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Role of the Board 

The Board is responsible for protecting the health, safety and welfare of individuals who receive 

Occupational Therapy services in Oregon.   

The ROLE of the Oregon OT Licensing Board is to:   

(1) Investigate complaints and take appropriate action.  

(2) Make and enforce laws and rules regarding OT practice.  

(3) Establish continuing education requirements.  

(4) Process applications and issue license and renewals.  

(5) Collect fees and authorize disbursements of funds.   

The MISSION of the Board is to protect the public by supervising Occupational Therapy 

practice. 

Make Up of the Board 

The Board consists of five members appointed by the governor and confirmed by the senate to 

serve four-year terms. Three Board members are licensed professionals; 2 are OT and 1 is an OT 

Assistant. Two are public members, usually having been a consumer of occupational therapy 

services.   

 

Contact Information 

Oregon Occupational Therapy Licensing Board 

800 NE Oregon St.  Suite 407 

Portland, OR  97232 

 
Nancy.Schuberg@state.or.us     Rachel.Cillo@state.or.us  
Executive Director     Licensing Coordinator 

 

Phone:  971-673-0198     Phone:  971-673-0202 

Fax:  971-673-0226     Fax:  971-673-0226 

 

mailto:Nancy.Schuberg@state.or.us
mailto:Rachel.Cillo@state.or.us


 

Limited Permits 

 

Limited Permits are available only once for those who are applying to take 

the NBCOT examination.  A Limited Permit costs $25 and is eligible for 90 

days from the date of your NBCOT Authorization to Test notification.   

  

Instructions: 

  

 Return the signed and completed form with a $25 check or money order 

payable to the “OT Licensing Board”.   Applications are found on the 

website.  The limited permit application and license application are 

together in one packet, along with the LP supervision form.  Send in the 

LP application along with the license application. 

 Your original school transcripts must be sent directly to the Oregon OT 

Licensing Board from your school.  

 The “Authorization to Test” notification from NBCOT is required.  You can 

forward the email or fax a copy.   You do not need to pay for a paper copy to 

be sent to the OT Licensing Board if you have the email. 

 Pay to have NBCOT scores sent to the Oregon Board. 

 Have a signed “LP Statement of Supervision” filed in the OTLB office prior 

to the start of work under the LP.  It can be faxed to 971-673-0226 or 

scanned and emailed. 

 If you have a job and need the license immediately, make sure the Board has 

your license application fee when your exam scores come in. That way, we 

can issue the license right away.   

 



 

Licensing 

If you do not already have a Limited Permit, fill out OT or OTA application, 

found on website.  Send in signed hard copy along with your check.  If you 

have already obtained a limited permit, you only need to send in your fee. 

Complete the required online Law/Ethics exam:  

http://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/Application_Forms.aspx#ETHICS_AND_L

AW_EXAM 

 

Application Fees:   

After March 1
st
, 2016, the application fees will be as follows: 

$175 for OT (2 year fee).  If you do not need your license until after March 1, 

2017, pay the 1 year fee of $100. 

$120 for OTA (2 year fee)  If you do not need your license until after March 1, 

2017, pay the 1 year fee of $70. 

Have your school official transcripts sent to the OT Licensing Board. 

 

Renewals 

Renewals start March 1
st
 and are due May 1

st
 on even years.  For those who get 

their license in 2016, your next renewal period is March 1-May 1, 2018.  You 

must renew on line.  It is fast and easy and fees can be paid by check or credit 

card.   

Web address:   www.oregon.gov/otlb 

 

 

http://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/Application_Forms.aspx#ETHICS_AND_LAW_EXAM
http://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/Application_Forms.aspx#ETHICS_AND_LAW_EXAM
http://www.oregon.gov/otlb


 

Continuing Education 

 
 339-020-0010 CE Requirements for Current Licensees  

(1) All current licensees shall obtain a minimum of  30 points of CE from Board approved 
categories during the two years immediately preceding the date of the license renewal;  - 
OR- 

(2) The Board recognizes the maintenances of continuous professional development hours 
as evidenced by current NBCOT Certification (National Board of  Certification in 
Occupational Therapy) as fulfilling the requirement for CE under (1). 

