
 

APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION 
 WHOLESALER CLASS I 
 In State and Out of State 
 (Expires September 30 Annually) 
 Oregon Board of Pharmacy 
 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 150 
 Portland OR  97232 
 Telephone: (971) 673-0001 

www.pharmacy.state.or.us  
 
 

Wholesaler Class I Registration                                                                                Fee:        $400.00 
Controlled Substance Registration (If Applicable)                                                    Fee:          $50.00 
Laws & Rules (If Needed)                                                                                            Fee:         $25.00 

 ALL FEES ARE NON REFUNDABLE 
 
Dear Applicant: 
Please read the following instructions for applicants for registration as a Wholesaler Class I Drug Outlet.  
 
1. Oregon Administrative Rule 855-065-0001states who is required to register as a Wholesaler Class I. 

http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_800/oar_855/855_065.html 
 
2. We will process your registration when we have received all required paperwork and fee(s). You may not 

commence business in Oregon until we have notified you that we have approved the application. 
Registrations expire September 30 each year. We do not prorate fees. We will mail out renewal notices in 
mid-July and you must return renewal applications with the fee, post-marked by August 31. 

 
3. A Wholesaler Class I Registration authorizes the applicant to conduct the wholesale distribution of 

prescription and non-prescription drugs into and within Oregon. If you do not, at any time, have physical 
possession or ownership of any drugs, you need to register as a Drug Distribution Agent (a separate 
application form). Drug Distribution Agent includes such entities as Brokers, Import Brokers, Import Agents, 
Sales and Marketing offices and Drug Order Contractors. 

 
4. Each Wholesaler Class I must have a current Verified-Accredited Wholesale Distributors (VAWD) 

accreditation through the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy or have an inspection report 
from an approved state. A list of states whose inspections have been approved by the Board are located 
at http://www.oregon.gov/pharmacy/Imports/State.Inspections.pdf.  Outlets located in Oregon may request 
an inspection by the Oregon Board of Pharmacy.  

 
5. A Wholesaler Class I that does not have a current VAWD accreditation must provide evidence of a $100,000 

Surety Bond that lists the Oregon Board of Pharmacy as its sole beneficiary. You must provide a separate 
surety bond for each application for registration, even if the applicants are under common ownership, unless 
the Bond specifically names each applicant.   

 
6. If you are registering as a Wholesaler and perform repackaging functions (which means repackaging or 

otherwise changing the container, wrapper, or labeling of a prescription drug to further its distribution) you 
must include an explanation of all repackaging functions the Wholesaler is performing.  

 
7. You may need both a Wholesaler and Manufacturer registration depending on the services you provide.  
 
8. Each company, even if under common ownership, must submit a separate application for registration. 
 
9. You must pay a registration fee for each application for a New Registration, an Ownership Change or a 

Location Change. If you are completing these forms to report a Name Change only, you do not pay a fee. 
We can only accept payment by check or money order.  All fees are non refundable.   
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10. Oregon Controlled Substance Registration. The Controlled Substance Registration is required for all 
Wholesale Class I outlets that distribute controlled substances.  It is not a stand-alone registration. If you do 
not distribute controlled substances, please check the box “Not Applicable”. The controlled substance fee is 
not required if the application is marked “Not Applicable.”  

 
11. Oregon Revised Statues and Administrative Rules are accessible on our web site at: 

http://www.pharmacy.state.or.us. You may purchase a hard copy or CD for $25 (check the box on the 
application if you wish to purchase one or more sets). 

 
12. Ownership:  Please complete and submit the Ownership form for our records.  
 
13. License/Registration Verification in Resident State (required only for applicants located outside of Oregon) 

We cannot process your application without this verification. To prevent any delay in processing, submit a 
completed verification form or letter from your home state licensing agency with your application.  If your home 
state does not issue you any type of professional or business license, attach a letter from the state agency 
that licenses drug outlets stating that you do not need a license.   

