
EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR 

NITROUS OXIDE, MINIMAL SEDATION, MODERATE SEDATION & 
GENERAL ANESTHESIA PERMITS 

No dentist or dental hygienist will be granted a permit to administer sedation or general anesthesia without primary 
source verification of training/education in the permit category for which the applicant is applying. In addition to 
completing an application, verification of training must be sent to the Oregon Board of Dentistry directly by the school or 
program. Verification of training submitted by the applicant will not be accepted. 

Additional requirements may apply depending on the length of time since the applicant completed their sedation 
training. See below:  

1. If initial training/education was completed within the immediate two (2) years prior to applying for a sedation or
general anesthesia permit, no additional documentation is required.

2. If initial training/education was completed greater than two years prior, but within the immediate five (5) years
prior to applying for a sedation or general anesthesia permit, the applicant must provide documentation of all
continuing education that would have been required for the permit category in the time period since completing initial
training (see Division 26 of the Oregon Dental Practice Act):

• Nitrous Oxide - Four (4) hours per biennial cycle (two hours per calendar year for the purposes of this
application)

• Minimal Sedation - Four (4) hours per biennial cycle (two hours per calendar year for the purposes of
this application)

• Moderate Sedation - 14 hours per biennial cycle (seven hours per calendar year for the purposes of this
application)

• General Anesthesia - 14 hours per biennial cycle (seven hours per calendar year for the purposes of this
application)

or 

3. If initial training/education was completed greater than five (5) years prior to applying for a sedation or general

Provide documentation of completion of a comprehensive review course approved by the Board in the permit 
category to which the applicant is applying and must consist of at least one-half (50) % of the hours required 
by rule for a Nitrous Oxide (7 hours), Minimal Sedation (8 hours), Enteral Moderate Sedation (12 hours), and 
Parenteral Moderate  Sedation (30 hours) Permit. General Anesthesia Permits will require at least 120 hours 
of general anesthesia training. 

anesthesia permit, the applicant must provide primary source verification from another state that the applicant is 
actively licensed in that state and holds the level of permit being applied for in Oregon, and; 
Provide chart notes verifying the completion of at least 25 cases in the requested level of sedation or general 
anesthesia in the 12 months immediately preceding application.

or 
Demonstration of competency to the satisfaction of the Board that the applicant possesses adequate sedation or 
general anesthesia skill to safely deliver sedation or general anesthesia services to the public.

https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=3691


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
 PLEASE REFER TO THE INFORMATION BELOW TO ADDRESS OUR MOST COMMONLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

AS YOU COMPLETE YOUR APPLICATION
Where / how do I send in my completed application?
Permit applications must be mailed along with the applicable fee to the following address: 

Oregon Board of Dentistry, Unit 23, PO Box 4395. Portland, OR. 97208-4395

How do I pay for my application and how much does it cost?
The fee amount can be found on the first page of the application. Permit applications fees must be paid in the form of a cashier's check or 
money order made payable to the Oregon Board of Dentistry. We are not able to accept credit or debit payments at this time. You must mail 
your payment along with your application to the address indicated above. 

How long will it take before I receive my permit?
Sedation and general anesthesia permit applications are reviewed by multiple members of our staff and Board, and the review process is 
quite extensive. Please anticipate approximately 3-6 weeks for application processing. 

How will I know the status of my application, or when my permit has been approved?
You will be notified by email if additional information is required for your application, and once your permit has been issued. Please ensure 
that you provide a valid email address on your application. You may also submit a 'check status' form, which can be found under the 
'applicants' section on our website. Please do not call our office to check the status of your application.

What if I don't have a job yet and don't have an informed consent form, health history form, and medical emergency protocols?
You will need to attach these items even if you do not have a job currently. You may use the forms that you used in school, at a previous job, 
forms found on the internet etc., or you may create your own forms. 

If I want to administer minimal /moderate sedation, do I need to apply for a nitrous oxide permit as well?
No. A minimal, moderate or general anesthesia permit will cover the lower levels of sedation. 

What type of documentation is required to verify my sedation or general anesthesia training?
Verification of training must be in the form of a letter/email sent directly to the OBD by the school/program, and must verify certain information 
specific to the level of permit being applied for. Transcripts are not sufficient. See the required language for letters of verification for each permit 
type below: 

NITROUS OXIDE:
• The applicant completed a training 

course of at least 14 hours of 
instruction specific to nitrous oxide 
as part of completion of a CODA-
accredited dental school-based 
degree program, or CODA-
accredited dental hygiene degree 
program, or as a postgraduate in 
an OBD-approved course.

• Of those 14+ hours, how many 
hours were didactic, and how 
many hours were clinical.

• The date on which the applicant 
completed the training course(s).

MINIMAL SEDATION:
• The applicant completed a 

comprehensive training program in 
minimal sedation consisting of at 
least 16 hours of training including 
a hands-on component*, and;

• The applicant completed minimal 
sedation training that satisfies the 
requirements of the current ADA 
“Guidelines for Teaching Pain 
Control and Sedation to Dentists 
and Dental Students” at the time 
training was commenced or 
postgraduate instruction was 
completed, and;

• The date on which the applicant 
completed this training.

*Minimal sedation courses that do 
not contain a hands-on component 
will not be accepted

MODERATE SEDATION:
• The applicant completed an ADA-

accredited postdoctoral training 
program (or other comprehensive 
training program in enteral  or 
parenteral moderate sedation), and;

• As a part of that program, the 
applicant completed moderate 
sedation training that satisfies the 
requirements described in Part V of 
the current ADA “Guidelines for 
Teaching Pain Control and 
Sedation to Dentists and Dental 
Students”, and;

• For enteral: The training included a 
minimum of at least 24 hours of 
instruction plus management of at 
least 10 dental patient experiences 
by the enteral and/or enteral-nitrous 
oxide/oxygen route, or;

• For parenteral: The training 
included a minimum of at least 60 
hours of instruction plus 
management of at least 20 dental 
patient experiences by the 
intravenous route, and;

• The date on which the applicant 
completed this training.

GENERAL ANESTHESIA:
• The applicant completed either:

An ADA-accredited postdoctoral 
training program (including, but not 
limited to, Oral and Maxillofacial 
Surgery) which affords 
comprehensive and appropriate 
training necessary to administer 
and manage general anesthesia, or;

• Another advanced training program 
in general anesthesia and related 
subjects beyond the undergraduate 
dental curriculum, and; 

• The training satisfies the 
requirements in the current ADA 
“Guidelines for Teaching Pain 
Control and Sedation to Dentists 
and Dental Students”, and;

• The date on which the applicant 
completed this training.



*FEE $40.00*

Rev. Code 2131 

The Oregon Board of Dentistry understands that protocols and forms may change throughout your career, however, if 
you are not currently practicing but wish to apply for a nitrous oxide permit you may use the protocols and forms used 

in your dental or dental hygiene programs, or you may also prepare your own forms to attach to the nitrous oxide permit 

application. 

Please note: 

Any of the following will result in automatic rejection of the application and delay the application process: 

• Handwritten applications are unacceptable.  Application must be typed.

• Copying or duplicating another licensee’s application in part or in total.

• Questions are not answered completely. Answers typically are expected to be ⅓ to ½ page long and succinct,

except where a longer answer is appropriate.

• Missing forms, certificates, or proof of training.

• Copying, cutting and/or pasting from other written material into the application or listing “see attached”. (i.e.,

literature, DPA, publications). Applications must be completed using your own protocols.

I have read and understand the above information: 
SIGNATURE 

If you have any questions, please contact the Board office at licensing@obd.oregon.gov or 971-673-3200. 

I. TRAINING

1) Describe and submit evidence of your formal training in nitrous oxide.  Evidence must be provided directly from the

program, to the Oregon Board of Dentistry (use additional sheets if necessary) and submit a copy of your current

Healthcare Provider BLS/CPR level, or its equivalent, certification. Use additional sheets if necessary.

