
Survey of Other State Laws 
10/17/22 - lines highlighted in yellow  were received after 10/12/22
Surveys sent by the Workers' Compensation Division to other state contacts. Responses are listed verbatim as received. 

Column1 For workers on time loss, are physicians or other providers required 
to see or communicate with them on a schedule or in a set 

timeframe - e.g. once every 30 days, every two weeks, once per 
month? If so, what is the required schedule? 

Do time loss benefits have to be authorized in specific 
increments, e.g., 14 days at a time? If so, what are the 

increments? 

Can a provider authorize time loss without an end date? Can a claim be closed if the worker does not follow their treatment plan? Does an injured worker have any specific incentives to complete their treatment 
plan?

Arizona At least once every 30 days for an active workers' comp claim. An injured worker is paid every 14 days if on a no work 
status from a physician  until they are released back to full 
duty  work.  If the injured worker is released to light duty 
work then they are paid every 30 days minus any earnings 
that they earned working light duty work.

A  Provider referring to a physician can continue the 
Injured worker on a no work status with supported 
documentation for on-going active treatment.

A claim can only be closed with supporting medical documentation for time loss 
claims  and/or Medical only claims with a no response to a 20 day letter regarding if 
they are still seeking medical treatment. 

No, there is no specific incentive for an injured worker to complete their treatment 
plans. 

California There is no set timeframe. The physician should issue the Doctor’s 
First Report of Injury, setting forth medical information and “work 
status” within 5 working days following initial evaluation. (See Title 8, 
California Code of Regulations §9785.) Thereafter, the injured 
worker’s primary treating physician treating  issues a Progress Report 
(PR-2) within 20 days of specified circumstances.
There is no set time frame for the physician to see or communicate 
with the injured worker who is temporarily disabled. Frequency 
would be determined by the medical condition and standards of 
care, including any recommendations in the Medical Treatment 
Utilization Schedule ACOEM Guidelines related to the condition.
There are specified triggers for the physician to issue a report to the 
claims administrator so that appropriate benefits may be provided in 
a timely manner. Note that section 9785, subdivision (f)(8) provides 
that “When continuing medical treatment is provided, a progress 
report shall be made no later than forty-five days from the last report 
of any type under this section even if no event described in 
paragraphs (1) to (7) has occurred. If an examination has occurred, 
the report shall be signed and transmitted within 20 days of the 
examination.” Note that section 9785, subdivision (f)(3) requires the 
physician to report within 20 days if “[t]he employee's condition 
permits return to modified or regular work.”
In summary, there is not a set time frame for seeing or 
communicating with the injured worker who is on temporary 
disability status. The medical considerations and reporting 
requirements will impact the frequency of patient visits and 

There is no requirement for temporary disability to be 
authorized in specified increments. Recommendations in 
the MTUS ACOEM Treatment Guidelines may impact the 
“increments” that are medically appropriate to be off work 
in light of the injured worker’s diagnosis and treatment 
plan. 

Although there is no set increment for authorized time off 
work, the temporary disability indemnity payments are 
made “every two weeks on the day designated with the 
first payment.” (California Labor Code section 4650(c).)

There is no specific statute or regulation addressing this; 
however it would be expected that the physician provide 
a medically appropriate estimate of the time off work 
and indicate when a re-evaluation would be planned. 
Additionally, the physician is expected to report when 
the patient may return to modified duties.
When the injured worker’s medical condition is 
permanent and stationary, the physician would issue a 
report releasing the worker to return to work (unless 
already returned to work or permanently totally 
disabled), and would indicate any ongoing work 
restrictions.

Although there are no specific rules limiting a provider 
from authorizing an endless amount of time loss, there 
are caps on the amount of payable temporary disability 
indemnity. California Labor Code section 4656(c) states, 
“aggregate disability payments for a single injury 
occurring on or after April 19, 2004, causing temporary 
disability shall not extend for more than 104 
compensable weeks within a period of two years from 
the date of commencement of TD payment.” The statute 
allows up to 240 compensable weeks within five years 
for specified serious injuries or conditions, and for 
firefighter/peace officer where the cancer presumption 
statute applies.

