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Background: 520  Number of people currently
under PSRB jurisdiction.

When someone commits a crime and is found by the Courts to be
“guilty except for insanity (GEI),” he or she is placed under the jurisdiction 142  Number of people under
of the Oregon Psychiatric Security Review Board (PSRB) or the Oregon PSRB jurisdiction in Oregon
Health Authority (OHA). All persons who are adjudicated GEI have been State Hospital.
determined by a court to have a psychiatric illness and/or intellectual
disability. All persons on conditional release living in the community fall under 369 Number of people under

PSRB jurisdiction.

Individuals found GEI are typically placed under the jurisdiction of the
PSRB or OHA for the maximum sentence length provided by statute for

the crime. Depending on the offense, that is 5 years, 10 years, 20 years, or
life.

PSRB jurisdiction who are
on conditional release from
the state hospital.

SAFETY RECORD

766  Number of people on
Historically, PSRB authority over an individual has lasted longer than for:%'t'ona' release in the
Department of Corrections’ system authority. asto years.

12 Number of people in the

While under PSRB jurisdiction, an individual can be housed in the
Oregon State Hospital or in a variety of residential treatment settings, ranging
from Secure Residential Treatment Facilities to independent living. The
PSRB determines what kind of facility is appropriate based on the level of
treatment, care and supervision required. Typically, the move towards

last 5 years who committed
a felony or misdemeanor
while on conditional release
and were subsequently
convicted of that crime.

independent living occurs after hospitalization and licensed residential living.
0.51% Cumulative annual
recidivism rate for GEI

Mission of the Psychiatric Review Board — Public Safety clients since 2011,

Oregon State law is explicit that PSRB must put public safety first. ORS
161.336(10) states: “In determining whether a person should be committed
to a state, conditionally released or discharged, the board shall have as its
primary concern the protection of society.”

Conditional release under PSRB — Proven Public Safety Record

The PSRB has been successful in carrying out its mission. In the last5
years, only 12 people out of the 766 who were living in the community on
conditional release have been convicted of new felonies or misdemeanors.

The cumulative recidivism rate for the last 5 years for the PSRB is 0.51
percent. By comparison, as of 2009 the recidivism rate for individuals in the
DOC system was more than 20 percent after being on parole or probation for
three years.

Most PSRB clients begin their treatment at the Oregon State Hospital.
When clients are conditionally released they are carefully monitored by the
PSRB. They are subject to immediate return to the state hospital if they



violate the terms of their release order.

FAQs

Are people who have been found GEI ever sentenced to the Oregon State
Hospital?

No. The GEl statute calls for individuals to be placed under the jurisdiction of the
PSRB or Oregon Health Authority. There is no set time a person must stay at the
hospital. Some defendants are placed on conditional release straight from court.
This is called court conditional release.

How is the length of time at the Oregon State Hospital established?

The period of time individual PSRB clients stay at OSH is based on a clinical
assessment of the individual's mental status and progress in treatment at the
hospital and a risk assessment as to their dangerousness as well as the
availability of the appropriate resources in the community. If it is determined that a
person can be safely managed and treated in a community setting, the PSRB
attempts to find an appropriate placement.

Is the state trying to move PSRB clients out of the state hospital and into the
community and what kind of impact will that have on public safety?

Yes. State and federal law dictate that persons should be placed at a level of care
they need. Because of additional funding from the Oregon Legislature since 2005,
an increased number of PSRB clients have been moved into a variety of new
community placements, including Secure Residential Treatment Facilities (SRTFs)
and supported housing. Since more of these units have opened, there has not
been any increase in the recidivism rate. Virtually all of the time, a patient will first
start out on conditional release living in a licensed residential treatment facility,
staffed 24/7.

Is it safe to move people who have committed violent crimes into the
community?

State law prohibits the Board from putting anyone on Conditional Release who is
determined to be presently dangerous to others. Additionally, before individuals
are released, they go through a comprehensive screening process that includes
four levels of approval, including the county mental health agency.

