Survey of Other State Laws

updated as of 10/12/22

Surveys sent to IAIABC contacts. Responses are listed verbatim as received.

Column1l

For workers on time loss, are physicians or other providers required
to see or communicate with them on a schedule or in a set
timeframe - e.g. once every 30 days, every two weeks, once per

Do time loss benefits have to be authorized in specific
increments, e.g., 14 days at a time? If so, what are the
increments?

Can a provider authorize time loss without an end
date?

Can a claim be closed if the worker does not follow their treatment plan?

Does an injured worker have any specific incentives to complete their treatment
plan?

month? If so, what is the required schedule?

Arizona At least once every 30 days for an active workers' comp claim. An injured worker s paid every 14 days if onanowork  |A Provider referring to a physician can continue the A claim can only be closed with supporting medical documentation for time loss |No, there is no specific incentive for an injured worker to complete their treatment
status from a physician until they are released back to full (Injured worker on a no work status with supported claims and/or Medical only claims with a no response to a 20 day letter regarding if [plans.
duty work. If the injured worker is released to light duty for on-going active treatment. they are still seeking medical treatment.
work then they are paid every 30 days minus any earnings
that they earned working light duty work.

Colorado There is no set schedule in rule or act. Some of the individual carriers [No Yes Sort of. I'm not positive if you're asking about full claim closure or just termination off'm not positive what you're asking here, so | am going to assume we do not have
have policies, but those are not enforced by our Division of Worker's the wage replacement benefits (temporary disability benefits), so I'm giving you the |something like that in CO. As | previously mentioned, if there is a modified job offer or
Compensation. answer for both, along with links to the specified rules. Colorado Workers' failure to attend medical appointments, wage replacement benefits can be cut off

Compensation Rules of Procedure (WCRP) Rule 6-1 lays out how temporary disability|and/or suspended. There is also a 24-month Division Independent Medical Examinatiory
benefits can be shut down. In subsection (4), benefits can be terminated if an injured (DIME) process which can force claims to closure. It's provided for by Act, in CRS 8-42-
worker fails to respond to a written offer of modified employment. Subsection (5)  |107(8)(b)(1l). You can find the process laid out in WCRP Rule 11-4. The short version of
allows suspension of benefits when there is failure to attend a rescheduled (so that process is, 24 months from date of injury, if the authorized provider has not
they've missed one already) medical and the worker s |placed the worker at maximum medical improvement (MMI), the carrier can send the
notified of that rescheduled appointment by written notice with a signed certificate |worker to an physician for exami If that provider says
of service stating that benefits will be suspended if the worker fails to appear. | the injured worker is at MMI, then the report is sent to the authorized provider. If the
should note, however, that if the worker's benefits are suspended under this rule  |authorized provider still says not at MMI, then the carrier can request a 24 month

and the worker later goes back to the doctor, the suspended benefits can be DIME. In Colorado, the DIME process is requested from our DOWC. The DIME Unit
collected by the injured worker. sends a st of 3 doctors, each party strikes one, and the remaining doctor performs an
WCRP Rule 7-1(8) allows for a final admission of liability to be filed based upon claim|examination. If that doctor says MMI, then the carrier can move forward. If not, then
abandonment, but there cannot be temporary benefits being paid, the worker has toltreatment just needs to continue.

have missed at least 2 consecutive medical appointments, and they have to fail to

respond within 30 days to a letter from the adjuster inquiring if additional treatment|

is necessary AND warning of the consequences of failing to respond. If the claimant

responds/objects to that final admission, the claim must go back on a general

admission of liability.

