Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Real Estate Educator General Information
Real Estate Education Requirements in Oregon
The Oregon Real Estate Agency offers and regulates three types of real estate licenses:
  • Broker
  • Principal broker
  • Property manager
 
Individuals interested in qualifying for a real estate license must successfully complete the required pre-license course of study applicable for the desired license. 
 
After an individual is issued a license, he or she must take required continuing education to renew an active license.  License renewal periods are generally two-year periods, although first-time license renewals can be as short as 13 months.

Broker License
In Oregon, a real estate broker license is the entry-level license that allows an individual to perform professional real estate activity (ORS 696.010).  Brokers in Oregon must work under the supervision of a principal broker (OAR 863-015-0140) and do business under the principal broker’s licensed business name or, if applicable, the principal broker’s registered business name.
Broker License Requirements
The required broker course of study consists of:
  • Real Estate Law – 30 hours
  • Oregon Real Estate Practice – 30 hours
  • Real Estate Finance – 30 hours
  • Contracts – 15 hours
  • Agency Law – 15 hours
  • Property Management – 10 hours
  • Real Estate Brokerage – 20 hours

Principal Broker License
Holding a principal broker license allows an individual to perform professional real estate activity (ORS 696.010).  A principal broker may work as an individual or in conjunction with brokers, principal brokers and property managers.  Principal brokers must supervise brokers who are licensed to work with them (OAR 863-015-0140). Principal brokers do business under their own licensed names or, if applicable, a registered business name.
Principal Broker License Requirements 
Only Agency-approved courses completed from Certified Continuing Education Providers will meet the principal broker license requirement (OAR 863-022-0050).

Property Manager License
A property manager license allows an individual to manage rental real estate for others for compensation (ORS 696.010).  Broker and principal broker licensees are allowed to do property management within the scope of their professional real estate activity, but property managers can only manage property.  A property manager may work individually or in conjunction with principal brokers and property managers.  Property managers do business under their own licensed name or, if applicable, a registered business name.
Property Manager License Requirements
Only Agency-approved courses completed from an Oregon community college, college, university, or licensed private career school will meet licensing requirements (OAR 863-022-0015).

Continuing Education Requirements for All Real Estate Licensees
After an individual is issued a broker, principal broker or property manager license, he or she must take continuing education to renew an active license or reactivate an inactive license.  The education must include the Board-approved three-hour Law and Rule Required Course. Brokers must complete a specific Board-approved course called Advanced Real Estate Practices before their first license renewal.
 
Continuing Education Requirements:
  • All real estate licensees must complete 30 hours of continuing education every renewal period, including a three-hour Board-approved Law and Rule Required Course. 
  • Continuing education must be completed from a Certified Continuing Education Provider in required topics (OAR 863-020-0035). 
  • Real estate licensees must maintain all certificates of attendance received from Certified Continuing Education Providers, and complete and maintain an Agency-approved record-keeping form that contains information taken from the certificate of attendance. Continuing education records must be kept for three years after the date the license renewal form and fees are received by the Agency.

 
How to Offer License Applicant (Pre-License) Education
Applicants for broker and property manager licenses must complete the required course work from Oregon community colleges, colleges, universities or licensed Oregon private career schools.
 
To offer pre-license education, a Certified Continuing Education Provider must be an Oregon community college, college, university or a licensed Oregon Private Career School.
The Agency approves pre-license courses and instructors.

Private Career Schools
To become a private career school in Oregon and to be eligible to offer pre-license education for broker and property manager licenses, you must:
 
 
 
Licensing by the Oregon Department of Education
The Private Career Schools office of the Oregon Department of Education is responsible for the licensing of private career schools in Oregon. Among other things, the prospective school’s financial statements, location, tuition agreements and refund schedules are reviewed for compliance with state statutes and the Department’s administrative rules.  Contact the Oregon Department of Education at (503) 947-5751 for more information.
 