A claim cannot be unilaterally “closed” if the worker does not follow their treatment 
plan. However, if the injured worker does not follow recommended / authorized 
treatment which results in extended temporary disability, the employer/insurer 
may petition the Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board to suspend benefits.
California Labor Code section 4056 states as follows: 
“No compensation is payable in case of the death or disability of an employee when 
his death is caused, or when and so far as his disability is caused, continued, or 
aggravated, by an unreasonable refusal to submit to medical treatment, or to any 
surgical treatment, if the risk of the treatment is, in the opinion of the appeals 
board, based upon expert medical or surgical advice, inconsiderable in view of the 
seriousness of the injury.”

No.

Colorado There is no set schedule in rule or act. Some of the individual carriers 
have policies, but those are not enforced by our Division of Worker's 
Compensation.

No Yes Sort of. I'm not positive if you're asking about full claim closure or just termination 
of the wage replacement benefits (temporary disability benefits), so I'm giving you 
the answer for both, along with links to the specified rules. Colorado Workers' 
Compensation Rules of Procedure (WCRP) Rule 6-1 lays out how temporary 
disability benefits can be shut down. In subsection (4), benefits can be terminated if 
an injured worker fails to respond to a written offer of modified employment. 
Subsection (5) allows suspension of benefits when there is failure to attend a 
rescheduled (so they've missed one appointment already) medical appointment and 
the worker is notified of that rescheduled appointment by written notice with a 
signed certificate of service stating that benefits will be suspended if the worker 
fails to appear. I should note, however, that if the worker's benefits are suspended 
under this rule and the worker later goes back to the doctor, the suspended 
benefits can be collected by the injured worker. 
WCRP Rule 7-1(B) allows for a final admission of liability to be filed based upon 
claim abandonment, but there cannot be temporary benefits being paid, the worker 
has to have missed at least 2 consecutive medical appointments, and they have to 
fail to respond within 30 days to a letter from the adjuster inquiring if additional 
treatment is necessary AND warning of the consequences of failing to respond. If 
the claimant responds/objects to that final admission, the claim must go back on a 
general admission of liability. 

I'm not positive what you're asking here, so I am going to assume we do not have 
something like that in CO. As I previously mentioned, if there is a modified job offer or 
failure to attend medical appointments, wage replacement benefits can be cut off 
and/or suspended. There is also a 24-month Division Independent Medical 
Examination (DIME) process which can force claims to closure. It's provided for by Act, 
in CRS 8-42-107(8)(b)(II). You can find the process laid out in WCRP Rule 11-4. The 
short version of that process is, 24 months from date of injury, if the authorized 
provider has not placed the worker at maximum medical improvement (MMI), the 
carrier can send the worker to an independent physician for examination. If that 
independent provider says the injured worker is at MMI, then the report is sent to the 
authorized provider. If the authorized provider still says not at MMI, then the carrier 
can request a 24 month DIME. In Colorado, the DIME process is requested from our 
DOWC. The DIME Unit sends a list of 3 doctors, each party strikes one, and the 
remaining doctor performs an examination. If that doctor says MMI, then the carrier 
can move forward. If not, then treatment just needs to continue. 
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Column1 For workers on time loss, are physicians or other providers required 
to see or communicate with them on a schedule or in a set 

timeframe - e.g. once every 30 days, every two weeks, once per 
month? If so, what is the required schedule? 

Do time loss benefits have to be authorized in specific 
increments, e.g., 14 days at a time? If so, what are the 

increments? 

Can a provider authorize time loss without an end date? Can a claim be closed if the worker does not follow their treatment plan? Does an injured worker have any specific incentives to complete their treatment 
plan?

Florida [Florida] Administrative Rule 69L-7.730 requires the treating 
physician to complete and return form DWC-25 (Florida Workers’ 
Compensation Uniform Medical Treatment/Status Report Form) to 
the insurer, and employer upon request, by close of business on the 
next business day following the first visit and following each 
subsequent visit or a maximum of 30 calendar days from the date of 
the prior DWC-25 form submission.  In instances where the form is 
submitted without the occurrence of any actionable event, receipt of 
new information or patient re-examination, it is anticipated that the 
provider will submit the form reflecting an unchanged patient status.