Florida [Florida] Administrative Rule 69L-7.730 requires the treating Per Florida Statute 440.20(2)(a), the carrier must pay the | The injured worker can be placed on a no work status by |Indemnity benefits can be suspended for medical noncompliance. Indemnity benefits are paid at 66 2/3 % of the Average Weekly Wage (AWW). No
physician to complete and return form DWC-25 (Florida Workers' [first installment of compensation for total disability or the authorized treating physician (as deemed necessary) ion is payable if the injured worker is engaged in, or is physically capable of
Compensation Uniform Medical Treatment/Status Report Form) to  |death benefits or deny compensability no later than the (as it relates to the compensable work injury/iliness for engaging in, at least sedentary duty work.
the insurer, and employer upon request, by close of business on the [14th calendar day after the employer receives notification |treatment that is medically necessary, remedial
next business day following the first visit and following each of the injury or death, when the disability is immediate and |treatment and care. This includes required recovery
subsequent visit or a maximum of 30 calendar days from the date of |continuous for 8 calendar days. f the first 7 days after the [periods as it relates to the nature of the injury.
the prior DWC-25 form submission. In instances where the form is |disability are nonconsecutive or delayed, the first
submitted without the occurrence of any actionable event, receipt of [installment of compensation is due on the 6th day after the
new or patient i it is antici that the |first 8 calendar days of disability. After the first week paid
provider will submit the form reflecting an unchanged patient status. installment of indemnity benefits, indemnity benefits are

paid in bi-weekly installments until suspended, exhausted
[The DWC-25 is the required reporting form for physicians to or settled.
recommend medical treatment/services and report the medical
status of the injured employee to insurers/employers including the
establishment of the date of Maximum Medical Improvement (MMI)
and assignment of Permanent Impairment Rating (PIR), when
applicable, pursuant to Sections 440.13(4)(a) and 440.15(3)(d), F.S.
The form shall be submitted by the provider to the insurer, and to the
employer upon request, upon the occurrence of any actionable event
(change in treatment plan, regime, therapies, prescriptions, or
functional limitations or restrictions) and following the injured
employees achieving Maximum Medical Improvement, in accordance
with the conditions and timeframes established in this rule.

Georgia In Georgia there is not a set timeframe, but is as when “medically |Authorized lost time benefits have to be paid on a weekly |Yes Not without a Georgia State Board of Workers' Compensation Order, or if a statute |Only his or her personal motivation to recover as fully and completely from their
reasonably necessary” and the employer or employee can requesta  |basis beginning 21 days after a date of injury with of limitation has run, or by agreement of the parties. physical injuries as soon s possible and by their own motivation to have a successful
return visit to see the authorized treating physician whenever either |compensable lost time. return to work as soon as possible.
desires.

Idaho Reasonable and/or necessary follow-up is determined by the treating |[Income benefits are to be paid weekly by statute, although [Our regulations do not require an end date. Benefits may be suspended if the injured worker fails to submit to or obstructs an | Nothing other than getting well and returning to gainful employment.
physician. we do allow bi-weekly payments. examination by the physician or surgeon until such failure or obstruction ceases.

llinois By statute and / or Rule, there is no set time frame required for Presuming that you are asking about the continuation of |If there is no end date on an off work slip, it is usually |As with all questions, the conclusion is not answered simply. If the claim reaches 3 |The easy answer is yes, he or she wants to return to work and keep her or his job.
communication. Rather, it is the physician/patient relationship that |disability payments, as based upon a physician note, there ~[subject to the caveat of “until further order” of the years, subsequent to the last payment of compensation, without a filing at the There are many who feel that there is no incentive, short of that.
will dictate the method and timing of communication. is no required increment. However, there is a requirement [physician. In the truest sense of the word, the answer to |IWCC, it is moot. Anytime prior to that, the claim is not simply closed. Employers

that any physician off work slip be delivered to the your question is “yes.” may terminate benefits for non-compliance. If you need further discussion on this
employer in a timely manner. As the world has changed issue, or any other please call me.
with Covid, 5o too has the delivery method of off work slips.

Indiana No. We do not micromanage how insurers handle care provided to |No Yes. Provider may keep the person off work until the | Yes. In Indiana we actually have a Suspension of Benefits provision which can be | Yes. Not getting their TTD suspended or their PPI refused. Getting the care they need

injured workers unless there is an issue about it. next follow up appointment, for example. invoked by the payer whenever the worker does not comply with medical care plan  [to heal.
or light work restriction. If this goes on long enough, the payer can try to get the
claim dismissed. Some workers are just NOT going to comply, such as with a surgical
order, so the claim will be dismissed if conservative care does not work. There will
be a PPI, but it will take into consideration the fact that surgery was not done.
Maine No. Injured workers seek treatment as needed. No Providers do not authorize payments for time lost from | Maine’s statute does not specifically authorize an insurer/self-insurer to closea |Other than an injured worker’s desire to heal and return to work as soon as possible,
work claim on this basis. no. Maine's statute does not contain any provisions specifically tailored to treatment
plans.
Maryland There is not a set timeframe, although disability slips should cover |There is not a specific increment for time loss benefits. Please see no. 1 above. The provider may authorize time [Treatment and benefits may be terminated/suspended but the overall claim is not |Other than getting better and returning to the workforce...there is not an incentive to

reasonable amounts of time and thus, presumably visits should occur
within reasonable amounts of time.