TITLE OF 

COURSE DATE 

HOURS 

(CLINIC) 

HOURS 

(CLASSROOM) 

SPONSORING 

INSTITUTION OR 

LOCATION 

1 

Rev. January 2022 

MAIL APPLICATION AND FEE TO: 
Oregon Board of Dentistry
Unit 23
PO Box 4395
Portland, OR 97208

NITROUS OXIDE 
PERMIT APPLICATION

NAME: _________________________________________ EMAIL: __________________________________________

MAILING ADDRESS: _______________________________________________________________________________

CITY: _________________________ STATE: ______________________________ ZIP CODE: ___________________

BUSINESS ADDRESS: _____________________________________________________________________________

CITY: _________________________ STATE: ______________________________ ZIP CODE: ___________________

OREGON LICENSE NUMBER: ________________
IF NONE, LEAVE BLANK

mailto:licensing@obd.oregon.gov
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2) Describe the formal education and in-office training your anesthesia assistant(s) has/have (If you do not currently have

such personnel, you may respond “N/A”). N/A: _______
TITLE OF 
COURSE 

DATE HOURS 
(CLINIC) 

HOURS 
(CLASSROOM) 

SPONSORING 
INSTITUTION OR 

LOCATION 

3) Provide copies of your anesthesia assistant’s (s’) valid and current Healthcare Provider BLS/CPR-level course
completion documentation, or its equivalent (If you do not currently have such personnel, you may respond “N/A”).
N/A: _______

4) Briefly, but thoroughly, describe your minimum training standards for personnel who assist you with anesthesia.
(Answer as if you do have personnel who assist you with anesthesia, even if you do not currently have such

personnel).

II. PREOPERATIVE

1) Briefly, but thoroughly, describe your preoperative evaluation procedures. (Make sure to provide ASA patient physical status
classification information for patients, relevant to the item/information requested).

2) Describe your minimum health standards for nitrous oxide administration, and how you document your preoperative
evaluation.(Make sure to provide ASA patient physical status classification information for patients, relevant to the item/
information requested).

3) List contraindications for nitrous oxide administration.



3 

4) What pre-induction instructions do you give patients? Do you have an instruction sheet which you give the patient? (Attach a
copy).

5) Attach a copy of your informed consent form.  If you do not use an informed consent form, please attach a separate sheet
detailing how you obtain and document informed consent for nitrous oxide.

6) Attach a copy of your health history form.

7) Attach a copy of your written emergency protocols.  Provide specific protocols for each of the more probable
(approximately 8 – 13) medical emergencies. This written protocol should comprehensively and concisely review what is
currently taught in medical emergency lectures.

III. OPERATIVE

Describe your nitrous oxide administration procedures, listing dosages used, and documentation of monitoring. 

IV. POSTOPERATIVE

Describe your standards for discharge. 

Informed consent attached: _____  Health history form attached: _____  Emergency protocols attached: _____
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V. EMERGENCY 

1) Describe your emergency protocol (i.e., timeline or algorithm) and explain what responsibilities your staff members have.

2) Yes No. If yes, how often? Do you have regularly scheduled emergency drills?

Date of most recent drill:                           ̀̀̀̀̀̀̀̀̀̀̀̀̀̀̀̀

3) Describe your emergency kit.

a) List the drugs it contains, and the usage for each drug.

b) What airway emergency equipment is available?

c) How do you ensure emergency kit contents are kept current?

I certify that the above statements are true and pursuant to OAR 818-026-0110, I acknowledge that by applying for a permit, I 
consent to the conduct of office evaluations. 

Signature    Date   

NOTE: Under ORS 679.170(5), willfully making a material false statement on this application is grounds for discipline. 

INye
Highlight
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818-026-0000 
Purpose 

DIVISION 26 

ANESTHESIA 

or accompanied by light tactile stimulation. No 

interventions are required to maintain a patent airway, 

and spontaneous ventilation is adequate. Cardiovascular 

function is usually maintained. 

(6) “Minimal Sedation” means minimally depressed 

level of consciousness, produced by non-intravenous 

(1) These rules apply to the administration of 

substances that produce general anesthesia, deep 

sedation, moderate sedation, minimal sedation or 

nitrous oxide sedation in patients being treated by 

licensees. These regulations are not intended to prohibit 

training programs for licensees or to prevent persons 

from taking necessary action in case of an emergency. 

(2) Nothing in this Division relieves a licensee from 

the standards imposed by ORS 679.140(1)(e) and 

679.140(4). 

 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) 

Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, 

f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 

10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1- 

2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13, 

cert. ef. 7-1-13 

 
818-026-0010 
Definitions 

As used in these rules: 

(1) "Anesthesia Monitor" means a person trained in 

monitoring patients under sedation and capable of 

assisting with procedures, problems and emergency 

incidents that may occur as a result of the sedation or 

secondary to an unexpected medical complication. 

(2) "Anxiolysis" means the diminution or 

elimination of anxiety. 

(3) “General Anesthesia” means a drug-induced loss 

of consciousness during which patients are not 

arousable, even by painful stimulation. The ability to 

independently maintain ventilatory function is often 

impaired. Patients often require assistance in 

maintaining a patent airway, and positive pressure 

ventilation may be required because of depressed 

spontaneous ventilation or drug-induced depression of 

neuromuscular function. Cardiovascular function may 

be impaired. 

(4) “Deep Sedation” means a drug-induced 

depression of consciousness during which patients 

cannot be easily aroused but respond purposefully 

following repeated or painful stimulation. The ability to 

independently maintain ventilatory function may be 

impaired. Patients may require assistance in maintaining 

a patent airway, and spontaneous ventilation may be 

inadequate. Cardiovascular function is usually 

maintained. 

(5) “Moderate Sedation” means a drug-induced 

depression of consciousness during which patients 

respond purposefully to verbal commands, either alone 

pharmacological  methods,  that  retains  the  patient’s 

ability to independently and continuously maintain an 

airway and respond normally to tactile stimulation and 

verbal command. When the intent is minimal sedation 

for adults, the appropriate initial dosing of a single non- 

intravenous pharmacological method is no more than 

the maximum recommended dose (MRD) of a drug that 

can be prescribed for unmonitored home use. Nitrous 

oxide/oxygen may be used in combination with a single 

non-intravenous pharmacological method in minimal 

sedation. 

(7) “Nitrous Oxide Sedation” means an induced, 

controlled state of minimal sedation, produced solely by 

the inhalation of a combination of nitrous oxide and 

oxygen in which the patient retains the ability to 

independently and continuously maintain an airway and 

to respond purposefully to physical stimulation and to 

verbal command. 

(8) “Maximum recommended dose” (MRD) means 

maximum Food and Drug Administration (FDA) 

recommended dose of a drug, as printed in FDA 

approved labeling for unmonitored use. 

(9) “Incremental Dosing” means during minimal 

sedation, administration of multiple doses of a drug until 

a desired effect is reached, but not to exceed the 

maximum recommended dose (MRD). 

(10) “Supplemental Dosing” means during minimal 

sedation, supplemental dosing is a single additional dose 

of the initial drug that is necessary for prolonged 

procedures. The supplemental dose should not exceed 

one-half of the initial dose and should not be 

administered until the dentist has determined the clinical 

half-life of the initial dosing has passed. The total 

aggregate dose must not exceed 1.5x the MRD on the 

day of treatment. 

(11) “Enteral Route” means administration of 

medication via the gastrointestinal tract. Administration 

by mouth, sublingual (dissolving under the tongue), 

intranasal and rectal administration are included. 

(12) “Parenteral Route” means administration of 

medication via a route other than enteral. 

Administration by intravenous, intramuscular, and 

subcutaneous routes are included. 

(13) American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) 

Patient Physical Status Classification System. 
(a) ASA I “A normal healthy patient”. 

(b) ASA II “A patient with mild systemic disease”. 

(c) ASA III “A patient with severe systemic 

disease”. 
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(d) ASA IV “A patient with severe systemic disease 

that is a constant threat to life”. 

(e) ASA V “A moribund patient who is not expected 

to survive without the operation”. 

(f) ASA VI “A declared brain-dead patient whose 

organs are being removed for donor purposes". 

 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) 

Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, 

f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 

10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1- 

2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 2-2018, f. 10/4/18, 

cert. ef. 1/1/19 

 
818-026-0020 

Presumption of Degree of Central Nervous System 

Depression 

(1) In any hearing where a question exists as to the 

degree of central nervous system depression a licensee 

has induced (i.e., general anesthesia, deep sedation, 

moderate sedation, minimal sedation or nitrous oxide 

sedation), the Board may base its findings on, among 

other things, the types, dosages and routes of 

administration of drugs administered to the patient and 
what result can reasonably be expected from those drugs 

in those dosages and routes administered in a patient of 

that physical and psychological status. 

