Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Pre-License Education
Broker Pre-License Education
Broker applicants must complete the seven required courses from an Agency-approved real estate school:
  • Real Estate Law - 30 hours
  • Real Estate Finance - 30 hours
  • Oregon Real Estate Practices - 30 hours
  • Contracts - 15 hours
  • Agency - 15 hours
  • Real Estate Brokerage - 20 hours
  • Property Management - 10 hours
 
The Agency only accepts courses completed January 2013 or later. 
 
The goal of this course of study is to enhance knowledge and skills of general real estate activity, as well as prepare the student for the real estate broker license examination. 
 
Once you have completed your course of study, you must provide proof to your school that you have applied with the Agency using eLicense. Your school will then make you eligible to take the broker license exam through PSI.

 
Principal Broker Education

Principal broker applicants must complete an Agency-approved 40-hour Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision course* from a certified continuing education provider.  Students learn about the responsibilities unique to principal brokers and review the broker pre-license course content. 

The Agency only accepts courses completed January 2013 or later. 
 
Once you have completed your course of study, you must provide proof to your school that you have applied with the Agency using eLicense. Your course provider will then make you eligible to take the principal broker license exam through PSI.
 
*Note:  This course is in addition to the current broker pre-license education requirements for Oregon, if not already completed.

 
Property Manager Education

Property manager applicants must complete the required 60-hour property manager course from an Agency-approved real estate school. The course gives basic instruction in the field of property management. 

The Agency only accepts courses completed January 2013 or later. 
 
Once you have completed your course of study, you must provide proof to your school that you have applied with the Agency using eLicense. Your school will then make you eligible to take the property manager license exam through PSI.

 
Agency-Approved Courses

Only approved courses completed from approved course providers meet the requirements to get a license. The Agency only accepts courses completed January 2013 or later. 
 
Broker and property manager pre-license education must be taken from an approved, licensed private career school or accredited college, community college or university
 
The course required for a principal broker license must be completed from a certified continuing education provider.

Oregon Private Career Schools
The Privatge Career Schools Licensing Unit of the Higher Education Coordinating Commission licenses private career schools. A license is required to offer education necessary for entry into the real estate profession in Oregon.  

The Agency approves the course curriculum and instructors for private career schools. 

Courses completed at private schools located outside Oregon are accepted only if the school is an Oregon licensed career school and the courses and instructors are approved by the Agency.

Community Colleges, Colleges and Universities
To satisfy subject requirements through an Oregon community college, college or university, applicants must complete a course, including the course’s final examination, in each of the required areas of knowledge; achieve a minimum grade of “C” and submit an original official transcript or original grade slip. Courses taken prior to January 2013 are not accepted.
 
Verification of Coursework

PSI is the Oregon Real Estate Agency's exam services vendor.

You are responsible for assuring that your school or course provider has submitted verification of course completion to PSI. PSI cannot allow you to schedule and pay for your exam until such verification has been made. 

 

 
Challenging a Course
Oregon Real Estate License Law does not allow for "challenging" a course. Applicants must complete the required education from Agency-approved providers.