loss without an end date but that does not necessarily
equate to the injured worker receiving time loss benefits

ad infinitum.

necessarily “closed”.

finish treatment, although the quicker an injured worker finishes treatment the less
likely he/she will be involved in litigation.




Michigan

We do not regulate communication between the provider and the
worker. Providers must provide information to the carrier to support
that the treatment that they are providing is for the work injury. This
is customarily done by supplying the physician notes or diagnostic
study reports.

Michigan is a wage loss state. The injured worker must
show a loss of wage-earning capacity as a result of the work
injury and that their ongoing disability is causing the wage
loss. Our statute describes benefits as weekly with a formal
definition of the weekly compensation rate as 80% of the
after-tax weekly wage.

? Yes, however, most carriers expect to see disability slips
that state the worker will be off work for a period of
time, i.e., able to return to work in 4 weeks, etc.

Both wage-loss and medical benefits in Michigan are potentially life long. This
means that if you meet the definition of disability and it results in wage-loss then
you are entitled to weekly benefits. Similarly, if the medical treatment that is
provided is reasonable and related to the work injury then it remains the carrier’s
responsibility. It is commonplace for carriers to close files, but their liability can only
be fully terminated through an Agreement to Redeem that must be approved by a
Workers' C:

While there is an argument that non-compliance with medical treatment could result in]
the termination of weekly wage-loss benefits, it is a rare occurrence and cannot be
sustained if the treatment is invasive in any way. So truly the only incentive is recovery
from the work injury.

Minnesota

No

No. Minnesota rules do require that health care providers
complete a report of work ability (form here) within 10 days
of request by an insurer or self-insured employer or at the
following intervals: (1) every visit f visits are less frequent
than once every two weeks; (2) every two weeks if visits are
more frequent than once every two weeks, unless work
restrictions change sooner; or (3) upon expiration of the
ending or review date of the restriction specified in a
previous report of work ability. Minn. R. 5221.0410, subp. 6
(A)(3). The form includes information on an employee’s
work restrictions and s used by payers to authorize
benefits.

The treatment. for treatment of p

stress disorder (PTSD) require a psychotherapy provider to
complete a report of work ability every two weeks while a
patient is receiving psychotherapy treatment. Minn. R.
5221.6700, subp. 5(C).

No, Minnesota rules state “open-ended durations of
disability or restriction may not be given.” Minn. R.
5221.0410, subp. 6 (A)(3).

No. However, workers' compensation benefits may be suspended if the employee
refuses reasonable medical treatment, subject to reinstatement from the time the
lemployee accepts treatment. The Minnesota Supreme Court has stated that
workers whether an employee's refusal of treatment is reasonable requires “a
weighing of the probability of the treatment’s successfully reducing the disability by
a significant amount, against the risk of the treatment to the [employee].”

The Court has also stated that generally, an employee’s unreasonable refusal to
submit to corrective surgery justifies suspension of payment of benefits.
Reasonableness is based on a number of factors, including the dangerousness of the
operation, the likelihood of success, and the pain and discomfort possible from the
surgery.

No, but refusal of reasonable treatment puts their benefits in jeopardy as explained in
number 4 above.

Montana

No

Typically bi-week (39-71-740).

Providers are required to fill out the Medical Status Form
(39-71-1036). One of the things that s required to be
addressed on the form is the anticipated date of release.

Insurers may suspend compensation benefits pending the receipt of medical
information when an IW unreasonably fails to keep scheduled medical appointment|
(39-71-607).

I don’t understand this question. The incentive is they get better. The disincentive is
that they can have their benefits terminated, see #2 above, if they do not comply.

Nebraska

In Nebraska, there is no set time frame for physician examinations.
Situations are analyzed on a case by case basis.