For those graduating, passing the NBCOT exam and getting licensed in 2016, 

you will be NBCOT certified in 2018 so you will have met the CE requirement 

in Oregon.  The NBCOT requirement is 36 CE points every 3 years. 

Pain Management 

There is a one-time mandatory 7 hours of CE on Pain for new Occupational 

Therapists due within 2 years of licensure in Oregon. 

The Pain Commission website provides a link to take the one hour of free CE 

on Pain.  You need an additional 6 hours of classes on Pain Management CE.  

Any class on the Pain Commission site, including online classes, counts, but 

you can take other classes not on the site.  If you are not sure whether the class 

counts, you can contact the Pain Commission at:      

http://www.oregon.gov/oha/OHPR/Pages/pmc/index.aspx 

 

CE Audits 

A random number of licensees are picked for CE audit each renewal period.  A 

CE Log Form is available on the website to track your CE. 

Send in the log form and documentation only IF you are being audited.  It will 

clearly state on the renewal form that you are being audited. 

http://www.oregon.gov/oha/OHPR/Pages/pmc/index.aspx


 

Supervision 

 

Rules: 

 Any person who is licensed as an Occupation Therapy Assistant may assist 

in the practice of occupational therapy only under the supervision of a 

licensed Occupational Therapist. 

 

 Before an OTA can assist, he/she must file with the Board a signed, current 

Statement of Supervision of the licensed occupational therapist who will 

supervise the OTA.  The “Statement of Supervision” form can be found on 

the OTLB website:   www.oregon.gov/otlb.                                                                                

 

 An OTA always requires at least “general” supervision, as defined by the 

ORS rules: 

“General supervision” requires the supervisor to have at least monthly direct 

contact in person with the supervisee at the work site with supervision 

available as needed by other methods. 

 The supervising OT must provide closer supervision where professionally 

appropriate. 

 

 The supervisor in collaboration with the supervisee is responsible for setting 

and evaluating the standard of work performed. 

 

 Supervision can be done through video conferencing. 

 

 

 

 

http://www.oregon.gov/otlb


 

 

 

Discipline 

 

The Board must investigate all complaints filed with the Board. These complaints 

may come from various sources including patients/clients, family members, other 

health professionals, hospitals and employers. 

 

Grounds for disciplinary action are:  

1. Unprofessional conduct as defined by the Board (See OAR 339-010-0020);  

2. Obtaining or attempting to obtain a license by means of fraud, 

misrepresentation or concealment of material facts;  

3. Violating any lawful order or rule adopted by the Board that may affect the 

health, welfare and safety of the public; or  

4. Gross negligence or incompetence in the performance of professional duties.  

   

If the Board determines a violation has occurred, the Board may deny, suspend, 

revoke or refuse to renew a license or may impose probationary conditions on a 

licensee or applicant. The Board may also fine violators. 

The Board’s investigation is confidential, unless and until there is formal 

disciplinary action taken by the Board.  If the investigation results in disciplinary 

action, the final order, or consent agreement is available to the public.    

The Board also takes informal action, such a sending a Letter of Concern to the 

licensee.  This action is not public and is confidential.   

 

 

 



 

 

Useful Information 

Names Changes 

Email the Board if you have had a name change.  Include a copy of the legal 

document showing the name change.   

If documents will come in a different name, please make that clear on the front of 

your application form!   

   

Be sure to include any changes to address, telephone or e-mail.  

 

Address Changes  

Email the Board if you have had an address change:   

 Rachel.Cillo@state.or.us 

 

Professional Organizations 

OTAO – Occupational Therapy Association of Oregon 

 www.otao.com  

NBCOT - National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy  

 www.nbcot.org  

AOTA – American Occupational Therapy Association  

www.aota.org  

 

 

mailto:Rachel.Cillo@state.or.us
http://www.otao.com/
http://www.nbcot.org/
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