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July 2016 PERS Employer Monthly Update. 
 
In this update: 
 
1) Processing ‘tip’ for July 2016. 
2) Reminder:  PERS retirees returning to work. 
3) Reminder:  Please check the Average Overtime Hours information for your employees. 
4) Tier One/Tier Two retiree low population county work limit exemption available to 
some charter school teachers and administrators. 
5) Reminder: Reporting contributions for those who establish OPSRP membership on or 
after January 1, 2016 
 
 
1) Processing ‘tip’ for July 2016. 
 
Those hired December 2-31, 2015 will complete their six full month waiting time on June 30, 
2016.  If they also continue the “employer-employee” relationship beyond that date (they don’t 
terminate employment), they’ll establish membership with a Contribution Start Date (CSD) of  
July 1, 2016.  Remember that Release 6.0, active June 2011, introduced posting restrictions on 
DTL2 records which allow DTL2 wage code 01 (Regular wages) records to post only to 
positions with “qualifying” hire intent, and DTL2 wage code 02 (Regular/Non-Qualifying) 
records to post only to positions with “non-qualifying” hire intent. 
 
Contact your ESC Account Team if you have questions about the use of DTL2 wage codes. 
 
2) Reminder:  PERS retirees returning to work. 
 
After retirement, Tier One/Tier Two retirees may return to work for a participating PERS 
employer(s) and continue to receive their retirement benefits as long as they do not work 
1,040 hours or more in a calendar year.  A Tier One/Tier Two retiree may work up to 
1039.99 hours per calendar year and still be considered a retiree, but a Tier One/Tier Two 
retiree will re-establish active membership if they equal or exceed the 1040 hr. limit in any 
calendar year. The 1040 hour limitation for retirees returning to PERS employment is 
commonly referred to as the “1040 hour rule.”  (PLEASE NOTE: The 1040 hour rule does 
not apply to OPSRP retirees).  
 
In addition, Tier One/Tier Two retirees hired into certain positions (listed in ORS 
238.082(4)-(8); Sections 2 and 3, chapter 499, Oregon Laws 2007; and Sections 3 and 4, 
chapter 774, Oregon Laws 2007) may work unlimited hours post-retirement for a 
participating PERS employer and continue to receive retirement benefits.   In order to 
qualify for these statutory exemptions, the retiree must satisfy all the requirements for the 
exemption. A common requirement to qualify for these statutory exemptions is that the 
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Tier One/Tier Two member does not receive a reduced service retirement allowance as set 
forth in ORS 238.280(1), (2) and (3). (PLEASE NOTE: These exemptions are not available 
to OPSRP retirees). 
 
Age/Service time requirements for Tier One/Tier Two retirement with an unreduced 
service benefit (“normal” benefit recipient): 
 

Classification  

Age  

PERS Service Time  Tier One  Tier Two  

General Service  58  60  Any age with 30 years of service  

Police and Fire  55  55  Age 50 with 25 years of service  

 
Age/Service time requirements for Tier One/Tier Two retirement with a reduced service 
benefit (“early” retiree): 
 

Classification  

Age  

PERS Service Time  Tier One  Tier Two  

General Service  55 - 57  55 - 59  Less than 30 years of service  

Police and Fire*  50 - 54  50 - 54  Less than 25 years of service  

 
*An inactive police officer or firefighter (P & F) Tier One or Tier Two member who attains 
the age of 50, may retire with a reduced benefit as long as their last covered position was a 
qualifying P & F position. 
 
Tier One/Tier Two “early” Retirees may qualify for a limited number of exempt positions 
listed in ORS 238.082(4) and Section 3, chapter 774, Oregon Laws 2007:  
 
This exception applies to a Tier One/Tier Two “early” 
retiree* who is employed: 

Effective 
Date of the 
Exception: 

Date the 
exception 
expires: 

As an administrator or teacher by a school district or educational service district 
that has its administrative office located in a county of 35,000 or less population. 

This exception was amended in 2007. The amended exception is in two parts: 

1) As an administrator or teacher by a school district or community college district 
located in a county of 35,000 or less population; or 

2) As an administrator or teacher by an education service district and the retired 
member’s primary work duties are performed in a county of 35,000 or less 
population. 

1-1-04 – 
7/15/07 
 
7/16/07 
 
7/16/07 
 

N/A 

By a school district or education service district as a speech-language pathologist 
or speech-language pathologist assistant. 

7-16-07 1-2-26 

Is on state active duty with the National Guard and has reached “normal” 
retirement age.  (ORS 399.075(8)) (available to early retiree only if the retiree has 
reached normal  retirement age). 

6-11-03 N/A 

By the Legislative Assembly or the Oregon State Police for service during a 
legislative session.  (ORS 238.092(2)). 

