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Renew On Time, 
Avoid Civil Penalty
Gene Bentley, Real Estate Commissioner

If you review the administra-
tive actions published in this 
issue of the Oregon Real Estate 

News-Journal, you will see that 
they were all issued to licensees 
who continued to conduct profes-
sional real estate activity while 
their licenses were expired. 

An expired licensee who continues to 
work can be fined $100-$500 for the first 30-
day period, and $500-$1000 for subsequent 
30-day periods.

Here are some suggestions to help you 
avoid a civil penalty for conducting profes-
sional real estate activity with an expired 
license.

Set a renewal reminder. 
You must renew your license by the end 

of the month of your birthday every two 
years. Use your computer or smart phone 
to schedule a license renewal reminder. 
Or buy a paper calendar and highlight the 
month your license expires.

Make sure the Agency has 
your current e-mail address. 

License renewals are sent by e-mail. 
Failure to receive the renewal e-mail is not 
an excuse for failing to renew a license. 

Make sure that your e-mail and mailing 
addresses are updated in eLicense within  
10 calendar days of any changes as re-
quired by OAR 863-014-0062 and OAR 
863-024-0062.

If you do miss your license 
renewal date:
•	 Stop conducting professional real es-

tate activity immediately. The fewer 
days you work without an active li-
cense, the less the civil penalty will be.

•	 Renew your license in eLicense as 
soon as possible. You have one year to 
renew your license late. After the one 
year, you lose all rights to that license 

Please see Renew On Time on page 2

www.rea.state.or.us
https://orea.elicense.irondata.com/
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_800/oar_863/863_014.html
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_800/oar_863/863_024.html
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_800/oar_863/863_024.html
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Coming to Seaside:

Oregon Real Estate  
Board Meeting 

Monday, December 1, 2014, 10:00 a.m. 
Rivertides Suites Hotel

•	Meet the Board
•	LEARN how the Board works with the Agency.
•	 Learn how the Agency operates. 
•	 Talk with Agency staff.
•	GET your questions answered.

Visit the Real Estate Board webpage 	
for more information. 

and you must start the licensing process 
all over again; this includes meeting the 
new educational requirements and retak-
ing the license examination.

•	 Make sure your principal broker 
transfers your license back into the 
company. After you renew your license 
late, but before you can conduct profes-
sional real estate activity, you must be 
become associated with your principal 
broker. The principal broker must log 
in to eLicense and transfer your license 

Renew On Time 
Continued from page 1

back into the business. If you are the only 
principal broker or property manager in 
your company, please call the Agency 
for assistance.

Ultimately, the responsibility rests with 
you to remember to renew your license on 
time. Your license expiration date is always 
the last day of the month in which your birth-
day falls in. If you need additional assistance 
in determining your license expiration date, 
log into your eLicense account or contact 
the Agency.

http://www.rivertidesuites.com/
http://eventsonedenbower.wordpress.com/
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/Pages/board_meeting.aspx
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Byron Hendricks

Give Your Input on the 3-Hour 
Law and Rule Required Course
Byron Hendricks, Chairperson, Oregon Real Estate Board

Greetings:
One of the responsibilities of the Real 

Estate Board is to approve the Law and Rule 
Required Course (LARRC) for each two year 
cycle.

Commissioner Gene Bentley and I met 
with the Portland Metropolitan Association 
of Realtors® (PMAR) Risk Reduction Com-
mittee in September and this topic came up 
in conversation.  Discussion items included:  

•	 Content of the 2016 LARRC Course (the 
current topics were approved by the Board 
for 2014 and 2015 to coincide with the 
Oregon Legislature’s regular session); 

•	 The challenge for continuing education 
providers and instructors to teach the 
LARRC Course inclusive of the required 
items but still make it interesting to the 
attendees of the 3-hour course;

•	 Some “elective” topics that instructors 
or providers can include as part of the 
3-hour course can really open lengthy 
conversations that can bog down the class 
due to the lack of awareness of ORS 696 
and OAR 863. These items can include: 
advertising, teams, principal broker and 
broker files (Hint: They shouldn’t be dif-
ferent!), etc.

