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Follow these rules
if you are required

to register and report
for a sex offense

This pamphlet provides 
general information only. 

Talk with your attorney about the 
specific laws that apply to you.  

Follow the laws if there is a  
conflict between the information in 

this pamphlet and the laws.

What happens after you ask 
for relief from registration?
The court will hold a hearing on your 
request. The hearing usually takes 
place between 90 and 150 days after 
you file the petition, but the court 
could decide to extend that time. 

What does the court 
consider when reviewing 
your request for relief from  
registration?
You must be able to prove to the 
court that you have changed your  
behavior, are rehabilitated, and do 
not pose a risk to the safety of the 
public. The juvenile court may  
consider things as:
•	 How much physical and emotional 

injury there was to the victim
•	 The type of offense you  

committed
•	 If you used force or threats
•	 If you planned the offense
•	 If you used your relationship or 

trust to offend the victim
•	 Your age and the victim’s age at 

the time of the offense
•	 If the victim was vulnerable in 

some way
•	 If you have made efforts to fix the 

harm you caused 
•	 If you accept responsibility for 

your actions
•	 If you have completed sex- 

offense-specific treatment
•	 Treatment and evaluation reports, 

incident reports, and other  
documents from your treatment 
providers

•	 Statements and documents from 
the victim or others

•	 Other laws you may have broken
•	 Any other related information

What happens if your  
request for relief is denied?
If your request for relief is denied, 
you must continue to register as a 
sex offender. You cannot appeal the 
decision.

What happens if your request 
for relief is approved?
If your request for relief is approved, 
you must send a certified (original) 
copy of the court order to the Oregon 
State Police. Send the copy to:
   Oregon State Police
   Sex Offender Registration Unit
   3565 Trelstad Avenue
   Salem, OR  97317 

Relief from registration does not  
remove the offense from your record. 
It means only that you no longer 
have to register as a sex offender.

Where can you get more 
information?
You may:
•	 Call the Oregon Youth Authority  

at 503-373-7205
•	 Call the Oregon State Police Sex 

Offense Registry Unit  
at 503-934-1258

•	 Email OSP at  
sexoffender.questions@state.or.us
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What happens if you are  
required to register as  
a sex offender?
You will have a court hearing before 
you are released from the jurisdiction 
of the juvenile court and from OYA  
supervision. If the court decides you 
need to register as a sex offender, 
you must register within 10 days of 
the hearing. 

When do you have to  
register and update your 
registration?
You must register within 10 days of:
•	 Release from a secure facility 

including an OYA close-custody 
facility, a prison, jail, or detention 
center

•	 Any change of residence,  
including moving out of Oregon

•	 Your birthday each year, even if 
your address has not changed 

•	 The first day you attend a  
college or other institution of 
higher education as a student

•	 A change in your student  
enrollment status at an institution 
of higher education

•	 The first day you volunteer at or 
become an intern at an institution 
of higher education

•	 A change in your volunteer or 
intern status at an institution of 
higher education

•	 Your first day at a new job at an 
institution of higher education or 
at a job that takes you to a campus

•	 A change in your job status at an 
institution of higher education or 
at a job that takes you to a campus

Where do you register and 
update your registration?
You must report in person to the  
Oregon State Police, local county 
sheriff’s office, or local city police 
department.

Is there a fee to register as 
a sex offender?
Yes. You must pay $70 per year to 
the Oregon State Police as long as 
you are required to register as a sex 
offender. Your first payment is due 
the first time you register. Each year 
after that, a bill will be sent to your 
last known address. You are  
responsible for keeping your address 
information up to date with the  
Oregon State Police.

What happens if you do not 
follow the registration  
requirements?
If you fail to meet the registration 
requirements, you could be arrested 
and face more charges. It is very  
important to meet all registration  
requirements. If you are unsure 
about the requirements, talk with 
your attorney or send an email to 
sexoffender.questions@state.or.us.

How long must you register 
as a sex offender?
You must register as a sex offender 
for the rest of your life unless a court 
grants you relief from registration.

Are you eligible to ask for  
relief from registering as a 
sex offender?
Yes. If you were adjudicated as a 
juvenile in Oregon for a sex offense, 
you are eligible to ask for relief from 
Oregon’s registration requirements.

How do you ask for relief 
from registering as a sex 
offender?
You must file a petition asking for 
relief from registration. You may do 
so if:
•	 You were adjudicated for a Class 

A or B felony, and at least two 
years have passed since you were 
released from the juvenile court’s 
jurisdiction and from OYA  
supervision. 

•	 You were adjudicated for a Class 
C felony and you are within 30 
days of being released from the 
juvenile court’s jurisdiction and 
from OYA supervision.

You must file the petition in the  
juvenile court in which you were  
adjudicated. You may hire an  
attorney to help with the process.

What does it cost to petition 
for relief from registration?
There is a fee to file a petition for 
relief from registration. The court can 
tell you the amount. If you hire an 
attorney, you also will be responsible 
for paying your attorney’s fees.


