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OREGON BOARD OF PHARMACY 
2016/2018 CERTIFIED OREGON PHARMACY TECHNICIAN RENEWAL 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ’S) 
 

**IMPORTANT INFORMATION** 
This year the Board has transitioned to biennial licensure for Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technicians.   

Therefore upon renewal, your license will be valid until June 30, 2018. 
 
1. Q. When can I renew my 2016/2018 Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician License? 

A. Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician Renewals open July 1, 2016.  
 

2. Q. How do I renew? 
A. You will be mailed a renewal information letter the week of July 4, 2016.  You will need 

your license number and the last 4 digits of your social security number to begin your 
online renewal. Once you fill in the two required fields, you will be taken to the Online 
Renewal information page. Answer the required questions for each section, and pay by 
credit card or electronic check.  You also have the option to print your renewal 
confirmation page and pay by check or money order. Note: a second renewal notice will 
not be mailed.  

 
3. Q. Where do I go to renew online? 
 A. You will need to go to the Oregon Board of Pharmacy’s website 

 (www.pharmacy.state.or.us) and click on the online renewal link. 
 
4. Q. What is the total renewal fee?   

A. $54.00 if the renewal is completed no later than August 31st.  This includes: 
• $50.00   Biennial Renewal fee. 
• $  4.00  Biennial Healthcare Workforce Demographic Survey fee.   

   
5. Q. When is the $20.00 delinquent fee required? 

A. A delinquent fee is required if your online renewal is processed after 11:59 pm on  
August 31st, or if you are mailing your payment to the Board and it is postmarked after 
August 31st. If the delinquent fee is required, the total amount due to renew your license 
is $74.00.   

 
6.   Q. What is a Healthcare Workforce Demographic Survey?  

A. By law, the Oregon Board of Pharmacy is required to collect healthcare workforce data  
  from each Certified Pharmacy Technician before a license can be renewed.  This  
  information will be gathered and given to the Office for Oregon Health Policy and   
  Research.  For more information: www.oregon.gov/OHPPR 
   
7. Q. Can I elect not to complete the Healthcare Workforce Demographic Survey? 

A. No. By law, the Oregon Board of Pharmacy cannot approve a renewal of a license until 
the applicant completes the survey.  The survey is included in the online renewal 
process.  
 

8. Q. Since my last renewal was submitted, I moved or did not receive a renewal form. What 
  do I do? 

A. It is the responsibility of each Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician to notify the 
Oregon Board of Pharmacy of any updates to their address.   

 
 Go to the Oregon Board of Pharmacy’s website (www.pharmacy.state.or.us) and click 

http://www.pharmacy.state.or.us/
https://obop.oregon.gov/renewals/
http://www.oregon.gov/OHPPR
http://www.pharmacy.state.or.us/
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on the online renewal link.  You can update your address in the renewal process.   
 The Oregon Board of Pharmacy must receive your online renewal no later than 

August 31st, or your renewal confirmation and payment must be postmarked no 
later than August 31st to avoid the $20.00 delinquent fee. The Board cannot waive 
the delinquent fee. 

 
9. Q. I can’t renew online because I don’t have a computer.   

A. If you do not have a computer, please go to your local library.  They have computers 
available for public use.  Or, you can contact your children/grandchildren or a friend for 
help in completing the online renewal. 

 
You can also contact the Oregon Board of Pharmacy at 971/673-0001 to schedule an 
appointment to come to the Board office to complete your online renewal. If you don’t 
make an appointment, you may have to wait for an available staff member to assist you. 
 

10. Q. How do I make my payment online? 
A. After completing the renewal online, you will be directed to US Bank’s secure website 

where you can pay by credit card (MasterCard/Visa) or by electronic check.  Be sure 
you have correctly entered your email address.  A payment confirmation will be sent to 
the email you provide. 

 
11. Q. Can I give the Board my credit card number and mail my renewal information to you? 

A. Under no circumstances can the Oregon Board of Pharmacy collect your credit card 
number or account information.  Do not mail, fax, e-mail or write your credit card 
information on anything you mail to the Board. 

