If you hold a foreign degree, before you are eligible for an Oregon teaching license, Oregon Teacher Standards and Practices Commission (TSPC) requires that you have your transcripts evaluated by a recognized transcript evaluation agency. The transcript evaluation must show that you have completed the foreign equivalent of a U.S. bachelor’s degree or higher.
TSPC will accept transcript evaluations from the following transcripts evaluation agencies:
All of the listed transcript evaluation agencies offer rush services at an additional cost. You will need to contact the agency directly for more information on fees and other requirements.
As part of your application materials for an Oregon teaching license, you will be required to submit an unopened copy of the complete transcript evaluation.
Since you have not completed a teacher education program in the United States, you are not eligible for an un-restricted license. However, you may be eligible for a Restricted Transitional Teaching License.
To be eligible for the Restricted Transitional Teaching License you must:
1) Hold a bachelor’s degree or higher from a regionally accredited institution or the approved foreign equivalent; and
2) Have an employing Oregon school district co-apply with you for the license; and
3) Show substantial preparation in the subject-matter area in which the license is requested; and
5) Be able to successfully pass a background clearance check.
The Restricted Transitional Teaching License only allows you to teach within the requesting Oregon school district that co-applied with you and is only valid to teach the designated grade levels and subject-matter endorsement areas listed on the license.
It is up to you to find a school district interested in co-applying with you. We do not keep information regarding school districts looking to hire.
The Restricted Transitional Teaching License will be issued for 1 year at a time for a maximum of 3 years total. Special renewal requirements must be met in order to renew the license each year.
We cannot advise you of your exact requirements until an evaluation of your application materials has been completed. A letter will accompany the license explaining exactly what you must complete for renewal.
To apply for the Restricted Transitional Teaching License you will need to submit the following:
2) $100 non-refundable processing fee;
3) $59 fingerprints processing fee;
5) Official, unopened transcripts and transcript evaluation of all colleges and universities that you have attended;
6) Letter from the employing school district describing the particular need in relation to your qualifications. The district must agree to provide a mentor and must identify that mentor in the letter of application. The district must also attest that the district could not locate and hire a suitable teacher holding an unrestricted full-time license appropriate for the assignment to be filled;
7) Resume, and any other evidence required by the Commission as proof of substantial completion of academic preparation or substantial work experience in the area in which the co-applicant educator and school district are seeking licensure. (If additional evidence is required we will contact you directly.)
8) Passing score report for the ORELA “Protecting Student and Civil Rights in the Educational Environment” test.
You may make one payment of $159 by check or money order made payable to “TSPC;” or by credit card, by calling (503) 378-3586. (We do not accept American Express.) If you would like to pay by credit card, please allow enough time for your application materials to be received by our office before doing so.