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Follow these rules
if you are required

to register and report 
for a sex offense

This pamphlet provides 
general information only. 

Talk with your attorney about the 
specific laws that apply to you.  
Follow the statutes if there is a  

conflict between the information in 
this pamphlet and the statutes.

Are you eligible to ask for  
relief from registering as a 
sex offender?

There are three classification levels 
for people sentenced as adults in 
Oregon for a sex offense. Your level 
is decided by the Oregon Board of 
Parole and Post-Prison Supervision.
The type of relief for which you are 
eligible depends on your classification 
level.

To ask for relief from registration as a 
sex offender, you must file a  
petition through the court in which 
you were convicted. You may hire an 
attorney to help with the process. You 
will be responsible for any court fees 
and legal costs.

Level One: If you are a Level One 
sex offender, you may ask for relief 
from registration 10 years after  
supervision for your sex crime ends.

Level Two: If you are a Level Two 
sex offender, you may ask to be  
moved from Level Two to Level One 
10 years after supervision for your 
sex crime ends. If you move to Level 
One, you may ask for relief from  
registration 5 years after you become 
a Level One sex offender.

Level Three: If you are a Level 
Three sex offender, you may ask to 
be moved from Level Three to Level 
Two 10 years after supervision for 
your sex crime ends. You are not  
eligible for reclassification below  
Level Two. You must continue to  
register as a sex offender for the rest 
of your life. 

Where can you get more  
information?

You may:
•	 Call the Oregon State Police Sex  

Offense Registry Unit at  
503-934-1258

•	 Email OSP at  
sexoffender.questions@state.or.us
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What crimes require you to 
register as a sex offender?

The following list shows examples of 
crimes that require you to register as 
a sex offender. Talk with your  
attorney or review the Oregon  
Revised Statutes for the complete 
list.  
•	 Rape
•	 Sodomy
•	 Unlawful sexual penetration 
•	 Sexual abuse
•	 Compelling or promoting  

prostitution 
•	 Using a child in a display of  

sexually explicit conduct
•	 Encouraging child sexual abuse  

in the 1st or 2nd degree 
•	 Transporting child pornography 

into the state
•	 Incest with a child victim
•	 Kidnapping in the 1st degree if 

the victim is under age 18

When do you have to  
register and update your  
registration?

You must register within 10 days of:
•	 Release from an OYA close- 

custody facility if you are paroled 
directly to adult community  
supervision 

•	 Release from a DOC facility if your 
sentence requires you to  
transfer to a DOC facility after 
leaving OYA

•	 Release from a jail or other secure 
facility

•	 Any change of residence,  
including moving out of Oregon

•	 Your birthday each year, even if 
your address has not changed 

•	 The first day you attend a  
college or other institution of 
higher education as a student

•	 A change in your student  
enrollment status at an institution 
of higher education

•	 The first day you volunteer at or 
become an intern at an institution 
of higher education

•	 A change in your volunteer or 
intern status at an institution of 
higher education

•	 Your first day on a new job at an 
institution of higher education or 
at a job that takes you to a  
campus

•	 A change in your job status at an 
institution of higher education or 
at a job that takes you to a cam-
pus

Where do you register and 
update your registration?

You must report in person to the  
Oregon State Police, local county 
sheriff’s office, or local city police 
department.

Is there a fee to register as a 
sex offender?

Yes. You must pay $70 per year to 
the Oregon State Police as long as 
you are required to register as a sex 
offender. Your first payment is due 
the first time you register. Each year 
after that, a bill will be sent to your 
last known address. You are  
responsible for keeping your address 
information up to date with the  
Oregon State Police.

What happens if you do not 
follow the registration  
requirements?

If you fail to meet the registration 
requirements, you could be arrested 
and face more charges. It is very  
important to meet all registration  
requirements. If you are unsure 
about the requirements, talk with 
your attorney or your DOC parole 
officer, or send an email to  
sexoffender.questions@state.or.us.

How long must you register 
as a sex offender?

You must register as a sex offender 
for the rest of your life, unless you 
are granted relief from registration.


