1989 - Oregon’s first registration laws are enacted.
- The Department of Corrections (DOC) is
responsible for all registrations. Registrations began when an offender is released on parole
or is sentenced to a term of probation, the registration requirement begins
and lasts for 5 years.
- DOC is required to
enter offender information into the Law Enforcement Data System (i.e.,
name, description, address and offense). The information is updated
only when the offender changes residences and can give an address update in
writing by U.S. mail.
- There are no criminal
penalties for failing to register.
1991 - new crimes are added requiring registration.
- Supervised adult offenders
coming into Oregon via Interstate Compact Agreement are made subject to
- During their supervision,
offenders are required to register with Community Corrections; post
supervision offenders register with the Oregon State Police.
- Annual registration and address
changes within 30 days are added to the requirements.
- Penalties are added for
non-compliance ranging from a violation to a Class C Felony.
- Registration is extended to
lifetime from the 5-year requirement. The ability for relief from registration is added. The new laws “grandfather” offenders in from 1989.
1993 - “Predatory” designation is created.
A predatory designation is given to convictions or adjudications
of: Rape in any degree, Sodomy in any degree, Penetration with an Object in any
degree, Sex Abuse in any degree and attempts to commit any of the above AND
“Exhibits characteristics showing a tendency to victimize or injure
others”. Language regarding the use of a risk assessment tool is
- Non-mandatory public
notification is included, with any level of notification available at the
discretion of the supervising official.
- Persons found “guilty except
for insanity” of a sex crime are required to register the same as other
1995 - additional crimes are added to the list requiring
- The registration requirement
is changed to include offenders who move into Oregon from out of state.
- The registration requirement
is reduced so offenders now have 10 days to register for annual and
- Some misdemeanor sex crimes
are added to the list of offenses that are not eligible for petition to
set aside a conviction.
- Predatory offender
“community notification” authority is extended to law enforcement after
the termination of an offender’s parole or probation.
- Changes are made to include
juveniles who commit sex crimes including mandatory sentencing and
remanding to adult court.
- Lifetime registration for
juveniles is enacted with the ability to petition for relief from
registration after 10 years.
- Youth may now be considered
predatory and subject to community notification.
1997 - all registration offenses become Class A Misdemeanors or
Class C Felonies.
- Supervising agencies must
provide additional information to the State Police for purposes of
- Oregon Youth Authority and
county juvenile departments are mandated to allow Oregon State Police
access to their files for offender profiling.
1999 - Oregon complies with federal registration mandates by
instigating a central registration repository at the Oregon State Police.
- To comply with Megan’s Law,
Oregon enacts public access to registered offender information via
telephone, in-person inquiry, and the Internet.
- New crimes are added
- Oregon State Police develop
the software to provide public web site access, the system is tested and
ready to implement.
- Court injunctions are filed
against the Oregon State Police in Marion County Circuit Court,
prohibiting the release of offender information on the internet.
- Language is added limiting
the release of address and conviction information by Oregon State Police regarding
sex offenders still under supervision.
2002 - Oregon State Police use Internet to make certain sex
offender’s information available to the public.
- An additional court
injunction is filed against Oregon State Police prohibiting release of
offender information on the internet and the 1999 injunction continues.
- Language to allow juveniles
relief from the duty to register is added.
- Prior to release, notification
must be made to appropriate law enforcement by the Parole Board when an
offender is released on parole or post-prison supervision (same applies to
offenders on probation).
- Language is added which
outlines criteria to be used by Oregon State Police or local law
enforcement to determine if an offender now off of supervision qualifies
for predatory status and public notification.
2003 - injunctions against Oregon State Police are vacated.
Due to budget cuts, Oregon State Police lay off approximately 129
Troopers and 125 professional staff, not including existing vacancy cuts.
No funding exists to implement a public web site for sex offender
2004 - language is changed allowing juveniles to petition for
2005 - legislative changes are made to create a public sex
offender website and track offenders working or attending school in Oregon.
- High risk Predatory sex
offenders are posted to a public website at http://sexoffenders.oregon.gov which is opened to the
public on June 29, 2006.
- Registered sex offenders who
are employed or enrolled at a post-secondary institution in Oregon are
required to report to law enforcement within 10 days of enrollment or 10
days from their 14th day of employment (effective January 1, 2006).
- Persons receiving relief from registration are required to send a
certified copy of the court order to the Oregon State Police Sex Offender
2006 - additional crimes are added to the list requiring registration; higher education attendance in Oregon requires registration.
- Second public or private indecency conviction, if conviction occurs on or after 01/01/2006 (no restrictions on when the 1st conviction occurred) - is added as a registerable offense.
- Within 10 days of the first day the person works at, carries on a vocation at or attends an institution of higher education and within 10 days of a change in work, vocation or attendance status at an institution of higher education an offender must report to law enforcement in person.
2007 - legislative renumber of relief statutes.
2008 - additional crimes are added to the list requiring registration.
- Online Sexual Corruption of a Child – is added as a registerable offense.
2012 - juveniles with misdemeanor adjudications no longer have to register.
- Sexual assault of an animal – is added as a registerable offense.
2013 - additional crimes are added to the list requiring registration.
- “Luring a minor” is registerable offense if court ordered.
- Conspiracy to commit a sex crime is added as registerable offense.
- Purchasing sex with a minor is added as registerable offense.
- Trafficking is added as registerable offense.
- Requires a sex offender who
is released into Oregon, who is placed on probation in Oregon, or who moves
into Oregon, to register as a sex offender if jurisdiction of conviction or
federal law requires registration, regardless of whether conviction would be
sex crime in this state.