(2) The following drugs are conclusively presumed 

to produce general anesthesia and may only be used by 

a licensee holding a General Anesthesia Permit: 

(a) Ultra short acting barbiturates including, but not 

limited to, sodium methohexital, thiopental, thiamylal; 

(b) Alkylphenols — propofol (Diprivan) including 

precursors or derivatives; 
(c) Neuroleptic agents; 

(d) Dissociative agents — ketamine; 

(e) Etomidate; and 

(f) Volatile inhalational agents. 

(3) No permit holder shall have more than one 

person under any form of sedation or general anesthesia 

at the same time exclusive of recovery. 

(4) A licensee that does not hold a Moderate, Deep 

Sedation or General Anesthesia Permit may not 

administer, for purpose of anxiolysis or sedation, 

Benzodiazepines or narcotics in children under 6 years 

of age. 

(5) A licensee must ensure a written emergency 

response protocol is in place for all patients undergoing 

nitrous oxide, minimal sedation, moderate sedation, 

deep sedation or general anesthesia. 

 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) 

Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, 

f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 

10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1- 

2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13, 

cert. ef. 7-1-13; OBD 4-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16; OBD 
2-2018, f. 10/4/18, cert. ef. 1/1/19 

 
818-026-0030 
Requirements for Anesthesia Permits 

(1) A permit holder who administers sedation shall 

assure that drugs, drug dosages, and/or techniques used 

to produce sedation shall carry a margin of safety wide 

enough to prevent unintended deeper levels of sedation. 

(2) No licensee shall induce central nervous system 

sedation or general anesthesia without first having 

obtained a permit under these rules for the level of 

anesthesia being induced. 

(3) A licensee may be granted a permit to administer 

sedation or general anesthesia with documentation of 

training/education and/or competency in the permit 

category for which the licensee is applying by any one 

the following: 

(a) Initial training/education in the permit category 

for which the applicant is applying shall be completed 

no more than two years immediately prior to application 

for sedation or general anesthesia permit; or 

(b) If greater than two years but less than five years 

since completion of initial training/education, an 

applicant must document completion of all continuing 

education that would have been required for that 

anesthesia/permit category during that five year period 

following initial training; or 

(c) If greater than two years but less than five years 

since completion of initial training/education, 

immediately prior to application for sedation or general 

anesthesia permit, current competency or experience 

must be documented by completion of a comprehensive 

review course approved by the Board in the permit 

category to which the applicant is applying and must 

consist of at least one-half (50%) of the hours required 

by rule for Nitrous Oxide, Minimal Sedation, Moderate 

Sedation and General Anesthesia Permits. Deep 

Sedation and General Anesthesia Permits will require at 

least 120 hours of general anesthesia training. 

(d) An applicant for sedation or general anesthesia 

permit whose completion of initial training/education is 

greater than five years immediately prior to application, 

may be granted a sedation or general anesthesia permit 

by submitting documentation of the requested permit 

level from another state or jurisdiction where the 

applicant is also licensed to practice dentistry or dental 

hygiene, and provides documentation of the completion 

of at least 25 cases in the requested level of sedation or 

general anesthesia in the 12 months immediately 

preceding application; or 

(e) Demonstration of current competency to the 

satisfaction of the Board that the applicant possesses 

adequate sedation or general anesthesia skill to safely 

deliver sedation or general anesthesia services to the 

public. 



3 – Div. 26  

(4) A licensee holding a nitrous or minimal sedation 

permit, shall at all times maintain a current BLS for 

Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent. 

(5) A licensee holding an anesthesia permit for 

moderate sedation, deep sedation or general anesthesia 

at all times maintains a current BLS for Healthcare 

Providers certificate or its equivalent, and a current 

Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) Certificate or 

Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) Certificate, 

whichever is appropriate for the patient being sedated. 

If a licensee permit holder sedates only patients under 

the age of 12, only PALS is required. If a licensee permit 

holder sedates only patients age 12 and older, only 

ACLS is required. If a licensee permit holder sedates 

patients younger than 12 years of age as well as older 

than 12 years of age, both ACLS and PALS are required. 

For licensees with a moderate sedation permit only, 

successful completion of the American Dental 

Association’s course “Recognition and Management of 

Complications during Minimal and Moderate Sedation” 

at least every two years may be substituted for ACLS, 

but not for PALS. 

(6) Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) and or 

Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) do not serve 

as a substitute for Health Care Provider Basic Life 

Support (BLS). 

(7) When a dentist utilizes a single oral agent to 

achieve anxiolysis only, no anesthesia permit is 

required. 

(8) The applicant for an anesthesia permit must pay 

the appropriate permit fee, submit a completed Board- 

approved application and consent to an office 

evaluation. 

(9) Permits shall be issued to coincide with the 

applicant's licensing period. 

 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 Stats. 

Implemented: ORS 679.250 
Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 3-2003, 

f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 

2-1-05; OBD 2-2005, f. 1-31-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 3- 

2005, f. 10-26-05, cert. ef. 11-1-05; OBD 1-2008, f. 11-10-08, 

cert. ef. 12-1-08; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; 

OBD 2-2012, f. 6-14-12, cert. ef. 7-1-12; OBD 2-2016, f. 11- 

2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17; OBD 2-2018, f. 10/4/18, cert. ef. 1/1/19, 

OBD 2-2019, f. 10/29/2019, cert. ef. 1/1/2020 

 
818-026-0035 
Classes of Anesthesia Permit 
The Board shall issue the following classes of permits: 

(1) A Nitrous Oxide Permit authorizes a dental 

hygienist or a dentist to induce nitrous oxide sedation. 

(2) A Minimal Sedation Permit authorizes a dentist 

to induce minimal sedation and nitrous oxide sedation. 

(3) A Moderate Sedation Permit authorizes a dentist 

to induce moderate sedation, minimal sedation and 

nitrous oxide sedation. 

(4) A Deep Sedation Permit authorizes a dentist to 

induce deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal 

sedation, and nitrous oxide sedation. The Board shall 

issue a Deep Sedation Permit to a licensee who holds a 

Class 3 Permit on or before July 1, 2010. 

(5) A General Anesthesia Permit authorizes a 

dentist to induce general anesthesia, deep sedation, 

moderate sedation, minimal sedation and nitrous oxide 

sedation. 

 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) 

Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, 

f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; Administrative correction 8-12-99; 

OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1- 

28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1- 

10 

 

818-026-0040 

Qualifications, Standards Applicable, and 

Continuing Education Requirements for Anesthesia 

Permits: Nitrous Oxide Permit 
Nitrous Oxide Sedation. 

(1) The Board shall issue a Nitrous Oxide Permit to 

an applicant who: 

(a) Is either a licensed dentist or licensed hygienist 

in the State of Oregon; 

(b) Maintains a current BLS for Healthcare 

Providers certificate or its equivalent; and 

(c) Has completed a training course of at least 14 

hours of instruction in the use of nitrous oxide from a 

dental school or dental hygiene program accredited by 

the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the 

American Dental Association, or as a postgraduate. 

(2) The following facilities, equipment and drugs 

shall be on site and available for immediate use during 

the procedure and during recovery: 

(a) An operating room large enough to adequately 

accommodate the patient on an operating table or in an 

operating chair and to allow delivery of appropriate care 

in an emergency situation; 

(b) An operating table or chair which permits the 

patient to be positioned so that the patient's airway can 

be maintained, quickly alter the patient's position in an 

emergency, and provide a firm platform for the 

administration of basic life support; 

(c) A lighting system which permits evaluation of 

the patient's skin and mucosal color and a backup 

lighting system of sufficient intensity to permit 

completion of any operation underway in the event of a 

general power failure; 

(d) Suction equipment which permits aspiration of 

the oral and pharyngeal cavities and a backup suction 

device which will function in the event of a general 

power failure; 

(e) An oxygen delivery system with adequate full 

face masks and appropriate connectors that is capable of 
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delivering high flow oxygen to the patient under 

positive pressure, together with an adequate backup 

system; 

(f) A nitrous oxide delivery system with a fail-safe 

mechanism that will insure appropriate continuous 

oxygen delivery and a scavenger system; and 

(g) Sphygmomanometer and stethoscope and/or 

automatic blood pressure cuff. 

(3) Before inducing nitrous oxide sedation, a permit 

holder shall: 
(a) Evaluate the patient and document, using the 

American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Patient 

Physical Status Classifications, that the patient is an 
appropriate candidate for nitrous oxide sedation; 

(b) Give instruction to the patient or, when 

appropriate due to age or psychological status of the 

patient, the patient's guardian; 

(c) Certify that the patient is an appropriate 

candidate for nitrous oxide sedation; and 

(d) Obtain informed consent from the patient or 

patient's guardian for the anesthesia. The obtaining of 

the informed consent shall be documented in the 

patient's record. 

