How does e-filing work?
The first step is to choose how you want to e-file. You can use a tax preparer, Oregon-approved software, or a free e-filing service. These are the steps of the process:
- Once completed, your federal and state returns are signed with a federal PIN or Oregon Form EF.
- Within 24 hours of filing, the IRS sends verification of receipt to the software company you used. The software company then notifies you.
- The same software company receives Oregon verification one to three days after the IRS verification.
- Refunds are issued within seven to 10 days. Allow extra time if you claimed the Working Family Child Care Credit (WFC).
Do you prepare your own taxes?
Visit our free filing webpage
if you prepare your own taxes but want the convenience of e-filing your Oregon return for free.
Find a tax preparer
Visit the IRS website for information on locating a tax professional in your area. Fees will vary depending on the type of service you need. There are also free preparation services available. Check our webpage to see if you qualify for free tax preparation.
Tax preparation software
Visit our list of approved vendors to find a software solution that suits you. Read about the vendor's free options to see if you are eligible. You can also visit the product's website for details about security, pricing, and features.
Keep good tax records
When e-filing, you should keep these documents for three years:
- Copies of your federal and state returns.
- Copies of any special-case attachments that you mailed or faxed to us.
- Form 243.
- Oregon Schedule MPC.
- Transfer Notice for Certain Credits.
- Form BPC.
- 2nd page of Form 10 (annualized income worksheet).
- RDP federal form (1040, 1040A, 10404EZ) filed with the IRS for each partner.
- Your W-2(s) and 1099(s).
- Oregon Form EF. This form is used if you didn't sign your returns with a federal PIN.
Copies of the e-file verification notices you received from the IRS and Oregon.
- All other supporting documents pertaining to the federal and state returns.
If you owe tax, you can file your return any time before April 15, 2015. However your payment envelope must be postmarked on or before April 15, 2015 to avoid penalty and interest. Include a Form 40-V, Oregon Income Tax Payment Voucher, in the envelope with your payment. View a list of our electronic payment options.
If you can't pay all of the tax due by April 15, file your return and pay what you can. After April 15, we'll send a bill for the balance along with any penalties and interest accrued. Once you receive the bill, you'll have the option to set up a payment plan.
Generally, after processing begins, you'll receive your refund within seven to 10 days. However, we routinely examine returns —both paper and electronically filed— for a number of reasons. If your return is pulled for examination, the processing takes longer and your refund may be delayed. You can check the status of your refund online or by calling us.
Refunds can be directly deposited into bank accounts, other financial institution accounts, or credit union accounts. You'll get your refund faster if you choose to directly deposit.
Some banks don't allow the deposit of joint refunds into an individual account. If a bank rejects a deposit, we'll issue a paper check to the address on the return.
Verify the accuracy of the bank account you list on your return. We're not responsible for deposits made to an incorrect account that's provided on the return.
Be sure to monitor your bank for the deposit. We don't send notification when the deposit is made.