BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR 60 DAY
Kevin Matthew Bates, RN ) SUSPENSION FOLLOWED BY
) PROBATION WITH SPECIAL
CONDITIONS
License No. 201801380RN ) Reference No. 2023030017

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurses. Kevin
Bates(Licensee) was issued a Registered Nurse License by the Oregon State Board of Nursing
on February 23, 2018.

On or about March 6, 2023, the Board received information that Licensee was terminated
after complaints from a female coworker that licensee had touched her in an offensive
"and unwelcome manner without their consent, along with calling the coworker derogatory
names. Licensee had prior discipline of Reprimand for similar behaviors.

By the above actions, Licensee is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.111(1)(f)(g) and
OAR 851-045-0070(6)(a), which reads as follows:

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation,
reprimand or censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a
contested case: .

(1) Issuance of the license to practice nursing, whether by examination or by indorsement, of
any person may be refused or the license may be revoked or suspended or the licensee may be
placed on probation for a period specified by the Oregon State Board of Nursing and subject to
such condition as the board may impose or may be issued a limited license or may be
reprimanded or censured by the board, for any of the following causes:

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing,

(g) Violation of any provision of ORS 678.010 to 678.448 or rules adopted thereunder.

OAR 851-045-0070 Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing Defined

Conduct that adversely affects the health, safety, and welfare of the public, fails to conform to
legal nursing standards, or fails to conform to accepted standards of the nursing profession, is
conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing. Such conduct includes, but is not limited to:
(6) Conduct related to co-workers and health care team members:

(a) Engaging in violent, abusive or threatening behavior towards a co-worker

Licensee admits that the above allegations occurred and constitute violations of the Nurse
Practice Act. Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in resolving the present
disciplinary matter. The following will be proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and
is agreed to by Licensee:
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That the Registered Nurse License of Kevin Bates be suspended for 60 days, then be
placed on Probation. Licensee will complete PBI- Professional Boundaries & Ethics (PB-
24) within 90 days of the Board signing this order. The Licensee’s compliance with this
agreement will be monitored by the Oregon State Board of Nursing from date of
signature on the Stipulated Order. Licensee must complete a twenty-four (24) month
period of probation to begin upon Licensee’s return to supervised nursing practice at the
level of a Registered Nurse. Licensee must practice a minimum of sixteen (16) hours per
week and no more than one (1.0) FTE in a setting where Licensee is able to exercise the
full extent of scope of duties in order to demonstrate whether or not Licensee is
competent. Limited overtime may be approved on occasion.

Licensee must comply with the following terms and conditions of probation:

1) Licensee shall not violate the Nurse Practice Act (ORS 678) or the rules adopted
thereunder.

2) Licensee shall have thirty-six (36) months from Board acceptance of this Stipulated Order
to complete twenty- four (24) months of monitored practice.

3) Licensee shall notify Board staff, in writing, prior to any change of address or employment
setting, during the probation period.

4) Licensee shall maintain an active license.

5) Licensee shall inform the Board in advance of any absences from Oregon and/or move from
Oregon to another licensing jurisdiction. If licensee leaves the State and is unable to practice
in the State of Oregon, Licensee’s probationary status will be reevaluated.

6) Licensee shall appear in person or by phone, to designated Board staff for interviews on a
monthly basis during the probationary period. Frequency of contact may be reviewed and
revised periodically at the discretion of Board staff.

7) Licensee shall notify Board staff of any citations, arrests, or convictions for any offense,
whether a felony, misdemeanor, violation, or citation within seven (7) days of the occurrence.

8) Licensee will not look for, accept, or begin a new nursing position without the approval of
Board staff. This includes changes of the employer itself or changes within the facility or
institution.

9) Licensee shall inform current and prospective employers of the probationary status of
Licensee’s license, the reasons for Licensee’s probation, and terms and conditions of
probation. If there is a Nurse Executive, that person is to be informed of Licensee's
probationary status. The Nurse Executive will receive a copy of the Stipulated Order for
Probation when Licensee is employed.
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10) Licensee shall work under the direct observation of another licensed healthcare
professional, who is aware that the individual is on probation, who is working in the same
physical location (e.g. clinic, unit, building, etc.), is readily available to observe Licensee’s
practice and provide assistance and who has taken the required Board approved
Monitor/Supervisor training. Licensee shall be employed in a setting where Licensee’s nursing
supervisor agrees to submit written evaluations of work performance (on forms provided by
the Board) every three (3) months during the probationary period. The quarterly evaluation is
expected to be received by Board staff within ten (10) days of the due date. If the evaluation is
not timely received, Board staff will contact the employer with a reminder. If Board staff is
not in receipt of the report within five (5) business days from the reminder date, Licensee may
be restricted from practicing as a nurse.

11) Between quarterly reporting periods, the Nurse Executive or a person designated by
Licensee’s employer, shall inform the Board of any instance of the Licensee’s non-compliance
with the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order, or of any other behavior concern(s)
there may be regarding Licensee’s work-related conduct or personal behavior that may affect
Licensee’s ability to practice as a nurse.

12) Licensee shall notify the Board staff when there is a change in status of employment
including resignations or terminations.

13) Licensee shall not work in any practice setting when on-site monitoring is not available.
This generally includes home health agencies, traveling agencies, float pools, temporary
agencies, assisted living facilities, adult foster care, independent consulting contracts, home
hospice, and night shifts outside of acute care settings.

14) Licensee shall not be a nursing faculty member or an advance practice preceptor.

15) Licensee shall not be approved for enrollment in clinical practicum hours for the purposes
of obtaining an additional degree or license.

16) Licensee shall participate in the Board’s random drug testing program. Failure to comply
with random urine, blood, hair, nail, or any other requested drug test shall result in Licensee’s
immediate removal from nursing practice. Licensee shall submit to observed tests to determine
the presence of unauthorized substances immediately upon request by Board staff or
Licensee’s employer. Licensee shall sign any release of information necessary to ensure the
Board will receive the results of such testing. The presence of unauthorized substances may be
considered a violation of the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order. Upon request of
Board staff, Licensee shall obtain a substance use disorder evaluation by a Board approved
third party evaluator. Licensee understands that Licensee is financially responsible for any and
all costs related to testing and evaluating. Licensee’s failure to maintain an account in good
standing with the Board’s laboratory vendor shall be considered a violation of this Stipulated
Order.

17) Licensee shall abstain from the use of intoxicating, mind altering, or potentially addictive
drugs, both over-the-counter and prescription drugs, and alcohol while participating in the
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Board’s random urine drug testing program except as provided in section 19 below. Licensee
shall avoid any over the counter products and food items containing alcohol, marijuana and

poppy seeds.

18) Licensee may take medication for a documented medical condition, provided that Licensee
obtains such medication only by a legal prescription written by a person authorized by law to
write such a prescription. Licensee will notify Board staff within 72 hours in the event
Licensee is prescribed such medication, and shall sign a release of information authorizing the
prescribing person to communicate with Board staff about Licensee’s medical condition.
Licensee shall produce the medical records pertaining o the medical condition and medication
use. Licensee will discard any unused prescription medications when it is no longer needed or
expired.

19) Licensee shall cease practicing as a nurse if there are concerns about Licensee’s ability to
practice safely or at the request of Board staff. Practice may resume when approved by Board
staff, in consultation with Licensee’s employer and/or mental health therapist/psychiatrist.

20) Licensee agrees to provide the Board with the names of any healthcare providers, sign
releases of information with the providers, and provide the Board with documentation of the
healthcare provided (medical records). Licensee is financially responsible for any costs
incurred as a result of compliance with the terms and conditions of the Stipulated Order.

21) Licensee shall maintain a relationship with an individual mental health
therapist/psychiatrist. Licensee agrees to participate in and comply with monthly mental health
therapist sessions. Licensee will provide releases with therapist for the Board to communicate
with provider. Licensee will have the mental health therapist/psychiatrist submit a quarterly
report of compliance, and is expected to be received by Board staff within ten (10) days of the
due date. If the evaluation is not timely received, Board staff will contact the Licensee with a
reminder. If Board staff is not in receipt of the report within five (5) business days from the
reminder date, Licensee may be restricted from practicing as a nurse. Licensee agrees to cease
practice if not compliant with monthly therapist participation.

22) Licensee shall cease practicing as a nurse upon the occurrence of a relapse, or at the
request of Board staff because of a relapse or relapse behavior. Practice may resume only
when approved in writing by Board staff, in consultation with Licensee’s employer and/or
mental health therapist/psychiatrist.

23) Licensee shall notify the Board at least three (3) business days prior to leaving town or
going on vacation with the exception of a family emergency.

24) Licensee shall cooperate fully with the Board in the supervision and investigation of
Licensee’s compliance with the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order.

Licensee understands that the conduct resulting in the violations of law, described in this

Stipulated Order are considered by the Board to be of a grave nature and if continued,
constitutes a serious danger to public health and safety.

Page 4 of 5 - Stipulated Order for Suspension with Probation; 2023030017



Licensee also understands that in the event Licensee engages in future conduct resulting in
violations of the law or terms of probation the Board may take further disciplinary action
against Licensee’s license, up to and including revocation of Licensee’s license to practice as a
Registered Nurse.

Licensee understands that this Stipulated Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for
approval and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, Licensee waives the right to an
administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion have
been used to induce Licensee to sign this Stipulated Order.

Licensee understands that this Stipulated Order is a public record.

Licensee has read this Stipulated Order, understands the Stipulated Order completely, and
freely signs the Stipulated Order.

IT IS SO AGREED:
T Y
Kevin Bates, RN Date
ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:

BO OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

5/ 2452
/)

oard President Date

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Debra Blondo, RN ) REPRIMAND OF REGISTERED NURSE
LICENSE
)
License No. 087000100RN ) Reference No. 2022100082

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating, and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurses. Debra
Blondo(Licensee) was issued a RN license by the Board on 08/27/1987.

On or about October 12, 2022, the Board received information that Debra Blondo RN failed to
properly delegate insulin to a resident that was not stable and predictable.

By the above actions, Debra Blondo RN is subject to discipline pursuant to: ORS
678.111(1)(f),0AR 851-045-0040 (1)(a)(b)(c)(A), 851-045-0070(2)(a)(b)(g), 851-047-
0030(b)(2)(a)(b)

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation, reprimand,
or censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a contested case:

(1) Issuance of the license to practice nursing, whether by examination or by indorsement, of
any person may be refused or the license may be revoked or suspended or the licensee may be
placed on probation for a period specified by the Oregon State Board of Nursing and subject to
such condition as the board may impose or may be issued a limited license or may be
reprimanded or censured by the board, for any of the following causes:

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing

851-045-0040

Scope of Practice Standards for All Licensed Nurses

(1) Standards related to the licensee’s responsibility for safe nursing practice. The licensee
shall:

(a) Practice within the laws and rules governing the practice of nursing at the level the nurse is
licensed;

(b) Ensure competency in the cognitive and technical aspects of a nursing intervention or a
nursing procedure prior to its performance; and

(c) Self-regulate one’s professional practice by:

(A) Adhering to professional practice and performance standards

851-045-0070

Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing Defined

Conduct that adversely affects the health, safety, and welfare of the public, fails to conform to
legal nursing standards, or fails to conform to accepted standards of the nursing profession, is
conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing. Such conduct includes, but is not limited to:
(2) Conduct related to achieving and maintaining clinical competency:
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(a) Failing to conform to the essential standards of acceptable and prevailing nursing practice.
Actual injury need not be established;

(b) Failing to take action to preserve or promote the client’s safety based on nursing
assessment and judgment;

(g) Improperly delegating the performance of a nursing procedure to a UAP

851-047-0030

Delegation of Special Tasks of Client/Nursing Care

(b) The responsibility, accountability and authority for teaching and delegation of tasks of
nursing care to unlicensed persons shall remain with the Registered Nurse.

(2) The Registered Nurse may delegate a task of nursing care to unlicensed persons, specific to
one client, under the following conditions:

(a) The client's condition is stable and predictable.

(b) Determine that the client’s condition is stable and predictable prior to deciding to delegate;

Licensee has completed the following education to improve her practice:
Licensee worked one on one with a nurse consultant for education on delegations.

Debra Blondo RN wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter. Therefore, the following
will be proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed to by Debra Blondo RN

That the RN Licensee of Debra Blondo be reprimanded.

Debra Blondo understands that the conduct resulting in the violations of law described in this
Order are considered by the Board to be of a grave nature and, if continued, constitutes a
serious danger to public health and safety.

Debra Blondo understands that in the event they engage in future conduct resulting in
violations of law or the Nurse Practice Act, the Board may take further disciplinary action
against their RN licensee, up to and including revocation of their RN licensee to practice as a
Registered Nurse.

Debra Blondo understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its
approval and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Debra Blondo understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, they waive the right to an
administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Debra Blondo acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion
have been used to induce them to sign this Order.

Debra Blondo understands that this Order is a document of public record.
Debra Blondo understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse

actions (resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB)
within 30 days from the date the action was taken.
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Debra Blondo has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and freely
signs this Stipulated Order for Reprimand.

Debra Blondo, RN Date

ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:
BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

Date

| 6// ?/&z}
[/

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Scott Carter, RN ) REPRIMAND OF LICENSE
) WITH SPECIAL'CONDITIONS
License No. 201703579RN ) Reference No. 22-00831

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurse. Scott
Carter (Licensee) was issucd a Registered Nurse License by the Board on May 18, 2017.

On’or about June 13, 2022, the Board received information that Licensee had entered a blood-
pressure recording that had not been taken into a patient record. Licensee was experiencing
long-haul Covid symptoms at the time.

By the above actions, Licensee is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.111(1)(f) and
OAR 851-045-0070(4)(c)E).

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation, reprimand or
censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a contested case:

(1) Issuance of the license to practice nursing, whether by examination or by indorsement, of
any person may be rcfused or the license may be revoked or suspended or the licensee may be
placed on probation for a period specified by the Oregon State Board of Nursing and subject to
such condition as the board may impose or may be issued a limited license or may be
reprimanded or censured by the board, for any of the following causes:

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing.

OAR 851-045-0070 Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing Defined

Conduct that adversely affects the health, safety, and welfare of the public, fails to conform to
legal nursing standards, or fails to conform to accepted standards of the nursing profession, is
conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing. Such conduct includes, but is not limited to:

(4) Conduct related to communication:

(c) Entering inaccurate, incomplete, falsified or altered documentation into a health record 61~
agency records. This includes but is not limited to:

(E) Falsifying data;

Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter. Therefore, the following will be
proposed to the Orcgon State Board of Nursing and is agreed to by Licensee:

That the Registered Nurse License of Scott Carter be reprimanded. Licensee agrees to
complete the following three (3) continued education classes- Ethics, PBI Medical

Recordkeeping (MR-17), and a Critical Thinking course, within 30 days of the Board
signing the order.
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Licensee understands that the conduct resulting in the violations of law described in this Order
are considered by the Board to be of a grave nature and, if continued, constitutes a serious
danger to public health and safety.

Licensee understands that in the event hc engages in future conduct resulting in violations of
law or the Nurse Practice Act, the Board may take further disciplinary action against his
license, up to and including revocation of his license to practice as a Registered Nurse License.

Licensee understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its approval
and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensec understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, he waives the right to an
administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal

thereof. Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion have
~béen ised 10 induce him to sign this Order.

Licensee understands that this Order is a document of public record.
Licensee understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions

(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30
days from the date the action was taken.

Licensee has read this Stipulatcd Order, understands this Order completely, and freely signs
this Stipulated Order for Reprimand.

I . -

Scott Carter, RN Date

ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:

s s e & —— o — v me——— — s, it s —

ING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

5//7—/ 23

Date / /

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING

Board President

Page 2 of 2 - Stipulated Order for Reprimand; 22-00831



BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Penney Casperson, RN ) VOLUNTARY SURRENDER
)
License No. 201700817RN ) Reference No. 2022120185

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurses. Penney
Casperson was issued a Registered Nurse License by the Board on February 09, 2017.

On December 19, 2022, the Board received a complaint alleging RN Casperson signed
Physicians signature on a prescription order. The Board opened an investigation.

On or about December 18, 2022, the Licensee forged a physician’s signature on a prescription
for patient medications and then inappropriately obtained medication and delivered to patient.

By the above actions, Licensee is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.111(1)(f)(g) and
OAR 851-045-0070(2)(a)(b)(8)(k) which provide as follows:

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation,
reprimand or censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a
contested case: ,

(1) Issuance of the license to practice nursing, whether by examination or by indorsement, of
any person may be refused or the license may be revoked or suspended or the licensee may be
placed on probation for a period specified by the Oregon State Board of Nursing and subject to
such condition as the board may impose or may be issued a limited license or may be
reprimanded or censured by the board, for any of the following causes:

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing.

(g) Violation of any provision of ORS 678.010 to 678.448 or rules adopted thereunder.

OAR 851-045-0070 Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing Defined

Conduct that adversely affects the health, safety, and welfare of the public, fails to conform to
legal nursing standards, or fails to conform to accepted standards of the nursing profession, is
conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing. Such conduct includes, but is not limited to:

(2) Conduct related to achieving and maintaining clinical competency:

(a) Failing to conform to the essential standards of acceptable and prevailing nursing practice.
Actual injury need not be established,

(b) Performing acts beyond the authorized scope or beyond the level of nursing for which the
individual is licensed;
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(8) Conduct related to other federal or state statute or rule violations:

(k) Possessing, obtaining, attempting to obtain, furnishing, or administering prescription or
controlled medications to any person, including self, except as directed by a person authorized
by law to prescribe medications;

Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter and voluntarily surrender their
Registered Nurse License.

Therefore, the following will be proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed
to by Licensee:

That the voluntary surrender of the Registered Nurse license of Penny Casperson be
accepted. If, after a minimum of three years, Penny Casperson wishes to reinstate their
Registered Nurse license, they may submit an application to the Board to request
reinstatement.

Licensee agrees that they will not practice as a Registered Nurse from the date the Order is
signed.

Licensee understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its approval
and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, Penney Casperson waives the
right to an administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or
appeal thereof. Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion
have been used to induce the signing of this Order.

Licensee understands that this Order is a document of public record.
Licensee understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions
(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30

days from the date the action was taken.

Licensee has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and freely signs
this Stipulated Order for Voluntary Surrender.

I oo

Penney Casperson, RN Date
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ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:

BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

Date

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Patricia Donnelly, RN ) CIVIL PENALTY
)
License No. )
201608623RN Reference No. 2022110187

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurses. Patricia
Donnelly was issued a Registered Nurse license by the Oregon State Board of Nursing on
October 1, 2021.

On or about November 21, 2022, the Board received information that Licensee had violated
HIPAA by accessing a patient’s medical record on 6 different occasions without a medical need
to do so, while employed as a RN with Wellpath on assignment at Yamhill County Jail.

By the above actions, Licensee is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.111(1(f) and ORS
678.117(1)(2)(a)(®)(3)(4)(5) and OAR 851-001-0009(1)(3)(a) and OAR 851-045-
0070(2)(a)(8)(0) which reads as follows:

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation,
reprimand or censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a
contested case:

(1) Issuance of the licensee to practice nursing, whether by examination or by endorsement, of
any person may be refused or the license may be revoked or suspended or the licensee may be
placed on probation for a period specified by the Oregon State Board of Nursing and subject to
such condition as the board may impose or may be issued a limited license or may be
reprimanded or censured by the board, for any of the following causes:

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing.

ORS 678.117 Procedure for imposing civil penalty; amount; rules.

(1) The Oregon State Board of Nursing shall adopt by rule a schedule establishing the amount of
civil penalty that may be imposed for any violation of ORS 678.010 to 678.448 or any rule of the
board. No civil penalty shall exceed $5,000.

(2) In imposing a penalty pursuant to this section, the board shall consider the following factors:
(a) The past history of the person incurring the penalty in observing the provisions of ORS
678.010 to 678.448 and the rules adopted pursuant thereto.

(b) The economic and financial conditions of the person incurring the penalty.

(3) Any penalty imposed under this section may be remitted or mitigated upon such terms and
conditions as the board considers proper and consistent with the public health and safety.

(4) Civil penalties under this section shall be imposed as provided in ORS 183.745.
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(5) All penalties recovered under this section shall be credited to the special account described in
ORS 678.170.

OAR 851-001-0009 Imposition of Civil Penalties

Imposition of a civil penalty does not preclude disciplinary sanction against the license or
certificate holder and disciplinary sanction against the license or certificate does not preclude
imposing a civil penalty. Criminal conviction does not preclude imposition of a civil penalty for
the same offense.

(1) The Board will consider factors listed in ORS 678.117 (2) when determining the amount of
civil penalty to be imposed and per ORS 678.117 (1), no single violation civil penalty shall
exceed $5000.

(3) A civil penalty of a minimum of $500 to a maximum of $5000 per violation is assessed for
any of the following:

(a) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing or conduct unbecoming a Nursing Assistant.

OAR 851-045-0070 Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing Defined

Conduct that adversely affects the health, safety, and welfare of the public, fails to conform to
legal nursing standards, or fails to conform to accepted standards of the nursing profession, is
conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing. Such conduct includes, but is not limited to:
(2) Conduct related to achieving and maintaining clinical competency:

(a) Failing to conform to the essential standards of acceptable and prevailing nursing practice.
Actual injury need not be established.

(8) Conduct related to other federal or state statute or rule violations:

(o) Violating a person's rights of privacy and confidentiality of information by accessing
information without proper authorization or without a demonstrated need to know.

Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter. Therefore, the following will be
proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed to by Licensee:

That the Board impose a civil penalty against the Registered Nurse license of Patricia
Donnelly in the amount of $3000.00.

