
855-025-0015 

Renewal of Licensure as a Certified Pharmacy Technician  

(1) A person who has taken and passed a national pharmacy technician certification examination 

listed in OAR 855-025-0012(1)(a)–(b) may use the following title, are referred to in these rules 

as, and are licensed as a “Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician.”  

(2) An applicant for renewal of a Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician license must:  

(a) Pay the license fee prescribed in OAR 855-110.  

(b) Satisfactorily complete a minimum of 10 continuing pharmacy educating hours during the 

period from September 1 through August 31, of each license renewal cycle. These hours must 

include:  

(A) One hour of continuing pharmacy education in pharmacy law;  

(B) One hour of continuing pharmacy education in patient safety or error prevention; and  

(C) Eight other hours of continuing pharmacy education hours or documented onsite training, 

approved by the Board.  

(c) OAR 855-025-0015(2)(b) does not apply to Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technicians 

applying for the first renewal of their license if they have not been licensed by the Board 

for at least one year prior to October 1 of the renewal period. 

(c)(d) Be subject to an annual criminal background check.  

(3) The Board may randomly select and audit applications for renewal to verify completion of 

the continuing education or documented onsite training reported on the application for renewal. 

Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technicians whose applications for renewal are selected for audit 

must provide documentation of completion of the continuing pharmacy education reported.  

(4) Effective January 1, 2015, national certification is not required to renew a license as a 

Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician.  

(5) A Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician who fails to renew his or her license by the 

expiration date and whose license has been lapsed less than 180 days may renew his or her 

license as follows:  

(a) Pay the license fee as prescribed in OAR 855-110.  

(b) Pay a delinquent fee.  



(6) A Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician who fails to renew their license by the deadline and 

whose license has been lapsed 180 days may reinstate his or her license under OAR 855-025-

0060(1). 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 689.205  

Stats. Implemented: ORS 689.155  

 

 


