Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Display Fireworks

Display Fireworks Overview

Display fireworks permits allow companies and individuals to engage in permitted fireworks activities. Office of State Fire Marshal (OSFM) staff administer examinations to qualify individuals to discharge fireworks during fireworks displays.
 
Display permits include General, Limited, and Special effects displays. A general display permit may include 1.3g, 1.4g, and special effects fireworks. A limited display permit may only use a 1.4g fireworks, and special effects display permits may only use special effects fireworks. 

Back to Top

Display Operator Certification

General and limited display operators must be certified. A display operator certification is valid for three years from the date issued unless it is revoked or suspended for a violation of ORS 480.110 through 480.165 or OAR Chapter 837, Division 12 as adopted by the State Fire Marshal. Applicants for operator certification or re-certification should apply 90 days prior to the date of the display in which they plan to use their operator certification or the date their current certification expires.

General Operator Certification

Limited Operator Certification

 

Special Effects Operator Certification

At this time, special effects displays do not require a certified operator.

Back to Top

Display Permits

Fireworks Display Permits include General, Limited, and Special Effects displays. A general display permit may include 1.3g, 1.4g, and special effects fireworks. A limited display permit may only use 1.4g fireworks, and a special effects display permit may only use special effects fireworks. Each date or time of display requires a separate permit, with the exception of special effects display permits for exact, and consecutive displays. 
 
Display Permits
Back to Top

Civil Penalties

Civil Penalties may be issued for violations of Oregon’s fireworks statutes and rules.  A person who violates any provision of ORS 480.110 through 480.165 or OAR Chapter 837, Division 12 as adopted by the State Fire Marshal is subject to a civil penalty in an amount not to exceed $500 per violation. In addition to issuing citations and penalties, the State Fire Marshal and fire authorities may confiscate any fireworks associated with the violation.

Civil Penalties Brochure

Oregon Administrative Rules for Civil Penalties

Back to Top