Agency Approval of Pre-License Courses
The Agency is responsible to ensure that:
 
 
To seek Agency-approval to offer pre-license courses (OAR 863-022-0030), you must submit the following to the Agency:
 
  • An Agency-approved form that includes affirmations that the school, instructors and school employees will follow the administrative rules found OAR chapter 863, division 22 and the Agency's general guidelines;
  • Signatures of all individuals authorized to sign certificates of completion;
  • A syllabus for each course that complies with the instructional guidelines (OAR 863-022-0010 and/or OAR 863-022-0015);
  • Quizzes, assignments and other tools used to monitor students' progress through the course;
  • Final examinations for each course that complies with OAR 863-022-0030 and reflects the syllabus;
  • Answer key for each examination as a separate document;
  • Resumes for each instructor demonstrating that each potential instructor meets the instructor qualifications (OAR 863-022-0030);
  • Documentation that the applicant has applied with the Oregon Department of Education to be a private career school;
  • Proof of ARELLO Distance Education Certification, if the course is to be offered in a distance education format; and
  • If you will using a course purchased from a vendor who developed the course, the vendor’s name, contact information and letter from vendor verifying contract between you and vendor.
There are no application fees paid to the Agency.

Oregon Community Colleges, Colleges and Universities
In-state community colleges, colleges, and universities that wish to offer the 150-hour real estate broker license applicant course of study under OAR 863-022-0010 or the 60-hour property manager license applicant course under OAR 863-022-0015 must apply for course approval by submitting a letter to the Agency describing each course in sufficient detail to show how the course will comply with the instructional guidelines requirements.  No application fees are required.  Upon approval, the Agency will provide the applicant with a letter of approval.

Responsibilities of Pre-license Education Providers
These responsibilities apply to private career schools, in-state community colleges, colleges, and universities that provides the 150-hour real estate broker pre-license course of study, the 60-hour property manager pre-license course or the 40-hour Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision course. It also applies to continuing education providers that provide the 40-hour Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision course. (OAR 863-022-0060)
  1. A course provider must certify to PSI that an applicant for a real estate license has successfully completed the course or courses according to the requirements and instructions of the examination provider.
  2. Before certifying completion of a course, a course provider must obtain proof from a license applicant that the applicant has submitted a license application to the Agency.
  3. A course provider must inform each student taking a course that:
    • The course provider will certify to PSI that an applicant for a real estate license has successfully completed the course or courses; and
    • Before a course provider may certify successful course completion, a student must provide proof to the provider that the student has made application to the Agency for a real estate broker, principal broker or property manager license.
  4. In addition to the requirements under this rule, a course provider must provide a certificate of completion to each student.
 
Please contact the Agency for more information

 
How to Offer Continuing Education
To offer continuing education that meets the license renewal requirements and license reactivation requirements, a course provider must be a Certified Continuing Education Provider.
 
Licensed Private Career Schools, community college, colleges and universities approved to offer pre-license education must become Certified Continuing Education Providers to be authorized to offer continuing education to real estate licensees for credit.

Qualifications
Prior to submitting an application for certification, applicants should review the qualifications below.  To qualify, applicants must be one of the following:
  • A real estate company with a business name registered with the Agency under ORS 696.026 and OAR 863-014-0095 or OAR 863-024-0095
  • A licensed title or escrow company conducting business in this state.
  • A real estate trade association or a trade association in a related field (but not the individual members of those associations).
  • A real estate multiple listing service.
  • A licensed private career school approved by the Agency to offer pre-license real estate education.
  • An accredited community college or an accredited state institution of higher education.
  • A distance learning provider with at least one course approved by ARELLO.
  • An attorney admitted to practice in Oregon.
 
If an applicant does not meet the above qualifications, the applicant can petition the Real Estate Board to be become qualified).
  • Submit a petition of approval to Agency on an Agency-approved form at least 21 days before the scheduled Board meeting at which the applicant wishes the Board to make a decision.
  • Board may approve the petition if the petitioner’s qualifications are substantially similar to the qualifications listed in OAR 863-020-0020.
  • If the Board approves the petition, the Agency will send a letter to the petitioner confirming the Board’s approval, and the petitioner can then apply for certification.