At our Real Estate Board meeting 
in Roseburg on October 6th, I raised 
this issue with the Board as a discus-
sion item and asked the Board to con-
sider if we should be providing more 
specific instructions to continuing 
education providers and instructors on 
the objectives of the “elective” topics 
to help them in raising awareness of 
these issues.  The Board will con-
sider this and decide if it should be an 
agenda item for an upcoming meeting.

The LARRC class is required for 
all licensees at every renewal. If you 
have input on how to make this course 
more valuable to you as a licensee, a 
continuing education provider or an 
instructor, I encourage you to provide input 
to Stacy Harrison at the Oregon Real Estate 
Agency.  While feedback is always valued by 
the Agency, comments on this topic would be 
best if they were confined to items included in 
the LARRC curriculum (http://www.oregon.
gov/rea/EDU/docs/2014-15%20LARRC%20
Final%20October%2017%202013.pdf) and 
how to increase understanding through the 
required training topics.

The fact you have read this far makes me 
believe you care about our industry and want 
it to be the best it can be.  Your participation 
will make a difference!

Oregon Real Estate Agency Fee Schedule
Real Estate License.........................$230
License Renewal.............................$230 
Initial Business Registration...........$230
Renewal of an Inactive License .....$110
License Exam....................................$75

Reactivation of an Inactive License..$75
Late Renewal....................................$30
Opening or Closing Branch Office...$10
Name Change....................................$10
Transfer of License (each license)....$10

“Views from the 
Board” features the 
opinions of Real Es-
tate Board members. 
The views expressed 
are not necessarily 
those of the Oregon 
Real Estate News- 
Journal, the Oregon 
Real Estate Agency 
or Agency staff.

Views from the Board

http://www.oregon.gov/rea/EDU/docs/2014-15%2520LARRC%2520Final%2520October%252017%25202013.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/EDU/docs/2014-15%2520LARRC%2520Final%2520October%252017%25202013.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/EDU/docs/2014-15%2520LARRC%2520Final%2520October%252017%25202013.pdf
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What Is a 
Banking Day?

Real estate licensees  must comply with the time frames found in statue 
and rule. In most cases, these time frames are counted using “banking 
days.”
With the holidays approaching, keep this list handy to assist you in 
complying with the administrative rules.  

A banking day is defined as a day a bank is required to 
be open for normal business. 

Banking days do not include Saturdays, Sundays, 
or the following legal holidays per Oregon Revised Statute 
187.010:

•	 New Year’s Day on January 1.

•	 Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday on the third  
Monday in January.

•	 Presidents Day on the third Monday in February.

•	 Memorial Day on the last Monday in May.

•	 Independence Day on July 4.

•	 Labor Day on the first Monday in September.

•	 Veterans Day on November 11.

•	 Thanksgiving Day on the fourth Thursday in  
November.

•	 Christmas Day on December 25.  



Advertising Checklist for 
Brokers

This checklist is not exhaustive. Please see Oregon Administrative Rules 863-015-0125 for additional information.

Is it clear that the advertising is from a real estate licensee?

Did you review the advertising for any potentially misleading information and remove it?

Does the advertising accurately represent your license status (i.e. you are not holding 
yourself out as being in charge of the company)?

Do you have written permission from the property owner, or the owner’s authorized 
agents, to advertise the property?

If you are using your name in the advertising, is it the exact first and last name that is on 
your license? (You may use a common derivative of the first name listed on your license.)

Is the registered business name or licensed name of the principal broker prominently 
displayed, immediately noticeable and conspicuous?

Did you submit your advertising to your principal broker for approval before releasing 
it publicly?

Do you have a record of your principal broker’s approval of the advertising?

Did you confirm that the advertising does not guarantee any future profits?

Additional Checklist Items for Online Advertising 
(This includes, but is not limited to, social media, e-mail and websites.)

Is your first and last name on the first page of your online advertising exactly as it is on 
your license? (You may use a common derivative of the first name listed on your license.)

Is the registered business name or licensed name of the principal broker prominently dis-
played, immediately noticeable and conspicuous on the first page of your online advertising?

Do you have a statement on your online advertising that says that you are licensed in the 
State of Oregon?