 
Please note that all Wholesalers must complete a Self-Inspection Report by September 1 annually. This report 
form is available on our website and must be retained at the facility and be made available to the Board upon 
request. Do not send this report to the Board unless it is specifically requested.  
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APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION 
 

 

WHOLESALER CLASS I 
Prescription and Non-Prescription  
In and Out of State 
(Expires September 30 Annually) 
Oregon Board of Pharmacy 
800 Ne Oregon Street, Suite 150 
Portland, OR  97232 
Telephone (971) 673-0001 
www.pharmacy.state.or.us  
  
 

Please check all that apply: 
 

[   ] Wholesaler Class I Registration (with or without controlled substances)  Fee: $400.00 
[   ] Controlled Substance Registration       Fee: $  50.00 
[   ] Laws & Rules per set, please indicate quantity      Fee: $  25.00 
          TOTAL ENCLOSED:    

ALL FEES ARE NON REFUNDABLE 
Please check the appropriate box regarding application status: 
 
[  ] New Outlet  Start Date      

[  ] Owner Change  Date Effective                                         Current Registration Number    

[  ] Location Change Date Effective                                         Current Registration Number    
 

[  ]  Name Change Only Date Effective                                        Current Registration Number    

 
You must submit a new application and registration fee within 15 days of a change of ownership or location. 
 
Please PRINT or TYPE     
WARNING: ORS 475.135 (e) and OAR 855-065-0007 (4) prohibits the furnishing of false information and is grounds to deny registration. 

Business Name                

Location Address               

City, State, Zip                 

Phone Number   (         )             -    Fax # (         )             -      Email       

Mailing Address (If different from above)            

City, State, Zip                 

Federal Tax ID #         Website:      FDA #      

Contact Person     Title    Contact Phone     

Email Address:           

Types of Products Wholesaled:             

                
 
 
Please answer all of the following: 
1. [  ] Yes [  ] No Has disciplinary action ever been taken, or is any such action currently pending against any of 

the persons listed in this application, by any State or Federal Authority in connection with a 
violation of any federal or state drug law or regulation? If “yes”, attach a detailed explanation of 
the incident and describe any penalty incurred. 

 
2. [  ] Yes [  ] No  Prior to distributing any pharmaceutical product into Oregon, do you verify that the products’ 

manufacturer is licensed in Oregon? 
 
3. [  ] Yes [  ] No  Prior to shipping any pharmaceutical product into or within Oregon, do you verify that the 

recipient in licensed in Oregon?  
 

FOR BOARD USE ONLY 

 
[0317] $ 400.00 

  [0310]  $  50.00 
  [0326]  $  25.00 

RECEIPT # 
  

CHECK # 

  

ENTERED BY 
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4. [  ] Yes [  ] No  Is the facility VAWD Accredited through the NABP? If yes, submit a copy of  
    your accreditation certificate. If you have submitted an application to NABP mark  

Pending below and indicate the date it was submitted.  
    [  ] Pending      Date:    
 
5. [  ] Yes [  ] No  Have you been inspected within the last three years by a state whose inspection report  

has been approved by the Oregon Board of Pharmacy? (Out-of-state companies only). 
 

6. [  ] Yes [  ] No  Are you a Third-Party Logistics Provider? A Third-Party Logistics Provider means an entity 
    that contracts with a manufacturer to provide or coordinate warehousing, distribution, or  
    other services on behalf of the manufacturer, but does not take title to the drug or have  
    general responsibility to direct the sale or disposition of the drug.  
 
7. [  ] Yes [  ] No  Are you a repackager as defined in OAR 855-065-0005(19)? If yes, a detailed description of 
    all repackaging functions you perform must be submitted with your application.  

  
 
 

CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE INFORMATION:     If NOT applicable, please check here:  [   ] 
If you are a wholesaler of controlled substances, please complete the next 5 questions.   
 

Oregon Schedules of Controlled Substances may be found at: 
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_800/oar_855/855_080.html and may be different from the Federal schedules. 
You must comply with the most stringent. 
 