Certification Process
Applicants must register and then complete an online application using eLicense, the Agency's online system.  
 
No application fee is required. 
 
The Agency will review the application and confirm the qualifications. Upon certification, the Agency will assign a provider number and e-mail a confirmation of certification to the applicant.
 
Once certified, the continuing education provider must use eLicense to notify the Agency of any changes to the information provided on during the application process.  This includes changes in the authorized contact person. 
 
If a provider no longer wishes to be certified or no longer meets the qualifications, it must must inactivate its certification within five business days by using eLicense.  

Responsibilities of Certified Continuing Education Providers
Certified Continuing Education Providers have the following responsibilities:
  • Ensure each course offered is within the scope of one or more of the course topics under OAR 863-020-0035.
  • Identify to licensees which course topic or topics each course covers.
  • Ensure that the course meets the minimum length requirement of one hour.  The instructor may allow a break of no more than 10 minutes as part of each hour of instruction.
  • Assign each course a four-digit identifying course number. (Any assignment of four numbers is acceptable. Each course must have its own number.)
  • In addition to any other learning objectives a certified continuing education provider may develop, ensure that courses offered meet at least one of the learning objectives required under OAR 863-020-0045. (The Agency does not approve learning objectives.)
  • Ensure that the instructor who teaches a continuing education course completes and signs the Continuing Education Instructor Qualifications Form required by OAR 863-020-0050 and meets the requirements under OAR 863-020-0060. (The Agency does not approve instructors.)
  • Give each licensee who completes a course a completed certificate of attendance per OAR 863-020-0050.
  • Keep detailed records of each course provided for three years as required by OAR 863-020-0055.
  • Notify the Agency of any changes to information originally submitted as part of the application process by using eLicense.
  • Notify the Agency if certified continuing education provider discontinues offering continuing education or if certified continuing education provider no longer meets the qualifications to be a certified continuing education provider in OAR 863-020-0020 by inactivating the certification in eLicense.

Renewal of Certification
A continuing education provider certification expires on December 31, 2013 and is subject to renewal by submitting an application for renewal on an Agency-approved form at least 60 days before the certification expires.

Certification Revocation
The Agency may revoke the provider’s certification if the provider disregards or violates any applicable provision of ORS chapter 696 or OAR chapter 863 division 20.  Such revocation is an Agency order subject to the contested case provisions contained in ORS chapter 183.  
 
How to Offer Three-Hour Law and Rule Required Course (LARRC)
All real estate licensees (brokers, principal brokers and property managers) must complete the three-hour Law and Rule Required Course (LARRC) as part of the 30 hours of real estate continuing education required for license renewal. (OAR 863-020-0010)  This course must be incorporated into all Advanced Real Estate Practices courses.

Requirements to offer LARRC

Responsibilities of Certified Continuing Education Provider Offering LARRC
Certified Continuing Education Providers offering LARRC have the following responsibilities:

 
How to Offer Advanced Real Estate Practices (AP)
Brokers must complete the 30-hour Advanced Real Estate Practices (AP) course prior to their first active license renewal or first activation of a license that has never been active. (OAR 863-020-0010)

