OREGON BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS & THERAPISTS
Clinical Supervised Work Experience Rulemaking Q& A

1. Q. Q. When does the Board’s rule change become effective?

A. July 1, 2023.

2. What does this amendment do?
A. The rule changes, effective July 1, 2023, are summarized as follows:

e The supervised clinical experience requirement for LPC and LMFT
licensure is reduced by 500 hours, from a minimum of 2,400 hours to
1,900 hours supervised direct client contact hours. Since 400 of these
hours may be completed pre-degree, this means that a minimum 1,500
direct client contact hours must be post-degree.

e The minimum requirement of supervised direct client contact hours
working with couples and families for LMFT licensure is reduced by 250
hours, from 1,000 to 750 hours.

e The requirement that registered associates must complete at least 1,000 of
the required hours of direct client contact while in a Board-approved
associate registration plan is removed.

e The post-licensure clinical experience that reciprocity applicants (both
LPC and LMFT) may substitute for the required hours of supervised direct
client contact is reduced from 1,000 to 500 hours.

e Reciprocity applicants who have less than five years of post-licensure
experience can now substitute that experience for the required hours of
supervised direct client contact at a rate of 100 hours per year, up to five
years/500 hours max.

3. Q. Will the changes apply to currently registered associates and other current
applicants?
Yes.

4. Q. What are the next steps a registered associate should take if they qualify for

licensure on the effective date of the rule change?

A. A registered associate who has completed the examination requirements (passed
both the national and Oregon Law and Rules) and has met the clinical supervised
work experience requirements should submit a completed six-month report on or
after July 1, 2023. This will trigger Board staff to review the applicant’s file and
determine if licensure requirements are met. As a reminder, registrants must
submit their reports via the Licensee Portal. Staff will review submissions and
respond if further information is needed or if there is a problem with a report. We
appreciate your patience, as this rule change is expected to result in a significantly
heavier workload for our staff members during this time.
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S. Q. Is the Board also changing the three-year (36 month) duration requirement?

A. No. As a reminder, one year and 400 of the required direct client contact hours
may be completed as part of the degree program. Nearly all counseling and
therapy programs have practicum/internship components that meet or exceed
these standards. Therefore, the post-degree clinical experience requirement for
registered associates typically amounts to two years and 1,900 hours (1,500 hours
starting July 1, 2023). While the Diversity Study conducted by Keen Independent
Research, LLC found that Oregon’s 1,900 post-degree hours requirement was
higher than most states, it found that a minimum requirement of two years was
typical. Of the states that have a minimum duration requirement, 71% require at
least two years. The Diversity Study cautioned that establishing requirements that
are lower than typically found in other states introduces risks to practitioners,
consumers, and educational programs. It found that “supervised clinical
experience is helpful to clinicians who need support for the challenging and
stressful work they do, particularly early in their careers, and this support may be
especially useful for clinicians from marginalized groups.” The Board agrees
with these findings and accordingly did not propose any reduction to the
minimum 2 years of post-degree supervised clinical experience required for
licensure.

6. Q. Why isn’t the Board working to advocate for registered associates, including
changing insurance reimbursement and improving wages?

A. Some comments received from licensees and registered associates reflect
misunderstandings about the Board’s role, responsibility, purpose, and scope of
authority. The Diversity Study found that some stakeholders believe the Board
has a more wide-ranging jurisdiction than reality dictates (educational pipeline,
insurance regulation, and legislative advocacy), which contributes to a lack of
trust and can have an adverse impact on diversity in the profession. For example,
some stakeholders believe that the Boards should initiate legislation to promote
the profession (e.g., legislation related to provider insurance coverage
requirements) or take a position on legislation other than concepts which are
introduced by the Boards themselves (which is not permitted by the Governor’s
Office). The Diversity Study found that “structural changes such as education
funding and Medicare/private insurance reform could improve the financial
outlook for registered associates but are outside the authority and resources of the
boards.”

The Board was created for the purpose of determining qualifications for licensure
for LPCs and LMFTs (academic and training standards), ensuring that candidates
meet the licensure qualifications (education, exam, experience, character, and
fitness, etc.), ensuring ongoing compliance with licensure requirements (renewal,
continuing education, professional disclosure statement, etc.), and establishing
and enforcing a code of professional ethics. Board staff receive complaints and
investigate alleged violations of Board law, rule, and the ACA Code of Ethics.
The regulatory functions of the Board are set to create high standards for
professional practice in Oregon and to ensure the ongoing competence of the
professionals licensed. In summary, the Board’s purpose is to protect the public.
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The Board may act only within its statutory authority as determined by the
Oregon State Legislature.

In contrast, the role of professional associations (e.g., the Oregon Counseling
Association, the Oregon Association of Marriage and Family Therapists, and the
Coalition of Oregon Professional Associations for Counseling and Therapy) are
rooted in promotion of the profession. Associations typically offer continuing
education trainings and networking opportunities, provide informational
resources, keep members apprised of current issues, and engage in advocacy
for—or in opposition to—legislation that affects the profession. Many
professional associations offer peer consultations and provide advice on ethical or
legal issues.

There are certainly areas where the interests of a regulatory board and a
professional association will overlap. For example, proposed legislation that
changes the continuing education requirements or modifies the scope of practice
for an LPC or LMFT will have both regulatory and professional practice
implications. However, there is an important distinction between a governmental
regulatory board’s public protection mandate and a professional association’s
professional advocacy role. The two will not always align when it comes to
certain policy considerations.

7. Q. Why isn’t the Board awarding scholarships, grants, student loan forgiveness,
supervisor stipends, and other programs/incentives to promote the
workforce?

A. Much of this goes back to the response in #5, above, in the Board’s role and

purpose as set forth in Oregon State Statute. Also, creating new programs
requires a funding source. The Board’s operations are 100% funded by “Other
Funds”- meaning licensing fees- not “General Fund” taxpayer dollars. The Board
does not wish to raise fees paid by LPCs and LMFTs and applicants; we would
prefer to reduce these fees as we are proposing to do for the 2023-25 biennium.

There are current opportunities within an Oregon Health Authority program called
the Behavioral Health Workforce Initiative, which was created to develop a
diverse behavioral health workforce through scholarships, loan repayment,
retention and peer workforce development, and awarding grants to licensed
behavioral health providers to provide clinical supervision to registered
associates.

8. Q. I heard that the Board requires licensees to retake the national exam every
10 years- is this true?

A. No, this is not true for current licensees. To qualify for initial licensure,
reciprocity applicants (coming from another state) whose exams were passed
more than 10 years ago may choose to either 1) retake an exam or 2) within the
past 24 months complete the same continuing education (CE) required for license
renewal (40 total clock hours). Most applicants already meet the CE requirement
as they have completed CE to maintain their other state license.
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0. Q. Will Registered Associates still be required to submit associate registration
plans and six-month reports to the Board?

A. Yes.
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