Oregon State Treasury


Oregon Investment Council (OIC)

Skip Navigation LinksInvestment Division > Oregon Investment Council (OIC)

Orego​n Investm​​ent Council (OIC)

This council invests all State of Oregon funds, including the Oregon Public Employees Retirement Fund and the State Accident Insurance Fund.

Oregon Investment Council ​Members

Appointed Mem​bers

Katherine J. Durant, 
Atlas Investments, LLC 06/01/2005 - 09/19/2006 09/20/2006 - 09/19/2010
09/20/2010 - 09/19/2014​
09/20/2014 - 02/28/2017

Ms. Durant has worked in real estate investment for more than 20 years, and has served on both the Oregon Growth Account Board and the Oregon Investment Fund board, in addition to her service to the OIC. She is currently the Managing Partner at Atlas Investments, a real estate development and holding company in Portland, Oregon, specializing in retail and industrial properties. She has a B.S. in Business Administration from Pepperdine University, and a M.B.A. in Finance from Willamette University.

Ms. Durant was first appointed to the OIC by Governor Kulongoski on May 12, 2005 and confirmed by the Senate on June 1, 2005. She was reappointed by Governor Kulongoski on November 9, 2006 and confirmed on November 30, 2006.

Rukaiyah Adams
Meyer Me​morial Trust
05/01/2013 - 01/22/2014
01/23/2014 - 01/22/2018
​Rukaiyah Adams is the Chief Investment Officer at Meyer Memorial Trust (MMT).  In that position, she is responsible for leading all investment activities to ensure the long-term financial strength of the organization including investment policy, asset allocation, performance measurement, manager selection and risk management.  Under her leadership, MMT invests in a diversified portfolio of global equities, fixed income, private equities (including venture, buyout and distressed securities), real estate, commodities and hedge funds.  Before joining Meyer, she was the Director, Investment Management at The Standard.  Ms. Adams serves on the Board of Directors of Portland Center Stage.  Ms. Adams holds a BA with distinction from Carleton College, a JD from Stanford Law School and an MBA from Stanford Graduate School of Business.

Ms. Adams's appointment by Governor Kitzhaber was confirmed by the Senate on April 30, 2013.

Rex Kim
Multnomah Group​
01/12/2016 - 01/12/2020

​Rex Kim is a Retirement Consultant at Multnomah Group, an independent retirement plan consulting firm headquartered in Portland.  In his role as consultant, he works alongside plan sponsors to assist them in making sound decisions related to their organization's employee retirement accounts.  Prior to Multnomah Group, he was a Managing Director at Tallwoods Partners, involved with investment research on behalf of the firm's clients and advising clients on how to properly manage their investment portfolios.  Before Tallwoods, Mr. Kim worked as a portfolio manager with Common Sense Investment Management, a fund of hedge funds.  Prior to CSIM, he was the Director of Hedge Fund Research at CTC Consulting.  Mr. Kim has taught graduate level courses as an adjunct instructor at the University of Portland.  He is a graduate of Carleton College.

Mr. Kim was appointed by Governor Brown on January 12, 2016 and confirmed by the Oregon Senate in February 2016.

John Russell
Russell Development Company, Inc.
04/01/2015 - 03/31/2019

John Russell founded Russell Development Company in 1979, where he presently serves as President. The company's downtown projects include 200 Market Street and Pacwest Center. The former project is known as one of the city's more sustainably built structures. Russell is a former member of the Oregon Transportation Commission, former chair of the Portland Development Commission, former vice president of the Portland City Planning Com​​mission and former member of Portland Historic Landmark Commission. Mr. Russell holds BS degrees in Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering from Webb Institute of Naval Architecture, and an MBA from Harvard Business School.

Mr. Russell’s appointment by Governor Brown was confirmed by the Senate on April 1, 2015.


Members by Position 

Ted Wheeler (by position)
State Treasurer

​Ted Wheeler is currently the Treasurer of the State of Oregon, having taken office on March 11, 2010. Treasurer Wheeler previously served as the elected chairman of Multnomah County. Prior to his government service, Treasurer Wheeler worked in the financial services industry was a senior manager of an investment firm. He earned a BA degree in Economics from Stanford University, an MBA from Columbia University and a Masters in Public Policy from the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University.

The State Treasurer is a voting member of the OIC per ORS 293.706(4).

Steve Rodeman (by position)
Director, Public Employees Retirement System

​Mr. Rodeman was appointed the Executive Director of the Public Employees Retirement System effective November 1, 2014. He is responsible for administration of the statewide retirement system serving more than 330,000 members, retirees and beneficiaries. Rodeman has served as the PERS Deputy Director since June 2008 and joined the agency in November 2001. Before becoming Deputy Director, he ran the agency’s Policy, Planning & Legislative Analysis Division, providing policy development, strategic planning, government relations, and legal services management. Rodeman has an undergraduate degree from Humboldt State University and a law degree from Willamette University College of Law. 

The Director of the Public Employees Retirement System is an ex-officio member of the OIC with no voting power, per ORS 293.706(5).​


OIC/OPERF Governance Documents

Regular Meetings Begin at 9:00 am
at Oregon State Treasury
16290 SW Upper Boones Ferry Road
Tigard, OR 97224 

2016 Meeting Sc​hedule
  • ​February 3, 2016
  • March 9, 2016
  • April 20, 2016
  • June 1, 2016
  • August 10, 2016
  • September 14, 2016
  • October 26, 2016
  • December 7, 2016

Links to Documents

OIC Meeting Materials 2010


OIC Meeting Materials 2016​

OIC Meeting Materials 2014​   ​​​

OIC Meeting Materials 2013   

OIC Meeting Materials 2012   

OIC Meeting Materials 2011   


OIC Meeting Materials 2009

OIC Minutes and Sound Recordings 2016​ 

OIC Minutes and Sound Recordings 2015   

OIC Minutes and Sound Recordings 2014​   

OIC Minutes and Sound Recordings 2013


OIC Minutes and Sound Recordings 2012

OIC Minutes and Sound Recordings 2011


OIC Minutes 2005


OIC Minutes 2004  

OIC Minutes 2002 


2014 Sudan report to legislature (Executive Summary)
2013 Sudan report to legislature (Executive Summary)
2012 Sudan report to legislature (Executive Summary)  
2011 Sudan report to legislature (Executive Summary)   
2011 Sudan report to legislature    
2011 Sudan Report, Attachment A    
2010 Sudan report to legislature (Executive Summary)    
2010 Sudan report to legislature    

Back to top ​