Licensee admits that the above statements are accurate, and that Licensee’s actions constitute a
violation of the Nurse Practice Act.

Licensee understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its approval
and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order for Civil Penalty, Licensee waives the
right to an administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or
appeal thereof. Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress, or coercion
have been used to induce the Licensee to sign this Order.

Licensee understands that this Order is a document of public record.
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Licensee shall make twenty-four (24) monthly payments of $125.00. The first payment is to be
received by the Board by the first day of the month following the Boards acceptance of this
Stipulation and thereafter, a payment on the 1st day of every month until the whole sum is paid.
Please note that your payment amount was rounded, which means that your final payment may
be less or more than the monthly payment listed above.

Payments shall be made payable to the Oregon State Board of Nursing at 17938 SW Upper
Boones Ferry Road, Portland, OR 97224 by check or money order; alternatively, payment may
be made online by logging into your Oregon State Board of Nursing Licensing Portal and
clicking on Pay Civil Penalty Fees.

Licensee understands that if payment is 60 days overdue from the date due as stated in this
Stipulation, collection of the Civil Penalty will be assigned to the Oregon Department of
Revenue. In the event any amount is assigned for collection, the Licensee may be subject to
further disciplinary action by the Board which could include suspension, revocation, or denial of
licensure.

Licensee understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions
(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30
days from the date the action was taken.

Licensee has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and freely signs this

Stipulated Order for Civil Penalty.
e

Patricia Donnelly. Date
RN

ORDER

IT IS SO ORDERED:

BO NU G FOR THESTATE OF OREGON

Date

: //%AJ
oard President / /

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING
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BEFORE THE OREGON
STATE BOARD OF NURSING

In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Stacie Duell, RN ) PROBATION

)
License No. 200641553RN ) Reference No. 23-00092

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurses. Stacie
Duell (Licensee) was issued a Registered Nurse License by the Oregon State Board of Nursing
on June 30, 2006.

On or about August 15, 2022, the Board received information that Licensee reported to work
impaired by alcohol.

By the above actions, Licensee is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.111 and OAR
851-045-0070.

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation,
reprimand or censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a
contested case:

(1) Issuance of the license to practice nursing, whether by examination or by indorsement, of
any person may be refused or the license may be revoked or suspended or the licensee may be
placed on probation for a period specified by the Oregon State Board of Nursing and subject to
such condition as the board may impose or may be issued a limited license or may be
reprimanded or censured by the board, for any of the following causes:

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing.

OAR 851-045-0070 Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing Defined. Conduct
that adversely affects the health, safety, and welfare of the public, fails to conform to
legal nursing standards, or fails to conform to accepted standards of the nursing
profession, is conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing. Such conduct includes, but
is not limited to:

(7) Conduct related to impaired function:

(b) Practicing nursing when physical or mental ability to practice is impaired by use of a
prescription or non-prescription medication, alcohol, or a mind-altering substance; or

(c) The use of a prescription or non-prescription medication, alcohol, or a mind-altering
substance, to an extent or in a manner dangerous or injurious to the licensee or others or to an
extent that such use impairs the ability to conduct safely the practice of nursing.

Licensee admits that the above allegations occurred and constitute violations of the Nurse
Practice Act. Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in resolving the present disciplinary
matter. The following will be proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed to
by Licensee:
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That the Registered Nurse License of Stacie Duell be placed on Probation. The Licensee’s
compliance with this agreement will be monitored by the Oregon State Board of Nursing from
date of signature on the Stipulated Order. Licensee must complete a twenty-four (24) month
period of probation to begin upon Licensee’s return to supervised nursing practice at the level
of a Registered Nurse. Licensee must practice a minimum of sixteen (16) hours per week on
average, and no more than one (1.0) FTE in a setting where Licensee is able to exercise the full
extent of scope of duties in order to demonstrate whether or not Licensee is competent.
Limited overtime may be approved on occasion.

Licensee must comply with the following terms and conditions of probation:
1) Licensee shall not violate the Nurse Practice Act (ORS 678) or the rules adopted thereunder.

2) Licensee shall have thirty-six (36) months from Board’s acceptance of this Order to
complete twenty-four (24) months of monitored practice.

3) Licensee shall notify Board staff, in writing, prior to any change of contact information
which includes address, email address, and phone number.

4) Licensee shall maintain an active license.

5) Licensee shall inform Board staff in advance of any move from Oregon. If Licensee leaves
the state and is unable to practice in the state of Oregon, Licensee’s probationary status will be
re-evaluated. If monitoring is approved and transferred to another Board of Nursing, Licensee
shall successfully complete all requirements of the Board Order of the other jurisdiction.
Licensee shall be required to ensure the Oregon State Board of Nursing receives quarterly
reports documenting the Licensee’s compliance. Failure to comply with this reporting
requirement shall be considered a violation of this Order. While licensee practices in another
state, those hours will only be counted toward her Oregon probation if the position meets the
monitoring requirements per line ten (10) of this stipulated order.

6) Licensee shall maintain monthly contact by phone, electronic or virtual methods to
designated Board staff for interviews during the probationary period. Frequency or type of
contact may be reviewed and revised periodically at the discretion of Board staff. This includes
being required to attend an in-person meeting.

7) Licensee shall notify Board staff of any citations, arrests, or convictions for any offense,
whether felony, misdemeanor, violation, or citation within ten (10) days of the occurrence.

8) Licensee will not look for, accept, or begin a new nursing position without prior approval of
Board staff. This includes changes of the employer itself or changes within the facility or

institution.

9) Licensee shall inform current and prospective employers of the probationary status of
Licensee’s license, the reasons for Licensee’s probation, and terms and conditions of
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probation. If there is a Nurse Executive, that person is to be informed of Licensee's
probationary status. The Nurse Executive will receive a copy of the Stipulated Order for
Probation when Licensee is employed.

10) Licensee shall work under the direct observation of another licensed healthcare
professional, who is aware that the individual is on probation, who is working in the same
physical location (e.g. clinic, unit, building, etc.), is readily available to observe Licensee’s
practice and provide assistance and who has taken the required Board approved
Monitor/Supervisor training. Licensee shall be employed in a setting where Licensee’s nursing
supervisor agrees to submit written evaluations of work performance (on forms provided by
the Board) every three (3) months during the probationary period. The quarterly evaluation is
expected to be received by Board staff within ten (10) days of the due date. If the evaluation is
not timely received, Board staff will contact the employer with a reminder. 1f Board staff is
not in receipt of the report within five (5) business days from the reminder date, Licensee may
be restricted from practicing as a nurse.

11) Between quarterly reporting periods, the Nurse Executive or a person designated by
Licensee’s employer, shall inform Board staff of any instance of Licensee’s non-compliance
with the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order or of any other concern there may be
regarding Licensee’s work-related conduct or personal behavior that may affect Licensee’s
ability to perform the duties of a nurse.

12) Licensee shall notify Board staff when there is a change in status of employment,
including resignations, disciplinary actions, and terminations. Licensee shall immediately
notify Board staff if they will be unable to meet the minimum monitored practice requirement
of 16 hours per week or 64 hours per month due to leave from work. The inability to meet the
monitored practice requirement due to leave may extend the probationary period.

13) Licensee shall not work in any practice setting when on-site monitoring is not available.
This generally includes home health agencies, traveling agencies, float pools, temporary
agencies, assisted living facilities, adult foster care, independent consulting contracts, home
hospice, and night shifts outside of acute care settings.

14) Licensee shall not be a nursing faculty member or an advance practice preceptor.

15) Licensee shall not be approved for enrollment in clinical practicum hours for the purposes
of obtaining an additional degree or license.

16) Licensee shall participate in and comply with any treatment recommendations set forth by
a third-party evaluator approved by the Board. Licensee shall ensure that Board staff receive
monthly status reports from the treatment provider. Within fourteen (14) days of completing
treatment, Licensee shall submit to Board staff a copy of Licensee’s completion certificate or
discharge summary. Licensee shall attend Narcotics Anonymous (NA), Alcoholics
Anonymous (AA) or similar recovery program on a weekly basis and provide proof of
attendance to Board staff. Licensee shall sign any release of information necessary to allow
Board staff to communicate with Licensee’s treatment provider and release Licensee’s
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treatment records to the Board.

17) Licensee shall participate in the Board’s random drug testing program. Failure to comply
with random urine, blood, hair, nail, or any other requested drug test shall result in Licensee’s
immediate removal from nursing practice. Licensee shall submit to observed tests to determine
the presence of unauthorized substances immediately upon request by Board staff or
Licensee’s employer. Licensee shall sign any release of information necessary to ensure the
Board will receive the results of such testing. The presence of unauthorized substances may be
considered a violation of the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order. Upon request of
Board staff, Licensee shall obtain a substance use disorder evaluation by a Board approved
third party evaluator. Licensee understands that Licensee is financially responsible for any and
all costs related to testing and evaluating. Licensee’s failure to maintain an account in good
standing with the Board’s laboratory vendor shall be considered a violation of this Stipulated
Order.

18) Licensee shall abstain from using alcohol and/or other intoxicating, mind altering, or
potentially addictive drugs, including over-the-counter or prescription drugs while
participating in the Board’s random urine drug testing program, except as provided in Section
19 below. Licensee shall avoid any over-the-counter products and food items containing
alcohol, THC including CBD products, and poppy seeds.

19) Licensee may take medication for a documented medical condition, provided that Licensee
obtains such medication only by a legal prescription written by a person authorized by law to
write such a prescription. Licensee will notify Board staff within 72 hours in the event
Licensee is prescribed such medication and shall sign a release of information authorizing the
prescribing person to communicate with Board staff about Licensee’s medical condition.
Licensee shall produce the medical records pertaining to the medical condition and medication
use. Licensee will discard any unused prescription medications when it is no longer needed or
expired.

20) Licensee shall cease practicing as a nurse upon the occurrence of a relapse, or at the
request of Board staff because of a relapse or relapse behavior. Practice may resume only
when approved in writing by Board staff, in consultation with Licensee’s employer.

21) Licensee shall notify any and all healthcare providers of the nature of Licensee’s diagnoses
to ensure that Licensee’s health history is complete before receiving any treatment, including
medical and dental. Licensee shall provide Board staff with the names and contact information
of any and all health care providers. Licensee shall sign any release of information necessary
to allow Board staff to communicate with Licensee’s healthcare providers and release
Licensee’s medical and treatment records to the Board. Licensee is financially responsible for
any costs incurred for compliance with the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order.

22) Licensee shall notify Board staff at least three (3) business days prior to leaving town or
going on vacation, with the exception of a family emergency.

23) Licensee shall cooperate fully with Board staff in the supervision and investigation of
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Licensee’s compliance with the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order.

Licensee understands that the conduct resulting in the violations of law described in this
Stipulated Order are considered by the Board to be of a grave nature and, if continued,
constitutes a serious danger to public health and safety.

Licensee understands that in the event Licensee engages in future conduct resulting in
violations the terms of this Stipulated Order and/or the Nurse Practice Act, the Board may take
further disciplinary action against Licensee’s license, up to and including revocation of
Licensee’s license to practice as a Registered Nurse.

Licensee understands that this Stipulated Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for
its approval and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, Licensee waives the right to an
administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion have
been used to induce Licensee to sign this Stipulated Order.

Licensee understands that this Stipulated Order is a document of public record.

Licensee understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions
(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30
days from the date the action was taken.

IT IS SO AGREED:

Stacie Duell, RN Date
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ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:
BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

5’//?/0?%
/7

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING

Date

Page 6 of 6 - Stipulated Order for Probation; 23-00092



BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Jaleen Ford, NP ) VOLUNTARY SURRENDER OF
) NURSE PRACTITIONER LICENSE
License No. 201407547NP-PP, ) Reference No. 23-00103

201405249RN

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Nurse Practitioners. Jaleen
Ford (Licensee) was issued a Nurse Practitioner License by the Board on October 24, 2014.

On or about 8/23/2022, the Board received information that Licensee improperly prescribed
medications. The Board opened an investigation.

During the investigation, Licensee agreed to voluntarily surrender their Nurse Practitioner
License effective 6/9/2023.

By the above actions, Licensee is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.111(1)(f), OAR
851-045-0070(0), OAR 851-0555-0010(1)(3)(j),OAR 851-055-0072(d)(i)

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation,
reprimand, or censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a
contested case:

(1) Issuance of the license to practice nursing, whether by examination or by indorsement, of
any person may be refused or the license may be revoked or suspended or the licensee may be
placed on probation for a period specified by the Oregon State Board of Nursing and subject to
such condition as the board may impose or may be issued a limited license or may be
reprimanded or censured by the board, for any of the following causes:

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing

OAR 851-045-0070 Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing Defined
(o) Failing to establish or maintain professional boundaries with a client;

OAR 851-055-0010 Scope and Standards of Practice for All Licensed Advanced Practice
Registered Nurses

(1) The APRN independently provides healthcare services within the scope of practice for
which the APRN is educationally prepared and clinically trained with competency maintained
in accordance with any other applicable rules, regulations, and prevailing standards. All
standards and scope of practice found in OAR 851-045 related to the practice of Registered
Nursing are applicable to APRNs

(3) Within the context of the APRN role, the APRN is responsible for utilizing the nursing
process which includes:

(j) Prescribing, dispensing, and administration of medications, therapeutic devices and

Page 1 of 3 - Stipulated Order for Voluntary Surrender; 23-00103



measures.

OAR 851-055-0072 Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing of Prescriptive or
Dispensing Privilege

(d) Prescribing, dispensing or distributing drugs to an individual not within the scope of
practice or population foci;

(1) Failure to properly assess and document client assessment when prescribing, dispensing,
administering, or distributing drugs;

Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter and voluntarily surrender their
Nurse Practitioner license.

Therefore, the following will be proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed
to by Licensee:

That the voluntary surrender of the Nurse Practitioner license of Jaleen Ford be
accepted. If, after a minimum of three years, Ms. Ford wishes to reinstate their Nurse
Practitioner license, Jaleen Ford may submit an application to the Board to request
reinstatement.

Licensee agrees that they will not practice as a Nurse Practitioner in Oregon from the date of
6/9/2023.

Licensee understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its approval
and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, Jaleen Ford waives the right to an
administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion have
been used to induce the signing of this Order.

Licensee understands that this Order is a document of public record.

Licensee understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions
(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30
days from the date the action was taken.

Licensee has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and freely signs
this Stipulated Order for Voluntary Surrender.

Jaleen Ford, NP Date
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ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:
BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

I ¥ oodruff, JD Date
Board President

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Dylan Fore, CNA LPN ) VOLUNTARY SURRENDER
)
License No. )
202001240CNA202202778LPN Reference No. 2023030182

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including LPN’s. Dylan Fore
(Licensee) was issued an LPN license on March 17, 2022, and issued a CNA certificate by the
Board on February 6, 2020.

On or about March 24, 2023, the Board received information that Licensee had been diverting
narcotics from his employer.

By the above actions, Licensee is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.111(1)(f) and
OAR 851-045-0070(8)(k)(q).

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation, reprimand or
censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a contested case:

(1) Issuance of the license to practice nursing, whether by examination or by endorsement, of
any person may be refused or the license may be revoked or suspended or the licensee may be
placed on probation for a period specified by the Oregon State Board of Nursing and subject to
such condition as the board may impose or may be issued a limited license or may be
reprimanded or censured by the board, for any of the following causes:

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing.
OAR 851-045-0070 Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing Defined

Conduct that adversely affects the health, safety, and welfare of the public, fails to conform to
legal nursing standards, or fails to conform to accepted standards of the nursing profession, is
conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing. Such conduct includes, but is not limited to:

(8) Conduct related to other federal or state statute or rule violations:

(k) Possessing, obtaining, attempting to obtain, furnishing, or administering prescription or
controlled medications to any person, including self, except as directed by a person authorized
by law to prescribe medications;

(q) Failing to dispense or administer medications in a manner consistent with state and federal
law;
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Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter and voluntarily surrender their
CNA Certificate and LPN License.

Therefore, the following will be proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed
to by Dyan Fore:

That the voluntary surrender of the CNA Certificate and LPN License of Dylan Fore be
accepted. If, after a minimum of three years, Fore wishes to reinstate their LPN License
or CNA certificate, Dylan Fore may submit an application to the Board to request
reinstatement.

Licensee agrees that they will not practice as a CNA or LPN from the date the Order is signed.

Licensee understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its approval
and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, Dylan Fore waives the right to an
administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion have
been used to induce the signing of this Order.

Licensee understands that this Order is a document of public record.
Licensee understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions
(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30

days from the date the action was taken.

Licensee has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and freely signs
this Stipulated Order for Voluntary Surrender.

Dylan Fore, CNA LPN Date

ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:
BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON
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PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING

ard President
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BEFORE THE
OREGON STATE BOARD OF NURSING

IN THE MATTER OF: ) FINAL ORDER
)
ALMA GARBODEN, RN ) OAH Case No. 2022-ABC-05694
License No. 200943262RN ) Agency Case No. 22-00687
HISTORY OF THE CASE

On November 18, 2022, the Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) issued a Notice of
Proposed Civil Penalty of License to Alma Garboden, RN (Licensee). On October 6, 2022,
Licensee requested a hearing.

On November 18, 2022, the Board referred the hearing request to the Office of
Administrative Hearings (OAH). The OAH assigned Senior Administrative Law Judge (ALJ)
Alison Greene Webster to preside at hearing.

ALJ Webster convened a prehearing conference by telephone on January 6, 2023. Senior
Assistant Attorney General (AAG) Lori Lindley represented the Board, with agency
representative Heather Primus also present. Licensee did not call in for the conference. During
the conference, the ALJ scheduled the hearing for March 16-17, 2023. Following the
conference, the OAH issued the Notice of Hearing to all parties.

ALJ Webster held the hearing as scheduled on March 16, 2023, at the Board’s offices in
Portland, Oregon. AAG Lindley represented the Board, with agency representative Molly
Taube. Licensee appeared without counsel. The following individuals testified at the hearing:
Therese Reynolds, Nurse Manager; Laurie Shielee, Senior Compliance Specialist; Ms. Taube;
and Licensee. The record closed on March 16, 2023, at the conclusion of the hearing.

On March 24, 2023, ALJ Webster issued a Proposed Order finding that Licensee engaged
in conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing and proposing $7000 in civil penalties. In the
Proposed Order, Licensee was notified of the exceptions period and the requirement that
exceptions be filed within 10 days of the date of service of the Proposed Order.

On April 10, the Board received a letter from Licensee requesting a reduction of the total
amount of civil penalties. To the extent that Licensee intended this letter to be exceptions, it is
not timely and the Board is not considering it. Even if the Board were to consider the letter, it
does not change the Board’s decision regarding imposition of $7000 in civil penalties.

After considering the record and the Proposed Order, the Board hereby adopts this Final
Order.

ISSUES

In the Matter of Alma Garboden RN - OAH Case No. 2022-ABC-05694
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1. Whether Licensee engaged in conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing by
accessing patient medical records without proper authorization or a demonstrated need to know.
ORS 678.111(1)(f); OAR 851-045-0070(8)(0).

2. If Licensee accessed patient medical records in violation of ORS 678.111(1)(f) and
OAR 851-045-0070(8)(0), what is the appropriate sanction to impose for this conduct? ORS
678.117(2); OAR 851-001-0009(3)(a).

"
EVIDENTIARY RULING
Board Exhibits Al through A14 were admitted into the record without objection.
FINDINGS OF FACT
Background

1. Atall times pertinent to this matter, Licensee was employed by Providence Health &
Services (Providence Health) as a Registered Nurse-Float Pool, assigned to the Emergency
Department at Providence Portland Medical Center. (Test. of Reynolds; test. of Garboden.)
Licensee obtained her nursing degree in 2011, and began working for Providence Health as a
Registered Nurse (RN) in 2014. (Ex. Al.) She has consistently had positive performance
reviews throughout her employment with Providence Health. (Test. of Garboden.)

2. Upon their hire at Providence Health, all employees must sign Providence Health’s
Confidentiality and Nondisclosure Statement. By signing the statement, the employee agrees not
to abuse access to the computer system to examine information that is beyond the employee’s
legitimate need to know. (Test. of Reynolds; Ex. Al at 30.)

3. All Providence Health employees must complete annual education in compliance,
privacy, and security. Currently, Providence Health uses the Qstream software platform for the
annual education. As part of the annual training, Providence Health caregivers must correctly
answer a series of questions in the Qstream program, including privacy and security compliance
questions. Several of these questions deal specifically with access to, and disclosure of,
protected health information (PHI).! (Test. of Reynolds; test. of Shielee.)

| PHI, as defined by Federal law and set out in Providence Health’s privacy policies, means any
individually identifiable health information, including demographic information created or received by a
health care provider relating to the past, present, or future physical or mental health condition of an
individual; the provision of health care to an individual; and the past, present, or future payment
information for the provision of health care to an individual. (Ex. AS at 5; see also 45 CFR §160.103.)
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4. As required under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA),
Providence Health established a Privacy Sanctions Policy (PSJH-RIS-734). This policy defines
PHI and establishes three violation levels for failing to comply with Providence Health’s privacy
regulations, policies, and procedures. Under the Privacy Sanctions Policy, a Level One violation
is unintentional, and results from an error or inadvertent mistake, i.e., a one-time occurrence
where the employee is not expected to have known better. A Level Two violation is deemed low
to moderate risk, and results from a situation where the employee knew, or reasonably should
have known, that the conduct constitutes a policy violation. Finally, a Level Three violation is
intentional, deemed a significant risk, and is the result of deliberate action where the employee
knew, or reasonably should have known, that the conduct is a violation of Providence Health’s
privacy and/or security policies. (Ex. A5 at 6-7; test. of Shielee.) Level Three violations include
the following conduct:

Viewing of PHI (including demographic information alone) by use of identity
look up modules in the electronic health record, or by use of other means, for the
purpose of personal benefit privacy/curiosity or when there is no business or
medical purpose.