(4) If a patient chronically takes a medication which 

can have sedative side effects, including, but not limited 

to, a narcotic or benzodiazepine, the practitioner shall 

determine if the additive sedative effect of nitrous oxide 

would put the patient into a level of sedation deeper than 

nitrous oxide. If the practitioner determines it is possible 

that providing nitrous oxide to such a patient would 

result in minimal sedation, a minimal sedation permit 

would be required. 

(5) A patient under nitrous oxide sedation shall be 

visually monitored by the permit holder or by an 

anesthesia monitor at all times. The patient shall be 

monitored as to response to verbal stimulation, oral 

mucosal color and preoperative and postoperative vital 

signs. 

(6) The permit holder or anesthesia monitor shall 

record the patient's condition. The record must include 

documentation of preoperative and postoperative 

vital signs, and all medications administered with 

dosages, time intervals and route of administration. 

(7) Persons serving as anesthesia monitors in a 

dental office shall maintain current certification in BLS 

for Healthcare Providers Basic Life Support 

(BLS)/Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) training, 

or its equivalent, shall be trained and competent in 

monitoring patient vital signs, in the use of monitoring 

and emergency equipment appropriate for the level of 

sedation utilized. ("competent" means displaying 

special skill or knowledge derived from training and 

experience.) 

(8) The person administering the nitrous oxide 

sedation may leave the immediate area after initiating 

the administration of nitrous oxide sedation only if a 

qualified anesthesia monitor is continuously observing 

the patient. 

(9) The permit holder shall assess the patient's 

responsiveness  using  preoperative  values  as  normal 

guidelines  and  discharge  the  patient  only  when  the 

following criteria are met: 

(a) The patient is alert and oriented to person, place 

and time as appropriate to age and preoperative 

psychological status; 

(b) The patient can talk and respond coherently to 

verbal questioning; 

(c) The patient can sit up unaided or without 

assistance; 

(d) The patient can ambulate with minimal 

assistance; and 

(e) The patient does not have nausea, vomiting or 

dizziness. 

(10) The permit holder shall make a discharge entry 

in the patient's record indicating the patient's condition 

upon discharge. 

(11) Permit renewal. In order to renew a Nitrous 

Oxide Permit, the permit holder must provide proof of a 

current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its 

equivalent. In addition, Nitrous Oxide Permit holders 

must also complete four (4) hours of continuing 

education in one or more of the following areas every 

two years: sedation, nitrous oxide, physical evaluation, 

medical emergencies, monitoring and the use of 

monitoring equipment, or pharmacology of drugs and 

agents used in sedation. Training taken to maintain 

current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its 

equivalent, may not be counted toward this requirement. 

Continuing education hours may be counted toward 

fulfilling the continuing education requirement set forth 

in OAR 818-021-0060 and 818-021-0070. 

 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & (10) 

Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 3-2003, 

f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 

2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 4- 

2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16, OBD 2-2019, f. 10/29/2019, 

cert. ef. 1/1/2020 

 

818-026-0050 

Minimal Sedation Permit 
Minimal sedation and nitrous oxide sedation. 

(1) The Board shall issue a Minimal Sedation Permit 
to an applicant who: 

(a) Is a licensed dentist in Oregon; 
(b) Maintains a current BLS for Healthcare Providers 

certificate or its equivalent; and 

(c) Completion of a comprehensive training program 
consisting of at least 16 hours of training and satisfies the 

requirements of the current ADA Guidelines for 
Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and 

Dental Students at the time training was commenced or 
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postgraduate instruction was completed, or the 
equivalent of that required in graduate training 

programs, in sedation, recognition and management of 
complications and emergency care; or 

(d) In lieu of these requirements, the Board may 

accept equivalent training or experience in minimal 
sedation anesthesia. 

(2) The following facilities, equipment and drugs 
shall be on site and available for immediate use during 

the procedures and during recovery: 
(a) An operating room large enough to adequately 

accommodate the patient on an operating table or in an 

operating chair and to allow an operating team of at 
least two individuals to freely move about the patient; 

(b) An operating table or chair which permits the 
patient to be positioned so the operating team can 

maintain the patient’s airway, quickly alter the patient’s 

position in an emergency, and provide a firm platform 
for the administration of basic life support; 

(c) A lighting system which permits evaluation of 
the patient’s skin and mucosal color and a backup 

lighting system of sufficient intensity to permit 
completion of any operation underway in the event of a 

general power failure; 

(d) Suction equipment which permits aspiration of 
the oral and pharyngeal cavities and a backup suction 

device which will function in the event of a general 
power failure; 

(e) An oxygen delivery system with adequate full 

facemask and appropriate connectors that is capable of 
delivering high flow oxygen to the patient under 

positive pressure, together with an adequate backup 
system; 

(f) A nitrous oxide delivery system with a fail-safe 
mechanism that will insure appropriate continuous 

oxygen delivery and a scavenger system; 

(g) Sphygmomanometer, stethoscope, pulse 
oximeter, and/or automatic blood pressure cuff; and 

(h) Emergency drugs including, but not limited to: 
pharmacologic antagonists appropriate to the drugs 

used, vasopressors, corticosteroids, bronchodilators, 

antihistamines, antihypertensives and anticonvulsants. 
(3) Before inducing minimal sedation, a dentist 

permit holder who induces minimal sedation shall:(a) 
Evaluate the patient and document, using the American 

Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Patient Physical 
Status Classifications, that the patient is an appropriate 

candidate for minimal sedation; 

(b) Give written preoperative and postoperative 
instructions to the patient or, when appropriate due to 

age or psychological status of the patient, the patient’s 
guardian; 

(c) Certify that the patient is an appropriate 

candidate for minimal sedation; and 
(d) Obtain written informed consent from the 

patient or patient’s guardian for the anesthesia. The 

obtaining of the informed consent shall be documented in 
the patient’s record. 

(4) No permit holder shall have more than one 
person under minimal sedation at the same time. 

(5) While the patient is being treated under minimal 

sedation, an anesthesia monitor shall be present in the 
room in addition to the treatment provider. The 

anesthesia monitor may be the dental assistant. After 
training, a dental assistant, when directed by a dentist 

permit holder, may administer oral sedative agents or 
anxiolysis agents calculated and dispensed by a dentist 

permit holder under the direct supervision of a dentist 

permit holder. 
(6) A patient under minimal sedation shall be 

visually monitored at all times, including recovery phase. 
The record must include documentation of all 

medications administered with dosages, time intervals 

and route of administration. The dentist permit holder or 
anesthesia monitor shall monitor and record the patient’s 

condition. 
(7) Persons serving as anesthesia monitors for 

minimal sedation in a dental office shall maintain current 
certification in BLS for Healthcare Providers Basic Life 

Support (BLS)/Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) 

training, or its equivalent, shall be trained and competent 
in monitoring patient vital signs, in the use of monitoring 

and emergency equipment appropriate for the level of 
sedation utilized. ("competent" means displaying special 

skill or knowledge derived from training and 

experience.) 
(8) The patient shall be monitored as follows: 

(a) Color of mucosa, skin or blood must be evaluated 
continually. Patients must have continuous monitoring 

using pulse oximetry. The patient’s response to verbal 
stimuli, blood pressure, heart rate, pulse oximetry and 

respiration shall be monitored and documented every 

fifteen minutes, if they can 
reasonably be obtained. 

(b) A discharge entry shall be made by the dentist 
permit holder in the patient’s record indicating the 

patient’s condition upon discharge and the name of the 

responsible party to whom the patient was discharged. 
(9) The dentist permit holder shall assess the 

patient’s responsiveness using preoperative values as 
normal guidelines and discharge the patient only when 

the following criteria are met: 
(a) Vital signs including blood pressure, pulse rate 

and respiratory rate are stable; 

(b) The patient is alert and oriented to person, place 
and time as appropriate to age and preoperative 

psychological status; 
(c) The patient can talk and respond coherently to 

verbal questioning; 

(d) The patient can sit up unaided; 
(e) The patient can ambulate with minimal 

assistance; and 



6 – Div. 26  

(f) The patient does not have uncontrollable nausea 
or vomiting and has minimal dizziness. 

(g) A dentist permit holder shall not release a 
patient who has undergone minimal sedation except to 

the care of a responsible third party. 