No. Time loss benefits do not have to be authorized in
specific increments.

[There are no statutory (or court rule) requirements that a|
medical provider place an end date as to time loss. This is
another issue that would be analyzed on a case by case
basis. If an employee or employer took issue with an
open-ended release from work, they could request a
hearing in front of one of the judges to address the
duration of time loss due to the work accident.

We have two points to make in response to this question. First, a claim can only be
closed by complying with statutory procedures for settlement releases or court-
approved settlements. See Nebraska revised Statutes § § 48-138 and 48-139.
Second, while a claim can't be closed if a worker doesn't follow their treatment plan,
and that failure rises to the level described in our statutes, the employer may be
able to obtain an order suspending, reducing, or limiting benefits.Nebraska Revised
Statutes § 48-120(2)(c) provides that " If the injured employee unreasonably refuses
or neglects to avail himself or herself of medical or surgical treatment furnished by
the employer, except as herein and otherwise provided, the employer is not liable
for an aggravation of such injury due to such refusal and neglect and the
compensation court or judge thereof may suspend, reduce, or limit the
compensation otherwise payable under the Nebraska Workers' Compensation Act."

[There are no statutory incentives for an injured worker to complete their treatment
plan, nor do applicable court rules establish such incentives. The usual incentives, such
a5 a desire to support oneself / family and return to productive activity, would apply.

Nevada

NAC 616C.055 Reports required

3. The following reports are required on a scheduled basis:

(a) Amonthly report prepared by the treating physician or
chiropractic physician during the period of disability. The report must
contain a narrative summary of the condition of the injured
employee, his or her progress, and the physician’s or chiropractic
physician'’s plan of future treatment and prognosis. The report is due
on or before the 10th day of each month following the month in
which the treatment or evaluation is rendered.

NRS 616C.475 Amount and duration of compensation;
limitations; cessation of payments; requirements for
certification of disability; offer of light-duty employment.
[Effective January 1, 2022.]

3. Ifaclaim for the period of temporary total disability
is allowed, the first payment pursuant to this section must
be issued by the insurer within 14 working days after
receipt of the initial certification of disability and regularly
thereafter.

NRS 616C.475 Amount and duration of compensation;
limitations; cessation of payments; requirements for
certification of disability; offer of light-duty employment.
[Effective January 1, 2022.]

7. Acertification of disability issued by a physician or
chiropractic physician must:

(a) Include the period of disability and a description
of any physical limitations or restrictions imposed upon
the work of the employee;

(b) Specify whether the limitations or restrictions are
permanent or temporary; and

(c) Be signed by the treating physician or chiropractic
physician authorized pursuant to NRS 616B.527 or
appropriately chosen pursuant to subsection 4 or 5 of
NRS 616C.090.

Yes, there can be several scenarios for claim closure. However, if they do not follow
up for medical treatment, the Insurer/TPA may issue the Intent to Close claim letter,
with appeal rights, which expire in 70 days, (+3 days for mailing), whether receiving
TTD/TPD benefits or not.

NRS 616C.140 Medical examination of claimant; effect of refusal to submit to
examination; communications not privileged. [Effective January 1, 2022.]

5. If the employee refuses to submit to an examination ordered or requested
pursuant to subsection 1 or 2 or obstructs the examination, the right of the
employee to is until the has taken place, and
no compensation is payable during or for the period of suspension

Yes, if they are receiving temporary total disability (TTD) or temporary partial disability
(TPD) benefits and do not follow up for medical treatment, benefits can be suspended
until treatment resumes.

NRS 616C.230 Grounds for denial, reduction or suspension of compensation;
evidence of and examination for use of alcohol or controlled substance. [Effective
January 1, 2022.]

4. If any employee persists in an unsanitary or injurious practice that imperils or
retards his or her recovery, or refuses to submit to such medical or surgical treatment
as is necessary to promote his or her recovery, the employee’s compensation may be
reduced or suspended

5. Aninjured employee’s compensation, other than accident benefits, must be
suspended

(a) Aphysician or chiropractic physician determines that the employee is unable to
undergo treatment, testing or examination for the industrial injury solely because of a
condition or injury that did not arise out of and in the course of employment; and

(b) It is within the ability of the employee to correct the nonindustrial condition or
injury.

