Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
General Operator Certifcation

General Operator Certification Overview

General Operator Certification applicants must meet the following requirements to obtain their certification. These requirements must be fulfilled in the three years (or less) immediately preceding the submission of their General Operator Certification application to the OSFM.
 
Be 21years of age or older and complete the following duties on three or more Oregon General Fireworks Displays:
  1. Installation of Mortars
  2. Loading of Shells
  3. Clean up and Inspection of the display site after the display is ended
  4. Manual Firing of the Display
  5. Installation of Set Pieces
  6. Tending Magazine
  7. Installation of Electrical Firing System
  8. Complete a training course approved by the OSFM
  9. Pass a written examination, administered by the OSFM, with 80% or more of the questions answered correctly.


Back to Top

Scheduling an Examination (On-line Only)

To schedule an examination, applicants should complete the following application and submit it to OSFM. You may fax or mail this application, contact information is below.
 
Once the application is received and entered into the online examination iLearn system, the applicant will receive an email from the OSFM, giving them access to take the examination.
 
Application To Take General Operator Certification Examination
Back to Top

Examination Fee

No fee.

Back to Top

Examination Contact Information

Office of State Fire Marshal
License & Permits Branch
4760 Portland Rd NE
Salem, OR 97305

Phone: 503-934-8274
Fax: 503-934-8288

Back to Top

Examination Study Materials

The operator certification examination is a closed book examination. It is recommended that the training course required for certification be completed prior to taking the examination. The following materials are the study materials for the examination.

 
Oregon Revised Statutes 480.165 through 480.165 
 
Oregon Administrative Rules 837-012-0700 through 837-012-0970
 
Sample Questions 

Back to Top

Civil Penalties

Civil Penalties may be issued for a violation(s) of Oregon’s fireworks statutes and rules. A person who violates any provision of ORS 480.110 through 480.165 or OAR Chapter 837, Division 12 as adopted by the State Fire Marshal is subject to a civil penalty in an amount not to exceed $500 per violation. In addition to issuing citations and penalties, the State Fire Marshal and fire authorities may confiscate any fireworks associated with the violation. 

Civil Penalties Brochure

Oregon Administrative Rules for Civil Penalties 

Back to Top