Additional Checklist Items for Advertising as a “Team” or “Group”

Does the team or group include at least one real estate licensee?

Are all real estate licensees in the team or group associated with the same principal broker?

If licensee names are in the advertising, are the licensee members of the team or group using 
each licensee’s first and last name on the advertising?

If any non-licensed members of the team or group are named in the advertising, is it clear  
that they are not real estate licensees?
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The Agency is required by  
Oregon Real Estate License 
Law to publish disciplinary 
actions. A list of those actions 
are listed below. The final order 
for each action can be viewed 
by clicking on the named indi-
vidual.

Please note that there are 
individuals with real estate li-
censes that may have similar or 
the same names as those listed 
below, even in the same market 
area. If you are in doubt if an 
individual listed here is some-
one you know or with whom you are working, please contact the Agency for verification.

Finally, please note that stipulated settlements do not necessarily reflect all the factual 
violations initially alleged by the Agency, and the sanction(s) may have been adjusted as 
part of the negotiation process. Such settlements may not, therefore, directly compare in 
severity/sanction with other cases.

CIVIL PENALTIES
Expired - Late Renewals 

Civil penalties for late renewals are com-
puted using each 30-day period as a single 
offense. The civil penalty for the first 30-day 
period can range from $100-$500, with each 
subsequent 30-day period ranging from 
$500-$1,000. (ORS 696.990)

Van, April J. (Eugene) Property Manager 
200502006. Stipulated order dated July 31, 
2014, issuing a $4600 Civil Penalty.

Ward (Reyes), Sarah K. (Portland) Broker 
201203039. Stipulated order dated  July 31, 
2014, issuing a $550 Civil Penalty.

Gurton, Timothy G. (Eugene) Broker 
201202134. Stipulated order dated August 6, 
2014, issuing a $1100 Civil Penalty.

Caffall, Richard S. (Tualatin) Broker 
990300270. Stipulated order dated August 
13, 2014, issuing a $2100 Civil Penalty.

Robinson, Jewel A. (Portland) Principal Bro-
ker 92110001. Stipulated order dated August 
19, 2014, issuing a $2100 Civil Penalty.

Kirshrot, Herbert S. (Portland) Principal Bro-
ker 930400047. Stipulated order dated Au-
gust 21, 2014, issuing a $600 Civil Penalty.

Fields, Courtney R. (Pacific City) Broker 
200804089. Stipulated order dated Septem-
ber 2, 2014 issuing a $1100 Civil Penalty.

Boyle, Thomas (Bend) Broker 201012002. 
Final order dated September 4, 2014, issuing 
a $800 Civil Penalty.

Administrative Actions
July 23, 2014 through September 4, 2014

Correction 

The stipulated order originally  
i s sued  on  June  23 ,  2014  fo r  
Gregory Dunlap was updated to correct-
ly name the company to which he was  
licensed. The correct company was  
Diamond Group Properties, Inc. The 
Agency apologizes for the error.

http://www.oregon.gov/rea/docs/OREN-J/OREN-J_October_2014/Van_April_Jeanne_2014.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/docs/OREN-J/OREN-J_October_2014/Ward_Sarah_2014.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/docs/OREN-J/OREN-J_October_2014/Gurton_Timothy_2014.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/docs/OREN-J/OREN-J_October_2014/Cafall_Richard_2014.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/docs/OREN-J/OREN-J_October_2014/Robinson_Jewel_2014.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/docs/OREN-J/OREN-J_October_2014/Kirshrot_Herbert_2014.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/docs/OREN-J/OREN-J_October_2014/Fields_Courtney_2014.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/docs/OREN-J/OREN-J_October_2014/Boyle_Thomas_Wendell_2014.pdf
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Real Estate Agent 
Personal Safety Tips
With the news of the recent murder of an 
Arkansas real estate agent, the Oregon Real 
Estate Agency encourages you to become 
proactive in your personal safety. The fol-
lowing tips are provided so you can begin 
planning your personal safety routine, but 
the Agency urges you to seek out additional 
resources, trainings and professional advice 
on how to protect yourself. 