 
12. Q. Can I renew online but mail in my confirmation sheet with a check/money order? 

A. Yes.  After completing your renewal, click the option to pay by mail.  You must print out 
your renewal confirmation page, sign and date it, and mail with your check or money 
order to: 

   Oregon Board of Pharmacy 
   800 NE Oregon St Ste 150 
   Portland OR 97232 

 
13. Q. Can I submit and pay my renewal via paper copy? 

A. No.  All renewals must be completed online. 
 
14. Q. How do I change my address with the Oregon Board of Pharmacy? 

A. When completing the online renewal, simply type in the correct information.  Outside the 
renewal cycle you may submit an e-mail, fax or use the on-line electronic address / 
employment change form found on the Board’s website: 
http://www.oregon.gov/pharmacy/Pages/Address_Change.aspx.  You can also mail 
your updated address to the Board office.   

 
15. Q. I have a change of employment, how do I update this information with the Board? 

A. When completing the online renewal, simply type in the new information. 
 
16. Q. I work at several locations?  How do I report more than one employer? 

A. Type in the correct information on your online renewal or email the Board at 
pharmacy.board@state.or.us. 

 

https://obop.oregon.gov/renewals/
http://www.oregon.gov/pharmacy/Pages/Address_Change.aspx
mailto:pharmacy.board@state.or.us
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17. Q. When do I have to report a change of my employment or personal information? 

A. Oregon Administrative Rule 855-025-0020(7) states, “A Pharmacy Technician or 
Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician must notify the Board in writing, within 15 days, 
of any change in email address, employment location or residence address”. 

 
18. Q. If I submit my payment online, will I receive a confirmation of payment? 

A. Yes.  When you complete your renewal payment, you will have the option of printing an 
online renewal confirmation page which will include payment information. You will also 
receive a confirmation email from US Bank.  Please check your email, including SPAM 
folders, before resubmitting any payment if you are unsure if your payment was 
processed. 

 
19.  Q. I submitted my renewal online and haven’t received my license yet.  What should I  
  do? 

A. Due to the heavy volume of renewals, please allow 15-20 business days for the 
processing and mailing of your license. 

 

To see if your license has been renewed, please go to the Oregon Board of Pharmacy’s 
Online License Lookup & Verifications.   If your expiration date shows 06/30/2018, your 
license has been renewed and you should receive your license soon.   
 

20. Q. I need copies of my Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician License.  Can you fax a 
 copy of my license to me? 
A. No.  ONLY ORIGINAL LICENSES AND BOARD CERTIFIED COPIES ARE 

ACCEPTABLE FOR POSTING pursuant to ORS 689.615. Employers may make 
photocopies of their employee licenses only for their employee/office files.   
 

21. Q. I submitted a check/money order (or submitted payment by e-check) to the Board of 
Pharmacy with my renewal confirmation sheet, but have just been informed by my bank 
that there is a problem with my account.  What happens? 

A. All returned checks will be assessed a $35.00 returned check fee. If paid by August 31st, 
the total fee will be $89.00.  If paid after August 31st, the total fee will be $109.00.  You 
will be informed of the total required fee necessary in order to renew your Certified 
Oregon Pharmacy Technician license if there is a problem. 

 
22. Q. How do I obtain copies of my Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician License? 

A. List how many (up to 20) copies of your license you require on the Certified Oregon 
Pharmacy Technician license online renewal.  The first 2 copies of your license are free. 
If you need more than 2 copies, there is a $5.00 fee per additional 2 copies.  To obtain 
copies outside of the online renewal process, download the order form off our website 
and pay your fee via check or money order.  

 
23. Q. Since my license will be valid until 2018, does this mean that I will have to double the 

 amount of Continuing Education required to renew my license in 2018? 
 A. Yes. Effective 7/1/16, 20 hours of CE must be completed during the period of 7/1/16- 
  6/30/18.  Prior to submitting your renewal in 2018 you will need to complete a minimum 
  of 20 hours of CE which must include: 
 

  2 hours of Pharmacy Law 
  2 hour of Patient Safety or Medication Error Prevention 
  16 hours of your choice of relevant pharmacy CE or Board approved on-site training 

  

https://obop.oregon.gov/LicenseeLookup/
http://www.oregon.gov/pharmacy/Imports/Cert.Copy.Request.pdf
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24. Q. I have been called to active duty with the armed forces.  How do I renew my   
  Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician license? 

