Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Application Form Information

OT and OT Assistant APPLICATION FORMS

The Occupational Therapy Licensing Board has a new  Oregon Ethics/Law exam.  It will be required with application forms starting Jan. 2014

 

For an OT Application Form use the links below: 

OT_License_Application in word format

OT_License_Application in pdf format

OT INSTRUCTIONS:

  •  Sign and return the completed application form with check or money order payable to the “OT Licensing Board” 
  • FEE:  Starting March 1st, 2014, the OT Application fee will be $175 ($100 for the application and $75 for second year fee) to expire May 2016.   If you do not need a license until March 2015, pay only the $100 application fee and not the second year fee.
  • Send your OT school transcripts if you just took NBCOT exam and this is your first initial OT license.
    • You do not need to send school transcripts if you are coming by endorsement from another state. 
  • New:  you no longer need to order your NBCOT verification to be sent to us.  We are able to look up your certification directly on the NBCOT website.

o   Exception:  For those who are just going to take the exam, pay to have the exam scores sent to Oregon when you sign up to take the exam, and we will have them on a secure site the day after the exam is graded.

o   If you registered to take the exam, but did not ask and pay for scores to be sent to the Oregon Board, you must pay for the verification to be sent to Oregon and it will be come by paper mail in a few weeks.

  • Have state verification(s) sent to Oregon from any state where you have ever been licensed and worked.
  • Pass the New Oregon Ethics/Law Exam.

 
Have each state where you have ever been licensed and worked to send a verification to Oregon.  Either order it from that state's web site, contact them directly, or Click here for a sample state request form you can use. Be sure to pay their fee to send the verification to Oregon.   

For an OT Assistant Application Form use the link below: 
  
OTA_License_Application in word format

OTA_License_Application in pdf format

 

The Occupational Therapy Licensing Board has a new  Oregon Ethics/Law exam.  It will be required with application forms starting Jan. 2014

 

OTA INSTRUCTIONS:

  • Return signed, complete application form with check or money order payable to the “OT Licensing Board” 
  • FEE: Starting March 1st, 2014, the OT Application fee will be $120 ($70 for the application and $50 for second year fee) to expire May 2016  If you do not need a license until March 2015, pay only the $70 application fee and not the second year fee.
  • Send your OT school transcripts if you just took NBCOT exam and this is your first initial OT license.
    • You do not need to send school transcripts if you are coming by endorsement from another state.
  • New:  you no longer need to order your NBCOT verification to be sent to us.  We are able to look up your certification directly on the NBCOT website.
o Exception: For those who are just going to take the exam, pay to have the exam scores sent to Oregon when you sign up to take the exam, and we will have them on a secure site the day after the exam is graded.
o If you registered to take the exam, but did not ask and pay for scores to be sent to the Oregon Board, you must pay for the verification to be sent to Oregon and it will be come by paper mail in a few weeks.

 

  • Have state verification(s) sent to Oregon from any state where you have ever been licensed and worked.
  • As an OT Assistant in Oregon, you must work under the supervision of an Oregon license OT. Send in a Supervision form prior to start of work.  See Supervision on left menu.
  • Pass the New Oregon Ethics/Law Exam.

Go to Supervision to see the supervision form which must be filed with the board office prior to start of work for OT Assistants.  

 
Have each state where you have ever been licensed and worked to send a verification to Oregon. Either order it from that state's web site, contact them or Click here for a sample state request form you can use. Be sure to pay their fee to send the verification to Oregon. 

Back to Top

NEW: ETHICS AND LAW EXAM

All applicants must take and pass the Oregon Ethics/Law exam before they can receive their new license.  Already licensed Oregon OT and OTA's can also take the exam for 1 free CEU.
 
The Director will receive the results directly by email.   If you do not pass it the first time, you will be able to re-take it again the next day.
 
There is a helpful study guide below that you can refer to while you take the exam.  Links to AOTA Supervision Guidelines and ORS OT Statutes and OT Administrative Rules are also available.  The exam is “open book”.  Hint:  watch for the bolded items.

 

Law and Ethics Exam

 

Study Guide for each section of the exam:

Questions 1 - 3 (Licensing Board)

Questions 4 - 10 (Licensing)

Questions 11 - 15 (Unprofessional Conduct)

Questions 16 - 18 (Supervision)

Questions 19 - 20 (Use of Aides)

Questions 21 - 22 (Continuing Education)

Questions 23 - 25 (Miscellaneous)

 

AOTA Supervision Guidelines

ORS OT Statutes

OT Administrative Rules

 

Back to Top

LIMITED PERMITS AVAILABLE

Limited Permits are available only once for those who are applying to take the NBCOT examination.  The Limited permit costs $25 and is eligible for 90 days from the date of your NBCOT Authorization to Test notification. 

 

OT and OTA_LP_Application and Supervision form as a .doc

 

OT and OTA_LP_Application and Supervision form as a .pdf

 

 

Instructions:

 

  •      Return the signed and completed form with a $25 check or money order payable to the “OT Licensing Board”. 
  •      Your original school transcripts must be sent directly to the Oregon OT Licensing Board from your school.
  •      We require the "Authorization to Test" notification from NBCOT - you can forward the email or fax a copy.   You do not need to pay for a paper copy to be sent to the OT Licensing Board if you have the email.
  •      Have exam results from NBCOT sent directly to the Oregon Board.  If you pay for this when you register to take you exam, the OTLB Director can access the results through a secure site the day after results are in.  If you do not pay for the service when you register to take your exam, you must pay for the exam results to be mailed by paper copy, which takes several weeks.
  •      Have a signed "Statement of Supervision" filed in the OTLB office prior to working under the LP.  It can be faxed to 971-673-0226 or scanned and emailed.

