CHILD WELFARE Oregon Child Abuse Hotline

Mandatory Reporters

Oregon Law requires all mandatory reporters who has knowledge of or suspect abuse, neglect, or abandonment of a child and knowledge of or suspects abuse, neglect or exploitation of a vulnerable adult is required to report to the Oregon Child Abuse Hotline

<u>How to Make a</u> <u>Report</u>

The Oregon Child Abuse Hotline accepts reports 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. To make a report call:

1-855-503-SAFE (7233)

When calling, listen to the available prompts:

- Spanish speaking line
- Law Enforcement (first priority caller)
- Mandatory Reporter (second priority caller)
- General Public queue
- Call back feature

Reporting Guide

Oregon Child Abuse Hotline Mission: To receive reports of child abuse and provide excellent customer service with equitable and consistent decision making to ensure safety of Oregon's children.

Any time you suspect abuse, immediately make the call. Not sure you have enough details? Make the call anyway. You don't need to prove that abuse occurred.

When you make a report, be prepared to provide specific descriptions of the incident or the circumstances contributing to the suspected abuse. A report includes who was involved, what occurred, when and where it occurred, why it happened, the extent of any injuries sustained, what the child said happened, and any other pertinent information is very important.

If you don't have all the information below, still make the call. A screener will determine the sufficiency of the information. Screeners are able to receive information from you and also gather additional information from other sources.

Be prepared to provide the following information:

Name, date of birth (or approximate age), race and gender, for all adults and children involved.	The relationship of the alleged perpetrator to the child and when the next contact may occur.
Alleged child victim's name, possible responsible person, or alleged perpetrator name.	A description of the abuse, including whether the child has current injuries.
Telephone numbers, including area code.	Social Security numbers, if available.
Addresses, directions or other means to locate the individuals in the report.	Any cultural or language considerations, ethnicity and whether the child has American Indian or Alaskan Native heritage.
A brief description of the child's disability or any special needs	Additional information related to family functioning, resources and supports.

Since detailed information will be requested, it is helpful to write down the information you do have so that you can share the details easily and completely on the phone. Focus on the factual observations of what was said or seen rather than opinion.

Screeners must notify the reporter of the outcome of their report – whether it was assigned to Child Protective Services or Closed at Screening. All reports must be cross reported to the law enforcement agency where the abuse occurred.

If the child is in immediate danger, please <u>call 911</u> immediately.

Submit feedback or ask questions by emailing: Feedback.OregonChildAbuseHotline@dhsoha.state.or.us