The DWC-25 is the required reporting form for physicians to 
recommend medical treatment/services and report the medical 
status of the injured employee to insurers/employers including the 
establishment of the date of Maximum Medical Improvement (MMI) 
and assignment of Permanent Impairment Rating (PIR), when 
applicable, pursuant to Sections 440.13(4)(a) and 440.15(3)(d), F.S.  
The form shall be submitted by the provider to the insurer, and to 
the employer upon request, upon the occurrence of any actionable 
event (change in treatment plan, regime, therapies, prescriptions, or 
functional limitations or restrictions) and following the injured 
employees achieving Maximum Medical Improvement, in accordance 
with the conditions and timeframes established in this rule.

Per Florida Statute 440.20(2)(a), the carrier must pay the 
first installment of compensation for total disability or 
death benefits or deny compensability no later than the 
14th calendar day after the employer receives notification 
of the injury or death, when the disability is immediate and 
continuous for 8 calendar days.  If the first 7 days after the 
disability are nonconsecutive or delayed, the first 
installment of compensation is due on the 6th day after the 
first 8 calendar days of disability.  After the first week paid 
installment of indemnity benefits, indemnity benefits are 
paid in bi-weekly installments until suspended, exhausted 
or settled.

The injured worker can be placed on a no work status by 
the authorized treating physician (as deemed necessary) 
as it relates to the compensable work injury/illness for 
treatment that is medically necessary, remedial 
treatment and care.  This includes required recovery 
periods as it relates to the nature of the injury.       

Indemnity benefits can be suspended for medical noncompliance. Indemnity benefits are paid at 66 2/3 % of the Average Weekly Wage (AWW).  No 
compensation is payable if the injured worker is engaged in, or is physically capable of 
engaging in, at least sedentary duty work.

Georgia In Georgia there is not a set timeframe, but is as when “medically 
reasonably necessary” and the employer or employee can request a 
return visit to see the authorized treating physician whenever either 
desires.

Authorized lost time benefits have to be paid on a weekly 
basis beginning 21 days after a date of injury with 
compensable lost time.

Yes Not without a Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation Order, or if a statute 
of limitation has run, or by agreement of the parties.

Only his or her personal motivation to recover as fully and completely from their 
physical injuries as soon as possible and by their own motivation to have a successful 
return to work as soon as possible.

Hawaii There is no set timeframe or schedule please review 12-15-32 of the 
Hawaii Administrative Rules Workers’ Compensation Medical Fee 
Schedule (link provided below): 
https://labor.hawaii.gov/dcd/files/2012/11/MFS-RULES-WEB.pdf

I am not sure what your question is referring to, but if you 
are referring to the time increment of when they are paid 
for time loss benefits, you may refer to Section 386-31 (link 
provided below):
https://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/hrscurrent/Vol07_Ch0346-
0398/HRS0386/HRS_0386-0031.htm1 
and Section 386-53 (link provided below):
 https://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/hrscurrent/Vol07_Ch0346-
0398/HRS0386/HRS_0386-0053.htm

Most providers provide a time loss end date. However, if 
they don’t, I would think that the insurance adjuster 
would generally contact the provider to obtain an end 
date (example: next appointment). 

There is no specific statute or administrative rule that a claim can be closed if the 
worker does not follow their treatment plan. If a case is closed, it can be reopened. 
You may review section 386-89 HRS Reopening of cases:  
https://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/hrscurrent/Vol07_Ch0346-
0398/HRS0386/HRS_0386-0089.htm

There is no specific statute or administrative rule that provide incentives for an injured 
worker to complete their treatment plan. 

Idaho Reasonable and/or necessary follow-up is determined by the treating 
physician.

Income benefits are to be paid weekly by statute, although 
we do allow bi-weekly payments.

Our regulations do not require an end date.   Benefits may be suspended if the injured worker fails to submit to or obstructs an 
examination by the physician or surgeon until such failure or obstruction ceases.  

Nothing other than getting well and returning to gainful employment.

Illinois By statute and / or Rule, there is no set time frame required for 
communication. Rather, it is the physician/patient relationship that 
will dictate the method and timing of communication. 

Presuming that you are asking about the continuation of 
disability payments, as based upon a physician note, there 
is no required increment. However, there is a requirement 
that any physician off work slip be delivered to the 
employer in a timely manner. As the world has changed 
with Covid, so too has the delivery method of off work 
slips. 