 

 

Back to Top

FEES for APPLICATIONS

Fees are either for a one-year or a two-year license.

 
For OT Licenses:


The current application fee for an initial Oregon Occupational Therapy license application is $175.00and will expire May 31, 2016.  If you do not need your license until March 2015, pay only the $100 application fee and not the second year fee.

 


For OTA licenses:


The current application fee for the initial Oregon Occupational Therapy Assistant license application is $120.00 and will expire May 31, 2016.   If you do not need your license until March 2015, pay only the $70 application fee and not the second year fee.


 

CLARIFICATION NOTE:  We license in even years: May 2014 to May 2016, May 2016 to May 2018. 
 
-  If you apply at the beginning of a two year licensure period,
       you will pay the application fee, plus the second year fee.
-  If you apply during the second year of the two year licensure period,
       you will pay only the application fee and not the second year fee.
 
If you are uncertain about the fees, call the Director, Felicia Holgate at 971-673-0198 or Nancy Schuberg at 971-673-0202.  You can also e-mail us at Felicia.M.Holgate@state.or.us or Nancy.Schuberg@state.or.us.



 

Back to Top

HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE?

Our goal is to issue licenses after receipt of all required documents within three working days.  
 
NBCOT has an expedited process - see their form or their web site at www.nbcot.org   
 
What takes longest is waiting for verifications to come in from the states where you have been licensed.  Be sure to pay the fee when you request the state(s) to send verifications to the Oregon Board.  
 

Back to Top

NAME CHANGES

Email the Board if you have had a name change.  Include a copy of the legal document showing the name change.  

If documents will come in a different name, please make that clear on the front of your application form!  
 
Be sure to include any changes to address, telephone or e-mail.

Back to Top

CE

Be sure that you have 30 points of CE if you are applying for an Oregon license.  The only exception is for those who just passed the NBCOT exam.  They are exempt from the CE requirement for the first year.
 
See other information about CE on the Continuing Education bar on the left or click here.
 
Here is a copy of the CE log form to fill out to track your CE hours:

CE_Activities_Log_Form.doc

CE_Activities_Log_Form.pdf

 

Back to Top

REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE

 
If you wish to reinstate a previously held Oregon license please contact the Director at Felicia.M.Holgate@state.or.us  If you had an OT license within the last three years and can show you have the required Continuing Education, you can renew your license by sending in the application, the fee and CE information.   You also need to send an official verification from any state where you were licensed after your Oregon license lapsed.  The verification must come directly from the state OT licensing Board and state dates of license and whether there has been any complaints.  


 
If you have not been licensed for three years or more in any state, then you must complete a Re-Entry program or retake the NBCOT examination.  To see the new Pacific University - Re-entry Program  as a means of re-education and updating your skills.  For additional information, contact the director by calling the office at 971-673-0198 or by e-mail at Felicia.M.Holgate@state.or.us 

OT Reinstatement Form in word format

OT Reinstatement Form in pdf format 

 

 

OTA Reinstatement Form in word format

OTA Reinstatement Form in pdf format

 


 

Back to Top

FOREIGN TRAINED?

FOREIGN TRAINED Occupational Therapists
The Oregon Occupational Therapy Licensing Board does issue licenses to foreign trained therapists if they have met all the qualifications of the Oregon statutes, ORS 675.210 to 675.340.  Applicants must have been found eligible to take, and pass the NBCOT certification examination. For information about NBCOT visa and credential information check www.NBCOT.org.

NBCOT recognizes that there are many different types of educational systems around the world. Although the foreign system may be different, occupational therapy schools are approved by the international organization that sets worldwide standards for occupational therapy educational programs. If the applicant in Oregon has met those standards, been approved to take the national certification examination, passed it and have met the requirements for licensure, they can be licensed in Oregon.

In addition, if the foreign trained applicant does not have a Social Security Number they must fill out and submit a notarized Affidavit regarding SS Number to the Board.    

Back to Top

NO TEMPORARY LICENSES

The Limited Permit is the only "temporary" license we have in Oregon which allows a new graduate to work under the supervision of a licensed OT waiting for the exam results.
 
Oregon does NOT have any other temporary license.

Back to Top

RE-ENTRY INTO PRACTICE

Unlicensed over 3 years? In Oregon either retake NBCOT exam or do a Re-Entry Program.
Oregon law requires that a formerly licensed Occupational Therapist or OT Assistant that has not been licensed in Oregon (or another state) for more than three years, must either retake the NBCOT exam or go through a Board approved Re-Entry program.   
 
For information about retaking the NBCOT exam for licensure purposes (only in Oregon) contact the Director Felicia.M.Holgate@state.or.us or call the Board office at 971-673-0198.
 
For information about the Re-Entry program in Oregon call the Director and go to:  
Pacific University - Re-entry Program for specific information about the board approved program.
Back to Top

NEW: STUDENT LICENSING HANDBOOK

Back to Top