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BEGINNING IN 2017, MUST HAVE (CT) CREDENTIAL TO DO COMPUTED TOMOGRAPHY
Administrative Rules of the Oregon Board of Medical Imaging (OBMI) will require licensed technologists to have
earned a computed tomography (CT) subspecialty credential, in order to perform diagnostic computed tomography
on or after January 1, 2017. After that date, the new rule will require a CT credential for all licensed imaging
technologists who practice diagnostic CT, including cone beam CT. Technologists without a CT credential will be
eligible to practice diagnostic CT only after obtaining a temporary CT license, which will be available for up to 12
months and which will require them to practice under supervision. The temporary license will enable CT
candidates to complete supervised clinical prerequisites necessary to sit for a CT credentialing examination. This
new subspecialty credential requirement will only apply to diagnostic CT and will not apply to:
¢ Radiographers or radiation therapists operating the CT attenuation correction portion of the hybrid imager;
or
o Licensed nuclear medicine technologists operating PET and attenuation correction portion of the hybrid
imager.
There is a provision in rule that will allow the Board to waive the CT credential requirement, on a case-by-case
basis, for CT-experienced technologists in state-designated rural hospitals who are not able to obtain the CT
registry credential but who are able to pass a CT registry examination under state sponsorship.

FOUR DOLLAR RENEWAL SURCHARGE TO PAY FOR HEALTH WORKFORCE DATABASE
State legislation enacted in 2015 requires all health licensing boards (including OBMI) to collect health workforce
data from renewal applicants, and to forward the data to the Oregon Health Authority. This will require renewal
applicants to complete a questionnaire every time they renew a license or permit. The Oregon Health Authority will
charge each licensing board $2 per year (or $4 per two-year renewal cycle) for each renewal. In turn, the OBMI
initiated rulemaking to add the $4 workforce data surcharge as part of the renewal application.

Add ACS and MSKS Credential: The Board also voted to initiate rulemaking to recognize several new credentials
that have been recently added by two national registries. Those credentials include the Advanced Cardiac
Sonography (ACS) credential now offered by Cardiac Credentialing International (CCl), and the registered
musculoskeletal sonographer (MSKS) credential recently offered by the American Registry of Diagnostic Medical
Sonographers.

How to Comment on Proposed Rules: The proposed rules to create the $4 surcharge and for recognizing the ACS
and MSKS credentials will be available for public comment from June 1 through July 8. The Board cannot enact
the rules without considering all public comments received by 4:30 p.m. on July 8. You can obtain information on
the proposed rules, and find out how to comment on the proposed rules, by visiting the OBMI home page at
www.oregon.gov/obmi.

BOARD SPONSORS FIVE LEGISLATIVE PROPOSALS FOR 2017 SESSION IN SALEM

The Board of Medical Imaging has submitted several requests for state legislation to be considered during the 2017

legislative session in Salem. Those requests first go to the Governor’s office and, if approved, to the Legislature to

be drafted and introduced in early 2017. The requests include:

1. Prohibit most non-sonographers from performing diagnostic medical sonography: OBMI’s current statute
includes a licensure exemption for “specified licensed health care providers... who use sonographic equipment
within their lawful scope of practice.” The OBMI believes that too many untrained health providers make use
of this exemption. In response, OBMI is proposing to narrow this exemption to say that only licensed nurse



http://www.oregon.gov/obmi

midwives and certain emergency medical service providers may perform diagnostic sonography within their
scope of practice. This legislation also clarifies that OBMI’s licensure law only applies to operation of
technology for the purpose of creating images for diagnosis of medical conditions, not imaging done for real-
time visual guidance employed in various medical procedures. (None of this has any impact on licensed
physicians, who continue to have a full exemption from OBMTI’s statute.)

2. Allow the Board to classify certain minor violations as “non-disciplinary”: Under current law, any civil penalty
issued by the board is a disciplinary action which creates a permanent disciplinary record that is publicly
available on the board’s website, reported to the licensee’s national registry, and filed with the National
Practitioner Data Bank. Board members are proposing a change in the statute that would enable them to
classify certain types of license violations as non-disciplinary violations, but only if the civil penalty is no more
than $100, and only for specified violations that do not create a risk of harm to the public.

3. Recognize ISCD’s Bone Densitometry Credential: Currently the OBMI can only issue a limited permit to
practice bone densitometry to persons who complete an approved educational course and pass a national exam
offered by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT). But the educational course is rarely
offered, creating a de facto barrier for those seeking to earn a permit. In response, the OBMI is proposing
legislation that would allow for issuance of a limited bone densitometry permit to a person credentialed by the
International Society of Clinical Densitometry (ISCD).

4. Exempt Ophthalmic Sonography from Licensure: The OBMI recently became aware that there is a very small
group of sonographers that work only in ophthalmology, who are not currently licensed by OBMI and who are
credentialed nationally by an organization that is not part of OBMI’s network. Because of the small number
and narrow focus of ophthalmic sonographers, the Board is sponsoring legislation to exempt them from
OBMTI’s licensure requirement.

5. Require Health Institutions to Confirm Imaging Licenses: The OBMI finds numerous cases every year in which
imaging technologists are hired to work in Oregon without obtaining a (required) state license, or are allowed to
continue to work for weeks or months after their license expires. While imaging technologists are primarily
responsible for making sure they comply with the licensure law, the Board believes that greater vigilance by
health institutitons that employ technologists would help reduce violations and increase patient safety.
Accordingly, the OBMI is sponsoring legislation to require that any entity that employs technologists that
perform diagnostic medical imaging must assure that the technologists are properly licensed at all times.

VOLUNTEER TO SERVE ON THE BOARD OF MEDICAL IMAGING!

Under state law, the OBMI voting membership includes 12 members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by
the Senate, including four physicians; five licensed technologists; and three “public members” who are neither
physicians nor licensees. Currently there are several public member vacancies that need to be filled and we are
always on the lookout for responsible and committed individuals to serve on the Board. If you are interested in any
of the Board positions, please check out the Governor’s executive appointments website at
http://www.oregon.gov/gov/admin/Pages/How To Apply.aspx and submit your application. Please call Ed
Conlow, OBMI Executive Director, at 971-673-0216, if you have any questions or want to know more about what
is involved with Board membership.

Meeting Dates:
July 22, 2016
QUESTIONS/COMMENTS: October 21, 2016
Ed Conlow, Executive Director, 971-673-0216; ed.conlow@state.or.us. January 20, 2017
Our mailing address is: April 21, 2017
Oregon Board of Medical Imaging July 21, 2017
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 1160A, Portland, OR 97232 October 20, 2017
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