

OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY JOINT TASK FORCE ON UNIVERSAL HEALTH CARE State Capitol 900 Court St. NE, Rm. 453-B Salem, OR 97301 503-986-1674 Email: jtfuhc.exhibits@oregonlegislature.gov

In 2019, the Oregon legislature passed Senate Bill 770 (SB 770), establishing the Task Force on Universal Health Care, charged with recommending the design of a health plan intended to provide equitable, affordable, comprehensive, and high-quality health care to every Oregon resident.

In developing its recommendations, the Task Force is required to establish a Consumer Advisory Committee (CAC) to provide input from a consumer perspective. In August of 2020 Task Force members voiced strong consensus about the importance of diverse representation on the CAC, along with the representation requirements specified in SB 770 including individuals who currently have health coverage through publicly or privately funded sources, a serious medical condition or disability, or are parents or guardians of children enrolled in the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP), or are uninsured.

The Task Force received more than 100 applications from across the state. A nomination subcommittee of the Task Force reviewed the individual applications, prioritizing diversity in geographic representation; race and ethnicity; gender, sexual identity, sexual orientation; and disability status. The nomination subcommittee also valued the personal statements submitted by applicants as to their experiences with the current health care system as a patient, those who shared as having or currently serving as a caregiver for a loved one, or experience as an active or retired health care professional. The selection process was challenging based on the impressive and unique pool of individuals who applied and expressed a commitment to values and principles outlined in SB 770.

Based on a thorough review and careful deliberation, the subcommittee selected 13 individuals for appointment by the full Task Force. The subcommittee is encouraged that many of the nominees represent more than one of the prioritized selection criteria and will offer a wide-ranging set of voices to inform the Task Force and guide its work.

In addition to the 13 nominees, the nomination subcommittee also requested the Task Force give discretion to appoint two alternates, should their services be needed in the future. Lastly, the nomination subcommittee plans to notify applicants not selected and ask their consent to be contacted in the future regarding opportunities to engage the CAC and the Task Force in other capacities.

On September 29, the Task Force appointed 12 members to the Consumer Advisory Committee (alphabetical):

- Chelsea Alionar (Keizer)
- Chrispine Bala (Klamath Falls)
- Jules Garza (Beaverton)
- Kevin Fitts (Portland)
- Tori Geter (Corvallis)
- Ron Green (Albany)
- Ellen Greenlaw (Sandy)

- Lauri Hoagland (Ashland)
- Aida Kelsaw (Portland)
- Craig Milo Sottolano (Albany)
- Colleen Nelson (LaGrande)
- Thuy Tran (Portland)
- Ismail Warsame (Corvallis)

Glendora Claybrooks will serve as the chair of the Consumer Advisory Committee. John Santa will serve as the vice-chair. The chair and vice-chair are ex-officio, or nonvoting members of the committee.

Prepared by the Legislative Policy and Research Office

Updated October 19, 2020