Conditional Release is not a new policy. Most states in the U.S. have some type
of conditional release program. The PSRB has supervised clients in the
community on conditional release since its inception in 1978. Over the past 15
years, 1334 conditional releases have been granted to individuals who have
transitioned into community placements throughout the state of Oregon. Some of
these clients remain under supervision for decades or even life.

Who is notified when someone is being considered for conditional release?
By law, the district attorney from the committing county is notified along with the
judge who signed the judgment order. Also, the victim(s), if they requested such
notification. The Attorney General’s office, the client’s attorney and the client’s
case manager are also notified. As a professional courtesy, Board staff also sends
notice to both the Sheriff and Chief of Police when a patient is first placed in their
community.
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WHERE PSRB CLIENTS
LIVE
(January 2016)

Oregon State Hospital

e 142 individuals

e Locked 24/7 for secure perimeter
patients

e 2 unlocked cottages serving a
maximum of 16 individuals
outside the secure perimeter

e 24-hour supervision

e Off-site privileges based on
public safety and level of care
needed

Secured Residential Treatment
Facility (19% of Conditional
Release Clients)

e Locked 24/7

e Egress controlled by staff

e Off-site privileges based on
public safety and level of care
needed

e 6-16 individuals per facility

Residential Treatment
Facility/Home (35%)

e Unlocked
e 24-hour awake supervision
e Up to 16 individuals per facility

Adult Foster Home (6%)

Unlocked

24-hour staff

Up to 5 individuals

Some clients with state variance
allow for four hours home alone

Semi-Independent/Supported
Housing (14%)

e Varies from individual apartments
to shared housing
o Staff part time at the site

Intensive Case Management (5%)

¢ Independent living situation

e Staff contacts at least 2X per day
with at least one at residence

e Case management team
approach

Independent Living (self, with
family) (20%)



| want to find out about a person under PSRB jurisdiction. What information
can you release to me?

Most of the Board’s written file is confidential because it contains protected health
information. However, the Board is able to release some information regarding
where a person lives, the date supervision will end, etc. Contact Board staff if you
want to know if certain information is releasable.

All PSRB hearings are open to the public. You can be added to the hearing
notification list of any client. You can attend in person or watch hearings via video
at the downtown Portland PSRB office. Attending a hearing is the best way to
learn more about the PSRB or obtain an update on a person under supervision.
PSRB'’s website has all hearing dates.

Once on Conditional Release, do they have rules they must follow? How are
the people monitored?

Yes, the Board designates a specific person (typically a county mental health
employee) to ensure the person is compliant with his/her condition release.
Additionally, all PSRB persons have a LEDS (law enforcement database) entry
with the county mental health contact and the PSRB after hours phone number.
Typically, a person under PSRB jurisdiction has daily contact with some
professional and is under tremendously more supervision than someone on
probation. The majority of the persons live in licensed residential group homes
which has 24/7 awake staff, undergo daily treatment, have random urinalysis
testing and staff supervision of their medications.

The Board’s Conditional Release Order explicitly contains conditions that require
the person to attend treatment and take medications as well as prohibits certain
behaviors such as consuming drugs or alcohol, contacting victims, violating house
rules, etc.

What happens if a PSRB person violates his/her conditional release or
becomes symptomatic and dangerous?

Oregon law allows for the Board to revoke a PSRB person and order their return
to the state hospital. Depending on the violation or severity of dangerousness,
other interventions may be utilized instead of revocation (e.g. local hospitalization,
increasing medication, suspending pass privileges).

Is PSRB staff available for Neighborhood Association or Informational
Meetings/Presentations? What is a good contact number for PSRB?

Yes. For more information or to request training for your staff, contact Juliet

Britton, Executive Director of the PSRB at (503) 229-5596 or after hours at (503)
781-3602.
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