What Must be Reported to Other Agencies

Child Abuse: A physician or physician assistant having reasonable
cause to believe that any child with whom they come in contact
has suffered abuse or that any person with whom they come in
contact has abused a child must immediately report or cause a
report to be made in the manner required in ORS 419B.015.

e References: ORS 419B.005-419B.055

Elder Abuse: A physician or physician assistant having reasonable
cause to believe that any person 65 years of age or older with whom
they come in contact has suffered abuse, or that any person with
whom they come in contact has abused a person 65 years of age or
older, must immediately report or cause a report to be made in the
manner required in ORS 124.065.

e References: ORS 124.050-124.095

Abuse of Residents at Long Term Care Facilities: A physician having
reasonable cause to believe that any resident in a long-term care
facility with whom they come in contact has suffered abuse, or
that any person with whom they come in contact has abused a
resident in a long-term care facility, must immediately report or

cause a report to be made in the manner required in ORS 441.645.
e References: ORS 441.630-441.665

Mentally Ill or Developmentally Disabled Adult Abuse: A physician
or physician assistant having reasonable cause to believe that any
adult with whom they come in contact has suffered abuse, or that
any person with whom they come in contact has abused an adult,
must immediately report or cause a report to be made in the
manner required in ORS 430.743. Adult means a person 18 years
of age or older with a developmental disability or a mental illness
who is currently receiving or previously eligible for services.
e References: ORS 430.735-430.768

Artificial Insemination: If a child is born who was conceived by the use
of artificial insemination that did not use the semen of the woman'’s
husband, the physician who performed the artificial insemination
must file the request and consent of the woman and/or husband

with the State Registrar of the Center for Health Statistics.
e References: ORS 677.365

Toy-Related Injury or Death: Whenever any physician determines or
reasonably suspects the injury or death of a person to be toy-related,
the physician and the director of the health care facility must report
the findings to the Director of the Oregon Health Authority.

e References: ORS 677.491

Patient Under Influence of Intoxicants About to Drive: If a health care
provider is providing emergency medical care in a health care facility to
a person they believe is under the influence of intoxicants, is about to
drive a motor vehicle, and is a clear and present danger to society, the
provider may notify as soon as reasonably possible a law enforcement

agency which has jurisdiction over the health care facility site.
e References: ORS 676.300

At-Risk Drivers: Health care providers must report to the Oregon
Department of Motor Vehicles when a patient’s impairment is severe and
uncontrollable. Severe means that the impairment limits a person’s ability
to perform normal daily activities, including safe driving, and it cannot be
controlled by medication, therapy, surgery, or adaptive devices.

e References: ORS 807.710, OAR 735-074, OAR 735-076

Cancer and Tumor Registry: Any practitioner diagnosing a case of
reportable cancer or a non-malignant condition must notify the
Oregon State Cancer Registry within 180 days of the diagnosis of
the case. A list of reportable cancers and non-malignant conditions
is available on the Oregon State Cancer Registry website,
www.healthoregon.org/oscar.

e References: ORS 432.500-432.550, OAR 333-010-0030

Childhood Diabetes Database: Upon diagnosing or first treating a
case of type 1 or type 2 diabetes in an Oregon child, a practitioner
must report within 30 days certain information provided in rule to
the Diabetes Program using the Diabetes Program’s Practitioner
Childhood Diabetes Report Form.

e References: ORS 444.300-444.330, OAR 333-010-0630

Reportable Diseases & Public Health: Health care providers must
report all cases or suspected cases of specified diseases, infections,
microorganisms, and conditions within required timing specified to
reflect the severity of the iliness or condition and the potential value of
rapid intervention by public health agencies. HIPAA does not prohibit
reporting to public health authorities for the purpose of preventing
or controlling disease. When local public health authorities cannot be
reached within the specified time limits, reports are made directly
to the Oregon Health Authority’s around-the-clock public health
consultation service. For the OHA's list of diseases and timeframes to
report, visit www.healthoregon.org/acd.

o References: ORS 433.004, OAR 333-018

Phenylketonuria Test Results: Physicians must report the discovery
of cases of phenylketonuria to the Oregon Health Authority on
specified forms.

e References: ORS 433.295

Injuries Caused by Deadly Weapons & Serious Injuries: Applicable health
care providers who have reasonable cause to suspect a person seen for an
exam, care, or treatment has had physical injury inflicted upon the person
other than by accidental means, that was caused by a knife, gun, pistol or
other dangerous or deadly weapon or was a serious physical injury, must
make an oral report immediately and follow up as soon as possible by a
report in writing to an appropriate law enforcement agency.
e References: ORS 146.710-146.780

Pesticide-Related lliness or Injury: Health care providers must
report suspected and confirmed pesticide-related illnesses within

24 hours to the Pesticide Exposure, Safety, and Tracking (PEST)

Program®. Please report hospitalizations and deaths immediately.
e References: ORS 433.004, OAR 333-018-0015

Fetal Death: If fetal death occurs outside an institution, the
physician in attendance at or immediately after the delivery of the
fetus must submit the report of fetal death within five calendar
days of the delivery electronically using the Oregon Vital Events
Registration System (OVERS)>.

e Reference: ORS 432.143(4)

Vaccinations: Report adverse reactions to the Vaccine Adverse
Event Reporting System, vaers.hhs.gov. For more information,
contact the Oregon Immunization Program?® at 971-673-0300.

e Reference: 42 USC §300aa-25



https://www.oregon.gov/OHA/PH/DiseasesConditions/ChronicDisease/Cancer/oscar/Pages/index.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/OHA/PH/DiseasesConditions/CommunicableDisease/Pages/index.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/BIRTHDEATHCERTIFICATES/REGISTERVITALRECORDS/OVERS/Pages/index.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/BIRTHDEATHCERTIFICATES/REGISTERVITALRECORDS/OVERS/Pages/index.aspx
https://vaers.hhs.gov/
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/PREVENTIONWELLNESS/VACCINESIMMUNIZATION/Pages/index.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/HEALTHYENVIRONMENTS/HEALTHYNEIGHBORHOODS/PESTICIDES/Pages/Program-Information.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/HEALTHYENVIRONMENTS/HEALTHYNEIGHBORHOODS/PESTICIDES/Pages/Program-Information.aspx