(10) The permit holder shall make a discharge entry 
in the patient’s record indicating the patient’s condition 

upon discharge. 
(11) Permit renewal. In order to renew a Minimal 

Sedation Permit, the permit holder must provide 
documentation of a current BLS for Healthcare 

Providers certificate or its equivalent. In addition, 

Minimal Sedation Permit holders must also complete 
four (4) hours of continuing education in one or more of 

the following areas every two years: sedation, physical 
evaluation, medical emergencies, monitoring and the 

use of monitoring equipment, or pharmacology of drugs 

and agents used in sedation. Training taken to maintain 
current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate, or its 

equivalent, may not be counted toward this 
requirement. Continuing education hours may be 

counted toward fulfilling the continuing education 
requirement set forth in OAR 818-021-0060. 

 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) 

Hist.: OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; Administrative 

correction 8-12-99; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; 

OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 2-2005, f. 1- 

31-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1- 

10; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 4-2015, f. 9- 

8-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17; 

OBD 2-2018, f. 10/4/18, cert. ef. 1/1/19, OBD 2-2019, f. 
10/29/2019, cert. ef. 1/1/2020 

 
818-026-0055 

Dental Hygiene and Dental Assistant Procedures 

Performed Under Nitrous Oxide or Minimal 

Sedation 

(1) Under indirect supervision, dental hygiene 

procedures may be performed for a patient who is under 

nitrous oxide or minimal sedation under the following 
conditions: 

(a) A licensee holding a Nitrous Oxide, Minimal, 

Moderate, Deep Sedation or General Anesthesia Permit 

administers the sedative agents; 

(b) The permit holder, or an anesthesia monitor, 

monitors the patient; or 

(c) if a dental hygienist with a nitrous oxide permit 

administers nitrous oxide sedation to a patient and then 

performs authorized procedures on the patient, an 

anesthesia monitor is not required to be present during 

the time the patient is sedated unless the permit holder 

leaves the patient. 

(d) The permit holder performs the appropriate pre- 

and post-operative evaluation and discharges the patient 

in accordance with 818-026-0050(7) and (8). 

(2) Under direct supervision, a dental assistant may 

perform those procedures for which the dental assistant 

holds the appropriate certification for a patient who is 

under nitrous oxide or minimal sedation under the 

following conditions: 

(a) A licensee holding the Nitrous Oxide, Minimal, 

Moderate, Deep Sedation or General Anesthesia Permit 

administers the sedative agents; 

(b) The permit holder, or an anesthesia monitor, 

monitors the patient; and 

(c) The permit holder performs the appropriate pre- 

and post-operative evaluation and discharges the patient 

in accordance with 818-026-0050(7) and (8). 

 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) 

Hist.: OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, 

f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7- 

1-10; OBD 2-2012, f. 6-14-12, cert. ef. 7-1-12; OBD 1-2014, 

f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14, OBD 2-2019, f. 10/29/2019, cert. ef. 

1/1/2020 

 
818-026-0060 

Moderate Sedation Permit 

Moderate sedation, minimal sedation, and nitrous oxide 

sedation. 

(1) The Board shall issue or renew a Moderate 

Sedation Permit to an applicant who: 
(a) Is a licensed dentist in Oregon; 

(b) In addition to a current BLS for Healthcare 

Providers certificate or its equivalent, either maintains a 

current Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) 

certificate and/or a Pediatric Advanced Life Support 

(PALS) certificate, whichever is appropriate for the 

patient being sedated; and 
(c) Satisfies one of the following criteria: 

(A) Completion of a comprehensive training 

program in enteral and/or parenteral sedation that 

satisfies the requirements described in Part V of the 

current ADA Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and 

Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students at the time 

training was commenced. 

(i) Enteral Moderate Sedation requires a minimum 

of 24 hours of instruction plus management of at least 

10  dental  patient  experiences  by  the  enteral  and/or 

enteral-nitrous oxide/oxygen route. 

(ii) Parenteral Moderate Sedation requires a 

minimum of 60 hours of instruction plus management 

of at least 20 dental patients by the intravenous route. 

(B) Completion of an ADA accredited postdoctoral 

training program (e.g., general practice residency) 

which affords comprehensive and appropriate training 

necessary to administer and manage parenteral sedation, 

commensurate with these Guidelines. 

(C) In lieu of these requirements, the Board may 

accept equivalent training or experience in moderate 

sedation anesthesia. 

(2) The following facilities, equipment and drugs 
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shall be on site and available for immediate use 

during the procedures and during recovery: 

(a) An operating room large enough to 

adequately accommodate the patient on an operating 

table or in an operating chair and to allow an operating 

team of at least two individuals to freely move about 

the patient; 

(b) An operating table or chair which permits the 

patient to be positioned so the operating team can 

maintain the patient's airway, quickly alter the patient's 

position in an emergency, and provide a firm platform 

for the administration of basic life support; 

(c) A lighting system which permits evaluation of 

the patient's skin and mucosal color and a backup 

lighting system of sufficient intensity to permit 

completion of any operation underway in the event of a 

general power failure; 

(d) Suction equipment which permits aspiration of 

the oral and pharyngeal cavities and a backup suction 

device which will function in the event of a general 

power failure; 

(e) An oxygen delivery system with adequate full 

face mask and appropriate connectors that is capable of 

delivering high flow oxygen to the patient under 

positive pressure, together with an adequate backup 

system; 

(f) A nitrous oxide delivery system with a fail-safe 

mechanism that will insure appropriate continuous 

oxygen delivery and a scavenger system; 

(g) A recovery area that has available oxygen, 

adequate lighting, suction and electrical outlets. The 

recovery area can be the operating room; 

(h) Sphygmomanometer, precordial/pretracheal 

stethoscope, capnograph, pulse oximeter, oral and 

nasopharyngeal airways, larynageal mask airways, 

intravenous fluid administration equipment, automated 

external defibrillator (AED); and 

(i) Emergency drugs including, but not limited to: 

pharmacologic antagonists appropriate to the drugs 

used, vasopressors, corticosteroids, bronchodilators, 

antihistamines, antihypertensives and anticonvulsants. 

(3) No permit holder shall have more than one 

person under moderate sedation, minimal sedation, or 

nitrous oxide sedation at the same time. 

(4) During the administration of moderate sedation, 

and at all times while the patient is under moderate 

sedation, an anesthesia monitor, and one other person 

holding a current BLS for Healthcare Providers 

certificate or its equivalent, shall be present in the 

operatory, in addition to the dentist permit holder 

performing the dental procedures. 

(5) Before inducing moderate sedation, a dentist 

permit holder who induces moderate sedation shall: 

(a) Evaluate the patient and document, using the 

American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Patient 

Physical Status Classifications, that the patient is an 

appropriate candidate for moderate sedation; 

(b) Give written preoperative and postoperative 

instructions to the patient or, when appropriate due to 

age or psychological status of the patient, the patient's 

guardian; and 

(c) Obtain written informed consent from the patient 

or patient's guardian for the anesthesia. The obtaining of 

the informed consent shall be documented in the 

patient’s record. 

(6) A patient under moderate sedation shall be 

visually monitored at all times, including the recovery 

phase. The dentist permit holder or anesthesia monitor 

shall monitor and record the patient's condition. 

(7) Persons serving as anesthesia monitors for 

moderate sedation in a dental office shall maintain 

current certification in BLS for Healthcare Providers 

Basic Life Support (BLS)/Cardio Pulmonary 

Resuscitation (CPR) training, or its equivalent, shall be 

trained and competent in monitoring patient vital signs, 

in the use of monitoring and emergency equipment 

appropriate for the level of sedation utilized. 

("competent" means displaying special skill or 

knowledge derived from training and experience.) 

(8) The patient shall be monitored as follows: 

(a) Patients must have continuous monitoring using 

pulse oximetry, and End-tidal CO2 monitors. Patients 

with cardiovascular disease shall have continuous 

electrocardiograph (ECG) monitoring. The patient's 

blood pressure, heart rate, and respiration shall be 

recorded at regular intervals but at least every 15 

minutes, and these recordings shall be documented in 

the patient record. The record must also include 

documentation of preoperative and postoperative vital 

signs, all medications administered with dosages, time 

intervals and route of administration. If this information 

cannot be obtained, the reasons shall be documented in 

the patient's record. A patient under moderate sedation 

shall be continuously monitored and shall not be left 

alone while under sedation; 

(b) During the recovery phase, the patient must be 

monitored by an individual trained to monitor patients 

recovering from moderate sedation. 

(9) A dentist permit holder shall not release a patient 

who has undergone moderate sedation except to the care 

of a responsible third party. 

