STATE OF OREGON
PHYSICAL THERAPIST LICENSING BOARD
800 NE OREGON STREET, SUITE 407
PORTLAND, OR 97232-2187
971.673.0201

INSTRUCTIONS for APPLICATION - PT and PTA

ALL APPLICANTS — U.S. Graduates

1.

APPLICATION FORM:

Complete all sections of the Oregon Physical Therapist Licensing Board application (type or print legibly).
Attach the required photograph to the form.

Answer all questions on page 3. Follow instructions for additional documentation for any “yes” answers 3-6.
Sign and date the application on the last page.

Incomplete applications will be returned.
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APPLICATION FEE: Along with the Board application form, applicants must submit a check for the non-refundable application
fee of $162.00. The check must be made payable to the “Oregon Physical Therapist Licensing Board” or “OPTLB”. Applications
will be returned if the appropriate fee is not included. (NOTE: The Board accepts personal checks, bank or cashiers checks, and
money orders. There is a charge of $25.00 for a Non-Sufficient Funds (NSF) check returned to the Board.)

JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION: Complete the Board Jurisprudence Exam and submit it with your application and fee. The
Jurisprudence Exam is based on the content of the ORS and OAR. Copies of the Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) and Oregon
Administrative Rules (OAR) are available on the Board website. Applicants may refer to the ORS and OAR while taking the exam.
Each exam question is worth 4 points, and you must score 80% or higher to pass the exam. Applicants who fail the Jurisprudence
Exam will be sent another exam for completion.

LICENSURE VERIFICATION: You must contact each state jurisdiction, where you have ever held a professional healthcare
license, regardless of status (active, expired, inactive, lapsed, etc.). You must request a written verification of the license held, with
that state jurisdiction, be mailed directly to the Oregon Board Office at the address noted above. The Oregon Board does not have a
specific form to be used. This verification can be in letter format but must contain an original authorized signature and jurisdiction
seal.

CERTIFICATE OF PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION: You must provide a copy of the Certificate of Professional Education form
to the director of your physical therapy program or other appropriate authority, at the institution, where you completed your physical
therapy program. Your school must complete and submit the Certificate of Professional Education form DIRECTLY to the Oregon
Physical Therapist Licensing Board, with an original signature and school seal affixed. The Board will not accept educational
certificates that have been sent to the Board by the applicant.

PT’s only — You must complete as part of your application the mandatory (OAR 848-035-0035) 1 hour on-line presentation by the
Oregon Pain Commission. A copy of the certificate must be submitted with the application. The presentation can be found at;
http://cms.oregon.egov.com/OHA/OHPR/pages/pmc/index.aspx

ENDORSEMENT APPLICANTS - : NPTE score transfer: Go on-line at www.fsbpt.org to request the transfer of your national
examination scores, from the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT), to the State of Oregon. If you took the exam
prior to 1996, you will have to contact the Board where you sat the exam and obtain your examination date and your candidate 1.D.
number. Contact FSBPT Examination Services if you need help.

EXAMINATION APPLICANTS - FSBPT NATIONAL PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINATION (NPTE) REGISTRATION:

»  Applicants must register on-line directly, with the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT), to sit for the NPTE.
For questions regarding exam costs and the NPTE, or for on-line registration, go to www.fshpt.org.

» The NPTE Candidate’s Handbook may also be downloaded from the FSBPT on-line registration website.

» Once you register on-line for the NPTE, the Oregon Board will receive an on-line notification from the FSBPT of your
registration. If the Oregon Board holds your completed application file including: the application, the fee, the jurisprudence
exam, and the certificate of education, the Board will release your eligibility on-line with the FSBPT. At that time, the FSBPT
will issue your Authorization to Test (ATT) Letter and you can then make arrangements with Prometric to sit for the NPTE.

» Registered candidates may check their eligibility status with the FSBPT at any time. You do not have to wait for the ATT Letter
to be received in the mail. Once the Oregon Board releases your eligibility to the FSBPT, your status will be updated and you can
view and print your ATT letter from the FSBPT registration website.



http://www.fsbpt.org/
http://www.fsbpt.org/
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