Note: This is for your information only. 
Nothing in this article should be interpreted 
as being required by statute or rule.
Get to know potential clients. Meet new 

clients in your office before you take them 
anywhere else.  Take a copy of their driver 
license and get other relevant information 
before showing them a home.  Jot down 
information about the client’s vehicle, or 
take pictures of it. Keep the information at 
your office.
Get someone to help. Have a co-worker 

accompany you to showings. If that is not an 
option, then let a co-worker, family member 
or friend know where you are going, with 
whom, and when to expect you back. Have 
someone call you at specific times to check 
on you.
Find exit routes. When showing a home, 

review all potential exits beforehand. Make 
sure they are unlocked.
Keep your cell phone handy. Your cell 

phone can be your lifeline. Keep it on you at 
all times. Make sure it is charged. Program 
emergency numbers into speed dial. Have 
a plan to call someone at regular intervals. 
Discuss having safety words to use with 
co-workers, family or friends when you are 
feeling uncomfortable.
Practice online safety. Review your 

online presence. Avoid giving out personal 
information, such as your home phone num-
ber or address. Don’t discuss your children 
or marital status. Consider removing photo-
graphs of yourself.

Be prepared. Organize or attend safety 
trainings at your office, through local law 
enforcement agencies or with the local Real-
tor® association. If your office has a safety 
policy, review it regularly. If your office 
doesn’t have a safety policy, create your own 
personal safety policy. 
Do a gut check. Learn to trust yourself. 

If something doesn’t feel right, get out of the 
situation. Better to risk the loss of a potential 
sale than to become a victim.
Learn more. Here are some places to start 

your research: 

•	 “Planning Your Safety Strategy.” Realtor.
org. National Association of Realtors®. 
http://www.realtor.org/topics/realtor-
safety/planning-your-safety-strategy   

•	 North Carolina Real Estate Agent Safety 
Guide. North Carolina Real Estate Com-
mission, 1 May 2013. http://www.ncrec.
gov/Brochures/Safetyguide.pdf.  

•	 Christoffer, Erica. “Make Safety a Bro-
kerage Priority.” Realtor® Magazine. 
National Association of Realtors®. 
http://realtormag.realtor.org/for-brokers/
network/article/2014/10/make-safety-
brokerage-priority/. 

•	 De Becker, Gavin. The Gift of Fear. 
http://gavindebecker.com/resources/
books_by_gavin_de_becker_and_oth-
er_books/. 

•	 “WomenStrength.” City of Portland 
Police Bureau. https://www.portlandore-
gon.gov/police/35911. 

•	 “Training for Landlords.” Crime Preven-
tion. City of Salem Police Department.  
http://www.cityofsalem.net/Depart-
ments/Police/Resources/CrimePreven-
tion/Pages/LandlordTraining.aspx.

http://www.realtor.org/topics/realtor-safety/planning-your-safety-strategy%20
http://www.realtor.org/topics/realtor-safety/planning-your-safety-strategy%20
http://www.ncrec.gov/Brochures/Safetyguide.pdf
http://www.ncrec.gov/Brochures/Safetyguide.pdf
http://realtormag.realtor.org/for-brokers/network/article/2014/10/make-safety-brokerage-priority/
http://realtormag.realtor.org/for-brokers/network/article/2014/10/make-safety-brokerage-priority/
http://realtormag.realtor.org/for-brokers/network/article/2014/10/make-safety-brokerage-priority/
http://gavindebecker.com/resources/books_by_gavin_de_becker_and_other_books/
http://gavindebecker.com/resources/books_by_gavin_de_becker_and_other_books/
http://gavindebecker.com/resources/books_by_gavin_de_becker_and_other_books/
https://www.portlandoregon.gov/police/35911
https://www.portlandoregon.gov/police/35911
http://www.cityofsalem.net/Departments/Police/Resources/CrimePrevention/Pages/LandlordTraining.aspx
http://www.cityofsalem.net/Departments/Police/Resources/CrimePrevention/Pages/LandlordTraining.aspx
http://www.cityofsalem.net/Departments/Police/Resources/CrimePrevention/Pages/LandlordTraining.aspx