(a) When a reversal agent is administered, the 

dentist permit holder shall document justification for its 

use and how the recovery plan was altered. 

(10) The dentist permit holder shall assess the 

patient's responsiveness using preoperative values as 

normal guidelines and discharge the patient only when 

the following criteria are met: 

(a) Vital signs including blood pressure, pulse rate 

and respiratory rate are stable; 

(b) The patient is alert and oriented to person, place 

and time as appropriate to age and preoperative 
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psychological status; 

(c) The patient can talk and respond coherently 

to verbal questioning; 
(d) The patient can sit up unaided; 

(e) The   patient   can   ambulate   with   minimal 

assistance; and 

(f) The patient does not have uncontrollable nausea 

or vomiting and has minimal dizziness. 

(11) A discharge entry shall be made by the dentist 

permit holder in the patient's record indicating the 

patient's condition upon discharge and the name of the 

responsible party to whom the patient was discharged. 

(12) After adequate training, an assistant, when 

directed by a dentist permit holder, may dispense oral 

medications that have been prepared by the dentist 

permit holder for oral administration to a patient under 

direct supervision. Pursuant to OAR 818-042-0115 a 

Certified Anesthesia Dental Assistant, when directed by 

a dentist permit holder, may introduce additional 

anesthetic agents into an infusion line under the direct 

supervision of a dentist permit holder. 

(13) Permit renewal. In order to renew a Moderate 

Sedation Permit, the permit holder must provide 

documentation of a current BLS for Healthcare 

Providers certificate or its equivalent; a current 

Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certificate 

and/or a current Pediatric Advanced Life Support 

(PALS) certificate; Successful completion of a board 

approved course on minimal/moderate sedation at least 

every two years may be substituted for ACLS, but not 

for PALS; and must complete 14 hours of continuing 

education in one or more of the following areas every 

two years: sedation, physical evaluation, medical 

emergencies, monitoring and the use of monitoring 

equipment, or pharmacology of drugs and agents used 

in sedation. Training taken to maintain current ACLS or 

PALS certification or successful completion of the 

American Dental Association’s course “Recognition 

and Management of Complications during Minimal and 

Moderate Sedation” may be counted toward this 

requirement. Continuing education hours may be 

counted toward fulfilling the continuing education 

requirement set forth in OAR 818-021- 0060. 

 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) 

Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 1-1999, 

f. 2-26-99, cert. ef. 3-1-99; OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7- 

1-99; Administrative correction 8-12-99; OBD 2-2000(Temp), 

f. 5-22-00, cert. ef. 5-22-00 thru 11-18-00; OBD 2-2001, f. & 

cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; 

OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 2-2005, f. 1- 
31-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1- 

10; OBD 2-2011(Temp), f. 5-9-11, cert. ef. 6-1-11 thru 1-27- 

11; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15- 

13, cert. ef. 7-1-13; OBD 3-2013, f. 10-24-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14; 
OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 4-2015, f. 9-8- 

15, cert. ef. 1-1-16; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17; 

OBD 2-2018, f. 10/4/18, cert. ef. 1/1/19, OBD 2-2019, f. 
10/29/2019, cert. ef. 1/1/2020 

 

  818-026-0065 

Deep Sedation Permit 

Deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal sedation, 

and nitrous oxide sedation. 

(1) The Board shall issue a Deep Sedation Permit to 

a licensee who holds a Class 3 Permit on or before July 

1, 2010 who: 
(a) Is a licensed dentist in Oregon; and 

(b) In addition to a current BLS for Healthcare 

Providers certificate or its equivalent, maintains a 

current Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) 

certificate and/or a Pediatric Advanced Life Support 

(PALS) certificate, whichever is appropriate for the 

patient being sedated. 

(2) The following facilities, equipment and drugs 

shall be on site and available for immediate use during 

the procedures and during recovery: 

(a) An operating room large enough to adequately 

accommodate the patient on an operating table or in an 

operating chair and to allow an operating team of at least 

two individuals to freely move about the patient; 

(b) An operating table or chair which permits the 

patient to be positioned so the operating team can 

maintain the patient's airway, quickly alter the patient's 

position in an emergency, and provide a firm platform 

for the administration of basic life support; 

(c) A lighting system which permits evaluation of 

the patient's skin and mucosal color and a backup 

lighting system of sufficient intensity to permit 

completion of any operation underway in the event of a 

general power failure; 

(d) Suction equipment which permits aspiration of 

the oral and pharyngeal cavities and a backup suction 

device which will function in the event of a general 

power failure; 

(e) An oxygen delivery system with adequate full 

face mask and appropriate connectors that is capable of 

delivering high flow oxygen to the patient under 

positive pressure, together with an adequate backup 

system; 

(f) A nitrous oxide delivery system with a fail-safe 

mechanism that will insure appropriate continuous 

oxygen delivery and a scavenger system; 

(g) A recovery area that has available oxygen, 

adequate lighting, suction and electrical outlets. The 

recovery area can be the operating room; 

(h) Sphygmomanometer, precordial/pretracheal 

stethoscope, capnograph, pulse oximeter, 

electrocardiograph monitor (ECG), automated external 

defibrillator (AED), oral and nasopharyngeal airways, 

laryngeal mask airways, intravenous fluid 

administration equipment; and 

(i) Emergency drugs including, but not limited to: 
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pharmacologic antagonists appropriate to the drugs 

used, vasopressors, corticosteroids, bronchodilators, 

antihistamines, antihypertensives and anticonvulsants. 

(3) No permit holder shall have more than one 

person under deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal 

sedation, or nitrous oxide sedation at the same time. 

(4) During the administration of deep sedation, and 

at all times while the patient is under deep sedation, an 

anesthesia monitor, and one other person holding a 

current BLS for Healthcare Providers certificate or its 

equivalent, shall be present in the operatory, in addition 

to the dentist permit holder performing the dental 

procedures. 

(5) Before inducing deep sedation, a dentist permit 

holder who induces deep sedation shall: 

(a) Evaluate the patient and document, using the 

American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Patient 

Physical Status Classifications, that the patient is an 

appropriate candidate for deep sedation; 

(b) Give written preoperative and postoperative 

instructions to the patient or, when appropriate due to 

age or psychological status of the patient, the patient's 

guardian; and 

(c) Obtain written informed consent from the patient 

or patient's guardian for the anesthesia. The obtaining of 

the informed consent shall be documented in the 

patient’s record. 

(6) A patient under deep sedation shall be visually 

monitored at all times, including the recovery phase. 

The dentist permit holder or anesthesia monitor shall 

monitor and record the patient's condition. 

(7) Persons serving as anesthesia monitors for deep 

sedation in a dental office shall maintain current 

certification in BLS for Healthcare Providers Basic Life 

Support (BLS)/Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) 

training, or its equivalent, shall be trained and 

competent in monitoring patient vital signs, in the use of 

monitoring and emergency equipment appropriate for 

the level of sedation utilized. ("competent" means 

displaying special skill or knowledge derived from 

training and experience.) 
(8) The patient shall be monitored as follows: 

(a) Patients must have continuous monitoring using 

pulse oximetry, electrocardiograph monitors (ECG) and 

End-tidal CO2 monitors. The patient's heart rhythm 

shall be continuously monitored and the patient’s blood 

pressure, heart rate, and respiration shall be recorded at 

regular intervals but at least every 5 minutes, and these 

recordings shall be documented in the patient record. 

The record must also include documentation of 

preoperative and postoperative vital signs, all 

medications administered with dosages, time intervals 

and route of administration. If this information cannot 

be obtained, the reasons shall be documented in the 

patient's record. A patient under deep sedation shall be 

continuously monitored; 

(b) Once sedated, a patient shall remain in the 

operatory for the duration of treatment until criteria for 

transportation to recovery have been met.  

(c) During the recovery phase, the patient must be 

monitored by an individual trained to monitor patients 

recovering from deep sedation. 

(9) A dentist permit holder shall not release a patient 

who has undergone deep sedation except to the care of 

a responsible third party. When a reversal agent is 

administered, the dentist permit holder shall document 

justification for its use and how the recovery plan was 

altered. 

(10) The dentist permit holder shall assess the 

patient's responsiveness using preoperative values as 

normal guidelines and discharge the patient only when 

the following criteria are met: 

(a) Vital signs including blood pressure, pulse rate 

and respiratory rate are stable; 

(b) The patient is alert and oriented to person, place 

and time as appropriate to age and preoperative 

psychological status; 

(c) The patient can talk and respond coherently to 

verbal questioning; 

(d) The patient can sit up unaided; 

(e) The patient can ambulate with minimal 

assistance; and 

(f) The patient does not have uncontrollable nausea 

or vomiting and has minimal dizziness. 

