Where do I find information on sex offenders in Oregon?
The Oregon State
Police, Sex Offender Registration Section (SOR) is part of the Criminal
Investigation Division and tracks the registrations of persons convicted of sex
crimes who reside, work or attend school in the state of Oregon. SOR is the
state repository for sex offender registrations within Oregon, encompassing
adult and juvenile offenders.
Who is required to register in Oregon?
People convicted of particular sex crimes in Oregon. (ORS
People moving into Oregon or work or go to school in this state
must register if they have been convicted of a crime in another state that
would constitute a sex crime if committed in Oregon; or for which the person
would have to register as a sex offender in that court’s jurisdiction, or as
required under federal law, regardless of whether the crime would constitute a
sex crime in Oregon.
Are all sex offenders required to
No. The list of sex
offenses required to register can be found in ORS 163A.005. The first registration laws went into effect
in Oregon in 1989. Since that time,
additional crimes have been added to the list.
There are a number of people living in Oregon whose sex offense
convictions predate the registration requirements, while others have
convictions which allow for relief from registration 10 years after their supervision
What are the sex offender notification
In 2013, a new law was passed in Oregon which created
classifications of sex offenders based on their risk to sexually reoffend.
Those levels are:
Level 3 (High risk)
Level 2 (Moderate risk)
Level 1 (Low risk)
A Level 1 sex
offender presents the lowest risk to reoffend and requires a limited range of
notification. A Level 2 sex offender presents a moderate risk to reoffend and
requires a broader range of notification. A Level 3 sex offender presents the
highest risk to reoffend and requires the widest range of notification.
Prior to this law,
Oregon had only one designation, Predatory, to identify high-risk offenders.
How will registrants be classified?
A risk assessment
will be done for every registered sex offender in Oregon. Risk assessment
methodologies were adopted by the Oregon Board of Parole and Post-Prison
Supervision (the Board) and Community Corrections, which include validated risk
tools and independent sexual offense-specific evaluations performed by
certified clinical experts in sexual offense risk assessment. The methodologies can be found in the Board's administrative rules. This assessment
score will determine a registrant’s notification level. This age chart is used to determine the age of the registrant for the Static-99R assessment.
When will registrants be assessed?
Inmates who are in
the custody of the Oregon Department of Corrections (DOC) and currently serving
a sentence for a sexual offense under ORS 163A.005 will be assessed by the
Board prior to, or within 60 days of, release to Post-Prison Supervision.
Registrants who are
on any form of community supervision and were required to register prior to
January 1, 2014 will be assessed and classified by the Board no later than
December 1, 2018.
Registrants who are
on formal probation in the community and were required to register after
January 1, 2014 will be assessed and classified by Community Corrections
agencies on a rolling basis.
Registrants who are
under jurisdiction of the Oregon Psychiatric Security Review Board (PSRB) and
were required to register prior to July 1, 2015 may be assessed and classified
by either the Board or the PSRB by December 1, 2018. Registrants who are required to register
after July 1, 2015 will be assessed and classified by the PSRB on a rolling
registrants who move to Oregon, or attend college or work in Oregon and are
required to register will be assessed and classified by the Board on a rolling
How will registrants know what
notification level has been determined?
agency will notify you of your assessment score and your options for a review
of your assessment score. You will then be notified of your final notification
Once your final
notification level is determined by the classifying agency, there is no further
What if a registrant refuses or fails
to participate in the assessment process?
Registrants who were required to register prior to January 1, 2014
and refuse or fail to comply may be classified as a Level III sex offender.
(Or Laws 2013, Chapter 708, Section 7, as amended by HB2320
(2015), section 27)
Any registrant who refuses or fails to comply may be prosecuted
for Fail to Register.
(ORS 163A.040(1)(h) (2015))
How can I get relief from registration?
Currently, you must
file a case in court for relief. This
procedure can be found under ORS 163A.120 and is valid through December 31,
Beginning January 1,
2019, new procedures for relief from registration and requests for
reclassification to a lower notification level will be implemented under ORS
163A.125 and is done by petitioning the classification agency.
How will victims be notified?
Victims who are
registered with the classifying agency will be notified when a final
notification level has been determined.
How will law enforcement notification
All information on
all offenders, regardless of level, can be released to law enforcement if it is
in the public interest.
How will community notification be
notification will be completed by a notifying or supervising agency based on a
registrant’s notification level. (ORS 163A.215)
What about registrants under PSRB or
Oregon Health Authority supervision?
The Department of
State Police may not post Level III registrants to the website without
authorization from the supervising agency.
What information can state agencies
release about an offender?
a person that resides with the sex offender.
a person that resides with the sex offender;
a person with whom the sex offender has a significant
residential neighbors and churches, community parks, schools and
child care centers, convenience stores, businesses and other places that
children or other potential victims may frequent; and
a long term care facility or a residential care facility if the
agency knows that the sex offender is seeking admission to the facility.
all items under Level II;
local or regional media sources; and,
the Department of State Police sex offender website.
For all registrants:
Any information that
may be necessary to protect the public concerning sex offenders who reside in a
specific area or concerning a specific sex offender.
Are sex offenders required to pay a
Yes. The fee is
$70.00 per year and can be found in ORS 181.810. The fee is due the month of the offender's birthday. The Oregon
State Police send out invoices to each offender who must pay the fee directly
to Oregon State Police.
What are the penalties for failing to
A person who is required to register as a sex offender in the
State of Oregon commits the crime of failure to report if the person:
Fails to make the initial report to an authorized agency;
Fails to report when the person works at, carries on a vocation at
or attends an institution of higher education;
Fails to report following a change of school enrollment or
employment status, including enrollment, employment or vocation status at an
institution of higher education;
Moves to a new residence and fails to report the move and the
person’s new address;
Fails to make an annual report;
Fails to provide complete and accurate information;
Fails to sign the sex offender registration form as required;
Fails or refuses to participate in a sex offender risk assessment
as directed by the State Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision,
Psychiatric Security Review Board, Oregon Health Authority or supervisory
Fails to submit to fingerprinting or having a photograph taken of
the face, identifying scars, marks or tattoos.
Failure to make an initial report is a Class C Felony.
Failure to report once each year within ten (10) days of the
person’s date of birth is a Class A Misdemeanor (Oregon residents).
Failure to sign registration; failure report a change of residence
(Oregon residents, including those reporting a move out-of-state), school
enrollment (nonresidents), employment (nonresidents), or attendance/employment
at institution of higher education (Oregon residents) is a:
Class C Felony, if convicted of a felony crime requiring
Class A Misdemeanor, if convicted of a misdemeanor crime requiring
Failure to provide complete and accurate reporting information;
failure or refusal to participate in a sex offender risk assessment; or failure
to submit to fingerprinting or having a photograph taken of the face,
identifying scars, marks or tattoos is a Class A Misdemeanor.