If there is no end date on an off work slip, it is usually 
subject to the caveat of “until further order” of the 
physician. In the truest sense of the word, the answer to 
your question is “yes.” 

As with all questions, the conclusion is not answered simply. If the claim reaches 3 
years, subsequent to the last payment of compensation, without a filing at the 
IWCC, it is moot. Anytime prior to that, the claim is not simply closed. Employers 
may terminate benefits for non-compliance.  If you need further discussion on this 
issue, or any other please call me. 

The easy answer is yes, he or she wants to return to work and keep her or his job. 
There are many who feel that there is no incentive, short of that. 

Indiana No. We do not micromanage how insurers handle care provided to 
injured workers unless there is an issue about it.

No Yes.  Provider may keep the person off work until the 
next follow up appointment, for example.

Yes.  In Indiana we actually have a Suspension of Benefits provision which can be 
invoked by the payer whenever the worker does not comply with medical care plan 
or light work restriction.  If this goes on long enough, the payer can try to get the 
claim dismissed.  Some workers are just NOT going to comply, such as with a 
surgical order, so the claim will be dismissed if conservative care does not work.  
There will be a PPI, but it will take into consideration the fact that surgery was not 
done.

Yes.  Not getting their TTD suspended or their PPI refused.  Getting the care they need 
to heal.

Maine No.  Injured workers seek treatment as needed. No Providers do not authorize payments for time lost from 
work.

Maine’s statute does not specifically authorize an insurer/self-insurer to close a 
claim on this basis.

Other than an injured worker’s desire to heal and return to work as soon as possible, 
no.  Maine’s statute does not contain any provisions specifically tailored to treatment 
plans.

Maryland There is not a set timeframe, although disability slips should cover 
reasonable amounts of time and thus, presumably visits should occur 
within reasonable amounts of time.

There is not a specific increment for time loss benefits.  Please see no. 1 above.  The provider may authorize time 
loss without an end date but that does not necessarily 
equate to the injured worker receiving time loss benefits 
ad infinitum.

Treatment and benefits may be terminated/suspended but the overall claim is not 
necessarily “closed”.

Other than getting better and returning to the workforce…there is not an incentive to 
finish treatment, although the quicker an injured worker finishes treatment the less 
likely he/she will be involved in litigation.
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Michigan We do not regulate communication between the provider and the 
worker. Providers must provide information to the carrier to support 
that the treatment that they are providing is for the work injury.  This 
is customarily done by supplying the physician notes or diagnostic 
study reports. 

Michigan is a wage loss state. The injured worker must 
show a loss of wage-earning capacity as a result of the work 
injury and that their ongoing disability is causing the wage 
loss. Our statute describes benefits as weekly with a formal 
definition of the weekly compensation rate as 80% of the 
after-tax weekly wage. 

? Yes, however, most carriers expect to see disability 
slips that state the worker will be off work for a period of 
time, i.e., able to return to work in 4 weeks, etc. 

Both wage-loss and medical benefits in Michigan are potentially life long.  This 
means that if you meet the definition of disability and it results in wage-loss then 
you are entitled to weekly benefits. Similarly, if the medical treatment that is 
provided is reasonable and related to the work injury then it remains the carrier’s 
responsibility. It is commonplace for carriers to close files, but their liability can only 
be fully terminated through an Agreement to Redeem that must be approved by a 
Workers’ Compensation Magistrate. 

While there is an argument that non-compliance with medical treatment could result 
in the termination of weekly wage-loss benefits, it is a rare occurrence and cannot be 
sustained if the treatment is invasive in any way. So truly the only incentive is recovery 
from the work injury.

Minnesota No No. Minnesota rules do require that health care providers 
complete a report of work ability (form here) within 10 
days of request by an insurer or self-insured employer or at 
the following intervals:  (1) every visit if visits are less 
frequent than once every two weeks; (2) every two weeks if 
visits are more frequent than once every two weeks, unless 
work restrictions change sooner; or (3) upon expiration of 
the ending or review date of the restriction specified in a 
previous report of work ability. Minn. R. 5221.0410, subp. 6 
(A)(3).  The form includes information on an employee’s 
work restrictions and is used by payers to authorize 
benefits.

