APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION
RETAIL OR INSTITUTIONAL CONSULTING

OR DRUGLESS PHARMACY
(Expires March 31 Annually)
OREGON BOARD OF PHARMACY
800 NE OREGON STREET, SUITE 150
PORTLAND OR 97232
TELEPHONE: (971) 673-0001
www.pharmacy.state.or.us

RETAIL OR INSTITUTIONAL CONSULTING OR DRUGLESS PHARMACY
LAWS & RULES (Not Required if Accessible Electronically)

ALL FEES ARE NON REFUNDABLE

Please be advised of the following information for registration of a Consulting or Drugless Pharmacy:

1.

An applicant must include their proposed policies and procedures for the items included on the
Checklist of Necessary Elements for the Registration of a Retail or Institutional Consulting or
Drugless Pharmacy.

Written approval from the Board of Pharmacy is required prior to commencing operations
as a Consulting or Drugless Pharmacy.

Policies and procedures may not be changed without written Board approval.
Deviation from approved policies and procedures in unprofessional conduct and grounds for discipline.

Registration fee(s) are required for a NEW OUTLET, OWNERSHIP CHANGE or LOCATION CHANGE.
Payments may only be made by check or money order. No fee is required for a NAME CHANGE ONLY.

An applicant may apply for both a Retail and an Institutional Consulting or Drugless Pharmacy Registration.
If applying for both, the retail fee of $175.00 and institutional fee of $175.00 for a total of $350.00 is
required. Additionally, two registrations will be issued.

NEW OR RELOCATED CONSULTING OR DRUGLESS PHARMACIES must submit a floor plan, drawn to
scale (can be hand drawn). The location of windows and doors within the pharmacy must be identified.
Note: whether windows/doors are secure or unsecured.

OREGON REVISED STATUES and ADMINISTRATIVE RULES are available for review on our web site at:
www.pharmacy.state.or.us. If electronic copies of laws and rules are accessible to all staff members, a hard
copy is not required.

Please be aware that your registration will become effective once all required paperwork and fee(s) are received.
Your license is to be in your possession PRIOR to doing business in Oregon. Consulting Pharmacy Registrations
expire March 31, annually and fees are not prorated. Renewals are due and must be post-marked by February 28,
annually, which is one (1) month prior to the expiration date of your license. Renewal notices will be mailed out in
advance mid-January.



http://www.pharmacy.state.or.us/
http://www.pharmacy.state.or.us/

Oregon Board of Pharmacy
2013
Frequently Asked Questions
Retail or Institutional Consulting or Drugless Pharmacies

Q1. What will a consulting or drugless pharmacy look like?

Al. The consulting pharmacy model is anticipated to function like a long term care pharmacy with consulting
pharmacists. It is anticipated that the consulting pharmacists will be working out of the pharmacy as the
consultants employed by a consulting pharmacy.

Q2. Will an annual PIC self inspection be required?

A2. Yes, an annual PIC self inspection will be required. The Board will create a PIC Self-Inspection Report
which will be available on the Board’s website by early 2014.

Q3. If medication and disease state management services are provided to local businesses, do those
records belong to that Human Resources Department or the associated health plan?

A3. This would be clarified in your policies and procedures as well as your consulting services contract. Please
see OAR 855-041-3340(3)(c).

Q4. Will the consultant pharmacist be required to maintain written records or can records be stored in a
password protected documentation platform such as OUTCOMES MTM, Mirixa, or Assurance
Medication Management Systems?

A4. This would be specified in your contract with the platform or provider you are providing services for.

Q5. Our clerks and pharmacists use the same web-based applications where consulting services,
claims, and other notes are processed. How we can provide access to pharmacists and not clerks
during non-business hours?

A5. Clerks can perform non-cognitive functions as in a pharmacy. When physically in a consulting pharmacy a
clerk would need to be supervised by a pharmacist. However, some of these functions could occur outside the
pharmacy which would be consistent with what is allowed in a double set-up for retail outlets. The issue of
access outside the consulting pharmacy would need to be granted by the web-based platforms. Currently the
platforms have different accessibility levels. Your policies and procedures would need to address the different
levels of security.



Retail or Institutional Consulting or Drugless Pharmacy:

Please note the following: Policies and procedures may not be changed without written Board approval. Upon
Board approval, registrant agrees to be held to policies and procedures and understands that any deviation is
unprofessional conduct and grounds for discipline.

1.

O

Patient Safety:

a. Provide a description of how your consulting or drugless pharmacy will be utilized to improve
patient safety.