DRUG SCHEDULES (Check all that apply) 
[   ] Schedule I       [   ] Schedule II         [   ] Schedule III         [   ] Schedule III         [   ] Schedule IV         [   ] Schedule V 
 
1. Are you currently registered by the DEA to manufacture, distribute or otherwise handle controlled substances in the 

schedules for which you are applying under the laws of the Federal Government?  [    ] YES   [    ] NO 
  

DEA REGISTRATION NUMBER       
 
2. Have you ever been convicted of a felony in connection with controlled substances under state or federal law? 
    [    ] YES   [    ] NO 
3. If you are a corporation, association or partnership, has any officer, partner or stockholder ever been convicted of a 

felony in connection with controlled substances under state or federal law?   [    ] YES   [    ] NO 
 
4 Have you ever surrendered a previous Federal Controlled Substances Registration  
 (FCSA) or had a FCSA Registration revoked, suspended or denied?    [    ] YES   [    ] NO  
 
5.  If you are a corporation, association or partnership, has any officer, partner, or  [    ] YES   [    ] NO 
 stockholder ever surrendered a FCSA Registration or had a FCSA Registration revoked, suspended or denied?  
 

If the answer is yes to any of questions 2 through 5, attach letter of explanation. 
 

Please select all that apply: 
 

[  ] I wish to have my registration application processed on the date you receive my complete application and payment in 
your office. Because the Oregon Board of Pharmacy does not prorate fees, I realize that by having my registration 
become effective before the beginning of the renewal period (October 1) my license will not be valid for a full 
year. 

 

[  ] I wish to have my registration become effective on the next October 1st. (only applicable for new outlets) 
 
The undersigned hereby certifies that all the information contained in this application for wholesaler registration is true and correct 
and that all the provisions of the law relative to the conduct of business operating there under will faithfully be observed. I also 
understand that under ORS 475.135(e) and OAR 855-065-0007 (4), the furnishing of any false information is grounds for denial of 
registration.  
 

                      
Print or Type Name of Applicant                       Signature of Applicant or Authorized Individual         Date  

 
MAIL THIS APPLICATION WITH REQUIRED DOCUMENTS AND FEES, PAYABLE TO THE 

OREGON BOARD OF PHARMACY 
 

ALL RETURNED CHECKS WILL BE ASSESSED A $35.00 RETURNED CHECK FEE PURSUANT TO ORS 30.701(5)
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APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION 
 WHOLESALER CLASS I 

In and Out of State 
 (Expires September 30 Annually) 

Oregon Board of Pharmacy 
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 150 

Portland OR  97232 
Telephone: (971) 673-0001 
www.pharmacy.state.or.us 

 
Designated Representative of Facility 

 
 

Designated Representative requirements are in Oregon Administrative Rule 855-065-0009. Note: You must 
notify the Board in writing of a change in designated representative within 15 days of the change by re-submitting 
this form.  
 
 
Name             
 
Business Address            
 
City, State, Zip            

 
Phone Number           
    
Fax               
 
Email Address             
  
Normal Business  
Hours of Facility            

 
 

Please answer all of the following: 
 

[  ]  Yes [  ]  No  Are you the designated representative of more than one wholesale distributor? If “yes”, 
attach a sheet with an explanation and details. 

 
[  ]  Yes [  ]  No  Are you actively involved in and aware of the daily operations of the wholesale distributor? 

If “no”, attach a sheet with an explanation and details. 
 

[  ]  Yes [  ]  No  Are you physically present at the wholesale distributor during normal business hours? If 
“no”, attach a sheet with an explanation and details. 

 
 

The designated representative signing this document acknowledges reading and understanding the responsibilities of  
a designated representative in Oregon Administrative Rule 855-065-0009 and the requirement to comply with Oregon 
laws and rules. 
 
 
 
                
Designated Representative Signature      Date  
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Ownership Information 

 
Publicly Held Corporation [  ] Yes [  ] No 
 
If No, Owner Name               
 
Parent Company Name (If owned by another entity)          

 
 

Complete this form for all owners. If publicly held corporation, list CEO or President and Registered Agent. This 
page may be duplicated as needed. 