The treatment parameters for treatment of post-traumatic 
stress disorder (PTSD) require a psychotherapy provider to 
complete a report of work ability every two weeks while a 
patient is receiving psychotherapy treatment.  Minn. R. 
5221.6700, subp. 5(C).

No, Minnesota rules state “open-ended durations of 
disability or restriction may not be given.” Minn. R. 
5221.0410, subp. 6 (A)(3).

No.  However, workers’ compensation benefits may be suspended if the employee 
refuses reasonable medical treatment, subject to reinstatement from the time the 
employee accepts treatment.  The Minnesota Supreme Court has stated that 
workers whether an employee’s refusal of treatment is reasonable requires “a 
weighing of the probability of the treatment’s successfully reducing the disability by 
a significant amount, against the risk of the treatment to the [employee].”  

The Court has also stated that generally, an employee’s unreasonable refusal to 
submit to corrective surgery justifies suspension of payment of benefits. 
Reasonableness is based on a number of factors, including the dangerousness of the 
operation, the likelihood of success, and the pain and discomfort possible from the 
surgery.  

No, but refusal of reasonable treatment puts their benefits in jeopardy as explained in 
number 4 above.

Montana No Typically bi-week (39-71-740). Providers are required to fill out the Medical Status Form 
(39-71-1036).  One of the things that is required to be 
addressed on the form is the anticipated date of release.

Insurers may suspend compensation benefits pending the receipt of medical 
information when an IW unreasonably fails to keep scheduled medical 
appointments (39-71-607).

I don’t understand this question.  The incentive is they get better.  The disincentive is 
that they can have their benefits terminated, see #2 above, if they do not comply.

Nebraska In Nebraska, there is no set time frame for physician examinations. 
Situations are analyzed on a case by case basis.

No. Time loss benefits do not have to be authorized in 
specific increments.

There are no statutory (or court rule) requirements that 
a medical provider place an end date as to time loss. This 
is another issue that would be analyzed on a case by case 
basis. If an employee or employer took issue with an 
open-ended release from work, they could request a 
hearing in front of one of the judges to address the 
duration of time loss due to the work accident.

We have two points to make in response to this question. First, a claim can only be 
closed by complying with statutory procedures for settlement releases or court-
approved settlements. See Nebraska revised Statutes  § § 48-138 and 48-139. 
Second, while a claim can't be closed if a worker doesn't follow their treatment 
plan, and that failure rises to the level described in our statutes, the employer may 
be able to obtain an order suspending, reducing, or limiting benefits.Nebraska 
Revised Statutes  § 48-120(2)(c) provides that " If the injured employee 
unreasonably refuses or neglects to avail himself or herself of medical or surgical 
treatment furnished by the employer, except as herein and otherwise provided, the 
employer is not liable for an aggravation of such injury due to such refusal and 
neglect and the compensation court or judge thereof may suspend, reduce, or limit 
the compensation otherwise payable under the Nebraska Workers' Compensation 
Act."

There are no statutory incentives for an injured worker to complete their treatment 
plan, nor do applicable court rules establish such incentives. The usual incentives, such 
as a desire to support oneself / family and return to productive activity, would apply.

Nevada NAC 616C.055  Reports required
     3.  The following reports are required on a scheduled basis:
     (a) A monthly report prepared by the treating physician or 
chiropractic physician during the period of disability. The report must 
contain a narrative summary of the condition of the injured 
employee, his or her progress, and the physician’s or chiropractic 
physician’s plan of future treatment and prognosis. The report is due 
on or before the 10th day of each month following the month in 
which the treatment or evaluation is rendered.

NRS 616C.475  Amount and duration of compensation; 
limitations; cessation of payments; requirements for 
certification of disability; offer of light-duty employment. 
[Effective January 1, 2022.]
      3.  If a claim for the period of temporary total disability 
is allowed, the first payment pursuant to this section must 
be issued by the insurer within 14 working days after 
receipt of the initial certification of disability and regularly 
thereafter.

NRS 616C.475  Amount and duration of compensation; 
limitations; cessation of payments; requirements for 
certification of disability; offer of light-duty employment. 
[Effective January 1, 2022.]
7.  A certification of disability issued by a physician or 
chiropractic physician must:
      (a) Include the period of disability and a description 
of any physical limitations or restrictions imposed upon 
the work of the employee;
      (b) Specify whether the limitations or restrictions are 
permanent or temporary; and
      (c) Be signed by the treating physician or chiropractic 
physician authorized pursuant to NRS 616B.527 or 
appropriately chosen pursuant to subsection 4 or 5 of 
NRS 616C.090.

