What is a home energy assessor?
A home energy assessor is an individual who assigns
residential buildings a home energy performance score using a scoring system
adopted by the Oregon Department of Energy.
Individuals providing this service
must be certified by the Oregon Construction Contractors Board (CCB) after
completing the training approved by the Energy Department.
Required association with a CCB license
IMPORTANT: Oregon law requires that this certification associate with a business
licensed by CCB before performing home energy assessor services. The business may be licensed as a residential contractor.
Or, if the business is exclusively conducting home energy
performance scoring, it can be licensed with CCB as a home energy performance score contractor.
How to obtain a home energy assessor certification
- Pass a
training program approved by the Oregon Department of Energy. Approved
training programs are listed on the Home Energy Assessor Training
- Complete the Home energy assessor training certification form.
- Submit the completed training certification form with the
training completion certificate to: Oregon Department of Energy, HEPS Program,
550 Capitol St NE, Salem OR 97301, or email ODOE.HEPS@oregon.gov.
- If the Energy Department approves the training, it will send
a signed copy of the Home Energy Assessor Training Certification Form to the
applicant. If not, the applicant will receive notification that the
training was not valid.
- Submit the training certification form to CCB, WITH a
Home Energy Assessor Certification Application.
The Home Energy Assessor Certification
must specify the number of the existing CCB license it will be
associated with OR be submitted with a completed application for a new CCB
residential contractor license.
How to renew a home energy assessor certification
The home energy assessor certification must be renewed every year by submitting the renewal application and $100 fee. The renewal application will be mailed to you approximately 30 days before your expiration date.
Deactivation or transfer of home energy assessor
Oregon administrative rules require each home energy
assessor to hold, or work under a current CCB license and home energy assessor
certificate. If any of the following occur, the home energy
assessor certification associated with that license will become
deactivated and scoring software accounts will become deactivated, preventing future scoring:
- CCB license expires
- Home energy assessor certification
- Home energy assessor
disengages employment with an organization holding an active CCB license
Each home energy assessor must notify
the Oregon Department of Energy and program implementation staff about changes
in home energy assessor licensing status.
A home energy assessor certification may be reinstated
or a new certification produced once the individual has fulfilled
proper CCB licensing and certification steps or is employed under a
new company with a valid license.
Form to add or remove energy assessor
To transfer your Home Energy Assessor certification from one
license to another, complete and submit this Request to Add or Remove
Certified Home Energy Assessor form. There is no fee.
- The application fee is $100.
- The one-year license
fee is $100.
- The annual renewal fee is $100.
- For help with Energy Department processes: Roger Kainu, 503-580-7469
- For help with CCB’s processes: Angie Warkentin, 503-934-2211