(Ex. A5 at 7.) Generally mitigating factors will not be considered for Level Three violations.
(Id.)

5. Providence Health also established policy PSTH-RIS-850.07, regarding the rights of
individuals to request privacy protection for PHI, access of individuals to PHI, amendment of
PHI, and an accounting of disclosures of PHI. As pertinent here, this policy provides:

2 HIPAA is a federal law designed to ensure the continuity of health insurance coverage and required the
implementation of regulations that included privacy protections for health care patients by prohibiting the
unnecessary dissemination of individually identifiable health information. See Public Law 104-191. 45
C.F.R. 160.103 defines “individually identifiable health information” as:

A subset of health information, including demographic information collected from an
individual, and:

(1) Is created or received by a health care provider, health plan, employer, or health care
clearinghouse; and

(2) Relates to the past, present, or future physical or mental health or condition of an
individual; the provision of health care to an individual; or the past, present, or future
payment for the provision of health care to an individual; and

(i) That identifies the individual; or

(ii) With respect to which there is a reasonable basis to believe the information can be
used to identify the individual.

The phrase “protected health information” is also used in HIPAA regulations. “Protected Health
Information” means, with a few exceptions not relevant in this matter, transmitted or maintained
individually identifiable health information. 45 C.F.R. 160.103.
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E. Workforce Members of [Providence Health] and Right of Access to PHI

1. Workforce members are prohibited from accessing or making any changes in
their own health records. Workforce members can obtain copies of their medical
information in accordance with [Providence Health] policy and processes through
Health Information Management.

2. Workforce members are prohibited from accessing the PHI of any other
person, including but not limited to family, friends, neighbors, coworkers, or
persons of interest, unless they have a legitimate business-related need to do so.

(Ex. A5 at 17.)

6. Providence Health uses a computer software application known as “Epic” to manage
medical records. Health care providers at Providence login to Epic to access their patients’
electronic medical records (EMR). One way an Epic user can access a patient’s EMR is to start
with the “patient lookup” screen. The user can type a patient’s name (or medical record number
(MRN)) into the “Name/MRN” box and run a search by clicking on the “Accept” button on the
screen. The user can customize the patient look up search by adding a social security number,
birth date, gender, and/or EPI ID number. (Ex. A1l at 1; test. of Shielee.)

7. When the Epic user runs a patient search by last name, the system displays a search
result screen (identity report) listing all patients meeting the search criteria. Each patient
matching the search criteria is listed on a separate row. The identity report shows the following
information: the patient’s full name, MRN, date of birth, sex, and mailing address. When the
user hovers over and highlights a row on the identity report list, the system displays an
“expanded details report” screen, showing additional information for the identified patient, such
as phone number(s), email address, ethnicity, language, religion, primary care physician, vitals,
and active treatment plans. (Ex. A1l at 2-4; test. of Shielee.) Per Providence Health policy and
annual compliance training, the information displayed on the identity report page and the patient
expanded details report screen is PHI. (Test. of Shielee.)

8. When the Epic user clicks on a patient’s name (or row) on the identity report screen,
the Epic system displays the “Patient Station” page for that patient. The Patient Station is the
main landing page for that patient’s records. The Patient Station page displays a list of patient
“encounters” (i.e., appointments, office visits, procedures), with basic information about the
encounter, including the status, date, time, location, provider, and reason. The Patient Station
page also has demographic information about the patient and billing information (guarantors and
coverages). The user can click on a row in the encounter list to access more information about
the selected encounter, including chart notes from the encounter. (Ex. All at 6; test. of Shielee.)

9. In Epic, certain patients, or certain patient records, have an additional layer of privacy
protection known as a “Break the Glass” warning. When an Epic user tries to access a patient
record that has the Break the Glass tool enabled, the system will display a prompt that requires
the user to enter the reason for accessing that record. The user must select a reason, such as
patient care, investigation, or billing, to access the records sought. Providence enables the Break
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the Glass tool on highly sensitive records, such as psychiatric records. (Test. of Shielee; test. of
Reynolds.)

Licensee’s conduct

10. On her hiring in November 2014, Licensee signed, among other things, the
Providence Health’s Confidentiality and Nondisclosure Statement and an Acknowledgement of
Commitment to the Code of Conduct. (Ex. Al at 30-31.) As of February 2022, Licensee was up
to date on her annual compliance education and employer policy review, having last completed
her annual privacy education in April 2021 and policy review in July 2021. (Ex. A5at1.)

11. During her shift on February 25, 2022, at about 9:51 p.m., Licensee accessed Epic.
Licensee went to the “patient lookup” screen, entered her last name in the name search box, and
clicked on Accept to run a patient search. The last name search resulted in an identity report,
listing Licensee and at least 13 other patients with her same last name. Licensee highlighted her
name in the search result list, and clicked, bringing up her Patient Station page. From that page,
License looked up several of her patient encounters. Licensee returned to the patient look up
search result/identity report screen and highlighted several other patient names, bringing up the
expanded details report screen with additional PHI for each of these patients.> Between 9:53
p.m. and 9:54 p.m., Licensee clicked on two other patient name rows bringing up the Patient
Station screens for patients LRG and CEG. After that, at around 10:17 p.m., Licensee ran a
patient look up search using the last name of a coworker. From that search result list, Licensee
viewed the expanded details report screen for her co-worker, patient DB. (Ex. A4; test. of
Shielee.) Licensee accessed these records out of curiosity and to see if Providence Health
employees had the Break the Glass tool enabled on their records. (Test. of Licensee.)

Investigation

12. Providence Health’s compliance department received an alert about a potential
privacy breach/violation in connection with Licensee’s use of Epic to access medical records on
the night of February 25, 2022. Providence Health assigned then-Senior Compliance Specialist
Laurie Shielee to investigate the incident and conduct a privacy assessment. Ms. Shielee
contacted Licensee’s Nurse Manager, Therese Reynolds, to discuss the matter. Ms. Shielee also
ran an audit of Licensee’s use of Epic on February 25, 2022. The audit showed the patient look
up searches that Licensee ran, the patient names she highlighted, the patient names she clicked
on, the Patient Station pages she accessed, and the patient encounters she viewed. (Test. of
Shielee; Ex. A4.)

13. Ms. Reynolds set up an investigatory interview. On March 9, 2022, Ms. Reynolds,
Ms. Shielee, and Jody Lamarr from Providence Health’s Human Resources department, met with
Licensee to discuss Licensee’s use of Epic to look up patient records. During the meeting,
Licensee admitted that she accessed patient medical records without a business-related purpose.

3 Between 9:51 p.m. and 9:54 p.m., Licensee brought up the expanded details reports for 13 patients:
LRG, AJG, AG, AMG, CEG, TMG, TNG, SG, SAG, SLG, RMG, PG, and LAG. (Ex. A4; test. of
Shielee.)
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Licensee explained that she wanted to see if there was a Break the Glass warning on her co-
worker’s record, because she thought that all caregivers had that tool enabled on their records,
and she had not seen it on hers. Licensee also admitted that she accessed several patient records
using her last name as a search. (Ex. A5; test. of Reynolds; test. of Shielee; test of Garboden.)

14. Following the March 9, 2022 interview, Ms. Shielee completed a Privacy
Assessment Report, in which she determined that Licensee’s conduct in accessing patient records
on the night of February 25, 2022 violated Providence Health’s Privacy Sanctions Policy PSJH-
RIS-850.07, and the company’s Confidentiality and Nondisclosure policy.* In her report, Ms.
Shielee explained:

The Privacy Office has assigned a Level Three Violation to this incident, and it is
considered to be “serious or gross misconduct” as defined by the HR Counseling
and Corrective Action Policy.

(Ex. AS at 2.)

15. Based on Licensee’s Level Three Violation while using Epic, Providence Health
terminated Licensee’s employment. (Test. of Reynolds.) By letter dated March 10, 2022, the
employer notified Licensee that “[o]ur records will indicate that the reason for the end of your
employment is involuntary discharge for a HIPAA Policy violation.” (Ex. A6.) The letter also
advised that Licensee would be ineligible for rehire at Providence Health. (/d.)

16. On or about March 14, 2022, Licensee self-reported her termination from Providence
Health to the Board. In explaining the circumstances, she wrote:

On February 25, 2022, during my break at work, I accessed my own medical
record. As a Providence employee I declined medical insurance with Providence
because I have it somewhere else. I never used Providence for any of my medical
needs, so I wanted to know why it is there and I opened up and browsed my own
chart. Per Providence PHI Policy revised in 2020-employees cannot access their
own records because it belongs to Providence, therefore I violated Providence
policy. At the time I was not aware of it, I was told about it later; if I know I
would not have done so.

(Ex. A12))
Board policy regarding privacy violations

17. The Board considers the violation of a person’s rights of privacy and confidentiality
of information as a very serious matter. In the last several years, the Board has imposed civil

penalties as well as other disciplinary sanctions on licensees who violate the Nurse Practices Act
by inappropriately accessing patient medical records. The Board will generally assess a

4 Licensee violated Providence Health’s Confidentiality policy by accessing her own medical record, but
that conduct did not constitute a “privacy violation” under the Privacy Sanctions Policy because it was her
personal information. (Test. of Shielee.)
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minimum civil penalty of $500 per violation of OAR 851-045-0070(8)(0) (accessing private and
confidential information without proper authorization or a demonstrated need to know). In
determining the civil penalty amount, the Board will also consider the factors set out in ORS
678.117(2), the depth and breadth of information accessed, and the licensee’s candor with the
Board. (Test. of Taube.)

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Licensee engaged in conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing by accessing
patient medical records without proper authorization or a demonstrated need to know. ORS
678.111(1)(f); OAR 851-045-0070(8)(0).

2. Licensee accessed the medical records of 14 patients in violation of ORS
678.111(1)(f) and OAR 851-045-0070(8)(0). The appropriate sanction is a civil penalty of
$7,000. ORS 678.117(2); OAR 851-001-0009(3)(a).

OPINION

The Board has the burden of establishing by a preponderance of the evidence that the
alleged violation(s) occurred and that the proposed sanction is appropriate. ORS 183.450(2)
(“The burden of presenting evidence to support a fact or position in a contested case rests on the
proponent of the fact or position™); Dixon v. Board of Nursing, 291 Or App 207 (2018) (the
standard of proof that generally applies in agency proceedings, including license-related
proceedings, is the preponderance of the evidence standard); Mercalfv. AFSD, 65 Or App 761,
765 (1983) (in the absence of legislation specifying a different standard, the standard of proof in
an administrative hearing is preponderance of the evidence). Proof by a preponderance of the
evidence means that the fact finder is persuaded that the facts asserted are more likely than not
true. Riley Hill General Contractor v. Tandy Corp., 303 Or 390, 402 (1987).

In this case, the Board asserts that, on February 25, 2022, Licensee engaged in conduct
derogatory to the standards of nursing by accessing the medical records of 15 patients without
proper authorization or without a demonstrated need to know. Notice at 1-4. As explained
below, the Board has established Licensee accessed the medical records of 14 patients in
violation of ORS 678.111(1)(f) and OAR 851-045-0070(8)(0). For these proven violations, the
appropriate sanction is a civil penalty of $7,000.

Applicable law

ORS 678.111 sets out the causes for discipline of nurses, and provides, in part:
In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a contested case:

(1) Issuance of the license to practice nursing, whether by examination or by
indorsement, of any person may be refused or the license may be revoked or
suspended or the licensee may be placed on probation for a period specified by
the Oregon State Board of Nursing and subject to such condition as the board may
impose or may be issued a limited license or may be reprimanded or censured by
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the board, for any of the following causes:

* k Kk k %

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing].]

The Board defines “conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing” in OAR 851-045-
0070. As pertinent here, the rule provides:

Conduct that adversely affects the health, safety, and welfare of the public, fails to
conform to legal nursing standards, or fails to conform to accepted standards of
the nursing profession, is conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing. Such
conduct includes, but is not limited to:

* k %k %k *k

(8) Conduct related to other federal or state statute or rule violations:

* ok k k k

(0) Violating a person’s rights of privacy and confidentiality of information by
accessing information without proper authorization or without a demonstrated
need to knowl.]

ORS 678.117 sets out the procedure for imposing civil penalties and civil penalty
amounts, and states in part as follows:

(1) The Oregon State Board of Nursing shall adopt by rule a schedule establishing
the amount of civil penalty that may be imposed for any violation of ORS
678.010 to 678.448 or any rule of the board. No civil penalty shall exceed $5,000.

(2) In imposing a penalty pursuant to this section, the board shall consider the
following factors:

(a) The past history of the person incurring the penalty in observing the provisions
of ORS 678.010 to 678.448 and the rules adopted pursuant thereto.

(b) The economic and financial conditions of the person incurring the penalty.
(3) Any penalty imposed under this section may be remitted or mitigated upon
such terms and conditions as the board considers proper and consistent with the

public health and safety.

Finally, in OAR 851-001-0009, the Board established standards for imposition of civil
penalties. As pertinent here, the rule provides:
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Imposition of a civil penalty does not preclude disciplinary sanction against the
license or certificate holder and disciplinary sanction against the license or
certificate does not preclude imposing a civil penalty. Criminal conviction does
not preclude imposition of a civil penalty for the same offense.

(1) The Board will consider factors listed in ORS 678.117 (2) when determining
the amount of civil penalty to be imposed and per ORS 678.117 (1), no single
violation civil penalty shall exceed $5000.

% ok k k%

(3) A civil penalty of a minimum $500 to a maximum of $5000 per violation is
assessed for any of the following:

(a) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing or conduct unbecoming a
Nursing Assistant.

Violations

As noted above, the Board alleges that Licensee violated ORS 678.111(1)(f) and OAR
851-045-0070 on February 25, 2022 by accessing 15 patient medical records without proper
authorization or without a demonstrated need to know. The evidence establishes that, on that
date, Licensee accessed Epic and ran a patient look up search using her last name. The search
returned a list (identity report) of at least 14 patients with that last name, including Licensee.
Licensee clicked on her name and accessed her Patient Station page. From that page, License
looked up several of her patient encounters. Licensee then returned to the search result/identity
report page and highlighted several other patient names, which brought up the expanded details
screens for these patients.® The information displayed on the expanded details screen is PHI
under HIPAA. Licensee also clicked on the highlighted rows for patients LRG and CEG,
bringing up the Patient Station screens for these two patients. The Patient Station screens
provided more detailed PHI about these patients. About 20 minutes later, Licensee ran a patient
look up search using the last name of a coworker and then accessed the expanded details screen
for her co-worker, patient DB.

Licensee accessed these records out of idle curiosity, without authorization and without
any legitimate business need. Because Licensee did not have authorization or a demonstrated
need to access the private and protected medical records of patients with her same last name and
did not have authorization or a demonstrated need to access the private and protected medical

5 As set out in the findings, Licensee accessed the expanded details screen of following patients: LRG,
AJG, AG, AMG, CEG, TMG, TNG, SG, SAG, SLG, RMG, PG, and LAG. See Exhibit A4. In the
Notice, the Board alleged in Paragraph I that Licensee accessed patient CEG’s medical record at 9:52
p.m. and alleged in Paragraph [XV] that Licensee accessed patient CEG’s medical record at 9:54 p.m.
Notice at 1, 4. While the evidence establishes both accesses, the evidence also establishes that CEG is the
same patient. Because Licensee accessed patient CEG’s medical record twice within a two minute
period, it is appropriate to count these two instances as one violation, rather than two separate violations.
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records of a co-worker, her conduct violated ORS 678.111(1)(f) and OAR 851-045-0070(8)(0).
Sanction

In the Notice, the Board proposed to impose a $7,500 civil penalty on Licensee’s
Registered Nurse license based on allegations that she accessed 15 patient medical records
without authorization or need to know. Notice at 5. As discussed above, Licensee accessed a
total of 14 patient medical records (not including her own).

At hearing, Licensee acknowledged that she violated HIPAA, Providence Health’s
privacy policy, and the Nurse Practices Act by accessing these patient records. However,
Licensee seeks mitigation of the proposed civil penalty, asserting that this is the first time she
ever faced any disciplinary action from her employer or the Board. Licensee cites to her work
ethic, years of nursing experience, positive performance reviews, appreciation of her job and co-
workers at Providence Portland Medical Center, and remorse for her actions as mitigating
factors. Licensee also offered an explanation for why she accessed her patient record (she was
surprised to see she had one, as she had not treated at Providence) and why she accessed co-
worker’s record (to see if it had a Break the Glass warning). However, Licensee did not have
any explanation, other than idle curiosity, for logging in to Epic at that time and accessing other
patient records. Licensee contends that she did not retain or disclose any of the protected
information she viewed and she has already faced harsh consequences for her actions
(specifically, the loss of her job and loss of eligibility for rehire at Providence Health). Licensee
argues that, given these circumstances, she should not be subject to a civil penalty or any other
discipline from the Board.

The Board, on the other hand, has established that it considers the intentional accessing of
protected health information without proper authorization or a demonstrated need to know a very
serious violation. The Board has also shown that, in the last several years, it has imposed civil
penalties as well as other disciplinary sanctions on licensees who violate patient rights of privacy
and confidentiality of information. Historically, the Board has assessed a minimum civil penalty
of $500 per violation for violations of this nature. In determining the civil penalty amount for
such violations, the Board will consider the factors set out in ORS 678.117(2), along with the
depth and breadth of information accessed and the licensee’s candor with the Board.

Here, the Board considered the depth and breadth of Licensee’s records search, that she
accessed the medical records of several patients who share her last name, that she accessed the
Patient Station page for two of these patients, and that she looked up a co-worker’s medical
records, without any business-related need for the information accessed. The Board also noted
that Licensee seemed to minimize her misconduct in her communications with the Board.
Although she self-reported the incident that resulted in termination of her employment, she
initially admitted that she accessed her own medical record. She did not disclose at the outset
that she accessed the records of 14 others. See Exhibit A12, Al4.

It is appropriate for the Board to treat violations of OAR 85 1-045-0070(8)(0) as serious

6 The Board did not allege that Licensee violated OAR 851-045-0070(8)(0) by accessing her own medical
information.
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misconduct. Individuals have an expectation, backed by federal law, that their personal health
information will remain private. Even though Licensee did not broadcast the information she
accessed, the mere fact that she viewed the information violated all 14 individuals’ protected
privacy rights. Although this may have been the first and only time that Licensee accessed PHI
without proper authorization, her actions were deliberate. She knew, or reasonably should have
known, that her actions violated patient privacy rights. Given the serious nature of Licensee’s
misconduct, her history of positive performance reviews and her competency as a RN does not
provide a basis for mitigating the proposed civil penalty.

Based on the provisions of ORS 678.117(1), OAR 851-001-0009(3)(a), and prior Board
precedent, civil penalties totaling $7,000 are warranted in this case. This total amount represents

the number of violations established (14), multiplied by the minimum civil penalty per violation
($500), which totals $7,000.

ORDER

The Board hereby imposes a civil penalty of $500 for each violation of ORS
678.111(1)(f) and OAR 851-045-0070(8)(0). Licensee engaged in 14 violations of ORS
678.111(1)(f) and OAR 851-045-0070(8)(0). Accordingly, the Board imposes civil penalties
totaling $7000 on Alma Garboden’s Registered Nurse license.®

Judith Woogdfuf
Board / sideny

APPEAL

If you wish to appeal the final order, you must file a petition for review with the Oregon
Court of Appeals within 60 days after the final order is served upon you. See ORS 183.480 ef seq.

7 The Board modified the ALJ’s Proposed Order to clarify that it is imposing a separate civil penalty for each
violation.
% The Board modified the ALJ’s Proposed Order to clarify that it is imposing a separate civil penalty for each
violation.
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Fylecia Hennebeck, ) CIVIL PENALTY
RN
License No.
201404942RN Reference No. 2023010029

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating, and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurse’s. Fylecia
Hennebeck (Licensee) was issued a Registered Nurse license by the Oregon State Board of
Nursing on July 24, 2014.

On or before July 12, 2022, Licensee should have renewed their Registered Nurse license.
Licensee failed to timely renew, and the license expired on July 12, 2022. From the date
Licensee’s license expired on July 12, 2022, until the date the licensee learned she was working
expired, Licensee had practiced nursing at Callahan Village in Roseburg, Oregon. On January 1,
2023, licensee became aware that she was working without a license. Licensee self-reported to
the Board, informed her employer and stopped working. On February 9, 2023, the Board
received substantiated information from Licensee establishing that they were practicing nursing a
total of 98 days between the dates of July 12, 2022 and January 1, 2023.

By the above actions, Licensee has violated ORS 678.021, which provides as follows:

ORS 678.021 License required to practice nursing.

It shall be unlawful for any person to practice nursing or offer to practice nursing in this state or
to use any title or abbreviation, sign, card or device to indicate the person is practicing either
practical or registered nursing unless the person is licensed under ORS 678.010 to 678.410 at the
level for which the indication of practice is made and the license is valid and in effect.

The foregoing is grounds for imposing a civil penalty pursuant to ORS 678.117 and OAR 851-
001-0009(2)(a) which provide as follows:

ORS 678.117 Procedure for imposing civil penalty; amount; rules.

(1) The Oregon State Board of Nursing shall adopt by rule a schedule establishing the amount of
civil penalty that may be imposed for any violation of ORS 678.010 to 678.445 or any rule of the
board. No civil penalty shall exceed $5,000.