(11) A discharge entry shall be made by the dentist 

permit holder in the patient's record indicating the 

patient's condition upon discharge and the name of the 

responsible party to whom the patient was discharged. 

(12) Pursuant to OAR 818-042-0115 a Certified 

Anesthesia Dental Assistant, when directed by a dentist 

permit holder, may administer oral sedative agents 

calculated by a dentist permit holder or introduce 

additional anesthetic agents into an infusion line under 

the direct visual supervision of a dentist 

(13) Permit renewal. In order to renew a Deep 

Sedation Permit, the permit holder must provide 

documentation of a current BLS for Healthcare 

Providers certificate or its equivalent; a current 

Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certificate 

and/or a current Pediatric Advanced Life Support 

(PALS) certificate; and must complete 14 hours of 

continuing education in one or more of the following 

areas every two years: sedation, physical evaluation, 

medical emergencies, monitoring and the use of 

monitoring equipment, or pharmacology of drugs and 

agents used in sedation. Training taken to maintain 

current ACLS and/or PALS certificates may be counted 

toward this requirement. Continuing education hours 

may be counted toward fulfilling the continuing 

education requirement set forth in OAR 818-021-0060. 

 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) 

Hist.: OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 2- 

2011(Temp), f. 5-9-11, cert. ef. 6-1-11 thru 1-27-11; OBD 4- 

2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 

7-1-13; OBD 1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 4-2015, 

f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3- 

1-17; OBD2-2018, f. 10-4-18, cert. ef. 1/1/19, OBD 2-2019, f. 
10/29/2019, cert. ef. 1/1/2020 

 

818-026-0070 
General Anesthesia Permit 

General anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, 

minimal sedation and nitrous oxide sedation. 
(1) The Board shall issue a General Anesthesia 

Permit to an applicant who: 

(a) Is a licensed dentist in Oregon; 

(b) In addition to a current BLS for Healthcare 

Providers certificate or its equivalent, maintains a 

current Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) 

certificate and/or a Pediatric Advanced Life Support 

(PALS) certificate, whichever is appropriate for the 

patient being sedated, and 
(c) Satisfies one of the following criteria: 

(A) Completion of an advanced training program in 

anesthesia and related subjects beyond the 

undergraduate dental curriculum that satisfies the 

requirements described in the current ADA Guidelines 

for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and 

Dental Students consisting of a minimum of 2 years of 

a postgraduate anesthesia residency at the time training 

was commenced. 

(B) Completion of any ADA accredited 

postdoctoral training program, including but not limited 

to Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, which affords 

comprehensive and appropriate training necessary to 

administer and manage general anesthesia, 

commensurate with these Guidelines. 

(C) In lieu of these requirements, the Board may 

accept equivalent training or experience in general 

anesthesia. 

(2) The following facilities, equipment and drugs 

shall be on site and available for immediate use during 

the procedure and during recovery: 

(a) An operating room large enough to adequately 

accommodate the patient on an operating table or in an 

operating chair and to allow an operating team of at least 

three individuals to freely move about the patient; 

(b) An operating table or chair which permits the 

patient to be positioned so the operating team can 

maintain the patient's airway, quickly alter the patient's 

position in an emergency, and provide a firm platform 

for the administration of basic life support; 

(c) A lighting system which permits evaluation of 

the patient's skin and mucosal color and a backup 

lighting system of sufficient intensity to permit 

completion of any operation underway in the event of a 

general power failure; 

(d) Suction equipment which permits aspiration of 

the oral and pharyngeal cavities and a backup suction 

device which will function in the event of a general 

power failure; 

(e) An oxygen delivery system with adequate full 

face mask and appropriate connectors that is capable of 

delivering high flow oxygen to the patient under 

positive pressure, together with an adequate backup 

system; 

(f) A nitrous oxide delivery system with a fail-safe 

mechanism that will insure appropriate continuous 

oxygen delivery and a scavenger system; 

(g) A recovery area that has available oxygen, 

adequate lighting, suction and electrical outlets. The 

recovery area can be the operating room; 

(h) Sphygmomanometer, precordial/pretracheal 

stethoscope, capnograph, pulse oximeter, 

electrocardiograph monitor (ECG), automated external 

defibrillator (AED), oral and nasopharyngeal airways, 

laryngeal mask airways, intravenous fluid 

administration equipment; and 

(i) Emergency drugs including, but not limited to: 

pharmacologic antagonists appropriate to the drugs 

used, vasopressors, corticosteroids, bronchodilators, 

intravenous medications for treatment of cardiac arrest, 

narcotic antagonist, antihistaminic, antiarrhythmics, 

antihypertensives and anticonvulsants. 

(3) No permit holder shall have more than one 

person under general anesthesia, deep sedation, 

moderate sedation, minimal sedation or nitrous oxide 

sedation at the same time. 

(4) During the administration of deep sedation or 

general anesthesia, and at all times while the patient is 

under deep sedation or general anesthesia, an anesthesia 

monitor, and one other person holding a current BLS for 

Healthcare Providers certificate or its equivalent, shall 

be present in the operatory in addition to the dentist 

permit holder performing the dental procedures. 

(5) Before inducing deep sedation or general 

anesthesia the dentist permit holder who induces deep 

sedation or general anesthesia shall: 

(a) Evaluate the patient and document, using the 

American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Patient 

Physical Status Classifications, that the patient is an 

appropriate candidate for general anesthesia or deep 

sedation; 

(b) Give written preoperative and postoperative 

instructions to the patient or, when appropriate due to 

age or psychological status of the patient, the patient's 

guardian; and 

(c) Obtain written informed consent from the patient 

or patient's guardian for the anesthesia. The obtaining of 

the informed consent shall be documented in the 

patient’s record. 

(6) A patient under deep sedation or general 

anesthesia shall be visually monitored at all times, 
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including recovery phase. A dentist permit holder 

who induces   deep   sedation   or   general   

anesthesia   or anesthesia monitor trained in 

monitoring patients under deep sedation or general 

anesthesia shall monitor and record the patient's 

condition on a contemporaneous record. 

(7) Persons serving as anesthesia monitors for 

general anesthesia in a dental office shall maintain 

current certification in BLS for Healthcare Providers 

Basic Life Support (BLS)/Cardio Pulmonary 

Resuscitation (CPR) training, or its equivalent, shall be 

trained and competent in monitoring patient vital signs, 

in the use of monitoring and emergency equipment 

appropriate for the level of sedation utilized. 

("competent" means displaying special skill or 

knowledge derived from training and experience.) 
(8) The patient shall be monitored as follows: 

(a) Patients must have continuous monitoring of 

their heart rate, heart rhythm, oxygen saturation levels 

and respiration using pulse oximetry, 

electrocardiograph monitors (ECG) and End-tidal CO2 

monitors. The patient's blood pressure, heart rate and 

oxygen saturation shall be assessed every five minutes, 

and shall be contemporaneously documented in the 

patient record. The record must also include 

documentation of preoperative and postoperative vital 

signs, all medications administered with dosages, time 

intervals and route of administration. The person 

administering the anesthesia and the person monitoring 

the patient may not leave the patient while the patient is 

under deep sedation or general anesthesia; 

(b) Once sedated, a patient shall remain in the 

operatory for the duration of treatment until criteria for 

transportation to recovery have been met. 

(c) During the recovery phase, the patient must be 

monitored, including the use of pulse oximetry, by an 

individual trained to monitor patients recovering from 

general anesthesia. 

(9) A dentist permit holder shall not release a patient 

who has undergone deep sedation or general anesthesia 

except to the care of a responsible third party. When a 

reversal agent is administered, the dentist permit holder 

shall document justification for its use and how the 

recovery plan was altered. 

(10) The dentist permit holder shall assess the 

patient's responsiveness using preoperative values as 

normal guidelines and discharge the patient only when 

the following criteria are met: 

(a) Vital signs including blood pressure, pulse rate 

and respiratory rate are stable; 

(b) The patient is alert and oriented to person, place 

and time as appropriate to age and preoperative 

psychological status; 

(c) The patient can talk and respond coherently to 

verbal questioning; 
(d) The patient can sit up unaided; 

(e) The patient can ambulate with minimal 

assistance; and 

(f) The patient does not have nausea or vomiting and 

has minimal dizziness. 