Requirements to Offer AP

Advanced Real Estate Practices Course Approval Process (OAR 863-022-0045)
A Certified Continuing Education Provider must apply to the Agency with the following:
  • An Agency-approved form that includes affirmations that the applicant is a certified continuing education provider and that the provider and the instructors will follow the rules in OAR Chapter 863 divisions 20 and 22.
  • Signatures of all individuals authorized to sign certificates of attendance.
  • A copy of the syllabus and the hours and percentages allocated for each course topic demonstrating that the course meets the requirements for an Advanced Real Estate Practices course in the instructional guidelines given in OAR 863-022-0020. Course providers must incorporate the Board-approved three-hour Law and Rule Required Course into the 30 hours of the Advanced Real Estate Practices course.
  • The final examination(s) consisting of a minimum of 60 questions.  The number of questions from each course topic must correspond to the number of hours and percentages of time required for each course topic under the instructional guidelines given in OAR 863-022-0020.
  • The answer key for the final examination, as a separate document.
  • A copy of a completed and signed Continuing Education Instructor Qualifications Form required by OAR 863-020-0060 for each instructor teaching this course demonstrating that the instructors meet the qualifications under OAR 863-020-0060.
  • If the continuing education provider will be using a course purchased from a vendor who developed the course, the provider must submit the vendor’s name and contact information and submit a letter from the vendor verifying the contract between the vendor and the provider.
  • If the applicant wishes to provide the course in a distance education format, the petitioner must submit:
    • Student assignments and periodic quizzes that allow the petitioner to monitor the student’s progress in the course, and
    • A description of the process the petitioner will use to ensure that the student enrolled in the course is the person taking the final examination and that the final examination is monitored.
  • A sample certificate of attendance and certificate of completion.
  • There is no application fee
The Agency will review the application and required documents. After the review the Agency will notify the petitioner in writing of the Agency's decision. If the Agency refuses to approve the application, the Certified Continuing Education Provider may request a contested case hearing pursuant to ORS chapter 183.

Responsibilities of Certified Continuing Education Provider Offering AP
Certified Continuing Education Providers offering Advanced Real Estate Practices have the following responsibilities:

 
How to Offer Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision
The course required by OAR 863-014-0040 for principal real estate broker license applicants is the 40-hour Agency-approved Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision (BASS) course.

Requirements to Offer Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision (BASS)

Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision Course Approval Process (OAR 863-022-0050)
A Certified Continuing Education Provider applying for Agency approval of a 40-hour Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision (BASS) course must submit to the Agency:
  • An Agency-approved form that includes affirmations that the petitioner is a certified continuing education provider and that the provider and the instructors will follow the rules in OAR 863 divisions 20 and 22.
  • Signatures of all individuals authorized to sign certificates of attendance and certificates of completion.
  • A copy of the syllabus and the hours and percentages allocated to each course topic for the 40-hour Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision course demonstrating that the course meets the instructional guidelines under OAR 863-022-0025.
  • The final examination consisting of 75 questions. The number of questions from each course topic must correspond to the number of hours and percentages of time required for each course topic under the the instructional guidelines given in OAR 863-022-0025
  • The answer key for the final examination, as a separate document. 
  • A copy of a completed and signed Continuing Education Instructor Qualifications Form required by OAR 863-020-0060 for each instructor teaching this course demonstrating that the instructors meet the qualifications under OAR 863-020-0060.
  • If the continuing education provider will be using a course purchased from a vendor who developed the course, the provider must submit the vendor’s name and contact information and submit a letter from the vendor verifying the contract between the vendor and the provider. 
  • If the applicant wishes to provide the course in a distance education format, the applicant must submit:
    • Student assignments and periodic quizzes that allow the applicant to monitor the student’s progress in the course, and
    • A description of the process the applicant will use to ensure that the student enrolled in the course is the person taking the final examination and that the final examination is monitored. 
  • Samples of the required certificate of attendance and certificate of completion.
  • No application fees are required.
 
The Agency will approve or deny the completed application and notify the applicant within 30 days.  If the Agency denies the application, the applicant may seek a contested case hearing pursuant to ORS chapter 183.


Responsibilities of Certified Continuing Education Provider Offering BASS
Certified Continuing Education Providers offering Brokerage Administration and Sale Supervision have the following responsibilities:

 
Subscribe to Agency E-mail Publications
Stay up-to-date on the latest news from the Oregon Real Estate Agency by subscribing to the Educators' Informational Updates and the Oregon Real Estate News-Journal.