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2016 Oregon Workers’ Compensation 
Premium Rate Ranking Summary

Oregon employers in the voluntary market pay, on average, the seventh lowest workers’ compensation premium rates in 
the nation. Oregon’s rates are 31 percent below those of the median state in the study.
Premium rate indices are calculated based on data from 51 jurisdictions, for rates in effect as of Jan. 1, 2016. The 2016 
median value is $1.84, which is a drop of less than 1 percent from the $1.85 median of the 2014 study. Oregon’s premium 
rate index is $1.28 per $100 of payroll, or 69 percent of the national median. National premium rate indices range from a 
low of $0.89 in North Dakota, to a high of $3.24 in California. There were 21 states that had an index rate that was within 
plus or minus 10 percent of this benchmark value. In the upper part of the rate distribution, 12 states had index rates 
higher than 110 percent of the median, while 18 states were below 90 percent of the median. For an interactive map of the 
state rankings, click here.

By Chris Day, Mike Manley, and Jay Dotter

Table 1. Oregon’s ranking in the top 10 classifications
Occupation Ranking

Clerical office employees 46
Salespersons - outside 49
College: professional employees and clerical 41
Physician and clerical 34
Restaurant 43
Hospital: professional employees 45
Store: retail 48
Automobile service/repair center and drivers 29
Trucking: all employees and drivers 39
Retirement living centers: health care employees 34

The study is based on methods that put states’ 
workers’ compensation rates on a comparable basis, 
using a constant set of risk classifications for each 
state. This study used classification codes from the 
National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI). 
Of approximately 450 active classes in Oregon, 
50 were selected based on relative importance as 
measured by share of losses in Oregon. To control for 
differences in industry distributions, each state’s rates 
were weighted by 2010-2012 Oregon payroll to obtain 
an average manual rate for that state. Listed in Table 1 
are Oregon’s rankings in the top 10 (by payroll) of the 
50 classifications used.

Figure 1. 2016 Workers’ compensation premium index rates

OR

CA

WA

AK

NV

ID

MT

WY

CO

NM

ND

SD

NE

KS

OK

TX

MN

IA

MO

AR

UT

AZ

LA

HI

WI

IL

MS AL

TN
KY

IN

FL

GA

SC

NC
WV

Under $1.50

$1.50-$1.99

$2.00-$2.49

$2.50-$2.99

$3.00-$3.49

VA
DC =

MD
DE
NJPA

CT
RI
MA

ME

NH

VTMI

NY

OH

http://www.cbs.state.or.us/external/dir/wc_cost/map.html
mailto:Christopher.j.day%40oregon.gov?subject=
mailto:Mike.Manley%40oregon.gov?subject=
mailto:Jay.A.Dotter%40oregon.gov?subject=


440-2082 (10/16/COM)

Information Technology and Research Section
350 Winter St. NE, Room 300
P.O. Box 14480
Salem, OR 97309-0405
503-378-8254

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), this publication 
is available in alternative formats. Please call 503-378-8254.

The information in this report is in the public domain and may be reprinted 
without permission. Visit the DCBS website, http://dcbs.oregon.gov.
To sign up for electronic notification of new publications, click here, 

http://www.oregon.gov/DCBS/reports/Pages/index.aspx.

Table 2. Workers’ compensation premium rate ranking
2016 

Ranking
2014 

Ranking State 
Index 
Rate

Percent of 
study median Effective Date 

Percent of 2014 
study median

1 1 California 3.24 176% January 1, 2016 188%
2 3 New Jersey 2.92 158% January 1, 2016 152%
3 4 New York 2.83 154% October 1, 2015 148%
5 2 Connecticut 2.74 149% January 1, 2016 155%
5 5 Alaska 2.74 149% January 1, 2016 145%
6 9 Delaware 2.32 126% December 1, 2015 125%
8 6 Oklahoma 2.23 121% January 1, 2016 137%
8 7 Illinois 2.23 121% January 1, 2015 127%
9 20 Rhode Island 2.20 119% August 1, 2014 107%

10 10 Louisiana 2.11 115% January 1, 2016 120%
11 11 Montana 2.10 114% July 1, 2015 119%
12 23 Wisconsin 2.06 112% October 1, 2015 104%
14 8 Vermont 2.02 110% April 1, 2015 125%
14 13 Maine 2.02 110% April 1, 2015 116%
15 17 Washington 1.97 107% January 1, 2016 108%
17 27 Hawaii 1.96 107% January 1, 2016 100%
17 12 New Hampshire 1.96 106% January 1, 2016 118%
18 17 South Carolina 1.94 105% September 1, 2015 108%
20 21 Missouri 1.92 104% January 1, 2016 107%
20 20 New Mexico 1.92 104% January 1, 2016 108%
22 20 Minnesota 1.91 104% January 1, 2016 107%
22 27 North Carolina 1.91 103% April 1, 2015 100%
23 31 Wyoming 1.87 101% January 1, 2016 95%
24 24 Iowa 1.86 101% January 1, 2016 101%
25 29 Alabama 1.85 100% March 1, 2015 97%
26 17 Pennsylvania 1.84 100% April 1, 2015 108%
27 32 Georgia 1.80 98% March 1, 2015 95%
28 14 Idaho 1.79 97% January 1, 2016 109%
29 38 Mississippi 1.70 92% March 1, 2015 85%
30 22 Tennessee 1.68 91% March 1, 2015 105%
32 30 Nebraska 1.67 91% February 1, 2015 96%
32 25 South Dakota 1.67 91% July 1, 2015 100%
33 28 Florida 1.66 90% January 1, 2016 98%
34 34 Michigan 1.57 85% January 1, 2015 91%
35 41 Colorado 1.56 84% January 1, 2016 81%
36 40 Kentucky 1.52 82% October 1, 2015 82%
38 37 Arizona 1.50 82% January 1, 2016 86%
38 35 Maryland 1.50 82% January 1, 2016 88%
40 36 Texas 1.45 79% July 1, 2015 87%
40 33 Ohio 1.45 79% July 1, 2015 94%
41 39 Kansas 1.41 77% January 1, 2016 83%
42 45 District of Columbia 1.37 74% November 1, 2015 70%
43 46 Nevada 1.31 71% March 1, 2015 68%
44 48 Massachusetts 1.29 70% April 1, 2014 63%
45 43 OREGON 1.28 69% January 1, 2016 74%
46 45 Utah 1.27 69% December 1, 2015 71%
47 48 Virginia 1.24 67% April 1, 2015 63%
48 43 West Virginia 1.22 66% November 1, 2015 74%
49 49 Arkansas 1.06 57% July 1, 2015 58%
50 50 Indiana 1.05 57% January 1, 2016 57%
51 51 North Dakota 0.89 48% July 1, 2015 47%

Notes: Starting with the 2008 study, when two or more states’ Index Rate values are the same, they are assigned the same ranking.  The index rates reflect ad-
justments for the characteristics of each individual state’s residual market. Rates vary by classification and insurer in each state. Actual cost to an employer can 
be adjusted by the employer’s experience rating, premium discount, retrospective rating, and dividends. Link to previous reports and summaries.

Employers can reduce their workers’ compensation rates through accident prevention, safety training, and by helping injured workers return to work quickly.
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