7-16-07 N/A 

As a teacher of career and  technical education (Licensed by the Teacher Standards 
and Practices Commission to instruct any career and technical education course or 

6-18-15 6-30-18 
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program in any career and technical education field). 
 
(*)  An “early” retirement benefit is actuarially reduced because the member starts 
receiving benefits before normal retirement age. Unless the member has 30 years’ service 
credit, Chapter 238 Tier One general service members retiring between ages 55 and 57 and 
Chapter 238 Tier Two general service members retiring between ages 55 and 59 are considered 
“early” retirees. Chapter 238 Tier One/Tier Two Police & Fire members retiring between ages 50 
and 54 without 25 years’ service credit are considered “early” retirees. Only a limited number 
of 1040 exceptions are available to “early” retirees, and an “early” retiree must wait six full 
months after retirement before he/she can be employed in a position under any 1040 
exception that is available to early retirees. An “early” retiree who does not wait 6 full 
calendar months after PERS retirement before being hired into one of these DOES NOT 
QUALIFY for the exemption and is subject to the 1040 hour/calendar year work limit.   
 
The positions available to “early” Tier One/Tier Two retirees and listed here can also be found:   
1) In the “Working After Retirement: 1040-Hour Exceptions in Table Format” document 
available through the “General Information” link of the PERS employer web page, or  
2 ) Through this link: 
http://www.oregon.gov/pers/docs/general_information/1040_exceptions_table.pdf  
(Positions open to Tier One/Tier Two “early” retirees are noted in the “Early Ret.” column.) 
 
The exemption from the 1040 hour/calendar year limit APPLIES TO THE POSITION 
listed in ORS 238.082, NOT to the retiree holding the position.   
 
Example 1:  A Tier One/Tier Two “normal” benefit recipient, hired by an employer into an 
exempt position, may work unlimited hours WHILE IN THAT EXEMPT POSITION.  If the 
retiree leaves that exempt position and goes to work as a retiree for another PERS employer in a 
position NOT listed in ORS 238.082 or OAR 459-017-0060, the retiree becomes subject to the 
1040 hour/calendar year work limit while working in that non-exempt position. 
 
Example 2:  If the retiree works concurrently in an exempt position and a non-exempt position, 
the hours worked in the non-exempt position will be subject to the 1040hour/calendar year work 
limit.  
 
Tier One/Tier Two retirees who have reached federal Social Security full retirement age 
(65-67, depending on the retiree’s birth date) may work unlimited hours with PERS 
employers beginning the first of the month after the month in which Social Security full 
retirement age is reached.  This exception does not apply to OPSRP retirees.  
 
OPSRP retirees: 
 
Hiring an OPSRP retiree into a position with “qualifying” hire intent CANCELS the 
individual’s retirement and re-establishes active membership immediately upon hire.  
Hiring an OSPRP retiree into a position with “non-qualifying” hire intent allows only 
599.99 hours of work (total for ALL PERS employers) per calendar year. The OAR 
amendment adopted at the July 31, 2015 Board meeting clarifies PERS administration for 
OPSRP retirees who return to work for a PERS employer after retirement, and explains 

http://www.oregon.gov/pers/docs/general_information/1040_exceptions_table.pdf
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how PERS restarts the clock if an OPSRP retiree returns to work in a non-qualifying 
position in the same year in which they retire. PLEASE NOTE: None of the positions listed 
in ORS 238.082(4)-(8); Sections 2 and 3, chapter 499, Oregon Laws 2007; and Sections 3 
and 4, chapter 774, Oregon Laws 2007 are open to OPSRP retirees. 
 
 
You may hire an OPSRP retiree into a non-qualifying position immediately after retirement and 
submit the DTL1-11 record at that time.  In most cases that DTL1-11 record and any DTL2-07 
records will suspend until EDX has been updated to reflect the OPSRP member’s transition from 
active to retired status.  If the DTL1 and DTL2 records suspend upon submission, you do not 
need to “re-Save” those records for 90 days or until you have: 1) Verified with the retiree 
that they have received their first benefit check, or 2) Checked with your ESC Account 
Representative that the individual is in retired status. 
 
Also, NEVER submit a DTL1-15 record to re-hire an OPSRP member as a retiree unless 
your ESC Account Representative asks you to do so. 
 
3) Reminder:  Please check the Average Overtime Hours information for your employees. 
 
