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Q.  Why do I have to pay the $300 filing fee for recording the well? 
 
A. This fee will be used for monitoring and management of our groundwater resource. These studies 
will provide valuable data for identifying the supply and availability of groundwater.  
 
 
Q.  Do I have to pay a $300 filing fee for every exempt well I drill? 
 
A.  Yes. The fee is required for each exempt well. 
 
 
Q,  Do I have to provide a map for each well, or can I just send in one map for the same property? 
 
A.  Only one map is necessary as long as the map clearly locates each well.  
 
 
Q.  Is this a one-time fee? 
 
A.  Yes. 
 
 
Q.  Can the $300 filing fee and the map be sent at the same time as the Start Card? 
 
A.  Yes, however, the Department recommends waiting until the construction of the well is 
completed. That way the fee and map can be submitted when the well constructor submits the well 
log report for the well.  
 
 
Q.  When do the map and fee need to be received by the Water Resources Department? 
 
A.  The landowner must provide a map and fee to the Department no later than 30 days after 
completion of the well.  
 
 
Q.  How do I create a map for my well? 
 
A.  You can obtain a tax lot map of your property from the county assessor’s office (or online) and 
sketch in the well location including distances from a property corner and sketch in major structures 
or landmarks in relation to the well. 
 
 
Q.  Where can I get a map of my tax lot?  
 
A. You can get tax lot maps from your county assessor. The link for county assessors in Oregon is: 
www.bcd.oregon.gov/lois/county_index.html. You can also get tax lot maps from ORMAP at: 
www.ormap.org. 
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Q.  What if I don’t pay the fee or send a map?    
 
A.  Civil penalties may apply for failure to pay the filing fee or providing a map identifying the well 
location.  
 
 
Q.  Who can I contact regarding this issue? 
 
A.  If you have questions regarding your groundwater use and the requirement to obtain a water right 
permit, contact your local watermaster at the link below www.wrd.state.or.us/OWRD/offices.shtml. 
If you have questions regarding the exempt use record fee and map contact the Exempt Use Well 
Program Coordinator at 503-986-0861.  
 
 
Q.  What if I already have a water right associated with the well? 
 
A.  No additional fee or map is required for wells that already have an Oregon water right permit. 
You will need to provide a permit or certificate number associated with the water right to validate 
your assertion as well as the legal description of the well listed on the permit or certificate (for 
example, 530 feet North and 1370 feet East, both from the SW Corner of Section 18, Township 6 
South, Range 1 East, W.M.) 
 
 
Q.  Do I have to attach a record of this to my property deed?  
 
A.  No. There are no recording requirements at county offices.  
 