Qperations:

a. Provide a detailed operational plan.

b. Provide description of workflow.

c. ldentify retail or institutional focus.

d. Identify location of consulting pharmacy and provide a floor plan.

e. ldentify responsibilities of the Pharmacist-in-Charge, pharmacist, and other staff.

f. Identify any restrictions of staff.

g. Provide hours of operation and hours that pharmacist(s) will be at consulting pharmacy.
h. List, if any, of non-licensed personnel. Include a list of their duties and responsibilities.
i. Identify training requirements of non-pharmacists to work at the pharmacy.

j- Identify if pharmacy will create and/or transfer prescriptions or orders. If yes, provide procedures.
k. Outline responsibilities and scope of service.

I. Include Operational Quality Assurance Program.
Policies and Procedures: Please submit policies and procedures for the following:

a. Protecting confidentiality, ensuring integrity of patient information, and upholding HIPPA
agreements.

b. Compliance with all applicable federal and state laws and rules.

c. Utilization of computer systems including security, password protection, and lockout levels.



Checklist of Necessary Elements for the Registration of a
Consulting or Drugless Pharmacy:

rity:
a. Identify how pharmacy will be secured after hours.
b. Identify how records will be stored and secured and answer the following questions in your proposal.
I Is data read only?
Il. Are terminals password protected to avoid access from unauthorized personnel?
M. Are hardcopy files containing health protected information secured in the pharmacy?
(\VA Are electronic records containing health protected information secured in the pharmacy?

V. Are electronic records containing health protected information that are stored in a web-
based platform encrypted and secured?

a. Indentify Pharmacist-in-Charge and provide Oregon Board of Pharmacy license number.

b. Identify all consulting pharmacists and provide Oregon Board of Pharmacy license number for each
consulting pharmacist.

c. ldentify all non-pharmacist personnel and include a job description for each position.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION MAY BE REQUESTED




APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION

103421 $175.00
RETAIL OR INSTITUTIONAL FOR BOARD USEONLY  1934] $175.00

CONSULTING OR DRUGLESS PHARMACY RECEIPT #

IN AND OUT OF STATE

(Expires March 31 Annually) CHECK #

OREGON BOARD OF PHARMACY

800 NE OREGON STREET, SUITE 150 ENTERED BY

PORTLAND OR 97232
TELEPHONE: (971) 673-0001
Www.pharm acy.state.or.us

FEES ENCLOSED: $

ALL FEES ARE NON REFUNDABLE
CONSULTING OR DRUGLESS PHARMACY

CHECK ONE OR BOTH (If both, two fees are required)

[ ] RETAIL $175.00 [ 1 INSTITUTIONAL $175.00

[] New Outlet Start Date

[1] Owner Change Date Effective Former License Number
[1] Location Change Date Effective Former License Number
[] Name Change Only Date Effective Former License Number

A change of ownership or location requires the submission of a new application and registration fee within 15 days.

Please PRINT or TYPE WARNING: ORS 475.135(1) (e) and ORS 689-405(1) The furnishing of false information is grounds to deny
registration.

Consulting or Drugless Pharmacy Name

Location Address
City, State, Zip
Phone Number ( ) - FAX# ( )
License & Renewal Mailing Address
City, State, Zip
Contact Person Title Contact Phone
Federal Tax ID # Email Address:

Please check all that apply to this location

[ ] Community Chain [ 1LTCF Ambulatory[ ] Health System Ambulatory [ ] Non-Sterile Compounding

[ ] Community Independent [ ]LTCF Consulting [ ] Health System Residential [ ] Sterile Compounding

[ ]LTCF Residential [ 1 Nuclear [ 1 Mail Order [ 1 Non-Sterile to Sterile

[ ] Other Compounding

Hours/days location is open: AM to PM Through

PLEASE CHECK ONE:

[1] | wish to have my registration application processed on the date you receive my COMPLETE APPLICATION and

PAYMENT. Because the Oregon Board of Pharmacy does not prorate fees, | realize that by having my
registration become effective before the beginning of the renewal period (April 1) my license will not be
valid for a full year and fees will not be prorated.

[] | wish to have my registration become effective on the following April 1st. (ONLY APPLICABLE FOR NEW
OUTLETS)
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Ownership Information

Owner Name

Parent Company Name (If owned by another entity)

Complete this form for all owners and CEO or President. This page may be duplicated as needed.

1.
Name and Title

SSN/Federal Tax ID

Address

City, State, Zip

Phone Number

Email Address

2.
Name and Title

SSN/Federal Tax ID

Address

City, State, Zip

Phone Number

Email Address

3.
Name and Title

SSN/Federal Tax ID

Address

City, State, Zip

Phone Number

Email Address

This page may be duplicated as needed
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APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION

RETAIL OR INSTITUTIONAL
CONSULTING OR DRUGLESS PHARMACY
IN AND OUT OF STATE

(Expires March 31 Annually)

OREGON BOARD OF PHARMACY
800 NE OREGON STREET, SUITE 150
PORTLAND OR 97232

TELEPHONE: (971) 673-0001
www.pharmacy.state.or.us

ALL APPLICANTS MUST COMPLETE THIS SECTION (Check Appropriate Boxes)
(If No, Please Explain)

1) [ ]Yes [ ] No Policies and procedures addressing all items listed on the Board provided check list are enclosed.