  
1. 
Name and Title             
 

 SSN/Federal Tax ID            
  

Address            
 

City, State, Zip            
 
Phone Number           

 
Email Address            

  
 
2. 
Name and Title             
 

 SSN/Federal Tax ID            
  

Address            
 

City, State, Zip            
 
Phone Number           

 
Email Address            

  
 
 3. 

Name and Title             
 

 SSN/Federal Tax ID            
  

Address            
 

City, State, Zip            
 
Phone Number           

 
Email Address            

  
  
 

This page may be duplicated as needed 
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Oregon Board of Pharmacy 
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 150 

Portland OR  97232 
Telephone: (971)673-0001 
www.pharmacy.state.or.us 

 
 

License/Registration Verification in Resident State 
 

 
License/Registration Verification in Resident State (required for all Drug Distribution Agents, Manufacturers and 
Wholesalers located outside the State of Oregon). To prevent any delay in processing, submit this form or letter from 
your home state licensing agency with your application. If your home state does not issue you any type of professional 
or business license, attach a letter from the state agency that licenses drug outlets stating that you do not need a 
license.  

To be completed by Applicant. You are responsible for sending this document to your resident State licensing agency 
for their verification and state seal. You must attach a photocopy of your registration or license. 
 
Resident State 
License Number              
License Type               
Business Name              

Physical Address              

City, State, Zip Code              
 
To be completed by licensing/regulatory agency and returned to the applicant: 
 
The above person has applied for a Drug Distribution Agent, Manufacturer or Wholesaler Registration with the 
Oregon Board of Pharmacy. This registration is required of any resident or non-resident drug outlet that is engaged in 
the distribution of drugs within Oregon. 
 
Written verification that this person has a current license or registration and is in good standing with its resident state 
is required for our licensing process. Please complete the section below and return it to the applicant. 
 
[  ] The outlet listed above holds a current, unrestricted license or registration with our agency and has no 

disciplinary action pending. 

[  ] Other (please explain):              

                 
 

                        

        
Print Name & Title 
 
                
Authorized Signature      Date  
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OREGON BOARD OF PHARMACY 
800 NE OREGON STREET, SUITE 150 
PORTLAND OR  97232 
TELEPHONE: (971)673-0001 
www.pharmacy.state.or.us  
 

 

 
 

OREGON PHARMACY LAWS AND ADMINISTRATIVE RULES                 FEE $25.00 
 

Please Mail to: 
  
NAME                
 
FACILITY NAME              
   
ADDRESS               
   
CITY, STATE & ZIP CODE             
 
Number of sets requested      Amount enclosed $    ($25.00 per set) 
 
Set(s) ordered for: 
 

Pharmacist [  ]          Intern [  ]          Reciprocal [  ]          Pharmacy [  ]          Other [  ] 
 

Make checks payable to:     Oregon Board of Pharmacy 
800 NE Oregon St, Ste 150 
Portland, OR  97232 

 
 

 
Please Note: 
 

• Administrative Rules are updated through the Secretary of State’s Office within 30 days of being filed. 
 

• Electronic versions of pharmaceutical references listed under Oregon Administrative Rule 855-041-1035 
formerly 855-041-0040 satisfy the minimum equipment requirement for a pharmacy. 

 
• The Oregon Board of Pharmacy Official Newsletter can be subscribed to by sending an email to 

OregonBOPNewsletter@nabp.org with only the word “Subscribe” in the subject heading and body of the 
email. Once you subscribe, you will receive a notice via e-mail when the newsletter is available.  

 
• The Laws and Rules for the Oregon Board of Pharmacy may be found on the Board’s website at 

http://www.pharmacy.state.or.us. Included are: 
 

o Oregon Revised Statute Chapter 689,Oregon Pharmacy Act 
o Oregon Revised Statute Chapter 475, Uniform Controlled Substance Act 
o Oregon Administrative Rules Chapter 855 

 
 

 
ALL RETURNED CHECKS WILL BE ASSESSED A $35.00 RETURNED CHECK FEE  

PURSUANT TO ORS 30.701(5) 
    

FOR BOARD USE  ONLY  [0324]  $25.00 

RECEIPT # 
  

 
CHECK # 

  

ENTERED BY 
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