& The compensation must be suspended until the injured employee is able to resume
treatment, testing or examination for the industrial injury. The insurer may elect to pay|
for the treatment of the nonindustrial condition or injury.

There is no in New Hampshire’s Workers C¢
Law that requires a medical provider to treat an injured worker on a
statutorily specified schedule.

No. Workers C insurance carriers liable to
make payment of lost time for a disability period must do
so for the pendency of the disability period and there is no
statutory requirement for reauthorization from the
Department.

There is no under New

to indemnity payments, an insurance carriers may not reduce or terminate

compensation law that requires an end date if that
provider has determined the injured worker is not
released to return to work as a result f his or her injuries.

indemnity benefits to an injured worker without approval from the Department of
Labor, per New Hampshire’s Workers Compensation Law at RSA 281-A:48. Any
insurance carrier seeking to terminate or reduce indemnity benefits would need to
petition for and Department approval to do so, and provide documentation
supporting that the injured worker has had a change of condition. Relative to
medical benefits, an insurance carrier may deny medical expenses presented if those]
expenses are not reasonable, necessary and related to the underlying injury, even if
the case has been approved for lump sum settlement.

[There are not specific provisions in New Hampshire’s Workers Compensation Law
relative to incentives and/or treatment plan completeness/compliance.




New York

When a claimant's disability has not been classified as permanent,
there is no presumption o inference of a continuing disability, and
the claimant's attending physicians have the burden of submitting up-|
to-date medical evidence that the disability is continuing (see 12
NYCRR 325-1.3([b][3]; Matter of Virtuoso v Glen Campbell Chevrolet,
Inc., 66 AD3d 1141 [2009]). Pursuant to 12 NYCRR 325-1.3(b)(3), the
claimant’s attending physician is required to submit progress reports
of ongoing medically necessary treatment and “the intervals between
[those] follow-up visits shall be no more than 90 days.”

In New York State, Workers’ Compensation benefits are
ordered to be paid by a Workers’ Compensation Law Judge
(WCLI). There is no specific time frame for such benefits.
Typically, a WCLI will determine the degree of the
claimant’s disability (based on medical evidence
introduced) and order benefits to be paid at the appropriate]
rate for the period from either the date of injury or date of
a prior order to the date of the present order and direct the
carrier to continue to pay benefits for an indefinite period
at the same o a different rate. The carrier or claimant may,
at any time thereafter, seek a change in the benefit rate
based on new medical evidence. A carrier may only

suspend continuing payments in limited
circumstances, such as when the record contains evidence
of the claimant's return to work, based on two weeks of
payroll records; when the claimant’s treating physician has
provided an opinion of no disability; or when the carrier
obtains and submits "proof of incarceration upon [the
claimant's] conviction of a felony" (12 NYCRR

300.23(b)(3] i-liv]).

Medical providers have no authority to authorize
Workers’ Compensation benefits in New York State.
Providers and carrier's medical consultants provide
medical evidence to the WCLJ, who then makes a legal
determination as to a claimant’s temporary or
permanent degree of disability and the amount(s) and
period(s) of benefits (if any) to be paid.

The New York State Workers' Compensation Law has no provision for “treatment
plans.”

Workers' Compensation benefits are initially paid on a temporary basis depending on
the WCLY's finding of the temporary degree of disability until such time as the WCL
determines, based on medical evidence provided, that the claimant has reached
maximum medical improvement (MMI), i.e., that the claimant has recovered from the
work injury or illness to the greatest extent that is expected, and no further
improvement is reasonably expected. Upon a determination of MMI, the WCLI will
make a finding as to the degree of permanent disability (if any) and award benefits (if
any) in accordance with that finding.