(2) In imposing a penalty pursuant to this section, the board shall consider the following factors:
(a) The history of the person incurring the penalty in observing the provisions of ORS 678.010 to
678.445 and the rules adopted pursuant thereto.

(b) The economic and financial conditions of the person incurring the penalty.

(3) Any penalty imposed under this section may be remitted or mitigated upon such terms and
conditions as the board considers proper and consistent with the public health and safety.
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(4) Civil penalties under this section shall be imposed as provided in ORS 183.745.
(5) All penalties recovered under this section shall be credited to the special account described in
ORS 678.170.

OAR 851-001-0009 Imposition of Civil Penalties

(2) A civil penalty of up to $100 per day of occurrence is assessed for the following:

(a) Practicing as a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), Registered Nurse (RN), Nurse Practitioner
(NP), Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA), Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS), Certified
Nursing Assistant (CNA), Certified Medication Aide (CMA) without a current license or
certificate or Board required concurrent national certification; or prescribing, dispensing, or
distributing drugs without current prescription writing authority, due to failure to renew and
continuing to practice.

Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter.

Therefore, the following will be proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed to
by Licensee:

Based on the evidence, Licensee was practicing nursing without a current license a total of 98
days between the dates of July 13, 2022 and January 1, 2023, equaling what could be a total civil
penalty of $9,800. Based on the mitigating factors that Licensee has a record of timely renewals,
and self-reporting, the Board has determined that the civil penalty may be reduced to $4,900.00.

That the Board impose a civil penalty against Licensee in the amount of $4,900.00.

Licensee admits that the above statements are accurate and that Licensee's actions constitute a
violation of the Nurse Practice Act.

Licensee understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its approval
and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order for Civil Penalty, Licensee waives the
right to an administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or
appeal thereof. Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion
have been used to induce the Licensee to sign this Order.

Licensee understands that this Order is a document of public record.

Licensee shall make 24 payments The first 23 payments will be $204.00. The first payment is to
be received by the Board by the first day of the month following the Boards acceptance of this
Stipulation and thereafter, a payment on the 1st day of every month until the whole sum is paid.
On the 24" payment, the payment will be $208.00 as the final payment.

Payments shall be made payable to the Oregon State Board of Nursing at 17938 SW Upper

Boones Ferry Road, Portland, OR 97224 by check or money order; alternatively, payment may
be made online by logging into your Oregon State Board of Nursing Licensing Portal and
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clicking on Pay Civil Penalty Fees.

Licensee understands that if payment is 60 days overdue from the date due as stated in this
Stipulation, collection of the Civil Penalty will be assigned to the Oregon Department of
Revenue. In the event any amount is assigned for collection, the Licensee is subject to further
disciplinary action by the Board which could include suspension, revocation or denial of
licensure.

Licensee understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions
(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30
days from the date the action was taken.

Licensee has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and freely signs this
Stipulated Order for Civil Penalty.

I 042023

Fylecia Hennebeck, Date
RN

ORDER

IT IS SO ORDERED:

BOARD OQF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON
5, / | FHAS

President

Date / /

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING
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BEFORE THE OREGON
STATE BOARD OF NURSING

)
In the Matter of ) FINAL ORDER OF REVOCATION
Marta Jimenez, RN ) BY DEFAULT

)

)
License No. 202209144RN ) Reference No. 23-00237

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurses. Marta
Jimenez (Licensee) was issued a Registered Nurse License by the Board on July 01, 2022.

This matter was considered by the Board at its meeting on May 17, 2023.

On April 20, 2023, a Notice stating that the Board intended to Revoke the Registered Nurse
License of Marta Jimenez was sent to Licensee via certified and first-class mail to the address
of record.

The Notice alleged on or about September 16, 2022, Licensee was reported to the Board for
Revocation of her Texas Registered Nurse license. The Board opened an investigation into the
matter. The Board alleges that on or about September 26, 2022, Board staff spoke with
licensee, and she confirmed her address and email. Licensee requested to communicate with
the Board via email because she was a travel nurse. The Board alleges that on or about October
18, 2022, licensee was emailed a notice of investigation, which requested her to schedule an
interview, provide a written statement and work history. Licensee failed to respond to the
Board’s requested documents and interview. The Board alleges that on or about November 8,
2022, a final letter was sent to licensee’s email of record requesting that she contact the Board
within five (5) business days to schedule an interview to discuss the allegations. Licensee was
also asked to send a written statement regarding the allegations and provide a current work
history. Licensee failed to schedule an interview and did not provide any documents to the
Board. Board staff attempted to contact licensee via telephone on November 8 and November
16, 2022. The Board alleges that on or about November 17, 2022, Board staff mailed via USPS
certified mail and first class a Notice of Proposed Suspension for failing to cooperate, along
with an email copy. On December 14, 2022, the Board issued a Final Order of Default
suspension for not cooperating. Licensee never responded to the Board.

The Notice granted Licensee an opportunity for hearing if requested within twenty (20) days of
the mailing of the Notice. No such request for hearing has been received by the Board. The
Notice designated the Board’s file on this matter as the record for purposes of default.

NOW THEREFORE, after consideration of its records and files related to this matter, the
Board enters the following Order:
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I-

FINDINGS OF FACT

Based on the evidence submitted through the Notice and the agency file in this case, the Board
finds the following:

1.

Licensee was issued a Registered Nurse License in the state of Oregon on July 01,
2022.

On or about September 16, 2022, Licensee was reported to the Board for Revocation of
her Texas Registered Nurse License. The Board opened an investigation into the
matter.

On or about September 26, 2022, Board staff spoke with the licensee and she
confirmed her address and email. Licensee requested to communicate with the Board
via email, because she was a travel nurse. On October 18, 2022, licensee was emailed a
notice of investigation, which requested her to schedule an interview, provide a written
statement and work history. Licensee failed to respond to the Board’s requested
documents and interview. On November 8, 2022, a final letter was sent to licensee’s
email of record requesting that she contact the Board within five (5) business days to
schedule an interview to discuss the allegation. Licensee was also asked to send a
written statement regarding the allegations and provide a current work history.
Licensee failed to schedule an interview and did not provide any document to the
Board. Board staff attempted to contact licensee via telephone on November 8 and
November 16, 2022,

On November 17, 2022 Board staff mailed via USPS certified mail and first class a
Notice of Proposed Suspension for failing to cooprae, along with an email copy. On
December 14, 2022, the Board issued a Final Order of Default suspension for not
cooperating. Licensee never responded to the Board.

On April 19, 2023, Board staff mailed a Notice of Proposed Revocation to Licensee via
first-class and certified mail. The Notice granted Licensee twenty (20) days from the
date of the mailing of the Notice to request a hearing. The Notice also designated that
the agency file would be the record for purposes of default.

I1-
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

That the Board has jurisdiction over the Licensee, Marta Jimenez, and over the subject
matter of this proceeding.

That Licensee’s conduct is in violation of ORS 678.111(f)(g)(h) and OAR 851-045-
0070(10)(a)(c).
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3. That Licensee defaulted on the Notice by not requesting a hearing within the allotted
twenty (20) days and, as a result, pursuant to ORS 183.417(3), the Board may enter a
Final Order by Default.

-III-
ORDER

Based on the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, and the Board being fully
advised in the premises, it is hereby:

ORDERED that the Registered Nurse License of Marta Jimenez is REVOKED.

DATED this 17" day of May, 2023

FOR THE BOARD OF NURSING OF THE STAJE OREGON

Judith Woodruff, JD
Board President

TO: MARTA JIMENEZ:

You may file a petition for reconsideration or rehearing of this Order. Reconsideration or
rehearing may be obtained by filing a petition with the Board of Nursing within (sixty) 60 days
from the service of this Order. Your petition shall set forth the specific grounds for
reconsideration. Reconsideration or rehearing is pursuant to the provisions in ORS 183.482.

As an alternative to filing a Petition for Reconsideration of this Order, you are entitled to
judicial review of this Order. Judicial review may be obtained by filing a petition with the
Oregon Court of Appeals for review within sixty (60) days from the date of service of this
Order. Judicial review is pursuant to the provisions of ORS 183.482.

If, after a minimum of three (3) years, you wish to reinstate your Registered Nurse License,
you may submit an application to the Board to request reinstatement.
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Robin Larson, RN ) PROBATION OF REGISTERED
) NURSE LICENSE
License No. 201911408RN ) Reference No. 22-00116

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurses. Robin
Larson (Licensee) was issued a Registered Nurse License by the Oregon State Board of
Nursing on December 26, 2019.

On or about August 9, 2021, the Board received information that Licensee had reported to
work impaired. The Board opened an investigation.

During the investigation, the Board received information that Licensee was observed
exhibiting multiple impaired behaviors on August 2, 2021.

By the above actions, Licensee may be subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.111(1)(e)(f),
ORS 676.303(b) and OAR 851-045-0070(2)(a)(7)(b)(c)

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation,
reprimand or censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 fora
contested case:

(1) Issuance of the license to practice nursing, whether by examination or by indorsement, of
any person may be refused or the license may be revoked or suspended or the licensee may be
placed on probation for a period specified by the Oregon State Board of Nursing and subject to
such condition as the board may impose or may be issued a limited license or may be
reprimanded or censured by the board, for any of the following causes:

(e) Impairment as defined in ORS 676.303.

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing.

ORS 676.303 Purposes of health professional regulatory boards

(a) Health professional regulatory board means the agencies listed in ORS 676.160
(Definitions for ORS 676.165 to 676.180) and the Health Licensing Office created in ORS
676.560 (Purpose of Health Licensing Office).

(b) Impairment means an inability to practice with reasonable competence and safety due to
the habitual or excessive use of drugs or alcohol, other chemical dependency or a mental
health condition.

(c) License means a license, registration, certification or other authorization to engage in a
profession.

(d) Licensee means a person licensed, registered, certified or otherwise authorized by a health
professional regulatory board to engage in a profession.

(2) All health professional regulatory boards shall operate with the primary purposes of
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promoting the quality of health services provided, protecting the public health, safety and
welfare by ensuring that licensees practice with professional skill and safety and addressing
impairment among licensees.

OAR 851-045-0070 Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing Defined

Conduct that adversely affects the health, safety, and welfare of the public, fails to conform to
legal nursing standards, or fails to conform to accepted standards of the nursing profession, is
conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing. Such conduct includes, but is not limited to:

(2) Conduct related to achieving and maintaining clinical competency:
(a) Failing to conform to the essential standards of acceptable and prevailing nursing practice.
Actual injury need not be established;

(7) Conduct related to impaired function:

(b) Practicing nursing when physical or mental ability to practice is impaired by use of a
prescription or non-prescription medication, alcohol, or a mind-altering substance; or

(c) The use of a prescription or non-prescription medication, alcohol, or a mind-altering
substance, to an extent or in a manner dangerous or injurious to the licensee or others or to an
extent that such use impairs the ability to conduct safely the practice of nursing.

Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in resolving the present disciplinary matter.

The following will be proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed to by
Licensee:

That the Registered Nurse License of Robin Larson be placed on Probation.

The Licensee’s compliance with this agreement will be monitored by the Oregon State Board
of Nursing from date of signature on the Stipulated Order. Licensee must complete a twenty-
four (24) month period of probation to begin upon Licensee’s return to supervised nursing
practice at the level of a Registered Nurse. Licensee must practice a minimum of sixteen (16)
hours per week on average, and no more than one (1.0) FTE in a setting where Licensec is able
to exercise the full extent of scope of duties in order to demonstrate whether or not Licensee is
competent. Limited overtime may be approved on occasion.

Licensee must comply with the following terms and conditions of probation:

1) Licensee shall not violate the Nurse Practice Act (ORS 678) or the rules adopted thereunder.

2) Licensee shall have thirty-six (36) months from Board’s acceptance of this Order to
complete twenty-four (24) months of monitored practice.

3) Licensee shall notify Board staff, in writing, prior to any change of contact information
which includes address, email address, and phone number.

4) Licensee shall maintain an active license.
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5) Licensee shall inform Board staff in advance of any move from Oregon. If Licensee leaves
the state and is unable to practice in the state of Oregon, Licensee’s probationary status will be
re-evaluated. If monitoring is approved and transferred to another Board of Nursing, Licensee
shall successfully complete all requirements of the Board Order of the other jurisdiction.
Licensee shall be required to ensure the Oregon State Board of Nursing receives quarterly
reports documenting the Licensee’s compliance. Failure to comply with this reporting
requirement shall be considered a violation of this Order. While licensee practices in another
state, those hours will only be counted toward his Oregon probation if the position meets the
monitoring requirements per line ten (10) of this stipulated order.

6) Licensee shall maintain monthly contact by phone, electronic or virtual methods to
designated Board staff for interviews during the probationary period. Frequency or type of
contact may be reviewed and revised periodically at the discretion of Board staff. This includes
being required to attend an in-person meeting.

7) Licensee shall notify Board staff of any citations, arrests, or convictions for any offense,
whether felony, misdemeanor, violation, or citation within ten (10) days of the occurrence.

8) Licensee will not look for, accept, or begin a new nursing position without prior approval of
Board staff. This includes changes of the employer itself or changes within the facility or
institution.

9) Licensee shall inform current and prospective employers of the probationary status of
Licensee’s license, the reasons for Licensee’s probation, and terms and conditions of
probation. If there is a Nurse Executive, that person is to be informed of Licensee's
probationary status. The Nurse Executive will receive a copy of the Stipulated Order for
Probation when Licensee is employed.

10) Licensee shall work under the direct observation of another licensed healthcare
professional, who is aware that the individual is on probation, who is working in the same
physical location (e.g. clinic, unit, building, etc.), is readily available to observe Licensee’s
practice and provide assistance and who has taken the required Board approved
Monitor/Supervisor training. Licensee shall be employed in a setting where Licensee’s nursing
supervisor agrees to submit written evaluations of work performance (on forms provided by
the Board) every three (3) months during the probationary period. The quarterly evaluation is
expected to be received by Board staff within ten (10) days of the due date. If the evaluation is
not timely received, Board staff will contact the employer with a reminder. If Board staff is
not in receipt of the report within five (5) business days from the reminder date, Licensee may
be restricted from practicing as a nurse.

11) Between quarterly reporting periods, the Nurse Executive or a person designated by
Licensee’s employer, shall inform Board staff of any instance of Licensee’s non-compliance
with the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order or of any other concern there may be
regarding Licensee’s work-related conduct or personal behavior that may affect Licensee’s
ability to perform the duties of a nurse.
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12) Licensee shall notify Board staff when there is a change in status of employment,
including resignations, disciplinary actions, and terminations. Licensee shall immediately
notify Board staff if they will be unable to meet the minimum monitored practice requirement
of 16 hours per week or 64 hours per month due to leave from work. The inability to meet the
monitored practice requirement due to leave may extend the probationary period.

13) Licensee shall not work in any practice setting when on-site monitoring is not available.
This generally includes home health agencies, traveling agencies, float pools, temporary
agencies, assisted living facilities, adult foster care, independent consulting contracts, home
hospice, and night shifts outside of acute care settings.

14) Licensee shall not be a nursing faculty member or an advance practice preceptor.

15) Licensee shall not be approved for enrollment in clinical practicum hours for the purposes
of obtaining an additional degree or license.

16) Licensee shall participate in and comply with any treatment recommendations set forth by
a third-party evaluator approved by the Board. Licensee shall ensure that Board staff receive
monthly status reports from the treatment provider. Within fourteen (14) days of completing
treatment, Licensee shall submit to Board staff a copy of Licensee’s completion certificate or
discharge summary. Licensee shall attend Narcotics Anonymous (NA), Alcoholics
Anonymous (AA) or similar recovery program on a weekly basis and provide proof of
attendance to Board staff. Licensee shall sign any release of information necessary to allow
Board staff to communicate with Licensee’s treatment provider and release Licensee’s
treatment records to the Board.

17) Licensee shall participate in the Board’s random drug testing program. Failure to comply
with random urine, blood, hair, nail, or any other requested drug test shall result in Licensee’s
immediate removal from nursing practice. Licensee shall submit to observed tests to determine
the presence of unauthorized substances immediately upon request by Board staff or
Licensee’s employer. Licensee shall sign any release of information necessary to ensure the
Board will receive the results of such testing. The presence of unauthorized substances may be
considered a violation of the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order. Upon request of
Board staff, Licensee shall obtain a substance use disorder evaluation by a Board approved
third party evaluator. Licensee understands that Licensee is financially responsible for any and
all costs related to testing and evaluating. Licensee’s failure to maintain an account in good
standing with the Board’s laboratory vendor shall be considered a violation of this Stipulated
Order.

18) Licensee shall abstain from using alcohol and/or other intoxicating, mind altering, or
potentially addictive drugs, including over the counter or prescription drugs while participating
in the Board’s random urine drug testing program, except as provided in Section 19 below.
Licensee shall avoid any over-the-counter products and food items containing alcohol, THC
including CBD products, and poppy seeds.

19) Licensee may take medication for a documented medical condition, provided that Licensee
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obtains such medication only by a legal prescription written by a person authorized by law to
write such a prescription. Licensee will notify Board staff within 72 hours in the event
Licensee is prescribed such medication and shall sign a release of information authorizing the
prescribing person to communicate with Board staff about Licensee’s medical condition.
Licensee shall produce the medical records pertaining to the medical condition and medication
use. Licensee will discard any unused prescription medications when it is no longer needed or
expired.

20) Licensee shall cease practicing as a nurse upon the occurrence of a relapse, or at the
request of Board staff because of a relapse or relapse behavior. Practice may resume only
when approved in writing by Board staff, in consultation with Licensee’s employer.

21) Licensee shall notify any and all healthcare providers of the nature of Licensee’s diagnoses
to ensure that Licensee’s health history is complete before receiving any treatment, including
medical and dental. Licensee shall provide Board staff with the names and contact information
of any and all health care providers. Licensee shall sign any release of information necessary
to allow Board staff to communicate with Licensee’s healthcare providers and release
Licensee’s medical and treatment records to the Board. Licensee is financially responsible for
any costs incurred for compliance with the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order.

22) Licensee shall notify Board staff at least three (3) business days prior to leaving town or
going on vacation, with the exception of a family emergency.

23) Licensee shall cooperate fully with Board staff in the supervision and investigation of
Licensee’s compliance with the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order.

Licensee understands that the alleged conduct resulting in the violations of law described in
this Stipulated Order is considered by the Board to be of a grave nature and, if continued,
would constitute a serious danger to public health and safety.

Licensee understands that in the event Licensee engages in future conduct resulting in
violations the terms of this Stipulated Order and/or the Nurse Practice Act, the Board may take
further disciplinary action against Licensee’s license, up to and including revocation of
Licensee’s license to practice as a Registered Nurse.

Licensee understands that this Stipulated Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for
its approval and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, Licensee waives the right to an
administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion have
been used to induce Licensee to sign this Stipulated Order.

Licensee understands that this Stipulated Order is a document of public record.

Licensee understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions
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(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30
days from the date the action was taken.

IT IS SO AGREED:
I Mo Z; 2023
Robin Larson, RN
ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:

BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

J #’ Woodruff, JD
RBoard President

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING
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BEFORE THE OREGON
STATE BOARD OF NURSING

)
In the Matter of ) FINAL ORDER OF REVOCATION

Rodica Malos, NP ) OF NURSE PRACTITIONER LICENSE
) BY DEFAULT

)
License No. 200150094NP, 096003078RN ) Reference No. 21-01073

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Nurse Practitioners. Rodica
Malos (Licensee) was issued a Nurse Practitioner License by the Board on August 02, 2001.

This matter was considered by the Board at its meeting on April 19, 2023.

On March 23, 2023, a Notice stating that the Board intended to Revoke the Nurse Practitioner
License of Rodica Malos was sent to Licensee via certified and first-class mail to the address
of record.

The Notice alleged that Licensee failed to meet the standard of care as a Nurse Practitioner, by
failing to complete assessments, documentation and collaborate with other healthcare
providers for at least 4 patients.

The Notice granted Licensee an opportunity for hearing if requested within twenty (20) days of
the mailing of the Notice. No such request for hearing has been received by the Board. The
Notice designated the Board’s file on this matter as the record for purposes of default.

NOW THEREFORE, after consideration of its records and files related to this matter, the
Board enters the following Order:

I-
FINDINGS OF FACT

Based on the evidence submitted through the Notice and the agency file in this case, the Board
finds the following:

1. Licensee was issued a Nurse Practitioner License in the state of Oregon on August 02,
2001.

2. On or about June 7, 2021, Licensee was reported to the Board for failure to follow FDA
approved guidelines for the treatment of COVID-19, failure to assess, failure to refer a
patient to a higher level of care and failure to collaborate with other healthcare
providers. The Board opened an investigation into the matter.
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3. On or about August 21, 2021, Licensee was reported to the Board for failure to follow
FDA approved guidelines for the treatment of COVID-19. The Board opened an
investigation into the matter.

4. On or about May 2021, Licensee provided telehealth treatment to patient, MA, while
Licensee was working as a volunteer Nurse Practitioner for the Good News Health
Clinic. Patient was seen for COVID-19 symptoms. Licensee spoke to the patient over
the phone but never saw the patient in person. Licensee did not complete vital signs,
labs, or diagnostic imaging for this patient. Licensee failed to address and document the
patient’s vaccination status. Licensee failed to complete documentation regarding
medical history. Licensee failed to complete documentation regarding previous
medications patient had tried for current symptoms. Licensee did not document a social
history for this patient. Licensee prescribed several medications that do not have FDA
approval and are not considered appropriate treatments for COVID-19, including
Ivermectin, Hydroxychloroquine, Prednisone, Dexamethasone, Azithromycin,
Doxycycline, Zinc, and several herbal medications. Licensee failed to document
clinical decision making for prescribing medications that do not have FDA approval for
COVID-19, including discussing risks and benefits with the patient. Licensee failed to
document that the patient was informed that the prescribed treatments do not have FDA
approval for the treatment of COVID-19. Licensee prescribed the patient home oxygen,
home nebulizer treatments with albuterol and inhaled corticosteroids without a physical
assessment of the patient. Licensee failed to document that she provided the patient
with instructions or recommendations to go to the hospital for appropriate work up and
treatment. Licensee failed to provide evidence-based research for her clinical decision
making for this patient when asked. Licensee treated this patient only via telehealth for
11 days after which the patient was hospitalized and diagnosed with a pulmonary
embolism. Licensee failed to collaborate with the hospital provider regarding the care
of this patient.