(11) A discharge entry shall be made in the patient's 

record by the dentist permit holder indicating the 

patient's condition upon discharge and the name of the 

responsible party to whom the patient was discharged. 

(12) Pursuant to OAR 818-042-0115 a Certified 

Anesthesia Dental Assistant, when directed by a dentist 

permit holder, may introduce additional anesthetic 

agents to an infusion line under the direct visual 

supervision of a dentist permit holder. 

(13) Permit renewal. In order to renew a General 

Anesthesia Permit, the permit holder must provide 

documentation of a current BLS for Healthcare 

Providers certificate or its equivalent; a current 

Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certificate 

and/or a current Pediatric Advanced Life Support 

(PALS) certificate; and must complete 14 hours of 

continuing education in one or more of the following 

areas every two years: sedation, physical evaluation, 

medical emergencies, monitoring and the use of 

monitoring equipment, or pharmacology of drugs and 

agents used in sedation. Training taken to maintain 

current ACLS and/or PALS certificates may be counted 

toward this requirement. Continuing education hours 

may be counted toward fulfilling the continuing 

education requirement set forth in OAR 818-021-0060. 
 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) 

Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, 

f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; Administrative correction 8-12-99; 

OBD 2-2000(Temp), f. 5-22-00, cert. ef. 5-22-00 thru 11-18- 

00; Administrative correction 6-21-01; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15- 

03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; 

OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 2-2011(Temp), 

f. 5-9-11, cert. ef. 6-1-11 thru 1-27-11; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. 

ef. 11-15-11; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13; OBD 
1-2014, f. 7-2-14, cert. ef. 8-1-14; OBD 4-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. 

ef. 1-1-16; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17; OBD 2- 

2018, f. 10-4-18, cert. ef. 1-1-19, OBD 2-2019, f. 10/29/2019, 

cert. ef. 1/1/2020 

 
818-026-0080 

Standards Applicable When a Dentist Performs 

Dental Procedures and a Qualified Provider Induces 

Anesthesia 

(1) A dentist who does not hold an anesthesia 

permit may perform dental procedures on a 

patient who receives anesthesia induced by a physician 

anesthesiologist licensed by the 

Oregon Medical Board, another Oregon licensed dentist 

holding an appropriate anesthesia permit, or a Certified 

Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA) licensed by 

the Oregon Board of Nursing. 

(2) A dentist who does not hold a Nitrous Oxide 
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Permit for nitrous oxide sedation may perform 

dental procedures on a patient who receives nitrous 

oxide induced by an Oregon licensed 

dental hygienist holding a Nitrous Oxide Permit. 

(3) A dentist who performs dental procedures on 

a patient who receives anesthesia induced by 

a physician anesthesiologist, another dentist holding 

an anesthesia permit, a CRNA, or a dental 

hygienist who induces nitrous oxide sedation, shall 

maintain a current BLS for Healthcare 

Providers certificate, or its equivalent, and have the 

same personnel, facilities, equipment and 

drugs available during the procedure and during 

recovery as required of a dentist who has a 

permit for the level of anesthesia being provided. 

(4) A dentist, a dental hygienist or an Expanded 

Function Dental Assistant (EFDA) who 

performs procedures on a patient who is receiving 

anesthesia induced by a physician 

anesthesiologist, another dentist holding an anesthesia 

permit or a CRNA shall not schedule or 

treat patients for non emergent care during the period 

of time of the sedation procedure. 

(5) Once anesthetized, a patient shall remain in 

the operatory for the duration of treatment until 

criteria for transportation to recovery have been met. 

(6) The qualified anesthesia provider who 

induces moderate sedation, deep sedation or general 

anesthesia shall monitor the patient until easily 

arousable and can independently and 

continuously maintain their airway with stable vital 

signs. Once this has occurred the patient 

may be monitored by a qualified anesthesia monitor 

until discharge criteria is met. The patient’s 

dental record shall document the patient's condition at 

discharge as required by the rules 

applicable to the level of anesthesia being induced. A 

copy of the anesthesia record shall be 

maintained in the patient's dental record and is the 

responsibility of the dentist who is 

performing the dental procedures. 

(7) No qualified provider shall have more than 

one person under any form of sedation or general 

anesthesia at the same time exclusive of recovery. 

(8) A dentist who intends to use the services of a 

qualified anesthesia provider as described in 

section 1 above, shall notify the Board in writing of 

his/her intent. Such notification need only be 

submitted once every licensing period. 

 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & (10) 

Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 3-2003, 

f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 

2-1-05; OBD 1-2006, f. 3-17-06, cert. ef. 4-1-06; OBD 1- 

2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 3-2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. 

ef. 10-1-15; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. ef. 3-1-17, OBD 2- 

2019, f. 10/29/2019, cert. ef. 1/1/2020 

 

818-026-0110 
Office Evaluations 

(1) By obtaining an anesthesia permit or by using 

the services of a physician anesthesiologist, CRNA, an 

Oregon licensed dental hygienist permit holder or 

another dentist permit holder to administer anesthesia, a 

licensee consents to in-office evaluations by the Oregon 

Board of Dentistry, to assess competence in central 

nervous system anesthesia and to determine compliance 

with rules of the Board. 

(2) The in-office evaluation may include, but is not 

limited to: 

(a) Observation of one or more cases of anesthesia 

to determine the appropriateness of technique and 

adequacy of patient evaluation and care; 

(b) Inspection of facilities, equipment, drugs and 

records; and 

(c) Confirmation that personnel are adequately 

trained, hold a current BLS for Healthcare Providers 

certificate, or its equivalent, and are competent to 

respond to reasonable emergencies that may occur 

during the administration of anesthesia or during the 

recovery period. 

(3) The evaluation shall be performed by a team 

appointed by the Board and shall include: 

(a) A permit holder who has the same type of license 

as the licensee to be evaluated and who holds a current 

anesthesia permit in the same class or in a higher class 

than that held by the licensee being evaluated. 

(b) A member of the Board's Anesthesia 

Committee; and 

(c) Any licensed dentist, deemed appropriate by the 

Board President, may serve as team leader and shall be 

responsible for organizing and conducting the 

evaluation and reporting to the Board. 

(4) The Board shall give written notice of its intent 

to conduct an office evaluation to the licensee to be 

evaluated. Licensee shall cooperate with the evaluation 

team leader in scheduling the evaluation which shall be 

held no sooner than 30 days after the date of the notice 

or later than 90 days after the date of the notice. 

 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & (10) 

Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 3-2003, 

f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 

2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 4- 

2015, f. 9-8-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16; OBD 2-2016, f. 11-2-16, cert. 

ef. 3-1-17 

 
818-026-0120 

Reporting of Death, Serious Complications or Injury 

If a death, any serious complication or any injury occurs 

which may have resulted from the administration of any 
central nervous system anesthesia or sedation, the 
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licensee performing the dental procedure must submit 

a written detailed report to the Board within five days 

of the incident along with the patient's original 

complete dental records. If the anesthetic agent was 

administered by a person other than the person 

performing the dental 

procedure,  that  person  must  also  submit  a  detailed 

written report. The detailed report(s) must include: 
(1) Name, age and address of patient; 

(2) Name of the licensee and other persons 

present during the incident; 
(3) Address where the incident took place; 

(4) Type  of  anesthesia  and  dosages  of  

drugs administered to the patient; 

(5) A narrative description of the incident 

including approximate times and evolution of 

symptoms; and 

(6) The anesthesia record and the signed 

informed consent form for the anesthesia when 

required. 

 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10) 

Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, 
f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 

10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1- 

2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 

 

818-026-0130 
Anesthesia Committee 

(1) The Board hereby creates a committee to 

be known as the Anesthesia Committee. The 

chairperson shall be a dentist who is a member of 

the Board. All other members shall hold a Moderate, 

Deep Sedation or General Anesthesia Sedation 

Permit. At least one member, other than the 

chairperson, shall be a practicing specialist who holds 

a General Anesthesia Permit. Members serve at the 

pleasure of the Board and shall be appointed by the 

President of the Board. The Board President shall 

insure that the committee includes representatives of 

dental specialty groups including general dentists. 

(2) The Anesthesia Committee shall, upon 

request of the Board, advise the Board on policies 

and procedures related to the regulation of general 

anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, 

minimal sedation and nitrous oxide sedation. 

 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.280 

Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, 

f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; Administrative correction 8-12-99; 

OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1- 

28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1- 

10 
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