Yes, there can be several scenarios for claim closure. However, if they do not follow 
up for medical treatment, the Insurer/TPA may issue the Intent to Close claim letter, 
with appeal rights, which expire in 70 days, (+3 days for mailing), whether receiving 
TTD/TPD benefits or not. 
NRS 616C.140  Medical examination of claimant; effect of refusal to submit to 
examination; communications not privileged. [Effective January 1, 2022.]
      5.  If the employee refuses to submit to an examination ordered or requested 
pursuant to subsection 1 or 2 or obstructs the examination, the right of the 
employee to compensation is suspended until the examination has taken place, and 
no compensation is payable during or for the period of suspension.

Yes, if they are receiving temporary total disability (TTD) or temporary partial disability 
(TPD) benefits and do not follow up for medical treatment, benefits can be suspended 
until treatment resumes. 
NRS 616C.230  Grounds for denial, reduction or suspension of compensation; 
evidence of and examination for use of alcohol or controlled substance. [Effective 
January 1, 2022.]
      4.  If any employee persists in an unsanitary or injurious practice that imperils or 
retards his or her recovery, or refuses to submit to such medical or surgical treatment 
as is necessary to promote his or her recovery, the employee’s compensation may be 
reduced or suspended.
      5.  An injured employee’s compensation, other than accident benefits, must be 
suspended if:
      (a) A physician or chiropractic physician determines that the employee is unable to 
undergo treatment, testing or examination for the industrial injury solely because of a 
condition or injury that did not arise out of and in the course of employment; and
      (b) It is within the ability of the employee to correct the nonindustrial condition or 
injury.
 The compensation must be suspended until the injured employee is able to resume 
treatment, testing or examination for the industrial injury. The insurer may elect to 
pay for the treatment of the nonindustrial condition or injury.
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New Hampshire There is no requirement in New Hampshire’s Workers Compensation 
Law that requires a medical provider to treat an injured worker on a 
statutorily specified schedule. 

No. Workers Compensation insurance carriers liable to 
make payment of lost time for a disability period must do 
so for the pendency of the disability period and there is no 
statutory requirement for reauthorization from the 
Department. 

There is no requirement under New Hampshire’s 
workers compensation law that requires an end date if 
that provider has determined the injured worker is not 
released to return to work as a result if his or her 
injuries. 

Relative to indemnity payments, an insurance carriers may not reduce or terminate 
indemnity benefits to an injured worker without approval from the Department of 
Labor, per New Hampshire’s Workers Compensation Law at RSA 281-A:48.  Any 
insurance carrier seeking to terminate or reduce indemnity benefits would need to 
petition for and Department approval to do so, and provide documentation 
supporting that the injured worker has had a change of condition.   Relative to 
medical benefits, an insurance carrier may deny medical expenses presented if 
those expenses are not reasonable, necessary and related to the underlying injury, 
even if the case has been approved for lump sum settlement. 

There are not specific provisions in New Hampshire’s Workers Compensation Law 
relative to incentives and/or treatment plan completeness/compliance.    

New York When a claimant's disability has not been classified as permanent, 
there is no presumption or inference of a continuing disability, and 
the claimant's attending physicians have the burden of submitting up-
to-date medical evidence that the disability is continuing (see 12 
NYCRR 325-1.3[b][3]; Matter of Virtuoso v Glen Campbell Chevrolet, 
Inc., 66 AD3d 1141 [2009]). Pursuant to 12 NYCRR 325-1.3(b)(3), the 
claimant’s attending physician is required to submit progress reports 
of ongoing medically necessary treatment and “the intervals 
between [those] follow-up visits shall be no more than 90 days.”