By failing to obtain a physical assessment, vital signs or diagnostic imaging for this
patient prior to providing treatments Licensee violated ORS 678.111(1)f) and (g) and
OAR 851-045-0070(2)(a)(3)(b).

By failing to document previous medications patient had tried, vaccination status,
medical history, social history and instructions to the patient for worsening symptoms,
Licensee violated ORS 678.111(1)f) and (g) and OAR 851-045-
0070(2)(a)(3)(b)(4)(c)(C).

By prescribing medications that do not have FDA-approval and are not considered
appropriate treatments for COVID-19 without documentation to support the clinical
decision making or documentation to show the patient was informed of the risks and
benefits of these treatments Licensee violated ORS 678.111(1)f) and (g) and OAR
851-045-0070(2)(a)(3)(b).

Page 2 of 8 - Final Order of Revocation by Default; 21-01073



By failing to collaborate with the patient’s other healthcare providers Licensee violated
ORS 678.111(1)f) and (g) and OAR 851-045-0070(2)(a)(3)(b)(4)(f).

5. On or about August 2021, Licensee provided telehealth treatment to patient CR, while
Licensee was working as a volunteer Nurse Practitioner with the Good News Health
Clinic. Patient was seen for COVID-19 symptoms. Licensee failed to obtain vital signs.
Licensee failed to document patient allergies. Licensee documented that she instructed
patient to go to the Emergency Department if temperature was over 101. Licensee also
documented that the patient’s temperature was 101.3 during the telehealth visit.
Licensee failed to document why the patient did not go to the Emergency Department
per her recommendations. Licensee prescribed the patient several medications that do
not have FDA approval for COVID-19 and are not considered appropriate treatments,
including Ivermectin, Doxycycline and Prednisone. Licensee failed to document that
the patient was informed that the prescribed treatments do not have FDA approval for
the treatment of COVID-19. Licensee prescribed the patient nebulizer treatments
without performing a physical assessment of the patient. Licensee failed to document
clinical decision making for prescribing medications that do not have FDA approval for
COVID-19, including discussing risks and benefits with the patient. This patient was
subsequently hospitalized for treatment of their COVID-19.

By failing to obtain a physical assessment and vital signs for this patient prior to
providing treatments Licensee violated ORS 678.111(1)f) and (g) and OAR 851-045-
0070(2)(a)(3)(b).

By failing to document patient allergies and vaccination status Licensee violated ORS
678.111(1)f) and (g) and OAR 851-045-0070(2)(a)(3)(b)(4)(c)(C).

By failing to instruct the patient to go to the Emergency Department when the patient’s
temperature met clinic policy to refer to a higher level of care or the patient’s refusal,
Licensee violated ORS 678.111(1)f) and (g) and OAR 851-045-0070(2)(a)(3)(b).

By prescribing medications that do not have FDA-approval and are not considered
appropriate treatments for COVID-19 without documentation to support the clinical
decision making or documentation to show the patient was informed of the risks and
benefits of these treatments Licensee violated ORS 678.111(1)f) and (g) and OAR
851-045-0070(2)(a)(3)(b).

6. On or about December 2, 2022, Licensee verbalized during a telephone interview with
Board staff that she was aware that her patients were obtaining medications she
prescribed for the treatment of COVID-19 from outside of the United States. Licensee
verbalized during a telephone interview with Board staff that she had obtained
medications from outside the United States to treat her and her spouse when they had
COVID-19. The FDA does not permit personal importation of unapproved versions of
FDA-approved drugs from foreign countries. The FDA cannot assure that foreign-made
versions of FDA-approved drugs have been properly manufactured, are safe and
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effective, and are the same formulation as the FDA-approved versions.

By obtaining medication from outside the United States for the treatment of COVID-
19, for herself and her spouse, Licensee violated ORS 678.111(1)f) and (g) and OAR
851-045-0070(2)(a)(8)(a).

By Licensee’s admission, she did not inform her patients of the risks of obtaining
medications from outside of the United States, Licensee violated ORS 678.111(1)f)
and (g) and OAR 851-045-0070(2)(a)(8)(a).

7. On or about December 2, 2022, Licensee verbalized during a telephone interview with
Board staff that she was making house calls to patients outside of her regularly
scheduled clinic hours and was not documenting these visits. Licensee verbalized
during a telephone interview with Board staff that she was providing patients with
medical advice via text messages and that she was not documenting these
communications in the medical record.

By failing to document patient visits and medical advice, Licensee violated ORS
678.111(1)f) and (g) and OAR 851-045-0070(2)(2)(3)(b)(4)(a)(b)(c)(C).

8. On or about June 2, 2021, Licensee provided care to patient OS, while Licensee was
working as a volunteer Nurse Practitioner with the Good News Health Clinic. The
patient did not report any signs or symptoms of a urinary tract infection and the reason
for the visit was dizziness. The patient’s urine dipstick resulted with 2+ blood. The
patient’s urine did not indicate any leukocytes or nitrites were present which are
common with a urinary tract infection. Urinary tract infections are commonly
diagnosed with leukocytes in the urine and symptoms such as dysuria, frequency,
hesitancy, pain, low abdominal discomfort, fever and hematuria. Licensee failed to
send the urine specimen for culture after diagnosing this patient with a urinary tract
infection. Licensee failed to document that she obtained a sexual history for this patient
and assessed for sexually transmitted diseases, which can have similar symptoms to a
urinary tract infection. Licensee failed to document her clinical decision making on
how she concluded a urinary tract infection. Licensee subsequently prescribed this
patient a 3-day course of the antibiotic, Bactrim. Per current standards, a 3-day course
of Bactrim is appropriate for female patients, but male patients require a 7-day course
of Bactrim.

By failing to document clinical decision making for the diagnoses of urinary tract
infection, Licensee violated ORS 678.111(1)f) and (g) and OAR 851-045-
0070(2)(a)(3)(b)(4)(c)(C).

By failing to obtain a urine culture for this patient Licensee violated ORS 678.111(1)f)
and (g) and OAR 851-045-0070(2)(a)(3)(b).
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By failing to adhere to prescribing standards of care when prescribing Bactrim to this
patient Licensee violated ORS 678.111(1)f) and (g) and OAR 851-045-
0070(2)(a)(3)(b).

9. On or about August 2021, Licensee provided telehealth care to patient MG, while
Licensee was working as a volunteer Nurse Practitioner with the Good News Health
Clinic. The patient reported discharge from the Emergency Department the day prior
for COVID-19 symptoms. The patient reports to Licensee that their symptoms are
worsening, and oxygen saturations have dropped to 91-92% on room air. Licensee
ordered home oxygen, dexamethasone, and nebulizer treatments for this patient without
completing a physical assessment. Licensee failed to obtain vital signs or diagnostic
imaging for this patient. Licensee completed this visit via telephone with no ability to
assess the patient’s color, breathing and general appearance. Licensee failed to refer
this patient back to the Emergency Department when they reported worsening
symptoms.

By failing to obtain a physical assessment and vital signs for this patient prior to
providing treatments Licensee violated ORS 678.111(1)f) and (g) and OAR 851-045-
0070(2)(a)(3)(b).

By failing to document clinical decision-making regarding prescribing for COVID-19
Licensee violated ORS 678.111(1)f) and (g) and OAR 851-045-

0070(2)(2)(3)(b)(4)(c)(C).

By failing to refer this patient to the Emergency Department with worsening symptoms
Licensee violated ORS 678.111(1)f) and (g) and OAR 851-045-0070(2)(a)(3)(b).

10. On or about August 2021, Licensee provided care to a patient, GA, while Licensee was
working as a volunteer Nurse Practitioner with the Good News Health Clinic. The
patient’s chief complaint for the August 2021 visit is cough. The patient had a history
of metastatic brain cancer. Licensee failed to assess the patient for COVID-19. This
patient would be at high risk for COVID-19 due to their immunocompromise. Licensee
is acting as a primary care provider for this patient but there is no evidence that
Licensee had obtained records from the patient’s other healthcare providers. The
patient reports to Licensee visual changes post brain surgery but Licensee failed to
document that she discussed this symptom with the patient’s neurosurgeon or
oncologist. Licensee failed to document that she told the patient to follow up with her
neurosurgeon or oncologist regarding the reported changes in vision.

By failing to assess the patient for COVID-19, Licensee violated ORS 678.111(1)f)
and (g) and OAR 851-045-0070(2)(a)(3)(b).

By failing to obtain patient records and collaborate with patient’s other healthcare
providers, Licensee violated ORS 678.111(1)f) and (g) and OAR 851-045-
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0070(2)(2)3)(b)(4)(H).

By failing to refer the patient to see a specialist for visual changes post brain surgery,
Licensee violated ORS 678.111(1)f) and (g) and OAR 851-045-0070(2)(a)(3)(b).

11. After a review of 7 medical records in which Licensee provided care, Licensee failed to
document that she provided these patients any information regarding COVID-19
vaccines, including documentation on whether the patients had already been
vaccinated. Licensee failed to offer the COVID-19 vaccine to any of these 7 patients.

By failing to address and document vaccination status for 7 patients, Licensee violated
ORS 678.111(1)f) and (g) and OAR 851-045-0070(2)(a)(3)(b).

12. On March 23, 2023, Board staff mailed a Notice of Proposed Revocation to Licensee
via first-class and certified mail. The Notice granted Licensee twenty (20) days from
the date of the mailing of the Notice to request a hearing. The Notice also designated
that the agency file would be the record for purposes of default.

II-
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. That the Board has jurisdiction over the Licensee, Rodica Malos, and over the subject
matter of this proceeding.

2. That Licensee’s conduct is in violation of ORS 678.111(1)(f)(g) and OAR 851-045-
0070(2)(2)(3)(b)(4)(b)(c)(C)(H)(8)(a)-

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation,
reprimand or censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a
contested case:

(1) Issuance of the license to practice nursing, whether by examination or by
indorsement, of any person may be refused or the license may be revoked or suspended
or the licensee may be placed on probation for a period specified by the Oregon State
Board of Nursing and subject to such condition as the board may impose or may be
issued a limited license or may be reprimanded or censured by the board, for any of the
following causes:

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing.

(g) Violation of any provisions of ORS 678.010 to 678.448 or rules adopted thereunder.

OAR 851-045-0070 Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing Defined
Conduct that adversely affects the health, safety, and welfare of the public, fails to
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conform to legal nursing standards, or fails to conform to accepted standards of the
nursing profession, is conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing. Such conduct
includes, but is not limited to:

(2) Conduct related to achieving and maintaining clinical competency:

(a) Failure to conform to the essential standards of acceptable and prevailing nursing
practice. Actual injury need not be established.

(3) Conduct related to the client’s safety and integrity:

(b) Failing to take action to preserve or promote the client’s safety based on nursing
assessment and judgement.

(4) Conduct related to communication:

(b) Failure to document nursing interventions and nursing practice implementation in a
timely, accurate, thorough, and clear manner. This includes failing to document a late
entry within a reasonable time period;

(c) Entering inaccurate, incomplete, falsified, or altered documentation into a health
record or agency records. This includes but is not limited to:

(C) Failing to document information pertinent to a client’s care;

(f) Failing to communicate information regarding the client’s status to members of the
health care team in an ongoing and timely manner as appropriate to the context of care.
(8) Conduct related to other federal or state statute or rule violations.

(a) Aiding, abetting, or assisting an individual to violate or circumvent any law, rule or
regulation intended to guide the conduct of nurses or other health care providers.

3. That Licensee defaulted on the Notice by not requesting a hearing within the allotted
twenty (20) days and, as a result, pursuant to ORS 183.417(3), the Board may enter a
Final Order by Default.
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-1II-
ORDER

Based on the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, and the Board being fully
advised in the premises, it is hereby:

ORDERED that the Nurse Practitioner License of Rodica Malos is REVOKED.

DATED this _| 2-/#y of May, 2023

FOR THE BOARD OF NURSING OF THE STATE OF OREGON

Judith Woodruff,

TO: RODICA MALOS:

You may file a petition for reconsideration or rehearing of this Order. Reconsideration or
rehearing may be obtained by filing a petition with the Board of Nursing within (sixty) 60 days
from the service of this Order. Your petition shall set forth the specific grounds for
reconsideration. Reconsideration or rehearing is pursuant to the provisions in ORS 183.482.

As an alternative to filing a Petition for Reconsideration of this Order, you are entitled to
judicial review of this Order. Judicial review may be obtained by filing a petition with the
Oregon Court of Appeals for review within sixty (60) days from the date of service of this
Order. Judicial review is pursuant to the provisions of ORS 183.482.

If, after a minimum of three (3) years, you wish to reinstate your Nurse Practitioner License,
you may submit an application to the Board to request reinstatement.
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Karen McCreary, RN ) REPRIMAND OF LICENSE
)
License No. 090003356RN ) Reference No. 23-00121

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurse License.
Karen McCreary (Licensee) was issued a Registered Nurse License by the Board on
September 10, 1992.

On or about 8/25/2022, the Board received information that Licensee failed to monitor patient
and address missed antipsychotic medication.

By the above actions, Licensee is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.111(1)(f), 851-
045-0070 (1)(2)(a)(c)(g)

STATUTES AND RULES RELATED TO THIS CASE

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation, reprimand,
or censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a contested case:

(1) Issuance of the license to practice nursing, whether by examination or by indorsement, of
any person may be refused or the license may be revoked or suspended or the licensee may be
placed on probation for a period specified by the Oregon State Board of Nursing and subject to
such condition as the board may impose or may be issued a limited license or may be
reprimanded or censured by the board, for any of the following causes:

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing

851-045-0070

Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing Defined

(1) Conduct related to general fitness to practice nursing:

(2) Conduct related to achieving and maintaining clinical competency:

(a) Failing to conform to the essential standards of acceptable and prevailing nursing practice.
Actual injury need not be established;

(c) Failing to develop, implement or modify the plan of care;

(g) Failing to communicate information regarding the client’s status to other individuals who
are authorized to receive information and have a need to know.

Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter. Therefore, the following will be
proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed to by Licensee:

That the Registered Nurse License/Certificate License of Karen McCreary be
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reprimanded.

Licensee understands that the conduct resulting in the violations of law described in this Order
are considered by the Board to be of a grave nature and, if continued, constitutes a serious
danger to public health and safety.

Licensee understands that in the event she engages in future conduct resulting in violations of
law or the Nurse Practice Act, the Board may take further disciplinary action against her
license, up to and including revocation of her license to practice as a Registered Nurse
License.

Licensee understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its approval
and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, she waives the right to an
administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion have
been used to induce her to sign this Order.

Licensee understands that this Order is a document of public record.

Licensee understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions
(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30
days from the date the action was taken.

Licensee has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and freely signs
this Stipulated Order for Reprimand.

Karen McCreary, RN Date

ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:

BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

Woodruff, JD
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PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Erica Mcguffin, LPN ) VOLUNTARY SURRENDER
)
License No. 201900020LPN ) Reference No. 2023030180

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including LPN’s. Erica Mcguffin
(Licensee) was issued an LPN license by the Board on 01/02/2019.

On or about March 16, 2023, the Board received information that Licensee had diverted
medications while working.

By the above actions, Licensee is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.111(1)(f) and
OAR 851-045-0070(8)(k)(q).

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation, reprimand or
censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a contested case:

(1) Issuance of the license to practice nursing, whether by examination or by endorsement, of
any person may be refused or the license may be revoked or suspended or the licensee may be
placed on probation for a period specified by the Oregon State Board of Nursing and subject to
such condition as the board may impose or may be issued a limited license or may be
reprimanded or censured by the board, for any of the following causes:

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing.
OAR 851-045-0070 Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing Defined

Conduct that adversely affects the health, safety, and welfare of the public, fails to conform to
legal nursing standards, or fails to conform to accepted standards of the nursing profession, is
conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing. Such conduct includes, but is not limited to:

(8) Conduct related to other federal or state statute or rule violations:

(k) Possessing, obtaining, attempting to obtain, furnishing, or administering prescription or
controlled medications to any person, including self, except as directed by a person authorized
by law to prescribe medications;

(q) Failing to dispense or administer medications in a manner consistent with state and federal
law;

Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter and voluntarily surrender their LPN
License.
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Therefore, the following will be proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed
to by Licensee:

That the voluntary surrender of the LPN License of Erica Mcguffin be accepted. If, after
a minimum of three years, Erica Mcguffin wishes to reinstate their LPN License, Erica
Mcguffin may submit an application to the Board to request reinstatement.

Licensee agrees that they will not practice as a LPN from the date the Order is signed.

Licensee understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its approval
and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, Erica Mcguffin waives the right to
an administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion have
been used to induce the signing of this Order.

Licensee understands that this Order is a document of public record.
Licensee understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions
(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30

days from the date the action was taken.

Licensee has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and freely signs
this Stipulated Order for Voluntary Surrender.

04/10/23
Erica Mcguffin, LPN Date

ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:
BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

shr/03
7

Date

dith Woodruff, JD
Board President

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Anne Meeks ) PROBATION (RE-ENTRY)
)
License No. 200940236RN ) Reference No. 2023010109

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurses and
Registered Nurse license applicants. Anne Meeks (Applicant) was issued a Registered Nurse
license by the Board on February 2, 2009.

In 2014, Applicant entered the Health Professionals’ Services Program (HPSP) after she
voluntarily sought treatment for her alcohol use. In April 2016, the Board placed Applicant on 36
months of probation for consuming alcohol and failing to comply with HPSP. In June 2019,
Applicant voluntarily surrendered her license after consuming alcolhol and initially being
untruthful about 1t to Board staff in violation of her probation conditions.

On or about June 29, 2022, Applicant applied for reinstatement of her (limited) Registered Nurse
license.

By the above actions, Applicant is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.111(1)(f)(g) and
OAR 851-001-0015(1), (2), (3), (4) and OAR 851-045-06070(7)(c), (10)(b){(d) which read as
follows:

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation,

reprimand or censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a contested
case:

(DIssuance of the license to practice nursing, whether by examination or by indorsement, of any
person may be refused or the license may be revoked or suspended or the licensee may be placed
on probation for a period specified by the Oregon State Board of Nursing and subject to such
condition as the board may impose or may be issued a limited license or may be reprimanded or
censured by the board, for any of the following causes:

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing.

(g) Violation of any provision of ORS 678.010 to 678.448 or rules adopted thereunder.

OAR 851-001-0015 Petition for Reinstatement )
A licensee or certificate holder whose license or certificate has been revoked or who voluntarily
surrendered the license or certificate may be granted reinstatement under the following
conditions:

(1) The license or certificate has been revoked or surrendered for a minimum period of three
years;

(2) The licensee or certificate holder has documented evidence of mitigation of the issues that
originally brought the licensee or certificate holder to the Board’s attention;
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(3) The individual seeking reinstatement has made application to the Board for reinstatement of
the license/certificate; and

(4) The individual seeking reinstatement agrees to any conditions that the Board determines
necessary to demonstrate competence at the level of licensure or certification for which the
individual 1s seeking reinstatement.

OAR 851-045-0070 Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing Defined

Conduct that adversely affects the health, safety, and welfare of the public, fails to conform to
legal nursing standards, or fails to conform to accepted standards of the nursing profession, is
conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing. Such conduct includes, but is not limited to:
(7) Conduct related to impaired function:

(c) The use of a prescription or non-prescription medication, alcohol, or a mind-altering
substance, to an extent or in a manner dangerous or injurious to the licensee or others or to an
extent that such use impairs the ability to conduct safely the practice of nursing.

(10) Conduct related to the licensee’s relationship with the Board:

(b) Failing to answer truthfully and completely any question asked by the Board on an
application for licensure or during the course of an investigation or any other question asked by
the Board;

(d) Violating the terms and conditions of a Board order.

Applicant admits that the above allegations occurred and constitute grounds for discipline under
the Nurse Practice Act. Applicant wishes to cooperate with the Board in resolving the present
disciplinary matter. The following will be proposed to the Board and is agreed to by Applicant:

Applicant shall be placed on probation contingent upon successful completion of the three
(3) conditions listed below within 21 days of the date the Board approves this Stipulated
Order:

1) Contact a Board approved re-entry program, enroll in said re-entry program, and
request confirmation of enrollment be sent directly to the Board.

2) Notify the re-entry program that Applicant is on Probation with the Board.

3) Submit the Limited License application and all required fees to the Board to begin
licensing process.

Applicant acknowledges that absent completion of these conditions within the 21-day period her
application shall be deemed denied.

Once the Limited License is issued, Applicant’s compliance with this Stipulated Order will be
monitored by the Board. Applicant must complete a twenty-four (24) month period of probation
to begin upon Applicant’s return to practice, including Applicant’s practice under a Limited
License while in the re-entry program, monitored as outlined below. Applicant must practice a
minimum of sixteen (16) hours per week on average, and no more than a maximum of one (1.0)
FTE. Applicant must practice in a setting where she can exercise the full extent of her scope of
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practice, in order to demonstrate Applicant’s competence. Limited overtime may be approved on
occasion, at the discretion of Board staff.

