 feet, if specific requirements are met and prior approval given by the OSFM).
- Nonretail pumps must be located so that natural grade or curbs prevent drainage toward any building or retail dispensing areas.
- Nonretail pumps must be installed in accordance with the Oregon Fire Code (OFC), and each pump must be provided with a listed automatic closing type hose nozzle with a latch-open device designed so the nozzle is retained in the fill pipe during fueling operations.
- Each product delivery hose must be equipped with a listed emergency breakaway device designed to retain liquid on both sides of the breakaway point.
- Nonretail pumps must be installed in accordance with the OFC regarding: Property Lines; Construction; Bulk Plant Barriers, and Fixed Sources of Ignition.
- Warning signs stating “No Smoking, Do Not Fill Unapproved Containers, Shut Off Motor.”
- Warning signs stating “In Case of Fire, Spill, or Release”; “Use the Emergency Fuel Shut Off”; “Report the Accident!” and include emergency fire department phone numbers or 911; and the Facility Address.
- Warning signs stating portable containers must be removed from the vehicle and placed on the ground before filling.
- Warning signs stating a) Discharge static electricity before fueling; b) Do not reenter your vehicle while fueling; c) If a fire starts, do not remove nozzle; use the EFSO.
- Warning signs stating “It is a violation of law, subject to penalty, to dispense flammable liquids without first receiving the training required by the rules.”
- Warning signs stating “It is a violation of law, subject to penalty to dispense flammable liquids for personal use or into vehicles or containers not owned or used by a business, government, non-profit or charitable organization.”
- A sign listing the phone number of the owner or operator.
- Instruction signs for the operation of nonretail dispensers must be clearly and conspicuously posted.
- The location and instructions for use of the EFSO and fire extinguisher(s) must be clearly and conspicuously posted.
- Where required, signs of specific size directing customers to retail and nonretail pump islands must be posted per rule.
- Where required, signs of specific size stating the retail and non-retail hours of operation.
Operators must inspect their cardlock facilities each week to ensure they are in proper working condition. Proof of compliance is checked during records inspections.
Back to Top
Records of each cardlock operator are inspected at least once every license year with a minimum of five percent of each operator records being reviewed. The purpose of records inspections is to ensure each customer meets the requirements to access nonretail fuel dispensing facilities according to the requirements of Oregon law. The records inspections are also used as an opportunity for cardlock compliance specialists to provide technical assistance to the operator’s staff regarding customer requirements. The compliance specialist will review key areas of customer documentation during a records inspection. Each customer file must contain the following:
Back to Top
- The signed agreement the customer entered into with the cardlock operator.
- Verifiable documentation showing the customer is currently engaged in business.
- Proof the customer has received safety training prior to dispensing fuel.
- Proof the customer has purchased at least 900 gallons of fuel every 12 months (or proof of exemption).
The same laws that allow nonretail gasoline dispensing require the OSFM to enforce Oregon’s gasoline dispensing laws. The law does not prohibit the public from dispensing diesel fuel. It is up to retail station operators to allow or prohibit it.
Back to Top
Investigations are conducted by cardlock staff to address alleged fuel dispensing violations, both at cardlock facilities and retail facilities. Even though commercial fueling is allowed at cardlock facilities, gasoline cannot be dispensed into vehicles not being used for business purposes.
Civil Penalties for Violation of Cardlock Statutes and Rules
Civil Penalties may be issued for violations of Oregon’s cardlock statutes or rules. A person or business who violates any provision of ORS 480.310 through 480.385 or OAR 837-020-0025 through 837-020-0125 as adopted by the OSFM is subject to a civil penalty in an amount not to exceed $500 per violation. Detailed information on civil penalties may be found in OAR 837-020-0125.
Back to Top
Exemptions to Oregon’s fueling laws allow certain individuals and businesses to dispense Class 1 flammable liquids (gasoline). Exemptions are Pilots and Motorcyclists:
Back to Top
- Pilots may fuel their own aircraft at airports permitted by the Oregon Department of Aviation.
- Motorcyclists operating their motorcycle, may choose to dispense gasoline. If the motorcyclist chooses to fuel their own motorcycle, the retail station attendant is required to activate the pump and hand the nozzle to the motorcyclist. When the fueling is complete, the motorcyclist is required to hand the nozzle back to the attendant to deactivate the dispenser. The motorcyclist may not activate or deactivate the fuel dispensing devices.
The Office of State Fire Marshal’s Non-Retail Fuel Dispensing Program is committed to protecting life and property through efficient and effective compliance enforcement of Oregon’s non-retail gasoline dispensing laws. We are providing this training video so cardlock users are aware of and practice safe fueling procedures at non-retail fueling facilities. Videos on this channel are uploaded by the Oregon Office of State Fire Marshal for use by the public and Oregon fire agencies to learn more about fire safety and emergency response.
An overview on what OSFM Cardlock inspectors look for when they inspect Cardlock facilities. Videos on this channel are uploaded by the Oregon Office of State Fire Marshal for use by the public and Oregon fire agencies to learn more about fire safety and emergency response.