North Carolina No No Yes No Failure to comply with medical treatment could result in suspension of workers’
compensation benefits during the period of non-compliance, if ordered by the:
Industrial C
North Dakota Not directly. Disability must be certified by the employee’s No There is no statutory prohibition. ? If an employee fails to follow a treatment plan, indemnity benefits may terminate. If an injured worker does not complete the plan, they risk moving into medical non-
healthcare provider. NDCC 65-05-08.1. The termination can be for the remainder of the claim. Medical benefits however, |compliance and losing indemnity benefits. NDCC 65-05-28(4).
A schedule is not statutorily specified. are unaffected. NDCC 65-05-28(4).
Ohio No No No No No
Pennsylvania No No, this is controlled by statues that state they must be Yes Not unilaterally, a petition must be filed. Not statutorily.
paid per their regular pay schedules.
[Rhode Island No time schedule. No specific increments Yes No, but benefits can be if not followed.
South Dakota Itis set up by the case management plan or by the claimant and Itis set up by the case management plan or by the claimant It is set up by the case management plan or by the A claim can be suspended if a claimant refuses to avail themselves to treatment. (SD |Once they are at MMI they receive PPD payments according to SDCL 62-4-6.
employer/insurer and employer/insurer claimant and employer/insurer 62-4-43)

certify temporary total disability (TTD) benefits. The length of time of|
the initial certification or recertification of TTD shall be established by
the department after considering the recommendation of the health
care provider and current medical literature. The employee,
employer, or division may request recertification at intervals of not
less than sixty (60) days. The division does require the injured worker
to see their physician every 60 days while receiving TTD benefits.

Disability (TTD) benefits to be paid twice a month, with half
paid on or about the fifteenth of the month and the other
half paid on or about the thirtieth of the month.

without an end date. When this occurs, we return the
temporary total disability application to the injured
worker and the physician to request an end date.

suspended if the injured worker fails to appear at an appointment with his health
care provider. Payment shall be suspended until the employee appears at a
subsequent rescheduled appointment. Payment shall not be suspended for failing t
appear at an appointment if the injured worker notifies the division before the

or within y-four (24) hours after missing the appointment if t's
determined that the injured worker made all reasonable efforts to keep the
appointment.

If the division has not paid a claim in 120 days, the claim will be inactivated and no
further benefits will be paid unless future treatment billed to the division is

Utah There is no set schedule for physicians to treat patients whoare |A provider does not have to authorize time loss in specific |A provider can authorize time loss without an end date. |A claim can be denied in whole, or in part, if an injured worker does not follow a | Only benefit continuation.

receiving loss time benefits in Utah. i in Utah. There are for timely treatment plan that is considered reasonable and necessary.
payment of the benefits by the carrier, which is codified
based on benefit type.
Vermont No No. The only caveat here is that after 90 days of TTDthe  |No Yes. Failure to follow a medical treatment plan or failure to cooperate with avoc | Not in the affirmative. Rather, the worker risks discontinuance of temporary benefits
carrier has to refer the injured worker to voc rehab rehab counselor are grounds for termination of TTD. for not completing the treatment plan.
screening, and after 104 weeks of TTD the carrier is
required to review the claim and provide either an expected
end date of disability, o file a notice to discontinue if the
worker is at end medical result.

Wisconsin In Wisconsin physicians and other health care providers are not There is no statute or administrative rule that requires _|Physicians and other competent practitioners may Section 102.42 (6), Wis. Stats, covers treatment rejected by an employee. A There are no specific incentives in our law or administrative rules for an injured
required by statute or administrative rule to see or i ion for temporary disability (compensation for  |authorize time off work for injured employees without a |summary of this subsection provides that no compensation shall be payable for  |employee to complete the treatment plan. The primary incentive is for the employee is
injured workers on a schedule or set timeframe. lost time) to be authorized in specific increments. specific end date. death or disability of an employee, if the death or disability is aggravated, caused or |to successfully recover from the injury and return to work.

continued by an unreasonable refusal or neglect by the employee to submit to or
follow any competent and reasonable treatment when found by the department or
division to be necessary. This provision does not apply to employees who elected
Christian Science treatment in lieu of medical treatment.
Wyoming Wyoming Statute 27-14-404(g) states only a healthcare provider may [Wyoming Statute 27-14-403 (c) requires Temporary Total _|The division considers certification to be incomplete | Wyoming Statute 27-14-404 (h) states temporary total disability benefits shall be | Wyoming Statute 27-14-403(k) allows the division to offer a three percent (3%)

incentive on temporary total disability benefits if the injured worker receives all of thei
care in Wyoming. The division does not offer an incentive to complete a treatment
plan

to be related to the original injury.