In addition to the above conditions, Applicant shall comply with the following terms and
conditions of probation:

1) Applicant shall not violate the Nurse Practice Act (ORS 678) or the rules adopted thereunder.

2) Applicant shall have thirty-six (36) months from Board’s acceptance of this Stipulated Order
to complete twenty-four (24) months of monitored practice.

3) Applicant shall notify Board staff, in writing, prior to any change of contact information
which includes address, email address, and phone number.

4) Applicant shall mamtain an active license.

5) Applicant shall inform Board staff in advance of any move from Oregon. If Applicant leaves
the state and is unable to practice in the state of Oregon, Applicant’s probationary status will be
re-evaluated. If monitoring is approved and transferred to another board of nursing, Applicant
shall successfully complete all requirements of the board order of the other jurisdiction.
Applicant shall be required to ensure the Board receives quarterly reports documenting the
Applicant’s compliance. Failure to comply with this reporting requirement shall be considered a
violation of this Order. While Applicant practices in another state, those hours will only be
counted toward her Oregon probation if the position meets the monitoring requirements per line
ten (10) of this stipulated order.

6) Applicant shall maintain monthly contact by phone, electronic or virtual methods to
designated Board staff for interviews during the probationary period. Frequency or type of
contact may be reviewed and revised periodically at the discretion of Board staff. This includes
being required to attend an in-person meeting.

7) Applicant shall notify Board staff of any citations, arrests, or convictions for any offense,
whether felony, misdemeanor, violation, or citation within ten (10) days of the occurrence.

8) Applicant will not look for, accept, or begin a new nursing position without prior approval of
Board staff. This includes changes of the employer itself or changes within the facility or
institution.

9) Applicant shall inform cwrrent and prospective employers of the probationary status of
Applicant’s license, the reasons for Applicant’s probation, and terms and conditions of
probation. If there is a Nurse Executive, that person is to be informed of Applicant's
probationary status. The Nurse Executive will receive a copy of the Stipulated Order for
Probation when Applicant is employed.

10) Applicant shall work under the direct observation of another licensed healthcare
professional, who is aware that the that the individual is on probation, is working in the same
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physical location (e.g. clinic, unit, building, etc.), is readily available to observe Applicant’s
practice and provide assistance and who has taken the required Board approved
Monitor/Supervisor training. Applicant shall be employed in a setting where Applicant’s nursing
supervisor agrees to submit written evaluations of work performance (on forms provided by the
Board) every three (3) months during the probationary period. The quarterly evaluation 1s
expected to be received by Board staff within ten (10) days of the due date. If the evaluation is
not timely received, Board staff will contact the employer with a reminder. If Board staff is not
in receipt of the report within five (5) business days from the reminder date, Applicant may be
restricted from practicing as a nurse.

11) Between quarterly reporting periods, the Nurse Executive or a person designated by
Applicant’s employer, shall inform Board staff of any instance of Applicant’s non-compliance
with the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order or of any other concern regarding
Applicant’s work-related conduct or personal behavior that may affect Applicant’s ability to
perform the duties of a nurse.

12) Applicant shall notify Board staff when there is a change in status of employment, including
resignations, disciplinary actions, and terminations. Applicant shall immediately notify Board
staff if they will be unable to meet the minimum monitored practice requirement of 16 hours per
week or 64 hours per month due to leave from work. The inability to meet the monitored practice
requirement due to leave may extend the probationary period.

13) Applicant shall not work in any practice setting when on-site monitoring is not available.
This generally includes home health agencies, traveling agencies, float pools, temporary
agencies, assisted living facilities, adult foster care, independent consulting contracts, home
hospice, and night shifts outside of acute care settings.

14) Applicant shall not be a nursing faculty member or an advance practice preceptor.

15) Applicant shall not be approved for enrollment in clinical practicum hours for the purposes
of obtaining an additional degree or license.

16) Applicant shall participate in and comply with any treatment recommendations set forth by a
third party evaluator approved by the Board. Applicant shall ensure that Board staff receive
monthly status reports from the treatment provider. Within fourteen (14) days of completing
treatment, Applicant shall submit to Board staff a copy of Applicant’s completion certificate or
discharge summary. Applicant shall attend Narcotics Anonymous (NA), Alcoholics Anonymous
(AA) or similar recovery program on a weekly basis and provide proof of attendance to Board
staff. Applicant shall sign any release of information necessary to allow Board staff to

communicate with Applicant’s treatment provider and release Applicant’s treatment records to
the Board.

17) Applicant shall participate in the Board’s random drug testing program. Failure to comply
with random urine, blood, hair, nail, or any other requested drug test shall result in Applicant’s
immediate removal from nursing practice. Applicant shall submit to observed tests to determine
the presence of unauthorized substances immediately upon request by Board staff or Applicant’s
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employer. Applicant shall sign any release of information necessary to ensure the Board will
receive the results of such testing. The presence of unauthorized substances may be considered a
violation of the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order. Upon request of Board staff,
Applicant shall obtain a substance use disorder evaluation by a Board approved third party
evaluator. Applicant understands that Applicant is financially responsible for any and all costs
related to testing and evaluating. Applicant’s failure to maintain an account in good standing
with the Board’s laboratory vendor shall be considered a violation of this Stipulated Order.

18) Applicant shall abstain from using alcohol and/or other intoxicating, mind altering, or
potentially addictive drugs, including over-the-counter or prescription drugs while participating
in the Board’s random urine drug testing program, except as provided in Section 19 below.
Applicant shall avoid any over-the-counter products and food items containing alcohol, THC
including CBD products, and poppy seeds.

19) Applicant may take medication for a documented medical condition, provided that Applicant
obtains such medication only by a legal prescription written by a person authorized by law to
write such a prescription. Applicant will notify Board staff within 72 hours in the event
Applicant is prescribed such medication, and shall sign a release of information authorizing the
prescribing person to commnunicate with Board staff about Applicant’s medical condition.
Applicant shall produce the medical records pertaining to the medical condition and medication
use. Applicant will discard any unused prescription medications when it is no longer needed or
expired.

20) Applicant shall cease practicing as a nurse upon the occurrence of a relapse, or at the request
of Board staff because of a relapse or relapse behavior. Practice may resume only when approved
in writing by Board staff, in consultation with Applicant’s employer.

21) Applicant shall notify any and all healthcare providers of the nature of Applicant’s diagnoses
to ensure that Applicant’s health history is complete before receiving any treatment, including
medical and dental. Applicant shall provide Board staff with the names and contact information
of any and all health care providers. Applicant shall sign any release of information necessary to
allow Board staff to communicate with Applicant’s healthcare providers and release Applicant’s
medical and treatment records to the Board. Applicant is financially responsible for any costs
incurred for compliance with the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order.

22) Applicant shall notify Board staff at least three (3) business days prior to leaving town or
going on vacation, with the exception of a family emergency.

23) Applicant shall cooperate fully with Board staff in the supervision and investigation of
Applicant’s compliance with the terins and conditions of this Stipulated Order.

Applicant understands that the conduct resulting in the violations of law described in this
Stipulated Order are considered by the Board to be of a grave nature and, if continued,
constitutes a serious danger to public health and safety.

Applicant understands that in the event she engages in future conduct resulting in violations the
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terms of this Stipulated Order and/or the Nurse Practice Act, the Board may take further
disciplinary action against her license, up to and including revocation of Applicant’s license to
practice as a Registered Nurse.

Applicant understands that this Stipulated Order will be submitted to the Board for its approval
and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Applicant understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, she waives the right to an
administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Applicant acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion have been
used to induce Applicant to sign this Stipulated Order.

Applicant understands that this Stipulated Order is a document of public record.

Applicant understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions
(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30
days from the date the action was taken.

Applicant has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Stipulated Order completely. and
freely signs this Stipulated Order.

IT IS SO AGREED:
I oo
Anne Meeks Date

ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:

BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

5/%/93
hivesim /Y e /
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Random Mitchell, RN ) REPRIMAND OF REGISTERED NURSE
LICENSE
)
License No. 201602432RN ) Reference No. 2022110212

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating, and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered

Nurses. Random Mitchell (Licensee) was issued a Registered Nurse license by the Board on
04/12/2016.

On or about 11/23,2022, the Board received information that Licensee gave medication via
the wrong route.

By the above actions, Licensee is subject to discipline pursuant to:
ORS 678.111 (1)(f), 851-045-0070(1)(2)(a)

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation, reprimand,
or censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a contested case:

(1) Issuance of the license to practice nursing, whether by examination or by indorsement, of
any person may be refused or the license may be revoked or suspended or the licensee may be
placed on probation for a period specified by the Oregon State Board of Nursing and subject to
such condition as the board may impose or may be issued a limited license or may be
reprimanded or censured by the board, for any of the following causes:

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing

851-045-0070

Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing Defined

(1) Conduct related to general fitness to practice nursing:

(2) Conduct related to achieving and maintaining clinical competency:

(a) Failing to conform to the essential standards of acceptable and prevailing nursing practice.
Actual injury need not be established;

Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter. Therefore, the following will be
proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed to by Licensee:

That the Registered Nurse License of Random Mitchell be reprimanded.
Licensee understands that the conduct resulting in the violations of law described in this Order

are considered by the Board to be of a grave nature and, if continued, constitutes a serious
danger to public health and safety.
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Licensee understands that in the event they engage in future conduct resulting in violations of
law or the Nurse Practice Act, the Board may take further disciplinary action against their
licensee, up to and including revocation of their[licensee to practice as a Registered Nurse.

Licensee understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its approval
and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, they waive the right to an
administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion have
been used to induce them to sign this Order.

Licensee understands that this Order is a document of public record.
Licensee understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions
(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30

days from the date the action was taken.

Licensee has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and freely signs
this Stipulated Order for Reprimand.

B o252

Random Mitchell, RN Date

ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:

BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING
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BEFORE THE OREGON

, STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Joshua Montiel, CNA ) REPRIMAND
)
License No. 202003165CNA ) Reference No. 2022100022

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Certified Nursing
Assistant’s. Joshua Montiel, Certificate Holder, was issued a CNA certificate by the Board on
April 29, 2020.

On or about October 10, 2022, the Board received information that Certificate Holder was
working outside his scope and failed to document his actions. Certificate Holder admitted to
mixing Tea Tree oil with coconuts oil and he applied his mixture on to patient’s skin,
additionally, he failed to document his activities in the patient’s medical records.

By the above actions, Certificate Holder is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.442(2)(f),
and OAR 851-063-0090(1)(a),(2)(2)\(b).(4)(c)(B).

ORS 678.442 Certification of nursing assistants; rules. (2) In the manner prescribed in ORS
chapter 183, the board may revoke or suspend a certificate issued under this section or may
reprimand a nursing assistant for the following reasons:

(f) Conduct unbecoming a nursing assistant in the performance of duties.

OAR 851-063-0090 Conduct Unbecoming a Nursing Assistant ,
A CNA, regardless of job location, responsibilities, or use of the title “CNA," whose behavior
fails to conform to the legal standard and accepted standards of the nursing assistant
profession, or who may adversely affect the health, safety or welfare of the public, may be
found guilty of conduct unbecoming a nursing assistant. Such conduct includes but is not
limited to:

(1) Conduct, regardless of setting, related to general fitness to perform nursing assistant
authorized duties:

(a) Demonstrated incidents of violent, abusive, neglectful or reckless behavior; or

(2) Conduct related to achieving and maintaining clinical competency:

(a) Failing to conform to the essential standards of acceptable and prevailing nursing assistant
performance of duties. Actual injury need not be established;

(b) Performing acts beyond the authorized duties except for as allowed for in these rules;

(4) Conduct related to communication:

(c) Entering inaccurate, incomplete, falsified or altered documentation into a health record or
into agency records. This includes but is not limited to:

(B) Failing to document information pertinent to the person’s care;

Certificate Holder wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter. Therefore, the following
will be proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed to by Certificate Holder:
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That the CNA Certificate of Joshua Montiel be reprimanded.

Certificate Holder understands that the conduct resulting in the violations of law described in
this Order are considered by the Board to be of a grave nature and, if continued, constitutes a
serious danger to public health and safety. Certificate Holder understands that in the event they
engage in future conduct resulting in violations of law or the Nurse Practice Act, the Board
may take further disciplinary action against their certificate, up to and including revocation of
their certificate to practice as a CNA.

Certificate Holder understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its
approval and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Certificate Holder understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, they waive the right to an
administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Certificate Holder acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion
have been used to induce them to sign this Order.

Certificate Holder understands that this Order is a document of public record.

Certificate Holder understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse
actions (resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB)
within 30 days from the date the action was taken.

Certificate Holder has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and
freely signs this Stipulated Order for Reprimand.

03|02

Joshua Montiel, CNA Date

ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:

BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING
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BEFORE THE OREGON STATE BOARD OF NURSING

STATE OF OREGON
IN THE MATTER OF: ) FINAL ORDER
)
SANDRA MORENO-ALVARADO ) OAH Case No. 2022-ABC-05482
) Agency Case No. 22-00112
)

This matter came before the Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) at its May 17, 2023
meeting to consider the Proposed Order issued by Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) Samantha
Fair on April 19, 2023. The Proposed Order provided Ms. Moreno-Alvarado with information on
filing exceptions. The Board did not receive any exceptions to the Proposed Order.

After considering the record, the Board adopts the ALJ’s Findings of Fact, Conclusions
of Law, and recommended sanction. The Board has modified the History of the Case and
Opinion as explained below and otherwise adopts the following Final Order.

HISTORY OF THE CASE

On May 19, 2022, the Board issued Sandra Moreno-Alvarado (Ms. Moreno) a Notice of
Proposed Denial of Nursing Assistant Certificate. On July 8, 2022, the Board received Ms.
Moreno’s request for a hearing.

On July 15, 2022, the Board referred the matter to the Office of Administrative Hearings
(OAH). The OAH assigned ALJ Samantha A. Fair to preside at hearing. On August 29, 2022,
ALJ Fair convened a prehearing conference. Ms. Moreno appeared. Assistant Attorney General
Lauren Rauch appeared on the Board’s behalf.! Amanda Moser and Chad Steele also appeared
on behalf of the Board. ALJ Fair scheduled the hearing for March 28, 2023, and set deadlines
for the submission of witness lists and exhibits.

On September 27, 2022, the Board filed a Motion for Qualified Protective Order. On
October 5, 2022, ALJ Fair granted the motion, and the OAH issued a Qualified Protective Order.

On March 6, 2023, the Board issued an Amended Notice of Proposed Denial of Nursing
Assistant Certificate (Amended Notice).

On March 28, 2023, ALJ Fair convened a hearing at the Board’s location in Portland,
Oregon. Ms. Moreno appeared and testified.2 The Board was represented by Ms. Rauch. Dave

' The Board modified this sentence to reflect the name of the Assistant Attorney General appearing on the
Board’s behalf.

? Linda Moreno, Ms. Moreno’s mother, accompanied Ms. Moreno to the hearing. OAR 851-001-0005(2)
provides that “Contested case hearings are closed to members of the public who are not parties or
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Bowman, the chief investigator for the Board, also appeared for the Board and testified. The
record closed on March 28, 2023, at the conclusion of the hearing.

ISSUES

1. Whether Ms. Moreno engaged in conduct unbecoming a nursing assistant by failing to
answer truthfully and completely any question asked by the Board on an application and engaged
in conduct constituting fraud or misrepresentation when applying for certification. ORS
678.442(2) and OAR 851-063-0090 (January 1, 2015).3

2. Whether Ms. Moreno’s application for certification as a nursing assistant should be
granted or denied. ORS 670.280(3) (2020)* and ORS 678.442(2).

EVIDENTIARY RULINGS

Ms. Moreno objected to the admission of Exhibits A1 through A20, offered by the Board.
The ALJ overruled her objections and admitted the exhibits into the record.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. On February 24, 1989, the Sutter County Sheriff’s Department responded to an
unconscious, almost three-year-old girl at Ms. Moreno’s residence in Meridian, California. Ms.
Moreno resided with the natural father of the girl. (Ex. A2 at 1.) After arrival at the local
hospital, the girl appeared to be brain dead and was transferred to a larger hospital. (/d. at 5.)
On February 26, 1989, a physician declared the girl deceased. (/d. at 7.) After an autopsy, the
coroner declared the cause of death to be brain trauma caused by an object that struck the child’s
head followed by the child being severely shaken. (/d. at 8-9.)

2. On May 5, 1989, a Complaint was issued in the Municipal Court for Sutter County,
California, against Ms. Moreno and the child’s father. The Complaint charged Ms. Moreno with
murder in the second degree and charged both individuals with a violation of Section 273a(1) of
the California Penal Code (CPC).> (Ex. A3 at 1-2.) On September 29, 1989, an Information was
issued in the Superior Court of Sutter County against Ms. Moreno and the child’s father. The
Information charged Ms. Moreno with murder in the second degree and child endangerment with

representatives of the parties in the proceedings.” In compliance with the ALJ’s directive, Linda Moreno
left the hearing room.

3 The rule was amended, effective August 1, 2021, shortly after Ms. Moreno filed her application. The
amendment made no changes to the cited portions of the rule that would change the outcome of this
matter. All citations to the rule in this Proposed Order are to the 2015 version of the rule.

4 The statute was amended effective July 19, 2021, shortly after Ms. Moreno filed her application. The
amendments made no changes to the cited portions of the statute. All citations to the statute in this
Proposed Order are to the 2020 version of the statute.

5 CPC 273a(1) is child endangerment in which a person permits a child to suffer unjustifiable pain or
mental suffering.
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an allegation that Ms. Moreno intended to inflict great bodily injury. The Information charged
the child’s father with knowingly aiding Ms. Moreno in avoiding punishment for the charged
crimes. (Ex. A4 at1-2.)

3. On October 10, 1989, Ms. Moreno appeared in Sutter County Superior Court with her
attorney and denied the charges as listed in the Information. (Ex. AS at 1-2.) On January 23,
1990, Ms. Moreno pled guilty to the second count of the Information, the charge of violating
CPC 273a(1). On April 2, 1990, she appeared in Sutter County Superior Court and was
sentenced to four years in prison, beginning her incarceration on that same date.® (Ex. A6 at 1.)

4. On April 8, 1998, Sutter County Sheriff’s Office responded to a complaint of a verbal
argument with a possible physical altercation at a residence. Upon arrival, Ms. Moreno advised
the deputies that her husband had struck her in the neck, making it red and swollen. The husband
informed the deputies that Ms. Moreno grabbed him around the neck and they struggled. The
husband had scratches on his neck and left arm. The deputies arrested and jailed Ms. Moreno
and her husband for CPC 273.5, battery on a spouse. (Ex. A7 at 1-3.)

5. On April 14, 1998, a Complaint was issued against Ms. Moreno and her husband in
Sutter County Municipal Court, charging them with violations of CPC 273.5(a). (Ex. A9at 1.)
On April 21, 1998, a warrant was issued for her arrest. On October 28, 1998, Ms. Moreno was
arrested on the warrant. (Ex. A8 at 2.) On November 6, 1998, Ms. Moreno appeared in Sutter
County Superior Court and the case was dismissed. (Exs. A9 at 1; Al10at 1.)

6. On March 20, 2002, an Information was issued against Ms. Moreno in the Circuit
Court for Marion County, Oregon, charging her with assault in the fourth degree and harassment
for allegedly causing injury to or harassing Linda Moreno on March 2, 2002. (Ex. A12 at1.) On
March 22, 2002, a warrant was issued for Ms. Moreno’s arrest on these charges. (Exs. All at 1;
Al6 at 1.) At the time of the incident, Ms. Moreno resided in California and was visiting
Oregon. She returned to California after the incident and was unaware that she had been charged
with a crime or that a warrant had been issued against her. (Test. of Moreno.) On September 9,
2008, Ms. Moreno was arrested and placed in jail on this warrant. (Exs. Allat1; Al7at1,3.)
On September 10, 2008, she appeared in court for an arraignment on the charges and was
released from jail. (Ex. A1l at 1.) On November 7, 2008, the charges were dismissed. (/d. at
2)

7. On May 17, 2005, a Complaint was issued against Ms. Moreno in the Superior Court
for Yuba County, California, for a violation of CPC 243(e), charging her with using violence on
a domestic partner on March 18, 2005. The Complaint requested the issuance of an arrest
warrant against Ms. Moreno. (Ex. Al14 at 1-2.) On May 16, May 25 and August 5, 2005, Ms.
Moreno appeared in the Superior Court for Yuba County, California, on the charge. (Ex. Al5 at
1-3.) The Superior Court eventually dismissed the charge. (Test. of Moreno.)

8. On June 16, 2016, Yuba City police officers were dispatched to a residence for a
disturbance. The landlord of the residence had confronted the occupant, a friend of Ms. Moreno,

¢ The Judgment abstract did not indicate the outcome of the remaining murder charge; presumably, it was
dismissed. (Ex. A6 at 1.)
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to serve the friend an eviction notice. There was a verbal altercation between Ms. Moreno and
the landlord. When the police arrived, the landlord asserted that Ms. Moreno had spat in his face
and insisted that she be charged with assault. The police officer issued a citation to Ms. Moreno,
charging her with simple assault and directing her to appear in court on July 25, 2016. (Exs. A18
at 1-3; A20 at 1.) Ms. Moreno signed the citation. (Ex. A20 at 1; test. of Moreno.) On July 25,
2016, the District Attorney declined to file any charges against Ms. Moreno. (Ex. A19 at 1.)