The Average Overtime Hours entry on the DTL1 Member Demographics record represents the 
average overtime in any calendar year allowed for those positions in a class of employees with 
an employer (teacher, firefighter, receptionist, payroll specialist, etc.).  This value controls how 
much overtime money paid in any calendar year can be used in the calculation of an 
OPSRP member retirement benefit for those in a class of employees with an 
employer.  Incorrect coding of this benefit can significantly affect the amount of overtime 
money available for use in the benefit calculation for those in a class of employees with an 
employer. You may find the recorded Average Overtime Hours value for any of your employees 
using this procedure: 
 
1) In the Site Navigation of any EDX page, click the “View Employee Info.” link. 
2) When the Search screen appears, enter the employee’s last name or Social Security Number or 
PERS ID, and click “Search”. 
3) The “Employee Employment History Details” screen will appear.  The recorded Average 
Overtime Hours value for this member is located on this screen. 
 
OR… 
 
Through your ESC Account Team Representative you may request a list of all your active 
employees which will include the Average Overtime Hours value currently coded for each of 
those employees. You may find your ESC Account Team representative through the “Find Your 
ESC Account Team” link, under the “Employer Resources” heading, on the PERS employer web 
page: www.oregon.gov/pers/emp/pages/index.aspx  
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4) Tier One/Tier Two retiree low population county work limit exemption available to 
some charter school teachers and administrators. 
 
ORS 238.082 lists positions exempt from the 1040 hour/calendar year Tier One/Tier Two retiree 
work hour limit.  One of those exemptions is available to teachers and administrators of a school 
district or educational service district whose primary duties are performed in a county of 35,000 
or less population. 
 
This exemption is similarly available to charter school teachers and administrators for charter 
schools sponsored by a school district if the retired member’s primary duties are performed in a 
county of 35,000 or less population. 
 
However, it IS NOT available to charter school teachers and administrators working in low 
population counties for charter schools sponsored by the Oregon State Department of Education.   
 
Other Tier One/Tier Two retiree work hour limit exemptions are summarized in the table found 
through the “Working After Retirement: 1040-Hour Exceptions in Table Format” link available 
through the “General Information” link on the PERS employer web page. 
 
Please direct any questions about Tier One/Tier Two retiree work hour limit exemptions to your 
ESC Account Team representative. 
 
5) Reminder: Reporting contributions for those who establish OPSRP membership on or 
after January 1, 2016 
 
Contributions for employees establishing OPSRP membership on or after January 1, 2016 begin 
with the first full pay period following the six month wait time. Employers will need to use a 
different procedure to correctly report wages and contributions for any pay date after OPSRP 
membership is established if the pay period for that pay date includes both waiting time service 
and active service.  
 
Here is an example of that procedure.  The example illustrates reporting by a “local government” 
employer and a non-“local government” employer for a pay period which begins December 28, 
2015 and ends January 8, 2016, with a January 22, 2016 pay date reporting an individual who 
works 80 hours for the two-week period for a reported salary of $2000.00 and establishes 
OPSRP membership January 1, 2016. 
 
Local government employers can be identified by a PERS employer number in the 2000-2879 
range.  Local government employers ALWAYS use Work Period Begin/End Dates 
(WPBED) on DTL2 records when reporting wages, hours and contributions. Two DTL2 
records must be used to report wages, hours and contributions for pay periods crossing 
monthly boundaries, because WPBED will NOT cross monthly boundaries. 
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For the 1st DTL2 record:   For the 2nd DTL2 record: 
Pay date: 01/22/2016    Pay date: 01/22/2016 
Work Period Begin Date: 12/28/2015 Work Period Begin Date: 01/01/2016 
Work Period End Date: 12/31/2016  Work Period End Date: 01/08/2016 
Hours Worked: (Regular) 40.00  Hours Worked: (Regular) 40.00 
Reported Wage Code: 01   Reported Wage Code: 01 
Subject Salary, Regular: 1000.00  Subject Salary, Regular: (blank) 
Non-Subject Salary: (blank)  Non-subject Salary: 1000.00 
Contributions: (blank)    Contributions: (blank) 
 
Non-local government employers can be identified by a PERS employer number outside the 
2000-2879 range.  Non-local government employers NEVER use Work Period Begin/End 
Dates (WPBED) on DTL2 records when reporting wages, hours and contributions so a single 
record can be used to report this pay period. 
 

 
 
Pay Date: 01/22/2016 
Hours worked: (Regular) 80.00 
Reported Wage Code: 01 
Subject Salary, Regular: (blank) 
Non-subject Salary: 2000.00 
Contributions: (blank) 
 
Why is non-subject salary used for this pay period?   For those who establish OPSRP 
membership on or after January 1, 2016 contributions begin with the first full pay period after 
membership, and that first full pay period would NEVER include waiting time service.   The 
use of non-subject salary would be the only way to avoid EDX contribution requirements for 
salary reported with Wage Code 01-Regular wages. Non-subject salary would be used 



7 
 

ONLY when reporting a pay date for a pay period including both waiting time service and 
active service.  
 
Contact your ESC Account Team representative if you have questions on this topic. 
 
Best regards, 
 
 
 
 
 