A. If you are in the military complete the online renewal and select the “ACTIVE MILITARY 
CLICK HERE” button. You will need to provide a copy of your Armed Forces 
Identification  Card or copy of your Leave and Earnings Statement. If you are in the 
National Guard or Reserves and are called to active duty, please provide a copy of the 
documentation showing that you have been activated.   

 
25. Q. I am serving as a Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician with the US Department of  
  Health and Human Services and wear a military uniform.  Am I exempt from paying  
  the Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician renewal fee? 

A. No.  Oregon Revised Statute 408.450 is the law concerning duty to pay fees during 
military service. This law is only for those individuals in the military, naval services, 
auxiliary corps thereof, or National Guard or Reserves who have been called to active 
duty.   

 
Members of the US Department of Health and Human Services are not part of the US 
military service and are required to submit payment of $54.00 for their Certified Oregon 
Pharmacy Technician Renewal. 
 

26. Q. I recently had a name change, how do I report this to the Board? 
A. The Board requires two documents showing that your name has been legally changed.  

Documents accepted include copies of Marriage Certificates/License, Divorce Decrees, 
or Court Documents showing your name has been legally changed AND a copy of your 
state issued driver’s license or Social Security Card that shows your new name. 

 
27. Q. Between my last Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician renewal and this renewal  
  cycle, I was in trouble with the law.  What do I do? 

A. Pursuant to Oregon Administrative Rule 855-025-0020(3), “A Certified Oregon 
Pharmacy Technician must report to the Board within 10 days if they: (a) Are convicted 
of a misdemeanor or a felony; or (b) If they are arrested for a felony.”   

 
 Be sure to answer all of the questions on the renewal truthfully and please provide the 

following items to Board: 
• A detailed description of the event(s) 
• A copy of every page of the police report(s) 
• A copy of the court documents 
• Any other relevant documentation 

 
28. Q. How do I lapse my Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician license? 

A. If you do not wish to renew your license, submit a statement to the Board requesting 
that we lapse your license.  Otherwise, simply do not renew your license.  Your Certified 
Oregon Pharmacy Technician license will automatically be lapsed on October 1, 2016.   

 
29. Q. I previously lapsed my Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician license.  How do I  bring         

 it back  to an active status? 
A. Please contact the Oregon Board of Pharmacy for a Certified Oregon Pharmacy 

Technician Application, fee information, certification requirements and national 
fingerprint background check instructions.  The Oregon Board of Pharmacy requires 
national fingerprint background checks for all new applicants and for those individuals 
who have had a lapsed license for more than 1 year. 
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30. Q. Can I call you with the change of employment or address information? 

A. No.  The Oregon Board of Pharmacy requires changes to be updated by e-mail, fax, US 
Mail, or by using the on-line electronic address/employment change form found on the 
Board’s website: http://www.oregon.gov/pharmacy/Pages/Address_Change.aspx.  

 
31. Q. How do I obtain a copy of the Oregon Board of Pharmacy’s Newsletter? 

A. Subscribe to the Oregon Board of Pharmacy’s official Newsletter by sending an e-mail 
 to the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy, with only the word “Subscribe” in the 
 heading to:  OregonBOPNewsletter@nabp.net. 
 

32. Q. I do not have access to a computer.  Can you mail me a copy of the Oregon 
 Newsletter? 
A. Yes.  The fee is a $5.00 per edition (paid via check or money order) for a paper copy of 

the Oregon Newsletter.  Please send a request in writing to the Board office.   
 
33. Q. I am a little nervous in providing my e-mail address to NABP. Will NABP provide my 

 e-mail address to other companies? 
A. The Board has been told that NABP will not sell or publish any e-mail address collected.  

We recommend you use your Official E-Mail Address for Board Use Only.   
 

34. Q. I am a Veteran.  Where do I obtain more information on Oregon Veterans’ Benefits? 
A. You can access the Oregon Department of Veterans’ Affairs by going to the 
 following address: http://www.oregon.gov/ODVA/BENEFITS. 
 

http://www.oregon.gov/pharmacy/Pages/Address_Change.aspx
mailto:OregonBOPNewsletter@nabp.net
http://www.oregon.gov/ODVA/BENEFITS

