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AMEND: 833-080-0011

RULE TITLE: Continuing Education 

NOTICE FILED DATE: 12/09/2021

RULE SUMMARY: This amendment adds a new requirement for licensees to complete two credits of continuing 

education dedicated to the topic of suicide risk assessment, treatment, and management.  It also reorganizes some 

language for clarity.

RULE TEXT: 

Licensees must complete approved continuing education and report the hours to the Board on even numbered years as 

a condition of license renewal. 

(1) “Reporting period” means the 24-month period between license renewals that occur in even numbered years. For 

the even numbered years of 2020 and 2022, “reporting period” means the 48-month period between renewals that 

occur in 2018 and 2022. There is no reporting to occur in the year 2020. 

(2) A "clock hour" for continuing education means one hour spent in a program meeting the requirements for continuing 

education. Clock hours exclude refreshment breaks, receptions and other social gatherings, and meals that do not 

include an approved program. 

(3) Licensees must complete at least 40 continuing education clock hours within each reporting period. For the 

reporting period between 2018 and 2022 renewals, licensees must complete at least 80 clock hours of continuing 

education, reported in 2022. 

(4) New licensees: 

(a) There is no continuing education reporting required for individuals licensed less than 12 months on their first even 

numbered year renewal date. New licensees whose first reporting period would be in 2020 must report at least 40 clock 

hours of continuing education in 2022. 

(b) Individuals licensed between 12 and 23 months on their first even numbered year renewal date must report at least 

20 clock hours of continuing education. New licensees whose first reporting period would be in 2020 must report at 

least 60 clock hours of continuing education in 2022. 

(c) Individuals licensed 24 or more months on their first even numbered year renewal date must report at least 40 clock 

hours of continuing education. New licensees whose first reporting period would be in 2020 must report at least 80 
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clock hours of continuing education in 2022. 

(5) There is no continuing education reporting required for licensees on or changing to inactive status. 

(6) Licensees must complete the following minimum continuing education requirements in each reporting period: 

(a) Six clock hours of training in professional ethics and/or Oregon State laws and regulations pertaining to the practice 

of professional counseling or marriage and family therapy. For the reporting period between 2018 and 2022 renewals, 

licensees must complete at least 12 clock hours of training in professional ethics and/or Oregon State laws and 

regulations pertaining to the practice of professional counseling or marriage and family therapy; 

(b) For licensees who supervise registered associates, including all licensees on the Supervisor Registry: three clock 

hours of supervision-related training. For the reporting period between 2018 and 2022 renewals, licensees who 

supervise registered associates and licensees on the Supervisor Registry must complete at least six clock hours of 

supervision-related training; 

(c) Four clock hours of training in cultural competency within each reporting period. For the reporting period between 

2018 and 2022 renewals, licensees must complete at least eight clock hours of training in cultural competency; 

(d) Two clock hours of training dedicated to the topic of suicide risk assessment, treatment, and management. 

STATUTORY/OTHER AUTHORITY: ORS 675.785 - 675.835, 676.160 - 676.180

STATUTES/OTHER IMPLEMENTED: ORS 675.785 - 675.835
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