2) [ 1Yes [ ] No Policies and procedures will not be changed without written Board approval.

The outlet submitting and pharmacist signing this document acknowledges reading and understanding the responsibilities
of a pharmacist-in-charge and the requirement to comply with Oregon laws and rules.

Signature of Pharmacist-in-Charge Date

Pharmacist-in-Charge (please print) License #

Email Address

MAIL THIS APPLICATION WITH REQUIRED DOCUMENTS, AND FEES, PAYABLE TO THE
OREGON BOARD OF PHARMACY

ALL RETURNED CHECKS WILL BE ASSESSED A $35.00 RETURNED CHECK FEE PURSUANT TO ORS 30.701(5)

3o0f6 11/6/2013
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STAFFING INFORMATION

RETAIL OR INSTITUTIONAL

CONSULTING OR DRUGLESS PHARMACY

IN AND OUT OF STATE
(Expires March 31 Annually)

OREGON BOARD OF PHARMACY
800 NE OREGON STREET, SUITE 150
PORTLAND OR 97232

TELEPHONE: (971) 673-0001
www.pharmacy.state.or.us

List all pharmacists that will work at or monitor the facility.
List all technicians and other staff that will work at the facility.
This form may be duplicated as needed.

10.
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RETAIL OR INSTITUTIONAL
CONSULTING OR DRUGLESS PHARMACY
IN AND OUT OF STATE
(Expires March 31 Annually)

800 NE OREGON STREET, SUITE 150
PORTLAND OR 97232
TELEPHONE: (971) 673-0001
www.pharmacy.state.or.us

Qut-of-State Establishments Only

Verification Form of License/Registration in Resident State (required for consulting or drugless
pharmacy outlets located outside the State of Oregon). Applications for registration of out-of-state retail or
institutional drug outlets will not be processed without this verification. To prevent delays in processing submit
a completed verification form or letter from your resident state with your application.

To be completed by Registration Applicant. You are responsible for sending this document to your resident
State licensing agency for their verification and state seal. Photocopies of verification or verifications that have
been tampered with will not be accepted.

Resident State
License Number

License Type

Pharmacy Name

Physical Address
City, State, Zip Code

To be completed by licensing/regulatory agency and mailed back to the applicant:

The above pharmacy has applied for a Consulting or Drugless Pharmacy Registration with the Oregon Board
of Pharmacy. This registration is required of any pharmacy located within or out of this state that is engaged in
the distribution of drugs within Oregon.

Written verification that this pharmacy has a current license or registration and is in good standing with its
resident state is required for our licensing process. Please complete the section below and
mail it back to the applicant.

[1] The pharmacy listed above holds a current, unrestricted license or registration with our agency and has
no disciplinary action pending.

[] Other (please explain):

Print Name & Title

Authorized Signature Date

(State Seal Required)

50f6 11/6/2013
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OREGON BOARD OF PHARMACY
800 NE OREGON STREET, SUITE 150
PORTLAND OR 97232

FOR BOARD USE ONLY [0324] $25.00

RECEIPT #

TELEPHONE: (971)673-0001
Www.pharm acy.state.or.us

BATCH DATE-
NUMBER

ENTERED BY

OREGON PHARMACY LAWS AND ADMINISTRATIVE RULES FEE $25.00

Please Mail to:

NAME

FACILITY NAME

ADDRESS

CITY, STATE & ZIP CODE

Number of sets requested Amount enclosed $ ($25.00 per
set)

Set(s) ordered for:

Pharmacist [ ] Intern [ ] Reciprocal [ ] Pharmacy [ ] Other [ ]

Make checks payable to: Oregon Board of Pharmacy
800 NE Oregon St, Ste 150
Portland, OR 97232

Please Note:

» Administrative Rules are updated through the Secretary of State’s Office within 30 days of being filed.

= Electronic versions of pharmaceutical references listed under Oregon Administrative Rule 855-041-
0040 satisfy the minimum equipment requirement for a pharmacy.

e The Oregon Board of Pharmacy Official Newsletter can be subscribed to by sending an email to
OreqonBOPNewsletter@nabp.org with only the word “Subscribe” in the subject heading and body of
the email. Once you subscribe, you will receive a notice via e-mail when the newsletter is available.

= The Laws and Rules for the Oregon Board of Pharmacy may be found on the Boards website at
http://www.pharmacy.state.or.us. Included are:

o Oregon Revised Statute Chapter 689
o The Oregon Pharmacy Act
o Oregon Revised Statute Chapter 475, Uniform Controlled Substance Act

ALL RETURNED CHECKS WILL BE ASSESSED A $35.00 RETURNED CHECK FEE
PURSUANT TO ORS 30.701(5)
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