In New York State, Workers’ Compensation benefits are 
ordered to be paid by a Workers’ Compensation Law Judge 
(WCLJ). There is no specific time frame for such benefits. 
Typically, a WCLJ will determine the degree of the 
claimant’s disability (based on medical evidence 
introduced) and order benefits to be paid at the 
appropriate rate for the period from either the date of 
injury or date of a prior order to the date of the present 
order and direct the carrier to continue to pay benefits for 
an indefinite period at the same or a different rate. The 
carrier or claimant may, at any time thereafter, seek a 
change in the benefit rate based on new medical evidence. 
A carrier may only unilaterally suspend continuing 
payments in limited circumstances, such as when the 
record contains evidence of the claimant's return to work, 
based on two weeks of payroll records; when the 
claimant’s treating physician has provided an opinion of no 
disability; or when the carrier obtains and submits "proof 
of incarceration upon [the claimant's] conviction of a 
felony" (12 NYCRR 300.23[b][3][i]-[iv]).

Medical providers have no authority to authorize 
Workers’ Compensation benefits in New York State. 
Providers and carrier’s medical consultants provide 
medical evidence to the WCLJ, who then makes a legal 
determination as to a claimant’s temporary or 
permanent degree of disability and the amount(s) and 
period(s) of benefits (if any) to be paid.

The New York State Workers’ Compensation Law has no provision for “treatment 
plans.” 

Workers’ Compensation benefits are initially paid on a temporary basis depending on 
the WCLJ’s finding of the temporary degree of disability until such time as the WCLJ 
determines, based on medical evidence provided, that the claimant has reached 
maximum medical improvement (MMI), i.e., that the claimant has recovered from the 
work injury or illness to the greatest extent that is expected, and no further 
improvement is reasonably expected. Upon a determination of MMI, the WCLJ will 
make a finding as to the degree of permanent disability (if any) and award benefits (if 
any) in accordance with that finding.

North Carolina No No Yes No Failure to comply with medical treatment could result in suspension of workers’ 
compensation benefits during the period of non-compliance, if ordered by the 
Industrial Commission.

North Dakota Not directly.  Disability must be certified by the employee’s 
healthcare provider. NDCC 65-05-08.1.
A schedule is not statutorily specified.

No There is no statutory prohibition. ?  If an employee fails to follow a treatment plan, indemnity benefits may 
terminate.  The termination can be for the remainder of the claim.  Medical benefits 
however, are unaffected.  NDCC 65-05-28(4).

If an injured worker does not complete the plan, they risk moving into medical non-
compliance and losing indemnity benefits. NDCC 65-05-28(4).

Ohio No No No No No
Pennsylvania No No, this is controlled by statues that state they must be 

paid per their regular pay schedules.  
Yes Not unilaterally, a petition must be filed. Not statutorily. 

Rhode Island No time schedule. No specific increments Yes Yes No, but benefits can be suspended if not followed.
South Dakota It is set up by the case management plan or by the claimant and 

employer/insurer
It is set up by the case management plan or by the claimant 
and employer/insurer

It is set up by the case management plan or by the 
claimant and employer/insurer

A claim can be suspended if a claimant refuses to avail themselves to treatment. (SD 
62-4-43)

Once they are at MMI they receive PPD payments according to SDCL 62-4-6.

Texas There is no such provision in the Texas Labor code No. Once the injured employee accrues benefits (related to 
TTD or PPD (050/070), they will continue weekly until the 
injured employee is released to return to work full duty or 
light duty earning same preinjury wages. There are other 
events that can suspend the weekly benefits such as 
certification of MMI, incarceration, IC denial (if timely and 
complete denial filed), death unrelated to injury, etc.  

Rule 129.5(d)(2) effective dates and estimated expiration 
dates of current work status and restrictions (an 
expected expiration date is not binding and may be 
adjusted in future Work Status Reports, as appropriate, 
based on the condition and progress of the injured 
employee).

I would first like to point out that the Texas Labor Code provides for lifetime income 
benefits for certain severe injuries and provides for lifetime medical benefits for all 
injuries. For those reasons, a claim cannot be considered “closed” until all benefits 
are exhausted including lifetime medical benefits which end when the employee 
dies.  
That said, no there is no such provision in the Texas Labor code.

There are no incentives in the Texas Labor Code. 

Utah There is no set schedule for physicians to treat patients who are 
receiving loss time benefits in Utah.

A provider does not have to authorize time loss in specific 
increments in Utah.  There are requirements for timely 
payment of the benefits by the carrier, which is codified 
based on benefit type.