9. On May 31, 2021, Ms. Moreno submitted an online application for a nursing assistant
certificate (Application) to the Board. (Ex. Al; test. of Bowman.) The Application included
eight background questions for the applicant to complete. (Ex. Al at 1-2.) Question 3 stated:

Other than a traffic ticket, have you ever been arrested, cited, or charged
with an offense?

(/d. at 1.) Ms. Moreno answered “yes” to that question, and, in the explanation box for that
question, she answered, “In 1990 convicted of child endangerment.” (Id.)

10. Question 4 of the Application asked:

Have you ever been part of an investigation for any type of abuse or
mistreatment, in any state or jurisdiction? Include any pending
investigations

(Ex. Al at 1.) Ms. Moreno answered “no” to that question. (/d. at2.)

11. In order to submit the Application, Ms. Moreno had to confirm that she had read the
following statement:

[ understand I have a duty to provide the Oregon State Board of Nursing
with any updates to information required in this application while it is
pending. I hereby certify that I have read this application, and that the
information provided is true and correct. I have personally completed
this application. I am aware that falsifying an application, supplying
misleading information, or withholding information is grounds for denial
or discipline of license/certification. I am aware that the Oregon State
Board of Nursing will conduct criminal records checks through the
Oregon Law Enforcement Data System (LEDS) and the Federal Bureau
of Investigation (FBI)[.]

(Ex. Al at 2; test. of Bowman.)

12. The Board expects truthfulness from its licensees and its applicants and relies on
their truthfulness to fulfill the Board’s oversight of its licensees. In this matter, after receipt of
Ms. Moreno’s Application, the Board discovered, and obtained, police reports and court records
for the arrests she had not disclosed on her Application, as well as the police reports and court
records for the child endangerment case that she had disclosed. (Test. of Bowman.) The

In the Matter of Sandra Moreno-Alvarado - OAH Case No. 2022-ABC-05482
Final Order
Page 4 of 9



Board’s investigator sent a letter to Ms. Moreno, advising her of the Board’s discovery of her
undisclosed criminal records. In her interview with the Board’s investigator, Ms. Moreno
acknowledged the additional arrests and noted that all the additional charges had been dismissed.
(Test. of Moreno.)

13. Ms. Moreno secured a CNA job at a skilled nursing facility in Oregon on April 4,
2021. When she was unable to secure a CNA certificate from the Board, her employer
reassigned her to the kitchen as a dietary aide, which position she has maintained. Prior to this
position, Ms. Moreno had worked as a dietary aide in a similar facility in California for six years.
Ms. Moreno enjoys working among the elderly, providing them care, and talking with the
frequently lonely residents. (Test. of Moreno.)

14. Ms. Moreno filed an application for a pardon for her 1989 child endangerment
conviction with the California Governor’s office. That application remains pending with
Governor Newsom. (Test. of Moreno.)

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Ms. Moreno engaged in conduct unbecoming a nursing assistant by failing to answer
truthfully and completely any question asked by the Board on an application and engaged in
conduct constituting fraud or misrepresentation when applying for certification.

2. Ms. Moreno’s application for certification as a nursing assistant should be denied.

OPINION

The Board seeks to deny Ms. Moreno’s application based on allegations that she made
false statements on her application. Because this is an application proceeding, Ms. Moreno has
the burden to establish, by a preponderance of the evidence, her eligibility for licensure. Sobel v.
Board of Pharmacy, 130 Or App 374, 380 (1994) (applicants have the burden of establishing
their eligibility by a preponderance of the evidence); Dixon v. Board of Nursing, 291 Or App
207, 213 (2018) (in administrative actions, burden of proof is by a preponderance of the
evidence). Proof by a preponderance of the evidence means that the fact finder is persuaded that
the facts asserted are more likely true than not true. Riley Hill General Contractor v. Tandy
Corp., 303 Or 390, 402 (1987).

Applicable Law

ORS 670.280 provided, in part:
(1) As used in this section:

(a) “License” includes a registration, certification or permit.

* ok ok %k k
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(3) Except as provided in ORS 342.143 (3) and 342.175 (3), a licensing
board, commission or agency may deny an occupational or professional
license or impose discipline on a licensee based on conduct that is not
undertaken directly in the course of the licensed activity, but that is
substantially related to the fitness and ability of the applicant or licensee
to engage in the activity for which the license is required. In determining
whether the conduct is substantially related to the fitness and ability of
the applicant or licensee to engage in the activity for which the license is
required, the licensing board, commission or agency shall consider the
relationship of the facts with respect to the conduct and all intervening
circumstances to the specific occupational or professional standards|[.]

ORS 678.442(2) provides, in part:

In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183, the board may revoke or
suspend a certificate issued under this section or may reprimand a
nursing assistant for the following reasons:

k% k ok ok

(b) Any willful fraud or misrepresentation in applying for or procuring a
certificate or renewal thereof.

* %k ok k %k

(d) Violation of any provisions of ORS 678.010 to 678.448 or rules
adopted thereunder].]

OAR 851-063-0090 provided, in part:

A CNA, regardless of job location, responsibilities, or use of the title
“CNA,” whose behavior fails to conform to the legal standard and
accepted standards of the nursing assistant profession, or who may
adversely affect the health, safety or welfare of the public, may be found
guilty of conduct unbecoming a nursing assistant. Such conduct includes
but is not limited to:

(1) Conduct, regardless of setting, related to general fitness to perform
nursing assistant authorized duties:

* ok ok k k

(b) Demonstrated incidents of dishonesty, misrepresentation, or fraud.

k ok ok ok k
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(9) Conduct related to certification violations:

(a) Resorting to fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit during the application
process for licensure or certification, while taking the examination for
licensure or certification, while obtaining initial licensure or certification
or renewal of licensure or certification;

* k ok k %k

(10) Conduct related to the certification holder's relationship with the
Board:

* % %k 3k ok

(b) Failing to answer truthfully and completely any question asked by the
Board on an application for certification, renewal of certification, during
the course of an investigation, or any other question asked by the
Board][.]

Fraud_Misrepresentation or Conduct Unbecoming a Nursing Assistant

When Ms. Moreno submitted her Application to the Board, the Application included
questions requiring her to disclose any prior arrests, citations or charges and any prior
investigations into abuse or mistreatment allegations. Ms. Moreno answered “yes” in response
to the question involving prior arrests. There is no factual dispute that her answer to the specific
question was accurate; however, in the explanation box for that question included in the
Application, Ms. Moreno only disclosed the child endangerment conviction. In fact, Ms.
Moreno had been arrested, cited and/or charged with two domestic assaults, an assault and
harassment on her mother, and an assault on her friend’s landlord. Because Ms. Moreno only
disclosed the child endangerment conviction, Ms. Moreno provided a false statement on the
Application. Ms. Moreno also answered “no” to the question of whether she had been involved
in an investigation for abuse or mistreatment. Because the child endangerment conviction was
the result of an investigation into the unnatural death, and therefore mistreatment and abuse, of a
minor child in her care, Ms. Moreno’s answer was another false statement she made on the
Application.

Because Ms. Moreno’s responses to the Application’s disclosure questions were false,
Ms. Moreno engaged in conduct unbecoming a nursing assistant by failing to answer truthfully
and completely questions asked by the Board on an application for certification, in violation of
OAR 851-063-0090(10)(b).

In its Amended Notice, the Board further alleged that Ms. Moreno’s false statements
constituted willful fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit in violation of ORS 678.442(2)(b), OAR
851-063-0090(1)(b) and (9)(a). The statute and administrative rule do not provide any
definitions for “willful,” “fraud” or “misrepresentation.” It is therefore necessary to consider the
analytical approach set forth in PGE v. Bureau of Labor and Industries, 317 Or 606 (1993) and
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State v. Gaines, 346 Or 160 (2009) to discern the meaning of the words, as they are used in ORS
678.442(2)(b) and OAR 851-063-0090(9)(a). In PGE, the Oregon Supreme Court explained that
to determine legislative intent, a court begins by examining a statute’s text, and its statutory
context, giving words of common usage their plain, natural, and ordinary meaning. If the
legislative intent is unambiguous, the court stops at that first level of analysis. PGE, 317 Or at
610-11. For the plain, natural and ordinary meaning, a dictionary definition is used to provide
guidance. “Fraud” means “an instance or act of trickery or deceit * * * an intentional
misrepresentation * * * for the purpose of inducing another in reliance upon it to part with some
valuable thing * * *.” Webster’s Third New Int’l Dictionary 904 (unabridged ed 2002).
“Willful” means done deliberately or not accidentally. /d. at 2617. A “misrepresentation” is an
untrue, inaccurate or misleading representation. /d. at 1445.

Because Ms. Moreno’s statements in response to the disclosure questions were untrue,
they constitute misrepresentations. At hearing, Ms. Moreno asserted that she was not “a bad
person,” that she made mistakes on the Application, and did not intend to deceive the Board.
Testimony of Moreno. However, she completed and submitted the Application which even
required her to review a statement that warned her about the possibility of a denial of an
application if any provided information was untrue. Ms. Moreno acknowledged the review of
that statement, and she deliberately, not accidentally, answered the questions and provided her
explanation. Additionally, during her testimony, it was clear that she understood the questions
and that she answered them in the negative and failed to provide the additional information
because she felt that the charges “did not matter” as they had been dismissed. (/d.) The
evidence established, by a preponderance of the evidence, that Ms. Moreno deliberately failed to
truthfully answer a disclosure question and failed to provide a truthful answer for the explanation
box on the Application as she did not believe that the Board needed that information to assess
her application for certification. Ms. Moreno’s false statements were willful fraud and
misrepresentations made by her during the application process for certification to induce the
Board to issue the certification and also constituted conduct unbecoming a nursing assistant, in
violation of ORS 678.442(2)(b), OAR 851-063-0090(1)(b) and (9)(a). Finally, by violating ORS
678.442(2)(b), OAR 851-063-0090(1)(b), (9)(a) and (10)(b), Ms. Moreno also violated ORS
678.442(2)(d).

Denial of Certification

Pursuant to ORS 670.280(3), the Board has the authority to deny an occupational license
for engaging in conduct that is not directly in the course of the licensed activity when the
conduct is substantially related to the occupational standards. As shown above, the Board
established that Ms. Moreno violated OAR 851-063-0090(1)(b), (9)(a) and (10)(b), by providing
fraudulent and misleading information to the Board during the application process. Because
such conduct is unbecoming a nursing assistant and, therefore, contrary to its occupational
standards, the Board has the authority to deny Ms. Moreno’s Application as provided by ORS
670.280(3). Pursuant to ORS 678.442(2), the Board also has the authority to revoke a certificate,
and thus by implication the right to deny Ms. Moreno’s Application, for willful fraud and
misrepresentation during the application process, for violations of the governing statutes or its
administrative rules, and for conduct unbecoming a nursing assistant. Thus, the Board may also
deny Ms. Moreno’s license pursuant to ORS 678.442(2)(b) and (d).
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For the Board to effectively fulfill its oversight role of licensees, the Board needs to rely
on the honesty of its licensees in their interactions with the Board. As Ms. Moreno demonstrated
in completing the Application, she is not trustworthy as she provided false information during
the certification process. Her untrustworthiness is further compounded by her willingness to
provide false information despite the warning in the Application that providing such false
information can lead to the denial of her certification. The Board has legitimate concerns
regarding its ability to effectively oversee Ms. Moreno in light of her lack of veracity in
completing the Application. Therefore, based upon her violations of the Board’s statutes and
administrative rules and the Board’s inability to rely on the accuracy of Ms. Moreno’s
statements, the Board should deny her Application. Each distinct violation committed by Ms.
Moreno would serve as a separate and independent ground for the Board to deny her
Application.’

FINAL ORDER
The Oregon State Board of Nursing hereby issues the following order:

Sandra Moreno-Alvarado’s application for certification as a nursing assistant is DENIED.

APPEAL

You are entitled to judicial review of this order. If you wish to appeal the final order, you
must file a petition for review with the Oregon Court of Appeals within 60 days after the final
order is served upon you. See ORS 183.480 e seq.

" The Board modified this paragraph to clarify its rationale.
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BEFORE THE OREGON
STATE BOARD OF NURSING

In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Elizabeth Nganga, APPLICANT ) WITHDRAWAL OF REGISTERED
) NURSE LICENSE APPLICATION

License No. 202202499RN ) Reference No. 2023020070

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurses.
Elizabeth Nganga (Applicant) submitted an application for a Registered Nurse license to the
Board of Nursing on or about March 29, 2023.

On or about August 3, 2021, the Board received information which gave cause for concern
with the transcript Applicant submitted with her application for licensure. Applicants school
was under investigation by the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) for selling fraudulent
diplomas and transcripts. The Board opened an investigation into the matter.

On or around April 27, 2023, Applicant acknowledged the Board’s concern with her transcript
and agreed to withdrawal her application for licensure.

By the above actions, Applicant is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 670.280(1)(a)(b)(3)
and OAR 851-031-0006(1)(a)(B), which read as follows:

670.280 Denial, suspension or revocation of license based on criminal conviction. Denial
of license or imposition of discipline for conduct substantially related to fitness and
ability of applicant or licensee,

(1) As used in this section:

(a) “License” includes a registration, certification or permit.

(b) “Licensee” include a registrant or a holder of a certification or permit.

(3) Except as provided in ORS 342.143 (Issuance of license and registrations) (3) and 342.175
(Grounds for discipline) (3), a licensing board, commission or agency may deny any
occupational or professional license or impose discipline on a license based on conduct that is
not undertaken directly in the course of the licensed activity, but that is substantially related to
the fitness and ability of the applicant or licensee to engage in the activity for which the license
is required. In determining whether the conduct is substantially related to the fitness and
ability of the applicant or licensee to engage in the activity for which the license is required,
the licensing board, commission or agency shall consider the relationship of the facts with
respect to the conduct and all intervening circumstances to the specific occupational or
professional standards. [1973 ¢.359 §1; 1991 ¢.662 §6a; 2003 c.749 §13; 2009 c.386 §5]
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OAR 851-031-0006 General Eligibility Requirements for All Initial Applications for
License, License Renewal, and License Reactivation

(1) Eligibility:

(a) Graduation or program completion from an approved nursing program as documented in an
official transcript or credentials evaluation for graduates of non-Oregon nursing programs.
Graduates of nursing programs will evidence of graduation through Board designated
procedures.

(B) An applicant for the registered nurse examination shall show evidence of having
completed, a state approved pre-licensure, Diploma, Associate Degree, Baccalaureate Degree
or Master’s Degree Program in Nursing.

Applicant wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter. Therefore, the following will be
proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed to by Applicant:

That Elizabeth Nganga’s application for Registered Nurse License be withdrawn.

Applicant understands that this Stipulated Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for
its approval and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Applicant understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, applicant waives the right to an
administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Applicant acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion have
been used to induce applicant to sign this Stipulated Order.

Applicant understands that this Stipulated Order is a document of public record.

Applicant understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions
(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30
days from the date the action was taken.

Applicant has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Stipulated Order completely, and
freely signs this Stipulated Order for Withdrawal of Registered Nurse Application.

IT IS SO AGREED:

Elizabeth Nganga, RN Date
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ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:
BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

Date

6’) 77//.15
L/

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Mackenzie Parrish Civil, CNA ) REPRIMAND
)
License No. 202209365CNA ) Reference No. 2022120092

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Certified Nursing
Assistant’s. Mackenzie Parrish Civil (Certificate Holder) was issued a CNA certificate by the
Board on July 5, 2022.

On or about December 9, 2022, the Board received information that Certificate Holder used
excessive amount of force on an elderly female by grabbing her hands and pushing her away
several times. The patient obtained type 2 skin tears from the action of this CNA.

By the above actions, Certificate Holder is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.442(2)(f)
and OAR 851-063-0090(1)(a)(2)(a)(3)(a)(8)(d).

ORS 678.442 Certification of nursing assistants; rules. (2) In the manner prescribed in ORS
chapter 183, the board may revoke or suspend a certificate issued under this section or may
reprimand a nursing assistant for the following reasons:

(f) Conduct unbecoming a nursing assistant in the performance of duties.

OAR 851-063-0090 Conduct Unbecoming a Nursing Assistant

A CNA, regardless of job location, responsibilities, or use of the title “CNA," whose behavior
fails to conform to the legal standard and accepted standards of the nursing assistant
profession, or who may adversely affect the health, safety or welfare of the public, may be
found guilty of conduct unbecoming a nursing assistant. Such conduct includes but is not
limited to:

(1) Conduct, regardless of setting, related to general fitness to perform nursing assistant
authorized duties:

(a) Demonstrated incidents of violent, abusive, neglectful or reckless behavior; or

(2) Conduct related to achieving and maintaining clinical competency:

(a) Failing to conform to the essential standards of acceptable and prevailing nursing assistant
performance of duties. Actual injury need not be established;

(3) Conduct related to client safety and integrity:

(a) Failing to take action to preserve or promote a person’s safety based on nursing assistant
knowledge, skills, and abilities;

(8) Conduct related to other federal or state statutes/rule violations:

(d) Abusing a person;

Certificate Holder wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter. Therefore, the following
will be proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed to by Certificate Holder:
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That the CNA Certificate of Mackenzie Parrish Civil be reprimanded, with special
conditions of completing PBI CPC-2 (Managing Clinician-patient conflicts) and
CNAZone-Domestic Violence and Elder Abuse within 60 days of the Board signing the
order.

Certificate Holder understands that the conduct resulting in the violations of law described in
this Order are considered by the Board to be of a grave nature and, if continued, constitutes a
serious danger to public health and safety.

Certificate Holder understands that in the event they engage in future conduct resulting in
violations of law or the Nurse Practice Act, the Board may take further disciplinary action
against their CNA certificate, up to and including revocation of their certificate to practice as a
Certified Nursing Assistant.

Certificate Holder understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its
approval and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Certificate Holder understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, they waive the right to an
administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Certificate Holder acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion
have been used to induce them to sign this Order.

Certificate Holder understands that this Order is a document of public record.
Certificate Holder understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse
actions (resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB)

within 30 days from the date the action was taken.

Certificate Holder has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and
freely signs this Stipulated Order for Reprimand.

I o

Mackenzie Parrish Civil, CNA Date

ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:
BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON
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Date

e

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING

President
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) FINAL ORDER OF REVOCATION
Nancy Parrott, CNA ) BY DEFAULT
)
License No. 000032554CNA ) Reference No. 2022100186

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Certified Nursing
Assistants (CNA). Nancy Parrott (Certificate Holder) was issued a CNA Certificate by the
Board on December 19, 2006.

This matter was considered by the Board at its meeting on April 19, 2023.

On April 21, 2023, a Notice stating that the Board intended to Revoke the CNA Certificate of
Nancy Parrott was sent to Certificate Holder via certified and first-class mail to the address of
record.

The Notice alleged that Certificate Holder posted on a social media page a video she made
which was demeaning to a patient. In the video, Certificate Holder recorded herself while on
duty mocking an emergency department patient who was vocalizing in apparent distress.

The Notice granted Certificate Holder an opportunity for hearing if requested within twenty
(20) days of the mailing of the Notice. No such request for hearing has been received by the
Board. The Notice designated the Board’s file on this matter as the record for purposes of
default.

NOW THEREFORE, after consideration of its records and files related to this matter, the
Board enters the following Order:

I-
FINDINGS OF FACT

Based on the evidence submitted through the Notice and the agency file in this case, the Board
finds the following:

1. Nancy Parrott was issued a CNA Certificate in the state of Oregon on December 19,
2006.

2. On or about October 31, 2022, Certificate Holder posted a video online which was
demeaning to a patient in the emergency department where Certificate Holder worked.

Final Order of Revocation by Default; Case No.: 2022100186



3. The video depicted Certificate Holder making faces while listening to the patient who
was moaning and calling out. Certificate Holder created a caption over the video which
said “When a patient has poor coping skills.” Certificate Holder had other social media
posts in which she is shown wearing a name badge which identified her and her
hospital employer.

4. On October 31, 2022, Certificate Holder admitted to her employer that she had
recorded the video and posted it online.

5. On April 21, 2023, Board staff mailed a Notice of Proposed Revocation to Certificate
Holder via first-class and certified mail. The Notice granted her twenty (20) days from
the date of the mailing of the Notice to request a hearing. The Notice also designated
that the agency file would be the record for purposes of default.

-II-

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. That the Board has jurisdiction over the Certificate Holder, Nancy Parrott, and over the
subject matter of this proceeding.

2. That Certificate Holder’s conduct is in violation of ORS 678.442(2)(f) and OAR (851-
063-0090 (2)(a), (3)(g), (8)(h) and (10)(a)(b) which read as follows:

ORS 678.442 Certification of nursing assistants; rules.

(2) In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183, the board may revoke or suspend a
certificate issued under this section or may reprimand a nursing assistant for the
following reasons:

(f) Conduct unbecoming a nursing assistant in the performance of duties.

OAR 851-063-0090 Conduct Unbecoming a Nursing Assistant

(2) Conduct related to achieving and maintaining clinical competency:

(a) Failing to conform to the essential standards of acceptable and prevailing nursing
assistant performance of duties. Actual injury need not be established;

(3) Conduct related to client safety and integrity:

() Failing to respect the dignity and rights of clients, inclusive of social or economic
status, age, race, religion, gender, gender identity, sex, sexual orientation, national
origin, nature of health needs, physical attributes, or disability;

(8) Conduct related to other federal or state statutes/rule violations:

(h) Engaging in other unacceptable behavior towards or in the presence of the client.
Such behavior includes but is not limited to using derogatory names, derogatory or
threatening gestures, or profane language;
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(10) Conduct related to the certificate holder's relationship with the Board:

(a) Failing to fully cooperate with the Board during the course of an investigation,
including but not limited to waiver of confidentiality, except attorney-client privilege.
(c) Failing to provide the Board with any documents requested by the Board].]