A provider can authorize time loss without an end date. A claim can be denied in whole, or in part, if an injured worker does not follow a 
treatment plan that is considered reasonable and necessary.

Only benefit continuation.

Vermont No No. The only caveat here is that after 90 days of TTD the 
carrier has to refer the injured worker to voc rehab 
screening, and after 104 weeks of TTD the carrier is 
required to review the claim and provide either an 
expected end date of disability, or file a notice to 
discontinue if the worker is at end medical result.

No Yes. Failure to follow a medical treatment plan or failure to cooperate with a voc 
rehab counselor are grounds for termination of TTD.

Not in the affirmative. Rather, the worker risks discontinuance of temporary benefits 
for not completing the treatment plan.

Virginia There is no required schedule. No, they do not have authorized in specific increments. Yes. If the claimant refuses treatment/treatment plan the Claims Administrator can file 
to terminate benefits by filing an Employer’s Application for Hearing. 

Return to gainful employment.



Survey of Other State Laws 
10/17/22 - lines highlighted in yellow  were received after 10/12/22
Surveys sent by the Workers' Compensation Division to other state contacts. Responses are listed verbatim as received. 

Column1 For workers on time loss, are physicians or other providers required 
to see or communicate with them on a schedule or in a set 

timeframe - e.g. once every 30 days, every two weeks, once per 
month? If so, what is the required schedule? 

Do time loss benefits have to be authorized in specific 
increments, e.g., 14 days at a time? If so, what are the 

increments? 

Can a provider authorize time loss without an end date? Can a claim be closed if the worker does not follow their treatment plan? Does an injured worker have any specific incentives to complete their treatment 
plan?

Wisconsin In Wisconsin physicians and other health care providers are not 
required by statute or administrative rule to see or communicate 
with injured workers on a schedule or set timeframe. 

There is no statute or administrative rule that requires 
compensation for temporary disability (compensation for 
lost time) to be authorized in specific increments.

Physicians and other competent practitioners may 
authorize time off work for injured employees without a 
specific end date. 

Section 102.42 (6), Wis. Stats., covers treatment rejected by an employee. A 
summary of this subsection provides that no compensation shall be payable for 
death or disability of an employee, if the death or disability is aggravated, caused or 
continued by an unreasonable refusal or neglect by the employee to submit to or 
follow any competent and reasonable treatment when found by the department or 
division to be necessary. This provision does not apply to employees who elected 
Christian Science treatment in lieu of medical treatment.

There are no specific incentives in our law or administrative rules for an injured 
employee to complete the treatment plan. The primary incentive is for the employee 
is to successfully recover from the injury and return to work. 

Wyoming Wyoming Statute 27-14-404(g) states only a healthcare provider may 
certify temporary total disability (TTD) benefits.  The length of time of 
the initial certification or recertification of TTD shall be established by 
the department after considering the recommendation of the health 
care provider and current medical literature.  The employee, 
employer, or division may request recertification at intervals of not 
less than sixty (60) days.  The division does require the injured 
worker to see their physician every 60 days while receiving TTD 
benefits. 

Wyoming Statute 27-14-403 (c) requires Temporary Total 
Disability (TTD) benefits to be paid twice a month, with half 
paid on or about the fifteenth of the month and the other 
half paid on or about the thirtieth of the month. 

The division considers certification to be incomplete 
without an end date.  When this occurs, we return the 
temporary total disability application to the injured 
worker and the physician to request an end date. 

Wyoming Statute 27-14-404 (h) states temporary total disability benefits shall be 
suspended if the injured worker fails to appear at an appointment with his health 
care provider.  Payment shall be suspended until the employee appears at a 
subsequent rescheduled appointment.  Payment shall not be suspended for failing 
to appear at an appointment if the injured worker notifies the division before the 
appointment or within twenty-four (24) hours after missing the appointment if it's 
determined that the injured worker made all reasonable efforts to keep the 
appointment. 

If the division has not paid a claim in 120 days, the claim will be inactivated and no 
further benefits will be paid unless future treatment billed to the division is 
determined to be related to the original injury. 

Wyoming Statute 27-14-403(k) allows the division to offer a three percent (3%) 
incentive on temporary total disability benefits if the injured worker receives all of 
their care in Wyoming.  The division does not offer an incentive to complete a 
treatment plan.  