3. That Nancy Parrott defaulted on the Notice by not requesting a hearing within the
allotted twenty (20) days and, as a result, pursuant to ORS 183.417(3), the Board may
enter a Final Order by Default.

-II1-
ORDER

Based on the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, and the Board being fully
advised in the premises, it is hereby:

ORDERED that the CNA Certificate of Nancy Parrott is REVOKED.

DATED this Z %& day of May, 2023

FOR THE BOARD OF NURSING OF THE STATE OF OREGON

Judith Woodruff,JD
Board President

TO: Nancy Parrott:

You may file a petition for reconsideration or rehearing of this Order. Reconsideration or
rehearing may be obtained by filing a petition with the Board of Nursing within (sixty) 60 days
from the service of this Order. Your petition shall set forth the specific grounds for
reconsideration. Reconsideration or rehearing is pursuant to the provisions in ORS 183.482.

As an alternative to filing a Petition for Reconsideration of this Order, you are entitled to
judicial review of this Order. Judicial review may be obtained by filing a petition with the
Oregon Court of Appeals for review within sixty (60) days from the date of service of this
Order. Judicial review is pursuant to the provisions of ORS 183.482.

If, after a minimum of three (3) years, you wish to reinstate your CNA Certificate, you may
submit an application to the Board to request reinstatement.
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Renee Reiser, RN )} PRACTICE PROBATION
)
License No. 200742941RN ) Reference No. 21-00194

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurses. Renee
Reiser (Licensee) was issued a Registered Nurse License by the Oregon State Board of
Nursing on August 23, 2007.

On or about September 3, 2020, the Board received information that Licensee failed to
document care on several occasions. The Board opened an investigation into this matter.

By the above actions, Licensee is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.111(1)(f) and
OAR 851-045-0070(2)(a)(4)(2)(c)(C).

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation, reprimand or
censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a contested case:

(1) Issuance of the license to practice nursing, whether by examination or by indorsement, of
any person may be refused or the license may be revoked or suspended or the licensee may be
placed on probation for a period specified by the Oregon State Board of Nursing and subject to
such condition as the board may impose or may be issued a limited license or may be
reprimanded or censured by the board, for any of the following causes:

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing.

OAR 851-045-0070 Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing Defined

Conduct that adversely affects the health, safety, and welfare of the public, fails to conform to
legal nursing standards, or fails to conform to accepted standards of the nursing profession, is
conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing. Such conduct includes, but is not limited to:
(2) Conduct related to achieving and maintaining clinical competency:

(a) Failing to conform to the essential standards of acceptable and prevailing nursing practice.
Actual injury need not be established;

(4) Conduct related to communication:

(a) Failure to accurately document nursing interventions and nursing practice implementation;
(c) Entering inaccurate, incomplete, falsified or altered documentation into a health record or
agency records. This includes but is not limited to:

C) Failing to document information pertinent to a client’s care;

Licensee admits that the above allegations occurred and constitute violations of the Nurse
Practice Act. Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in resolving the present
disciplinary matter. The following will be proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and
is agreed to by Licensee:
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That the Registered Nurse License of Renee Reiser of be placed on Practice Probation. The
Licensee’s compliance with this agreement will be monitored by the Oregon State Board of
Nursing from date of signature on the Stipulated Order. Licensee must complete a twelve (12)
month period of probation to begin upon Licensee’s return to supervised nursing practice at the
level of a Registered Nurse. Licensee must practice a minimum of sixteen (16) hours per week
on average, and no more than one (1.0) FTE in a setting where Licensee is able to exercise the
full extent of scope of duties in order to demonstrate whether or not Licensee is competent.
Limited overtime may be approved on occasion.

Licensee must comply with the following terms and conditions of probation:

1) Licensee shall not violate the Nurse Practice Act (ORS 678) or the rules adopted thereunder.

2) Licensee shall have twenty-four (24) months from Board acceptance of this Stipulated
Order to complete twelve (12) months of monitored practice.

3) Licensee shall notify Board staff, in writing, prior to any change of contact information
which includes address, email address, and phone number.

4) Licensee shall maintain an active license.

5) Licensee shall inform Board staff in advance of any move from Oregon. If Licensee leaves
the State and is unable to practice in the State of Oregon, Licensee’s probationary status will
be re-evaluated. If monitoring is approved and transferred to another Board of Nursing,
Licensee shall successfully complete all requirements of the Board Order of the other
jurisdiction. Licensee shall be required to ensure the Oregon State Board of Nursing receives
quarterly reports documenting the Licensee’s compliance. Failure to comply with this
reporting requirement shall be considered a violation of this Order. While licensee practices in
another state, those hours will only be counted toward her Oregon probation if the position
meets the monitoring requirements per line ten (10) of this stipulated order.

6) Licensee shall maintain monthly contact by phone, electronic or virtual methods to
designated Board staff for interviews during the probationary period. Frequency or type of
contact may be reviewed and revised periodically at the discretion of Board staff. This
includes being required to attend an in-person meeting.

7) Licensee shall notify Board staff of any citations, arrests, or convictions for any offense,
whether a felony, misdemeanor, violation, or citation within ten (10) days of the occurrence.

8) Licensee will not look for, accept, or begin a new nursing position without the approval of
Board staff. This includes changes of the employer itself or changes within the facility or
institution.

9) Licensee shall inform current and prospective employers of the probationary status of

Licensee’s license, the reasons for Licensee’s probation, and terms and conditions of
probation. If there is a Nurse Executive, that person is to be informed of Licensee's
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probationary status. The Nurse Executive will receive a copy of the Stipulated Order for
Probation when Licensee is employed.

10) Licensee shall work under the direct observation of another licensed healthcare
professional, who is aware that the individual is on probation, who is working in the same
physical location (e.g. clinic, unit, building, etc.), is readily available to observe Licensee’s
practice and provide assistance and who has taken the required Board approved
Monitor/Supervisor training. Licensee shall be employed in a setting where Licensee’s nursing
supervisor agrees to submit written evaluations of work performance (on forms provided by
the Board) every three (3) months during the probationary period. The quarterly evaluation is
expected to be received by Board staff within ten (10) days of the due date. If the evaluation is
not timely received, Board staff will contact the employer with a reminder. If Board staff is
not in receipt of the report within five (5) business days from the reminder date, Licensee may
be restricted from practicing as a nurse.

11) Between quarterly reporting periods, the Nurse Executive or a person designated by
Licensee’s employer, shall inform Board staff of any instance of the Licensee’s non-
compliance with the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order, or of any other concern
there may be regarding Licensee’s work-related conduct or personal behavior that may affect
Licensee’s ability to practice as a nurse.

12) Licensee shall notify Board staff when there is a change in status of employment including
resignations, disciplinary actions, and terminations. Licensee shall immediately notify Board
staff if they will be unable to meet the minimum monitored practice requirement of 16 hours
per week or 64 hours per month due to leave from work. The inability to meet the monitored
practice requirement due to leave may extend the probationary period.

13) Licensee shall not work in any practice setting in which on-site monitoring is not available.
This generally includes home health agencies, traveling agencies, nursing float pools,
temporary agencies, assisted living facilities, adult foster care, independent consulting
contracts, home hospice, and night shifts outside of acute care settings.

14) Licensee shall not be a nursing faculty member or an advance practice preceptor.

15) Licensee shall not be approved for enrollment in clinical practicum hours for the purposes
of obtaining an additional degree or license.

16) Licensee shall cease practicing as a nurse if there are concerns about Licensee’s ability to
practice safely or at the request of Board staff. Practice may resume when approved by the
Board staff, in consultation with Licensee’s employer.

17) Licensee shall cooperate fully with the Board in the supervision and investigation of
Licensee’s compliance with the terms and conditions of this Stipulated Order.

Licensee understands that the conduct resulting in the violations of law, described in this
Stipulated Order are considered by the Board to be of a grave nature and if continued,
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constitutes a serious danger to public health and safety.

Licensee also understands that in the event Licensee engages in future conduct resulting in
violations of the law or terms of probation the Board may take further disciplinary action
against Licensee’s license, up to and including revocation of Licensee’s license to practice as a
Registered Nurse.

Licensee understands that this Stipulated Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for
approval and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, Licensee waives the right to an
administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion have
been used to induce Licensee to sign this Stipulated Order.

Licensee understands that this Stipulated Order is a public record.

Licensee understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions
(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30
days from the date the action was taken.

Licensee has read this Stipulated Order, understands the Stipulated Order completely, and
freely signs the Stipulated Order.

IT IS SO AGREED:
N o
Renee Reiser, RN Date

ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:
BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

dith Woodruff, JD
oard President

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Jacqueline Stinnett, ) REPRIMAND OF LICENSE
RN
)
License No. ) Reference No. 2022120230
201907300RN

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurse’s.
Jacqueline Stinnett (Licensee) was issued a Registered Nurse License by the Board on
08/19/2019.

On or about December 27, 2022, the Board received information that Licensee provided the
wrong medication to a patient, which resulted in the patient losing consciousness.

By the above actions, Licensee is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.111(1)(f) and
OAR 851-045-0070(4)(c)(B)(8)(e)(k)

ORS 678.111 Causes for denial, revocation or suspension of license or probation, reprimand or
censure of licensee. In the manner prescribed in ORS chapter 183 for a contested case:

(1) Issuance of the license to practice nursing, whether by examination or by endorsement, of
any person may be refused or the license may be revoked or suspended or the licensee may be
placed on probation for a period specified by the Oregon State Board of Nursing and subject to
such condition as the board may impose or may be issued a limited license or may be
reprimanded or censured by the board, for any of the following causes:

(f) Conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing.

OAR 851-045-0070 Conduct Derogatory to the Standards of Nursing Defined

Conduct that adversely affects the health, safety, and welfare of the public, fails to conform to
legal nursing standards, or fails to conform to accepted standards of the nursing profession, is
conduct derogatory to the standards of nursing. Such conduct includes, but is not limited to:
(4) Conduct related to communication

(c) Entering inaccurate, incomplete, falsified or altered documentation into a health record or
agency records. This includes but is not limited to:

(B) Documenting the provision of services that were not provided;

(8) Conduct related to other federal or state statute or rule violations:

(e) Neglecting a client;

(k) Possessing, obtaining, attempting to obtain, furnishing, or administering prescription or
controlled medications to any person, including self, except as directed by a person authorized
by law to prescribe medications;

Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter. Therefore, the following will be
proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed to by Licensee:
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That the Registered Nurse License of Jacqueline Stinnett be reprimanded.

Licensee understands that the conduct resulting in the violations of law described in this Order
are considered by the Board to be of a grave nature and, if continued, constitutes a serious
danger to public health and safety.

Licensee understands that in the event licensee engages in future conduct resulting in
violations of law or the Nurse Practice Act, the Board may take further disciplinary action
against her license, up to and including revocation of her license to practice as a Registered
Nurse.

Licensee understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its approval
and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, licensee waives the right to an
administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or appeal
thereof. Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion have
been used to induce her to sign this Order.

Licensee understands that this Order is a document of public record.
Licensee understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions
(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30

days from the date the action was taken.

Licensee has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and freely signs
this Stipulated Order for Reprimand.

I o0

Jacqueline Stinnett, Date
RN
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ORDER

IT IS SO ORDERED:

OARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

h Woodruff, JD
ard President

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING

Page 1 of 3 - Stipulated Order for Reprimand; 2022120230



BEFORE THE OREGON
STATE BOARD OF NURSING

)
In the Matter of ) FINAL ORDER OF REVOCATION

David Wright, CNA ) BY DEFAULT

)

)
Certificate No. 000008218CNA ) Reference No. 23-00233

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Certified Nursing
Assistants. David Wright (Certificate Holder) was issued a Certified Nursing Assistant
Certificate by the Board on January 01, 1990.

This matter was considered by the Board at its meeting on May 17, 2023.

On April 20, 2023, a Notice stating that the Board intended to Revoke the Certified Nursing
Assistant Certificate of David Wright was sent to Certificate Holder via certified and first-class
mail to the address of record.

The Notice alleged that Certificate Holder on or about September 19, 2023, Licensee was
reported to the Board for unprofessional conduct. The Board opened an investigation into the
matter. The Board alleges that on or about February 23, 2023, the Board issued an Order For
Mental Disorder Evaluation to licensee. The order was sent via USPS First class and Certified
mail on February 27, 2023. The Certified mail return receipt was received by board staff, it
was signed by licensee. Licensee failed to follow the Board order and never contacted Board
staff within 30 days or schedule an evaluation.

The Notice granted Certificate Holder an opportunity for hearing if requested within twenty
(20) days of the mailing of the Notice. No such request for hearing has been received by the
Board. The Notice designated the Board’s file on this matter as the record for purposes of
default.

NOW THEREFORE, after consideration of its records and files related to this matter, the
Board enters the following Order:

-I-
FINDINGS OF FACT

Based on the evidence submitted through the Notice and the agency file in this case, the Board
finds the following:

1. Certificate Holder was issued a Certified Nursing Assistant Certificate in the state of
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Oregon on January 01, 1990.

2. On or about September 19, 2023, Licensee was reported to the Board for
unprofessional conduct. The Board opened an investigation into the matter.

3. On or about September 19, 2023, Licensee was reported to the Board for
unprofessional conduct. The Board opened an investigation into the matter.

4. The Board alleges that on or about February 23, 2023, the Board issued an Order For
Mental Disorder Evaluation to licensee. The order was sent via USPS First class and
Certified mail on February 27, 2023. The Certified mail return receipt was received by
board staff, it was signed by licensee. Licensee failed to follow the Board order and
never contacted Board staff within 30 days or schedule an evaluation.

5. On April 20, 2023, Board staff mailed a Notice of Proposed Revocation to Certificate
Holder via first-class and certified mail. The Notice granted Certificate Holder twenty
(20) days from the date of the mailing of the Notice to request a hearing. The Notice
also designated that the agency file would be the record for purposes of default.

-II-
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. That the Board has jurisdiction over the Certificate Holder, David Wright, and over the
subject matter of this proceeding.

2, That Certificate Holder’s conduct is in violation of ORS 670.280(1)(a)(b)(2)(3), and
OAR 851-063-0090(10)(d) which read as follows:

ORS 670.280 Denial, suspension or revocation of license based on criminal conviction; denial
of license or imposition of discipline for conduct substantially related to fitness and ability of
applicant or licensee. (1) As used in this section:

(a) “License” includes a registration, certification or permit.

(b) “Licensee” includes a registrant or a holder of a certification or permit.

(2) Except as provided in ORS 342.143 (3) or 342.175 (3), a licensing board, commission or
agency may not deny, suspend or revoke an occupational or professional license solely for the
reason that the applicant or licensee has been convicted of a crime, but it may consider the
relationship of the facts which support the conviction and all intervening circumstances to the
specific occupational or professional standards in determining the fitness of the person to
receive or hold the license.

(3) Except as provided in ORS 342.143 (3) and 342.175 (3), a licensing board, commission or
agency may deny an occupational or professional license or impose discipline on a licensee
based on conduct that is not undertaken directly in the course of the licensed activity, but that
is substantially related to the fitness and ability of the applicant or licensee to engage in the
activity for which the license is required. In determining whether the conduct is substantially
related to the fitness and ability of the applicant or licensee to engage in the activity for which
the license is required, the licensing board, commission or agency shall consider the
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relationship of the facts with respect to the conduct and all intervening circumstances to the
specific occupational or professional standards.

OAR 851-063-0090 Conduct Unbecoming a Nursing Assistant

A CNA, regardless of job location, responsibilities, or use of the title “CNA," whose behavior
fails to conform to the legal standard and accepted standards of the nursing assistant
profession, or who may adversely affect the health, safety or welfare of the public, may be
found guilty of conduct unbecoming a nursing assistant. Such conduct includes but is not
limited to: (10) Conduct related to the certification holder’s relationship with the Board:

(d) Violating the terms and conditions of a Board order.

3. That Certificate Holder defaulted on the Notice by not requesting a hearing within the

allotted twenty (20) days and, as a result, pursuant to ORS 183.417(3), the Board may enter a
Final Order by Default.

-111-
ORDER

Based on the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, and the Board being fully
advised in the premises, it is hereby:

ORDERED that the Certified Nursing Assistant Certificate of David Wright is REVOKED.

DATED this 17th day of May, 2023

FOR THE BOARD OF NURSING OF THE STATE OF OREGON

Judit \
Board President
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TO: DAVID WRIGHT:

You may file a petition for reconsideration or rehearing of this Order. Reconsideration or
rehearing may be obtained by filing a petition with the Board of Nursing within (sixty) 60 days
from the service of this Order. Your petition shall set forth the specific grounds for
reconsideration. Reconsideration or rehearing is pursuant to the provisions in ORS 183.482.

As an alternative to filing a Petition for Reconsideration of this Order, you are entitled to
judicial review of this Order. Judicial review may be obtained by filing a petition with the
Oregon Court of Appeals for review within sixty (60) days from the date of service of this
Order. Judicial review is pursuant to the provisions of ORS 183.482.

If, after a minimum of three (3) years, you wish to reinstate your Certified Nursing Assistant
Certificate, you may submit an application to the Board to request reinstatement.
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BEFORE THE OREGON

STATE BOARD OF NURSING
In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR
Nicole Wytcherley, CNA ) VOLUNTARY SURRENDER
)
License No. 202009311CNA ) Reference No. 2022100111

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including CNA’s. Nicole Wytcherley
was issued a CNA certificate by the Board on 10/13/2020.

On or about October 18, 2022, the Board received information that CNA failed to notify the
Board of their criminal arrest for Sexual Abuse 1.

By the above actions, CNA Wytcherley is subject to discipline pursuant to ORS 678.442(f)
and OAR 851-063-0090(8)(n).

ORS 678.442 Certification of nursing assistants; rules. (2) In the manner prescribed in ORS
chapter 183, the board may revoke or suspend a certificate issued under this section or may
reprimand a nursing assistant for the following reasons: (f) Conduct unbecoming a nursing
assistant in the performance of duties.

OAR 851-063-0090 Conduct Unbecoming a Nursing Assistant

A CNA, regardless of job location, responsibilities, or use of the title “CNA," whose behavior
fails to conform to the legal standard and accepted standards of the nursing assistant
profession, or who may adversely affect the health, safety or welfare of the public, may be
found guilty of conduct unbecoming a nursing assistant. Such conduct includes but is not
limited to:

(8) Conduct related to other federal or state statutes/rule violations:

(n) Failure to report to the Board the CNA’s arrest for a felony crime within ten days of the
arrest; or

CNA wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter and voluntarily surrender their CAN
Certificate.

Therefore, the following will be proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed
to by Certificate Holder:

That the voluntary surrender of the CNA certificate of Nicole Wytcherley be accepted.
If, after a minimum of three years, Nicole Wytcherley wishes to reinstate their CNA
certificate, Nicole Wytcherley may submit an application to the Board to request
reinstatement.
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Certificate Holder agrees that they will not practice as a CNA from the date the Order is
signed.

Certificate Holder understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its
approval and is subject to the Board's confirmation.

Certificate Holder understands that by signing this Stipulated Order, Nicole Wytcherley
waives the right to an administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any
Judicial review or appeal thereof. Certificate Holder acknowledges that no promises,
representations, duress or coercion have been used to induce the signing of this Order.

Nicole Wytcherley understands that this Order is a document of public record.

Licensee understands that federal law requires state licensing boards to report adverse actions
(resulting from formal proceeding) to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) within 30
days from the date the action was taken.

Nicole Wytcherley has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and
freely signs this Stipulated Order for Voluntary Surrender.

04/26/23

Nicole Wytcherley, CNA Date

ORDER
IT IS SO ORDERED:
BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON

5, //?// 23
Voodruff, JD / Date / /
BoArd President

PLEASE RETURN ALL PAGES OF THIS STIPULATED ORDER AFTER SIGNING

Page 2 of 2 - Stipulated Order for Voluntary Surrender; 2022100111



	Bates_K_2023030017_SignedSOSuspensionProbation_Redacted
	Blondo_D_2022100082_SignedSOReprimand_Redacted
	Carter_S_SignedSOReprimandConditions_Redacted
	Casperson_P_2022120185_SignedSOVS_Redacted
	Donnelly_P_2022110187_SignedSOCP_Redacted
	Duell_S_23-00092_SignedSOProbation_Redacted
	Ford_J_23-00103_SignedSOVS_Redacted
	Fore_D_2023030182_SignedSOVS_Redacted
	Garboden_A_22-00687_SignedFOCP_Redacted
	Hennebeck_F_2023010029_SignedSOCP_Redacted
	Jimenez_M_23-00237_SignedFORevocation_Redacted
	Larson_R_SignedSOProbation_Redacted
	Malos_R_21-01073_SignedFORevocationDefault_Redacted
	McCreary_K_23-00121_SignedSOReprimand_Redacted
	Mcguffin_E_2023030180_SignedSOVS_Redacted
	Meeks_A_2023010109_SignedSOProbationRe-Entry_Redacted
	Mitchell_R_2022110212_SignedSOReprimand_Redacted
	Montiel_J_2022100022_SignedSOReprimand_Redacted
	Moreno Alvarado_S_22-00112_SignedFODenial_Redacted
	Nganga_E_2023020070_SignedSOWithdrawal_Redacted
	Parrish Civil_M_20221200092_SignedSOReprimand_Redacted
	Parrott_N_2022100186_SignedFORevocation_Redacted
	Reiser_R_21-00194_SignedSOProbation_Redacted
	Stinnett_J_2022120230_SignedSOReprimand_Redacted
	Wright_David_23-00233_SignedFORevocationDefault_Redacted
	Wytcherley_N_2022100111_SignedSOVS_Redacted



